Integration of 3G Wireless Modem Detection - 4.1.2 & 4.2.1

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
jfdee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 07:34

#381 Post by jfdee »

I'd like to propose the incorporation of the latest "usb_modeswitch" version into Puppy. There are more than 150 different devices on the list now; udev rules and wrapper scripts are included to automatically handle those devices.

It tests for ambiguous USB IDs (like the notorious 05c6:1000), choosing the right switching method for different devices with the same ID.

And if no other driver binds to the switched device, the wrapper mechanism adds the new USB ID dynamically to the "option" driver which works with every serial USB highspeed modem, even when it is not explicitly known to the kernel module.

If you want to have a look, there is more information available. Just google for "usb_modeswitch".
Last edited by jfdee on Sun 27 Dec 2009, 09:52, edited 1 time in total.

Coolsun9
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 05:00

#382 Post by Coolsun9 »

Hi Rerwin,

I am glad to find this thread but not quite follow the tech talk. I hold back installing Puppy 4.3.1 on my eeePC 701 because I could not get E1550 to work on Linux.

It would be great if there is step by step instruction or screenshots complied in a document to follow.

Christmas Cheers
:D

jfdee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 07:34

#383 Post by jfdee »

Coolsun9:

For a manual preparation of your device do this in a console/terminal (as root on other systems than Puppy):

Code: Select all

# usb_modeswitch -v 0x12d1 -p 0x1446 -M "55534243123456780000000000000011060000000000000000000000000000"
The resulting device should be picked up by the "option" driver automatically. You can check that by running "dmesg" and look for newly created "ttyUSB" devices.

Check out the USB_ModeSwitch page (Google) if you want.

Coolsun9
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 05:00

E1550

#384 Post by Coolsun9 »

jfdee wrote:Coolsun9:

For a manual preparation of your device do this in a console/terminal (as root on other systems than Puppy):

Code: Select all

# usb_modeswitch -v 0x12d1 -p 0x1446 -M "55534243123456780000000000000011060000000000000000000000000000"
The resulting device should be picked up by the "option" driver automatically. You can check that by running "dmesg" and look for newly created "ttyUSB" devices.

Check out the USB_ModeSwitch page (Google) if you want.
Hi jfdee,

Thanks for your reply. I am very new to Linux and so not sure how it's work. But I tried usb_modeswitch from the Console icon. It did not returned with the sequence of numbers as you have shown.
Instead, I got this....
usb_modeswitch: option requires an argument --M

What did I do wrong?

jfdee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 07:34

#385 Post by jfdee »

Just a little misunderstanding: the row of numbers should follow the "-M" in the same command line. (Yes, this is a looong command.)

It was wrapped to the next line by the forum software; this is not intended.

Coolsun9
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 05:00

#386 Post by Coolsun9 »

jfdee wrote:Just a little misunderstanding: the row of numbers should follow the "-M" in the same command line. (Yes, this is a looong command.)

It was wrapped to the next line by the forum software; this is not intended.
IC. Understand now. But..it returned with:

Looking for default devices ...
No default device found. Is it connected? Bye.

I am not sure what it means. The dongle was plugged in when I type the whole long command line. Please note Puppy did recognised the dongle as storage device with sr0 on the desktop.

BTW....I have managed to look into the usb_modeswitch.conf file and listed the E1550. It looks like this:

#######################################################
# Huawei E1550
#
# Contributor: Anders Blomdell, Ahmed Soliman

;DefaultVendor= 0x12d1
;DefaultProduct= 0x1446

TargetVendor= 0x12d1
TargetProduct= 0x1001

# only for reference and 0.x versions
# MessageEndpoint=0x01

;MessageContent="55534243123456780000000000000011060000000000000000000000000000"

I read somewhere shouldn't the semi colon ; be there?

I am quite surprise that this take longer than I expected to resolve this small issue. Please advise if I have missed anything. Thanks again.

jfdee
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat 24 Oct 2009, 07:34

#387 Post by jfdee »

If you put those parameters on the command line, the config file is not used. Alternatively you can remove the semicolon characters in the config file (just the entry for the 1550!) and call "usb_modeswitch" without any parameters.

If the device is not there, then it is not found 8) . Double check with "lsusb" if the "12d1:1446" entry is really present after plugging. Also check if your command line is correct, including the "0x" prefix in front of the hexadecimal numbers.

If you add the "-W" parameter you get a detailed output about the effective setting of all parameters used in that call.

User avatar
neurino
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 13:08

#388 Post by neurino »

I'm trying to make a Huawei e1550 in Puppy 4.3.1 (to be honest puppeee but I think it's quite the same)

I added rules_update-2 pet and uncommented 1550 line in /etc/udev/rules...

then some reboots here and there and then Internet Connection Wizard => Internet by dialog or wireless modem => probe => PROBE => no modem found.

Sometimes when I plug the e1550 it shows like a cdrom, unplug, reconnect and no icon shown...

In hardinfo the usb key shows as HUAWEI Mobile

here is my pmodemdialog file, please help!

Thank you!
__________________________________

EDIT:

puppeee is not quite the same, I booted standard puppy,

added rules_update-2 pet and uncommented 1550 line in /etc/udev/rules...

maybe I had to rebbot but using directly usb_modeswitch the switch occured, then running the wizard the modem was found on /dev/ttyUSB0. I did not tried to connect yet but I wonder what could be missing or change in puppeee that made me headbang for hours with no result.... :shock: (maybe a different kernel???)

As usual any advice is welcome!

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#389 Post by jemimah »

I can tell from your attached output that device is detected as a disk.

Code: Select all

Dec 29 22:10:55 (none) user.notice kernel: scsi 2:0:0:0: CD-ROM            HUAWEI   Mass Storage     2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
Dec 29 22:10:55 (none) user.debug kernel: usb-storage: device scan complete
Dec 29 22:10:55 (none) user.notice kernel: scsi 3:0:0:0: Direct-Access     HUAWEI   MMC Storage      2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
The modeswitch is failing though, maybe it's assuming usb-storage is built as a module. I'll look into it.

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#390 Post by jemimah »

Ok, it might be looking for /proc/bus/usb which Puppeee isn't mounting automatically for some reason. Please try mounting it manually, and go through the process again, and let me know if that fixes it.

Code: Select all

mount -t usbfs none /proc/bus/usb

User avatar
neurino
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 13:08

#391 Post by neurino »

jemimah wrote:

Code: Select all

mount -t usbfs none /proc/bus/usb
Well, now usb_modeswitch finds and switches the modem (so the CD-Rom Icon disappears.

But PROBE in PupDial does not work yet

Looking for USB devices with PupScan (was "no devices found") now shows:

Code: Select all

snip...

Manufacturer=HUAWEI Technology
Product=HUAWEI Mobile
VendorID=12d1  ProductID=1001  KERNEL-MODULE=(none)

snip...

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#392 Post by jemimah »

Can you post the pmodemdiag info again? Preferably one from Puppeee and one from working standard Puppy.

magerlab
Posts: 739
Joined: Sun 08 Jul 2007, 20:08

#393 Post by magerlab »

please, don't forget about BoxPupeee :)
I'll try to see what happens on 1 of january ( my work mate will bring huawei modem to me)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#394 Post by 01micko »

just my way of thinking.... if the usb modem wasn't there to begin with maybe the option driver needs to be loaded manually too?

yep, 2c worth...
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#395 Post by 01micko »

mager, did you have a prob in boxpuppeee? I had none
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#396 Post by jemimah »

I will double check that the "option" driver is there when I get home. It might not be. I'd never heard of it before today.

User avatar
neurino
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 13:08

#397 Post by neurino »

jemimah wrote:Can you post the pmodemdiag info again? Preferably one from Puppeee and one from working standard Puppy.
here they are, thanks for your support!
Attachments
pmodemdiag-puppeee.tar.gz
Puppeee
(29.62 KiB) Downloaded 330 times
pmodemdiag-puppy431.tar.gz
Standard Puppy
(34.17 KiB) Downloaded 329 times

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#398 Post by jemimah »

I checked and the option modules does exist, but it your output shows that it didn't load automatically. Can you try 'modprobe option' and see if that helps?

User avatar
neurino
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 13:08

#399 Post by neurino »

jemimah wrote:Can you try 'modprobe option' and see if that helps?
I tried it a lot of times yesterday but it answered something like "FATAL: Module option not found", now I'm on Standard Puppy I can't tell you the exact response but it was a short sentence

User avatar
jemimah
Posts: 4307
Joined: Wed 26 Aug 2009, 19:56
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

#400 Post by jemimah »

I think you told me you are still on Puppeee 2.5. 3.1 is probably the first Puppeee to have the option module. I just tested on mine and it loads without error.

Post Reply