Page 23 of 93

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 09:12
by sickgut
aarf wrote:ok mounted the now renamed second partition on the pussy usb drive with just

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/sdb2  
mount /dev/sdb2
and moved some screenshots to it for access from puppy. (still have no internet connection in pussy).

last screenshot is of trying to run this mount script

Code: Select all

#!/bin/ash
mkdir /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
which also gives essentially the same output if i run it from /usr/bin/
what problem is preventing you from getting an internet connections? what errors etc? if you are getting failed handshaked then open wicd then cl ick preferences then select backend, then ioctl from the list there. This uses a different wireless connection system and i have a toshiba c640 here that needs this enabled to successfully connect to my realtek wireless router, without selecting this option it simply wont connect

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 11:12
by saintless
sickgut wrote:
saintless wrote:Sickgut, I had a small audio problem. I didn't have sound, but this command fixed it:

Code: Select all

alsactl init
It returned some message for unknown hardware and using guess metod, but it worked.
I found the solution here:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=39116[url]
@ saintless
can i ask if the alpha had the same problem with the sound?
Hi, sickgut,
I have the same problem on the same PC with alpha version.
I forgot to mension that I could not run "alsactl init" command if i don't run:

Code: Select all

apt-get install alsa
Then the apt-get suggests to install alsa-base and alsa-utils and after I hit enter there is a message one of those two packages is already installed and it is the newest version and the other package ( I think it was alsa-utils) did an upgrade or a new installation. I can install clean alpha or beta version and do this again if you need the exact messages from the terminal.

Best regards!

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 11:45
by aarf
sickgut wrote:what problem is preventing you from getting an internet connections? what errors etc? if you are getting failed handshaked then open wicd then cl ick preferences then select backend, then ioctl from the list there. This uses a different wireless connection system and i have a toshiba c640 here that needs this enabled to successfully connect to my realtek wireless router, without selecting this option it simply wont connect
i dont have the encryption code for the wifi signals that i can see. I cant see where to start a gprs connection dialog. I have dialup-pppoe.zip, network-firmware.zip and wvdial.zip in /addons. Tried usb0 in the networks thing but nothing happened after i did that.
I can find porn ok, even without a pfind equivalent.

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 12:40
by sickgut
aarf wrote:
sickgut wrote:what problem is preventing you from getting an internet connections? what errors etc? if you are getting failed handshaked then open wicd then cl ick preferences then select backend, then ioctl from the list there. This uses a different wireless connection system and i have a toshiba c640 here that needs this enabled to successfully connect to my realtek wireless router, without selecting this option it simply wont connect
i dont have the encryption code for the wifi signals that i can see. I cant see where to start a gprs connection dialog. I have dialup-pppoe.zip, network-firmware.zip and wvdial.zip in /addons. Tried usb0 in the networks thing but nothing happened after i did that.
I can find porn ok, even without a pfind equivalent.
Things in the /addons dir of the live media need to be instaled if you want to use them, unzip the package then click the supplied installed script or run: dpkg -R --install *
to install all the debs on the dir.

i have no idea what a gprs connection is and no way of testing dial up in any form so whatever is in the wvdial-pppoe package there is a selection of debs that users in this forum have said they needed to get dialup and pppoe working.

i can only suggest logging into #debian on irc freenode, no doubt someone there can help you and tell you what you need

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 13:46
by aarf
hmmpp you have to install the addons yourself.< mentally knocks pussy wow factor down one notch>

Code: Select all

 root@meow:/live/image/addons# ./dialup-pppoe-install.sh
./dialup-pppoe-install.sh: 2: Syntax error: "(" unexpected


ok almost there. manually got past the above to the connect dialog i was expecting
have to get seamokey.squashsfs now. didnt think i needed it again.
will post screenshots and info later.

ok edited from pussy connected via wvdial. info much later. taking a break.

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 16:24
by sickgut
aarf wrote:hmmpp you have to install the addons yourself.< mentally knocks pussy wow factor down one notch>

Code: Select all

 root@meow:/live/image/addons# ./dialup-pppoe-install.sh
./dialup-pppoe-install.sh: 2: Syntax error: "(" unexpected


ok almost there. manually got past the above to the connect dialog i was expecting
have to get seamokey.squashsfs now. didnt think i needed it again.
will post screenshots and info later.

ok edited from pussy connected via wvdial. info much later. taking a break.
pussy hasnt even got a release candidate yet, we arent even at version 1, and this preview beta isnt even a beta its only a preview, there are going to be things that arent finnished or arent wow factor.

the point of the /addons dir is that you have the option to install them if you need them but if you dont need them they arent in the OS bogging it down, and as far as ease of installing goes its not rocket science to unzip a file then click install, as far as having to install something yourself: even puppies quickpet feature requires you to actually click something and the same for pet files. the /addons dir is included in the iso so that people wanting to use a livecd or usb on a fresh system dont have to download the packages first.

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 16:48
by aarf
Note that the addons directory holds extracted debs through reboot. But modifications to /etc/wvdial.conf and the instalation of wvdial itself dont survive. No liverw partition in use.

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 17:17
by sickgut
aarf wrote:Note that the addons directory holds extracted debs through reboot. But modifications to /etc/wvdial.conf and the instalation of wvdial itself dont survive. No liverw partition in use.
did you expect your changes to be kept without a save file? where do you think your changes would be saved?

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 17:22
by saintless
Let me just say what is the WOW factor for me in pussy linux.

It took me over a month to make kxstitch and subtitleeditor fully working on puppy linux without damage other programs. Actually I don't know how I did that with the second program. I couldn't make it fully work on clean frugal installation again, but I remastered the first puppy and I saved what I needed.

In pussy linux I did the same for 25-30 minutes. I just had to type two commands in terminal and I still have a small linux, which I can use on a computer with 600 Mhz processor and 128 Mb Ram.

I have my remastered puppy with almost all I need on it and I am happy with it, but it took me a long time to do it.

Pussy linux is different from puppy. I didn't know how to mount drives from command line. This should be a debian and many other linux distros way of doing it. I will learn what I need to use pussy linux as well as I use puppy, because I want to have a small linux with easy way of finding and installing the programs I need and to upgrade newer version when need it. If it was easy for the newbies to do that with puppy as it is with pussy linux, puppy would be the perfect linux I know.

Thank you to you - sickgut, and to you - all puppy developers!

Posted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 22:40
by saintless
If someone wants to add different keyboard-layout before the official beta version is ready, here are the commands:

This one will install other keyboard layouts:

Code: Select all

apt-get install keyboards-rg
After that type:

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
Follow the instructions and choose your layout. BTW you can choose also to exit X with Ctrl+Alt+BackSpace.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 05:26
by sickgut
saintless wrote:If someone wants to add different keyboard-layout before the official beta version is ready, here are the commands:

This one will install other keyboard layouts:

Code: Select all

apt-get install keyboards-rg
After that type:

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
Follow the instructions and choose your layout. BTW you can choose also to exit X with Ctrl+Alt+BackSpace.
errr.... WTF dude?
you just solved the keymap issue single handedly, i have been looking into this to no avail.
looks like ill whip up a catroll-panel entry for this
nooby and john3voltas have both found the keymap thing a real problem and im glad we have a solution for this.
Thankyou very much saintless for your input, you have directly contributed to pussy and because of you we can cross "fix keymap issue" off the list, well done.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 05:32
by sickgut
one question for everyone:

does the ACPI work now?

(ACPI is the power management, it controlls things like turning off a laptop display when shut it and turning off HDDs when they arent being used and entering suspend/ sleep etc after a set amount of time....)

because presently my pussy system is a desktop and my other test one is a virtual box i cant really tell is there is any ACPI-ing going on.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 06:34
by aarf
put this code

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
mkdir /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
exec rox /mnt/sdb2
in a file called say mount-drives.sh into /addons
(give it these permissions in attached image.)
click it and it will open sdb2 in rox. it is also persistent through reboot without liverw partition. you can do this above from within pussy itself.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 06:44
by aarf
after click unpacking and installing /drive/addons/dialup-pppoe.zip and /drive/addons/wvdial.zip
modified to exactly this is as my /etc/wvdial.conf

Code: Select all

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Modem Type = USB Modem
Baud = 460800
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
ISDN = 0
  Phone = *99***1#
  Password = <Your Password>
  Username = <Your Login Name>
remember to remove the ; from the beginning of the last three lines.

then wvdial in a terminal will connect grps and i suppose 3G too. look something like this when it is already connected

Code: Select all

root@meow:~# wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99***1#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99***1#
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }4}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&y'gy![03]~
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}"} }4}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&y'gyk>~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Sun Oct 23 13:25:51 2011
--> Pid of pppd: 3323
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> local  IP address 54.299.17.117
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> remote IP address 11.84.60.64
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> primary   DNS address 167.178.59.10
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> secondary DNS address 167.178.59.26
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
ctrl+c will disconnect

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 06:53
by sickgut
aarf wrote:put this code

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
mkdir /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
exec rox /mnt/sdb2
in a file called say mount-drives.sh into /addons
(give it these permissions in attached image.)
click it and it will open sdb2 in rox. it is also persistent through reboot without liverw partition. you can do this above from within pussy itself.
thanks for your input aarf its much apreciated, ill learn about this and what it all means when i start work on pussy again

well done all of you for looking into the solutions for stuff, since pussy has come to these forums its been you guys who have been adding onto pussy and improving it by supplying all these solutions to stuff, i ts really you guys here that are building the next pussy.

thanks once again aarf

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 07:14
by aarf
what do you think of these images sickgut? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 5e5e953bb5

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 07:50
by sickgut
aarf wrote:what do you think of these images sickgut? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 5e5e953bb5
quite spiffy.

the desktop background i pussy isnt very good and just a placeholder for something good, i have a few people working on suitable replacements but if y ou guys find something you want included in the desktop background then let me kn ow and ill include it

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 10:21
by saintless
Glad to help, sickgut, :)
I use pussy linux on old desktop PC and I can't tell if ACPI works or not.
I will try to find a way to test it on a friend's laptop.

Edit:
The monitor is switching off in a few minutes even on my old desktop PC. A don't know if that is a sleep mode, but should be an ACPI option.
I asked a friend if we can test it on Toshiba laptop in a few days.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 15:51
by nooby
I am in Pussy now and using the toram boot code and that makes it
works fast but

My frugal booting seems to make the partition it boot from owned
by some user that is Live Session User or some other formal name.

Named Meow maybe?

So it does not help me being root. whoami says that I am root
And I did manually log in as root with password pussy too


But the sda3 partition is owned by that other user.

Not even root has permission to use that partition because the Meow or
Live Session User has already mounted it for to be able to boot most
likely.


So maybe I have to unmount it first and them mount it as root.

But I fail to know how to do that unmount and then remount again.

I had same problem with AntiX and also Archiso and Slitaz before Slitaz
made the change that suddenly allowed me to make edits and save them.
AntiX and Archiso still fails

When I try to do the commands I've been then the OS says that that drive is already busy and owned by another user.


I am kind of beginning to like Pussy so would be cool if somebody could solve this thing with owning the partition.

Posted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 17:02
by nooby
Somebody? maybe at crunchbang told me to do this

sudo mkdir -p /media/sda3
sudo ntfs-3g /dev/sda3 /media/sda3

So I did and the xterm answer
ntfs-3g-mount: mount failed: Device or resource busy


That is why I trust it is owned by the boot in user that get activated
before I log in as root. It is the boot process itself that assign that user
to own the partition one boot from. That is the only way I logically can
explain why it fail.

So hope somebody can tell me how to boot up and really own the partition.

TinyCore had this issue too until them made some change.
But I know too little to know how to mimic what then did.

Ubuntu and Linuxmint too had this problem before but now them allow
me to be owner of that partition which is a big surprise them are very
keen on security so I trust it is by accident and not by design.

So can somebody explain how one change this for Pussy?