Page 3 of 7

Posted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 12:05
by 01micko
tempestuous

That is Pwidgets, (what aarf is dispalying), a frontend for Conky designed by zigbert which WhoDo had as standard in 4.2.1, and, where I learned some code. 8)

I could possibly adjust that particular code to display fan output correctly in Pwidgets .

It would also be possible to display cpu temperature automatically periodically, in one of a number of forms. For example with a splash or (if there is a jwm expert out there)as a panel applet.

Thanks

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 02:09
by 01micko
Hi tempestous

Ok, I now have the gui working correctly with the radiobuttons remembering their configuration.

I did manage to make it work without a functions file but it is way too slow and not acceptable. The problem is, that it takes a few seconds (probably faster on Atom) for the system to recognise the new mode and gtkdialog lags well and truly behind that. With the functions file everything appears to happen in an instant. The only drawback is that the "Set CPU Mode" button is necessary.

I added a "Eee" logo and a puppy logo, but I can get rid of these. It was mainly to take up that little bit of vacant real estate in the gui. If you like them I can refine them because the "Eee" logo is only a rough draft. I also used Dougal's fan icon on the fan config button.

It was necessary to add a file for the radiobuttons to "read" such that they stayed in configuration, it's only 53 bytes. Zigbert uses a similar method in "Pfind", NathanF also in "Nathan Wallpaper Setter".

Pic below.

I hope this is what you need.

Cheers

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:46
by tempestuous
Bravo, 01micko.
Yes, I expected that an "apply" button was likely to be necessary.

If you PM me a dotpet or gzipped tarball I will post it with the Eee hotkeys package.

But your assignment will only be complete when you have done a Celeron version, too!
Are you up for it?

With Celeron there are just two (useful) states: 630 MHz and 900 MHz

The two scripts to activate are /usr/bin/normalclock and /usr/bin/overclock
which are inherited from dawnsboy's older Pupeeecontrol package. You will notice that these scripts go through a series of FSB speed changes, so that the speed is progressively "scaled" up or down, rather than "jumped".
Actually, the name of the script "overclock" is wrong in this case, since 900 MHz is the full operating speed of the Eee's CeleronM CPU. The processor is normally underclocked to 630 MHz to save power. jakfish has discovered that any further underclocking will not achieve noticeable improvement in power consumption.

This is the command to determine the current FSB/voltage settings -

Code: Select all

cat /proc/eee/fsb
When the Eee is in default mode, the result will be -

Code: Select all

70 24 1
The first entry is the FSB speed (70 MHz).
You can extract just this value with -

Code: Select all

cat /proc/eee/fsb | awk '{print $1}'
FSB speed "70" means CPU speed of 630MHz, and
FSB speed "100" means CPU speed of 900MHz.

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:47
by 01micko
Well it's done.. for the Atom anyway.

I refined the pixmap a little, looks better. If you want to get rid of it just delete "
<pixmap>
<input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/eee-pup-s.png</input>
</pixmap>
"
from the eee-testing file.

Added tooltips for the 2 big buttons.
Tested and tested, working fine.

I just put the files, in hierarchy, in a folder and tarballed. They will merge with existing, including the fan icon and the logos pixmap.

Cheers

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:49
by 01micko
hehe, posted at same time!

Yep, the Celeron gui is the next mission. With what I learned here it should be ok maybe by tonight.

Cheers.

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:52
by tempestuous
Oh, has ASUS granted you copyright permission to use their Eee logo?!

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:53
by 01micko
One more thing, no calling script so it cannot be run from commandline unless you type the full path.

(I did alter the logo, and I did think of that, if you want just put in a puppy logo)

__________________________________________
(a little later)

Well I made a puppy logo only. It is offset to counteract the alignment gtkdialog uses. It looks fine and will avoid any nasty issues (er, if asus get nasty).

Code: Select all

<pixmap>
 <input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/puppy.png</input>
</pixmap>
EDIT: I just redid the puppy logo, it was too wide.(5:05PM)

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 09:53
by 01micko
Hmmmm...

I have a Celeron but I cannot test my pet. Mine is the Eeepc 701SD , which has been conforming to all the Atom commands. I guess they (asus) upgraded more than the wireless chipset in the 701SD. None of the other commands designed for Celerons work, all dotpets installed in order and rebooted. (..that hurt because it was running for 4 days :lol: )

Anyway, I coded all the necessary changes to make the gui appear intuitive (it's the same as the Atom gui minus 1 radiobutton). I hope it works because I was flying blind. Thanks to tempestuous and dawnsboy.

I'm releasing this as a dotpet because it needs to be tested, there should be no dire consequences, but, in saying that I can accept no responsibility. No need for a screeny because it is the same, less a button, as the Atom gui.

Really a new thread should be started for "Eee Celeron" testing.

Cheers

EDIT: .pet removed, see newer post.

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 14:18
by rhadon
Hi,

just installed eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU-test.pet. Running it from Menu->System nothing happens. Running from terminal I get

Code: Select all

eee-fan-ctrl.sh: Error: failed to load module eee.ko
Running eee-fan-config.sh seems to work.

Please tell me if I miss something.

~ Rolf

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 21:32
by tempestuous
rhadon wrote:

Code: Select all

eee-fan-ctrl.sh: Error: failed to load module eee.ko
rhadon, you need to install eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5.pet
from
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 452#346452

Posted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 21:59
by 01micko
Oh dear, made a mistake when packaging the last dotpet (incorrect menu entry) :oops: . But maybe a good thing for you rhadon or you may not have found out you need the eee driver.

Try this one.
Pet removed, third time lucky :roll: :oops: See newr post.

Sorry guys.

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 04:37
by tempestuous
01micko,
There's still a small error in /usr/local/eeecontrol/eeecontrol-cel
The location of two image files is wrong:
<input file>/root/eeecontrol.png</input>
<input file>/root/puppy.png</input>

they should be -
<input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/eeecontrol.png</input>
<input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/puppy.png</input>

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 05:02
by 01micko
deleted

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 05:09
by 01micko
Well there should be nothing wrong with this pet fingers crossed (which is how I've been typing lately, with my fingers crossed :lol: )

I can now test this on my Celeron and it works.

I had to run depmod-FULL then "modprobe eee" to get the driver to load, a bit perplexing but nevertheless it worked. When I run "cat /proc/eee/fsb" I get the correct results, and my menu entry is working :)

If anyone installed the older pet you must uninstall with the PPM (petget) and restart your WM or X (I restarted X) so that the old menu entry is cleared.

Enjoy

EDIT: dotpet removed... you know the drill...
Cheers

Mick

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 11:15
by tempestuous
01micko wrote:I had to run depmod-FULL then "modprobe eee" to get the driver to load
Thanks for that information. It's consistent with other reports I have heard, although it only affects some people ... I can't reproduce the problem on my hardware.
So I have just repackaged all drivers in the "Extras for Puppy 4.3 with 2.6.30.5 kernel" thread to include depmod-FULL.

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 11:17
by tempestuous
Mick, we're almost there, but my focus on user interface design prompts me to ask;
what's the difference in functionality between the "OK" and "Cancel" buttons?

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 11:28
by 01micko
Ah yes... no need for 2, I'll leave the cancel button, ditch OK.

brb

Posted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 12:33
by 01micko
Here we go, I think these pets will suit.

I went against what I said before.... "OK" is more intuitive than "Cancel" where a user might think he is not making a change. If they want to exit the window there is the 'x' in the corner, everyone knows that. In saying that, "OK" just exits the window anyway. Windows users are used to the "Apply, OK" drill.

I did both, Atom and Celeron, they both conform, obviously with the Celeron version with only 2 radio buttons. I dropped "test" too from the names. I tested both new pets because I made name changes, an easy way to come unstuck.

Cheers

701SD FSB is 400MHz

Posted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 13:08
by dawnsboy
@rhadon

I thought that it might be helpful to point out the following information. Note that the 701SD which was released later than 701 4G/8G models is significantly different than the 701 4G/8G series of Asus Eeepc netbooks. The motherboards and batteries are not interchangeable, the SSD drive is a removable mini PCI-e drive rather than the soldered in design present on the 701 motherboard. The case is said to be similar to that of the 900 with slightly different "edges".

However the most significant difference is the setting of the FSB at 400MHz as shown in the tabe below.
PI DATE : April 2009
PRODUCT : Eee PC 701SD
COLOR : White
PROC : Intel Celeron M 353 (512K L2 cache, FSB: 400 MHz)
CHIPSET : Intel 9l0GML/ICH6-M
MEM : 512MB DDR2 SO DIMM, Max 2GB
STORAGE : Total: 18GB, Flash & HDD: 8GB, Online Eee storage: 10GB
DISPLAY : 7" Display 800 x 480 (WVGA), LED Backlight
GRAPHICS: Intel UMA
NTWK : 10/100 Mbps LAN, 802.11 b/g wireless,
AUDIO : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC, Build-in stereo speaker (1W for each)
Analog Mic
PORTS : 1 (D-sub 15-pin for external monitor), 3 USB 2.0, 1 RJ-45
2 Head phone / Mic-in
OS : GNU/Linux
WEBCAM : 0.3 Megapixel
CARD READER: MMC/ SD(SDHC)
BATT : 4-Cell 4400 mAH Battery
DIM : 225(W) x 160(D) x 20~32 mm(H)
WEIGHT : 950g w/ batt
The FSB on the standard 701 4G8G is 70MHz.

Posted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 14:25
by rhadon
tempestuous wrote:rhadon, you need to install eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5.pet from...
Thank you. Shame on me. I've completely overlooked that thread :oops: .

@ 01micko: Now your eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU.pet works fine and looks good to me :D
To be exactly, CPU speed changing works fine, testing fan control takes more time :wink:

@ dawnsboy: Thanks for information. Although it's more informative for 01micko ( I have an EeePc 900 original).

~ Rolf