Page 21 of 23

Re: Newyearspup-02 rc10 xorgwizard, isolinux.cfg

Posted: Sat 23 May 2009, 17:03
by tazoc
MU wrote:libgl.so is included in the archives in /usr/local/graficsdrivers.
Some drivers need it in /usr/X11R7/lib.
If you comment that line, a wrong libgl.so is used, what can cause crashes.

Instead you should do something like:

rm -f /usr/lib/libGL.*
ln -s /usr/X11R7/lib/libGL.so /usr/lib/
ln -s /usr/X11R7/lib/libGL.so.1 /usr/lib/


So using this symlink, you have the correct version in both folders.
Very good, Mark. :D That is a perfect solution--thank you,
TazOC

Posted: Sun 24 May 2009, 21:56
by nic2109
Hello; I have just come across Newyearspup and have started with Midi RC10. I love the look of it and would like to use it but there are several things that don't hang together for me yet. I have installed the "fixes" pet.

I don't think Compiz-Fusion is active. I have no wobbles, no fish, no cubiod desktops etc.What needs setting to start or configure C-F?

The task/status bar at the top of the screen displays only very briefly on bootup and then disappears never to return. As a rsult there is no Launch or Shutdown etc. To close down I have to kill X withCtrl/Alt/BS and then type 'shutdown' which I imagine is dangerous as it shortcuts a "proper" shutdown.

Some of the icons in the wbar are inactive. For example the browser doesn't launch anything.

As the wbar is active what is the Cairo Dock for? If I try it out it just sits underneath the wbar and gets in the way. Some of its icons are also inactive.

Conky only shows one of my processors (there should be 2). Sometimes there's an outline clock (just hands) above conky as well as the rectangular blue one, but mostly it's gone missing.

But to end on a positive point: this is the first EVER Puppy that found and configured my graphics card and gave me the correct screen resolution without intervention. So well done!

Posted: Mon 25 May 2009, 01:13
by MU
nick,
exit X (CTRL-Alt-Backspace).

Then type:
xwin 1

This will show an optionmenu, where you can select one of the different desktops, among them compiz.
You usually get this menu when you logout, but as you have no panel, you cannot logout, so you must use the "xwin 1" as workaround.

If the taskbar of the default desktop will not appear, it might be a crash, caused by the volume applett.
This can happen, if the soundcard was not detected properly.

A workaround would be to delete it from the config files in /root/.config/lxpanel/.

Code: Select all

Plugin {
    type = volumealsa
}
I want to fix this in rc11.

Mark

Screen Blanking???

Posted: Mon 25 May 2009, 17:53
by playdayz
MU or anyone, this is in NYP rc10 with catalyst 9.3

I can't turn screen blanking off. My wife and daughter are watching hulu and the screen blanks every 10 minutes or so and they are irritated. First I turned off the screensaver. Then I edited the ati xorg template so that when NYP starts xorg.conf says DPMS "false." But the screen still blanks. That was happening in Icewm, now I am trying jwm to see if it happens here. I have the feeling that I am forgetting something obvious, but I have forgotten it!

Posted: Mon 25 May 2009, 20:29
by nic2109
MU wrote:nick,
exit X (CTRL-Alt-Backspace).

Then type:
xwin 1

This will show an optionmenu, where you can select one of the different desktops, among them compiz.
Thanks, Mark. I have tried this, sekected the LXDE plus Compiz option, and yes, C-F is now active.
MU wrote: You usually get this menu when you logout, but as you have no panel, you cannot logout, so you must use the "xwin 1" as workaround.

If the taskbar of the default desktop will not appear, it might be a crash, caused by the volume applett.
This can happen, if the soundcard was not detected properly.

A workaround would be to delete it from the config files in /root/.config/lxpanel/.

Code: Select all

Plugin {
    type = volumealsa
}
I want to fix this in rc11.

Mark
Thanks again, but I'm not sure about this. There are lots of config files in /root/.config/lxpanel/ but I couldn't see the code you describe in any of them. Any other ideas?

The suggestion that the disappearing taskbar is caused by a crash sounds good to me as It shows briefly and then goes away.

Posted: Mon 25 May 2009, 21:01
by MU
for compiz, it is:
/root/.config/lxpanel/lxdesktop/panels/top

Mark

Screen Blanking Solved

Posted: Thu 28 May 2009, 16:10
by playdayz
I wanted the screen not to blank in order to watch full screen movies without getting up every 10 minutes. I disabled DPMS in xorg.conf and I checked that it was disabled with xset -q. i also turned off the Puppy screensaver. However my screen was still blanking. The reason is that there is an *xorg screensaver* setting that overrides the DPMS disabled setting. So xset -q will tell you that DPMS is disabled but if the screensaver setting is not "timeout 0" then the screen will be blanked anyway. The fix is "xset dpms s off" to turn the xorg screensaver off. So there are two commands necessary to prevent screen blanking

Code: Select all

xset -dpms
xset dpms s off 
Don't forget to also disable the Puppy screensaver too.

gdesklets

Posted: Fri 29 May 2009, 14:32
by techtype
Mark,

Some motherboard/network cards do not connect for some time after puppy starts. I found that this code allows the weather applet to start consistently:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
 if ping -c 1 www.google.com > /dev/null; then
    nice -n 19 gdesklets
	exit 0
  else
    sleep 7
	if ping -c 1 www.google.com > /dev/null; then
      nice -n 19 gdesklets
	  exit 0
    else
		sleep 7
    fi
  fi
  nice -n 19 gdesklets
By the way, I'm sticking with RC3 for now so that I can have fast network copy.

Posted: Fri 29 May 2009, 22:24
by nic2109
MU wrote:for compiz, it is:
/root/.config/lxpanel/lxdesktop/panels/top

Mark
Mark; I removed the alsa plugin from this file as you suggested, but the top toolbar still disappears after a second or two.

Have you any more ideas?

I must admit to being baffled by the interaction of the wbar and the cairo dock. Are they supposed to be active together? And if so which is responsible for what? And are they expected to get in each other's way? Sorry, but a bit of explanation covering how they are supposed to work together would be valuable.

Many thanks.

Posted: Fri 29 May 2009, 22:36
by MU
techtype,

thanks, will add your modification to the next release :)


---------------
nic2109,
No, wbar is included in the mini.
Cairo-dock is more complex, and much larger, so I added it to Midi/Maxi.

Both are different concepts, and most people wil only use one of them.

these gimmicks are launched in the startup scripts in /usr/local/Desktopstarters/.
E.g. startopenbox+lxpanel+wbar

Wbar is runby the line:
sleep 12 && run-wbar &

run-wbar is a script that could be edited.
/usr/local/bin/run-wbar

Code: Select all

#!/bin/ash

wbar -above-desk -jumpf 1 -pos bottom -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.8 -idist 10 -isize 38 -bpress -balfa 50 -falfa 100 &
Search with http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html for "wbar" to see, how the command could be modified, there are several examples in this forum :)

Mark

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 08:02
by Béèm
Béèm wrote:
MUguest wrote:If you add a kernel parameter in grub, you must not use "pfix=".
Just append "nosmp".
Mark
Ooops forgot about that one.
So I do now with loglevel=7 and nosmp

I get the same msg as with wow's distro: freeing unused kernel memory 376k freed.
Altho I don't like the way I can solve it,
When I give acpi-off boot goes to the selection list of pup_save files.

That good news, but the bad news is I loose the acpi functionality, plus I never had to do this on this machine. What are the consequences of running with acpi=off?

What causes the acpi=off to work and the usual acpi active not?
Some thing different in the kernel compile options?
Can this be cured?

But secondly, I have the famous problem of not being prompted for the creation of a save file.
How can that one be cured (other then creating a dummy save file with the dd command)?

But the real show-stopper is, that altho I selected the Belgian azerty keyboard, I am not in it, but have some qwerty keyboard.
How can this be solved?

Remastering

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 13:21
by tlchost
Was the inability for a remastered LiveCD to save ever resolved?

Thanks

Thom

Re: Remastering

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 14:24
by MU
tlchost wrote:Was the inability for a remastered LiveCD to save ever resolved?
No, not yet :(
Mark

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 14:29
by MU
Béèm wrote:
Béèm wrote:But the real show-stopper is, that altho I selected the Belgian azerty keyboard, I am not in it, but have some qwerty keyboard.
How can this be solved?
Do the german/french one work for you?
You can activate them in the "settings" menu.
(keymap DE, keymap FR).
Mark

Re: Remastering

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 14:44
by tlchost
MU wrote:
tlchost wrote:Was the inability for a remastered LiveCD to save ever resolved?
No, not yet :(
Mark
Ah....I have my bootable USB so that's OK.

Posted: Sat 30 May 2009, 21:45
by Béèm
MU wrote:
Béèm wrote:But the real show-stopper is, that altho I selected the Belgian azerty keyboard, I am not in it, but have some qwerty keyboard.
How can this be solved?
Do the german/french one work for you?
You can activate them in the "settings" menu.
(keymap DE, keymap FR).
Mark
No the German doesn't work.
The french does work except the dead keys, which are proper to the Belgian keyboard.
I am typing in NYP now, so as long as I don't have to type some special characters, it's ok.

So the show-stopper remains.
I installed the mini and it's nice.

Hope the keymap for the Belgian keyboard can be available for selection on boot.

Posted: Sun 31 May 2009, 05:04
by Sage
Accented characters occur in a wide range of languages. No surprise that there are companies wanting to sell font packs for the devil's OS. However, for those who understand these things (not me!) it really shouldn't be so difficult to work out a key combination once the ASCII look-up code is known. A useful list is given in :
http://tlt.its.psu.edu/suggestions/inte ... tml#winalt
In principal, any key can be (re)defined to show any symbol or character, then it just needs one of the universal drivers which were originally all based on Unix. It was so much easier in 8-bit. It always surprises me how few Brits know that CTRL-ALT-4 produces the euro symbol, even in W95 and even in the UK where the £sterling still reigns supreme! (Well almost, at least it did till ~1900).

Posted: Sun 31 May 2009, 05:27
by MU
Bernard,
do you get an error when you type:
setxkbmap -layout be

That keymap is
/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be

Your selected keymap is stored in the file:
/etc/keymap
It should be "be.map".

The keymap is loaded from /root/.xinitrc, with the command:

Code: Select all

#wow: (custom 4.11 puplet)fix keyboard layout (Xorg 7.4)
setxkbmap -layout `cat /etc/keymap | cut -f1 -d.`
So somewhere here must be the error.
Just to be sure: you use xorg, not xvesa?

Mark

Posted: Sun 31 May 2009, 06:50
by Sage
OK, Mark - hopefully one problem solved for Béèm. Now some folks will be calling for the circumflexed 'y' and 'w' -ŷ and ŵ, which, of course can have vowel sounds in all languages, {apart from those pronouncing 'w' as 'v' (German(!) and others more directly linked to our mutual Sanskit heritage)}.
In this case, we are asking for ASCII 0373 & 0375.
How to do it?

Interestingly, these characters can be copied over from the above link, as well as accented Béèm from his posting.
Haven't czech-ed (sorry about that irresistible pun) the Czech hooked characters, but I guess the little circle-over ones work in Opera, at least.

Posted: Sun 31 May 2009, 08:59
by Béèm
MU wrote:Bernard,
do you get an error when you type:
setxkbmap -layout be

That keymap is
/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be

Your selected keymap is stored in the file:
/etc/keymap
It should be "be.map".

The keymap is loaded from /root/.xinitrc, with the command:

Code: Select all

#wow: (custom 4.11 puplet)fix keyboard layout (Xorg 7.4)
setxkbmap -layout `cat /etc/keymap | cut -f1 -d.`
So somewhere here must be the error.
Just to be sure: you use xorg, not xvesa?

Mark
Thank Mark for your attention.
I am in Xorg, sure of it.
keymap says: be-latin1.map (as selected on first boot)
But I am still in some qwerty layout
setxkbmap -layout be doesn't give an error.
Now I am in a Belgian layout but without dead-key support. So I can't make a o umlaut.
So it's more comfortable.

As the alpha6 be-latin1 works, I copied the be map to NYP but when doing the setxkbmap cmd I get a loading error.
In NYP pup_ro2 I found a be-latin1.map, but I am not sure where to put it.
I copied it to /usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be and issued the command setxkbmap -layout be-latin1, but got a load error also.

So the dead-key issue remains.

Other then that, after the session with NYP I powered down. But the PC doen't power off, probably due to the acpi=off parameter on boot.
Annoying, but workable.
However, I wonder what I will discover of other functionality not workin due to acpi=off.

Bernard