Page 3 of 8

ppm fails to start after updating...

Posted: Tue 08 May 2012, 23:12
by broomdodger
01micko wrote:broomdodger, confirmed thanks, a bug in the Ziggy ui, attached pet will fix, please report.
01micko, your patch got PPM working again.
I will try stressing it again soon.
Bill

Posted: Wed 09 May 2012, 13:16
by 01micko
playdayz wrote:

Code: Select all

sh-4.1# ppm

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 30, near token '</vbox>': syntax error

aborting...
sh-4.1# 
Restored ui_Ziggy, got this in starting from command line.
.. got to the bottom of that one!

What you did was remove all repos, ui_Ziggy bugged out. I have made this more robust by hard coding in the default repo. Why would you want to remove it anyway? :lol: Ok, yes, it's still a bug!

Attached is a cumulative pet that includes the last patch.[REMOVED-see below] BE WARNED, if you don't remove all repos this patch should be unnecessary, so we will consider it experimental until further notice. The old patch on the previous page is sound.

playdayz.. you will likely need to replace /root/.packages/PKGS_MANAGEMENT with the one from /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.packages to recover.

Patch:

Code: Select all

--- configure.sh.orig	2012-04-29 22:21:42.000000000 +1000
+++ configure.sh	2012-05-09 23:10:21.077689000 +1000
@@ -16,8 +16,15 @@
 . /root/.packages/PKGS_MANAGEMENT #has PKG_REPOS_ENABLED
 
 #find what repos are currently in use...
-CHECKBOXES_REPOS=""
-for ONEREPO in `ls -1 /root/.packages/Packages-*`
+CHECKBOXES_REPOS="" 
+#bugfix with ui_Ziggy 120509 #add CHECKBOX_MAIN_REPO var to gui
+MAIN_REPO=`ls -1 /root/.packages/Packages-*|grep "puppy\-$DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX"`
+BASE_MAIN_REPO="`basename $MAIN_REPO`"
+bMAIN_PATTERN=' '"$BASE_MAIN_REPO"' '
+MAIN_DBNAME="`echo -n "$BASE_MAIN_REPO" | sed -e 's%Packages\-%%'`"
+CHECKBOX_MAIN_REPO="<checkbox><default>true</default><label>${MAIN_DBNAME}</label><variable>CHECK_${MAIN_DBNAME}</variable><visible>disabled</visible></checkbox>" #hard coded "true"
+
+for ONEREPO in `ls -1 /root/.packages/Packages-*|grep -v "puppy\-$DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX"`
 do
  BASEREPO="`basename $ONEREPO`"
  bPATTERN=' '"$BASEREPO"' '
@@ -62,6 +69,7 @@
  <frame $(gettext 'Choose repositories')>
   <text><label>$(gettext 'Choose what repositories you would like to have appear in the main GUI window (tick a maximum of 5 boxes):')</label></text>
   ${CHECKBOXES_REPOS}
+  ${CHECKBOX_MAIN_REPO}
   <hbox>
    <text><label>$(gettext 'Adding a new repository currently requires manual editing of some text files. Click this button for further information:')</label></text>
    <button><label>$(gettext 'Add repo help')</label>
Reports please.

EDIT: see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 479#626479 for official patch.

Posted: Wed 09 May 2012, 18:56
by playdayz
What you did was remove all repos, ui_Ziggy bugged out. I have made this more robust by hard coding in the default repo. Why would you want to remove it anyway? Ok, yes, it's still a bug!
Oops, Sorry about that. I didn't mean to. I got in the habit of unchecking the default repo when I was adding the ubu repos in Lucid to avoid any conflict and carried it over and then I guess I missed a check mark putting it back. :oops:

Add: yes that fixed it, and I did have to copy PKGS_MANAGEMENT.

Mesa-GLX drivers...

Posted: Wed 09 May 2012, 18:57
by christhi
Seems like the Mesa-GLX drivers still aren't working on my Intel N10 Integrated Graphics card.

I've been having the same issue with past Slackos, but all is working well under Lucid...

As an instance, when trying to run an OpenGL-based game, the prompt says that OpenGL could not load, or something.

Might not be the first you get that bug report, but if there's anything I should check please tell me so!

thanks

Intel Screen Artefacts - Solved (sufficiently)

Posted: Wed 09 May 2012, 23:11
by ozsouth
Appears to be a JWM problem. Fixed by installing
icewm-1.3.7-i686-s.pet
from
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pe ... es-slacko/
and changing /etc/windowmanager entry to icewm.

Keyboard configuration

Posted: Wed 09 May 2012, 23:43
by claude
I installed Slacko 5.3.3 in frugal mode: after I changed keyboard (ps2) configuration: country: ca layout:multi, language: cf, keyboard operation is OK. Soon I reboot the pc, the keyboard becomes unusable. It looks like the configuration changes are not saved with the pupsave. Otherwise, mouse operation is normal.

Claude

Posted: Thu 10 May 2012, 10:32
by 01micko
Barry has accepted my PPM patches upstream so this is an "official" patched pet. All users are urged to install, I'll put a link in the main post and remove the old patches.

NO.. Barry's alteration breaks it!!!! Back to patch 2. This is because big changes happened to woof PPM on May 4.. I already had final built. See Barry's blog if you want more info.


One unlucky user got the faulty one, please get this one

internationalization

Posted: Fri 11 May 2012, 14:33
by L18L
I have fattened german langpack to 25M to suit FATslacko too.

2 issues for now

1 mtpaint of FATslacko does not use mtpaint.mo
It is 595k size.
Size of mtpaint from racy5.3 is 603k and working ok. Why different compilations, both are version 3.40.

2 seamonkey
racy has its langpack in /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.6.1/
/usr/lib/seamonkey/ links to /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.6.1/

slacko has just /usr/lib/seamonkey/ (without version)

I cannot put the langpack for seamonkey-2.9 (slacko) into directory /usr/lib/seamonkey of puppy´s langpack because that would destroy the link in racy.

A solution could be:
Make slacko´s seamonkey directory:
/usr/lib/seamonkey-2.9
and /usr/lib/seamonkey link to /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.9
thus the internationalisation stuff of both can coexist in one puppy langpack.
There will always be just one langpack for all of the official puppies. :!: :?: :idea:

Posted: Fri 11 May 2012, 19:46
by pgmunkeh
Not sure if this is the correct place to post but wanted to say thanks for 01micko's post above; I installed the ziggy_patch_ppm-2.pet and that fixed the broken Puppy Package Manager. I was having the same problem broomdodger, page3, and others were having.

Thank you.

sylpheed racy53 and slacko533

Posted: Sat 12 May 2012, 03:07
by broomdodger
I like the email client Sylpheed, and compiled it for racy53.

When trying Sylpheed with Slacko533 it would not start.
I used terminal to start Sylpheed and this is what I found:

Code: Select all

# ./sylpheed
/initrd/mnt/dev_save/downloads/sylpheed-3.2.0beta7/src/.libs/lt-sylpheed: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.1.0.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
After recompiling Sylpheed on Slacko533 and it runs great.

It seems that Slacko533 has libssl.so.0.9.8 and not libssl.so.1.0.0 as does racy533.

Using terminal in Slacko533:

Code: Select all

# find/ -iname '*libssl*'
/usr/lib/libssl.so
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.8
/usr/lib/pkgconfig/libssl.pc
/usr/lib/seamonkey/libssl3.so
/usr/lib/libssl.a
Using terminal in racy53:

Code: Select all

# find/ -iname '*libssl*'
/usr/lib/libssl.so
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.8
/usr/lib/libssl.so.1.0.0
/usr/lib/libssl3.so
/usr/lib/pkgconfig/libssl.pc
/usr/lib/seamonkey-2.6.1/libssl3.so
/usr/lib/libssl.a
Bill

Posted: Sat 12 May 2012, 05:34
by Sage
I like... Sylpheed
You'd like Claws even more! It's a fork: bigger but worth the extra.

Posted: Mon 14 May 2012, 06:33
by nilsonmorales
have this problem whit ppm
# ppm
BusyBox v1.19.3 (2011-11-09 07:34:50 WST) multi-call binary.

Usage: basename FILE [SUFFIX]

Strip directory path and .SUFFIX from FILE



** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 24, near token '</label>': syntax error

aborting...
when try to update packages list
i install 2 ziggys but still dont works
can you help me please?

Posted: Mon 14 May 2012, 20:59
by 01micko
nilsonmorales

I can not reproduce this error!

I just did an update too. Maybe something went wrong for you?

I need output from this command;

Code: Select all

ls -1 /root/.packages|grep "Packages\-"
After an update it should look like this:

Code: Select all

Packages-puppy-2-official
Packages-puppy-3-official
Packages-puppy-4-official
Packages-puppy-5-official
Packages-puppy-common-official
Packages-puppy-lucid-official
Packages-puppy-noarch-official
Packages-puppy-quirky-official
Packages-puppy-slacko-official
Packages-puppy-squeeze-official
Packages-puppy-wary5-official
Packages-slackware-13.37-official
Packages-slackware-13.37-salix
Packages-slackware-13.37-slacky
Thanks

Note, if you have a frugal install you can restore all Packages-* files from /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.packages/ or if a full install from the CD, just mount the CD, mount the slacko sfs and find /root/.packages/

Pmount Not Working

Posted: Tue 15 May 2012, 22:48
by stephino13
I have a frugal install of 5.3.3 on a jump drive. I have noticed that pmount probes the drives, but then nothing. From rxvt, I get the following

Code: Select all

 #pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 858: 31645 Terminated              yaf-splash -bg orange -fg black -close never -fontsize large -text "$m_02"
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 863: 32151 Aborted                 /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount --file=/tmp/pmountdlg.txt_${MYPID} -G +"$X"+"$Y" > /tmp/pmountdlg_${MYPID} 2> /tmp/pmounterr
#

b43 problem

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 20:59
by broomdodger
Hello 01micko

slacko533
slacko533pae
frugal
Dell Inspiron 2200
Pentium-M 600/1600 MHz
CPU0: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz stepping 08
Broadcom BCM4318 wireless driver

No problem with wireless on racy530, wary530, wary514.1

Both slacko533pae and slacko533 have trouble connecting wireless,
most of the time I get a message that no wireless is found.

Sometimes... the first time after a pfix=ram it will connect,
but save the session and restart the wireless fails.

Do you think it could be a timing issue?

This machine has a Pentium-M 600/1600 MHz that changes speed,
which may account for the fact it sometimes (rarely) connects.

-Bill

# ==============================================================
Information about this interface:
Interface: wlan0 Driver: b43 Bus: pcmcia
MacAddress: 00:14:A5:08:AB:58
Description: Broadcom B43 wireless driver

STEP1a: ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Protocol error

*********************************************************
LAST 10 LINES of /var/log/messages:
May 18 11:54:19 puppypc8377 daemon.notice acpid:
client connected from 11926[0:0]
May 18 11:54:19 puppypc8377 daemon.info acpid: 1 client rule loaded

May 19 18:54:40 puppypc8377 user.info kernel: [ 136.413506]
b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 508.1084 (2009-01-14 01:32:01)
May 19 18:54:40 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 136.413648]
b43-phy0 ERROR: Initial Values Firmware file-format error.
May 19 18:54:40 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 136.413652]
b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Dri ... cefirmware
and download the correct firmware for this driver version.
Please carefully read all instructions on this website.

May 19 18:55:11 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 167.283489]
b43-phy0 ERROR: Microcode not responding
May 19 18:55:11 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 167.283496]
b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Dri ... cefirmware
and download the correct firmware for this driver version.
Please carefully read all instructions on this website.

May 19 18:55:58 puppypc8377 user.info kernel: [ 214.232448]
b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 508.1084 (2009-01-14 01:32:01)
May 19 18:55:58 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 214.232591]
b43-phy0 ERROR: Initial Values Firmware file-format error.
May 19 18:55:58 puppypc8377 user.err kernel: [ 214.232595]
b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to
http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Dri ... cefirmware
and download the correct firmware for this driver version.
Please carefully read all instructions on this website.

# ==============================================================
# lspci -vnn -d 14e4:
02:03.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation
BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller
[14e4:4318] (rev 02)
Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Card [1028:0005]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 64, IRQ 19
Memory at dfdfe000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
Kernel modules: ssb

# ==============================================================

Re: b43 problem

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 21:28
by peebee
broomdodger wrote: Broadcom BCM4318 wireless driver
Hi Broomdodger
The error reports in your post seem to indicate that you have a problem with the B43 firmware for your 4318 variant of the Broadcom wifi

Looks like quite old firmware is being loaded....you could try installing the more up to date firmware:
Version 5.100.138 and Version 5.100.143.3

You could see from dmesg in racy or wary which firmware was being loaded.....and you could try copying the firmware from them into 5.3.3....

http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drive ... ed_devices shows that b43 should support the 4318....

Hope helps

Cheers
peebee

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 22:31
by rjbrewer
Broomdodger;

Try network wizard, load modules, B43 pcmcia.
Works fine with 4311 bcm .

Re: b43 problem

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 22:34
by broomdodger
peebee wrote:
broomdodger wrote: Broadcom BCM4318 wireless driver
Hi Broomdodger
The error reports in your post seem to indicate that you have a problem with
the B43 firmware for your 4318 variant of the Broadcom wifi
Looks like quite old firmware is being loaded...
you could try installing the more up to date firmware:
...
peebee
The question is more...
Why does it work perfectly in racy530 wary530 wary514 and not slacko533?
-Bill

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 22:38
by broomdodger
rjbrewer wrote:Broomdodger;
Try network wizard, load modules, B43 pcmcia.
Works fine with 4311 bcm .
How can I find out which module was loaded that failed?

I will try your suggestion, B43 pcmcia and report later...

ok... it is later and that worked!

But when I loaded B43 pcmcia, it said it was already loaded,
so I unloaded B43 pcmcia and re-loaded it.

Now it works thru several reboots, installing devx_slacko_5.3.3.sfs and rebooting again.

So why?

-Bill

Posted: Fri 18 May 2012, 23:54
by rjbrewer
There were only 2 options, Legacy or b43 pcmcia.
Don't know if it's wierd behavior of your machine or Slacko.

There's so many (unnecessary) Xorg graphics problems on
my listed laptops with Slacko, that I have no interest in
using or recommending it.