Precise Puppy 5.7.1

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Precise Puppy 5.7.1

#337 Post by L18L »

New forum member MyPuppysaysWauWau has posted about issues with shutdownconfig: no back button.

Here is my fix to get a back button that enables everyone
- to repeat the entire process
- or cancel without shutdown.
#final sanity check...
AAAMB=`expr $SIZEPFILE \/ 1024`
T_sanititle="$(gettext 'First shutdown: sanity check')"
T_saniyes="$(gettext 'YES, SAVE')"
T_sanichange="$(gettext 'CHANGE FOLDER')"
while [ 1 ];do #110926
T_sanitext="`eval_gettext \"\Zb\Z1FINAL SANITY CHECK:\Zn\ZB
Partition you are saving to: \Zb\\\${SAVEPART}\ZB
The filesystem of \\\${SAVEPART} partition: \Zb\\\${SAVEFS}\ZB
Name of the save file: \Zb\\\${NAMEONLY}\ZB
Path (folder) of the save file: \Zb\\\${SAVEPATH}\ZB
Size of save file: \Zb\\\${SIZEPFILE}KB (\\\${AAAMB}MB)\ZB
Filesystem inside save file: \Zb\\\${SFFS}\ZB
\"`
"
T_back="$(gettext 'back')"
T_sanitext="$T_sanitext
`eval_gettext \"If they definitely look right, choose \Zb\\\${T_saniyes}\ZB button...
Looks ok, but you want to change the folder or anything else, choose \Zb\\\${T_back}\ZB...
If you decide not to save, choose \Zb\\\${T_notsave}\ZB...\"`"
# ${DIALOGEXE} ${BACKGROUNDYELLOW} ${TITLEPARAM} "$T_sanititle" --colors --no-collapse --extra-button --ok-label "$T_saniyes" --extra-label "$T_sanichange" --cancel-label "$T_notsave" --yesno "$T_sanitext" 0 0 >/dev/console #110926
${DIALOGEXE} ${BACKGROUNDYELLOW} ${TITLEPARAM} "$T_sanititle" --colors --no-collapse --extra-button --ok-label "$T_saniyes" --extra-label "$T_back" --cancel-label "$T_notsave" --yesno "$T_sanitext" 0 0 >/dev/console #140222

SANITYRET=$?
[ $SANITYRET -ne 0 -a $SANITYRET -ne 3 ] && return 1
[ $SANITYRET -eq 0 ] && break
# if [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ];then #change folder.
if [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ];then #start fresh
$0
exit
T_choosefoldertitle="$(gettext 'First shutdown: choose folder')"
script attached for your conveniance
Attachments
shutdownconfig_with_back_button.png
(10.22 KiB) Downloaded 2177 times
shutdownconfig.gz
save as
/usr/sbin/shutdownconfig
(remove .gz)
make executable
(42.5 KiB) Downloaded 412 times

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Precise Puppy 5.7.1

#338 Post by ASRI éducation »

L18L wrote:New forum member MyPuppysaysWauWau has posted about issues with shutdownconfig: no back button.

Here is my fix to get a back button that enables everyone
- to repeat the entire process
- or cancel without shutdown.
I'll try soon. This functionality can be very interesting.
Thank you.
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
MyPuppysaysWauWau
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 10:12
Location: Austria/Vienna

Screenshot

#339 Post by MyPuppysaysWauWau »

Hi,

Screeny 0.7 fails on my Laptop (Dell XPS1210) :(

Image

Image

Regards from Vienna,
Walter

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#340 Post by RSH »

Hi.

What I did learn from programming functions, is: usually one can have only one function per name or one name per function.

I did not learn that it would be possible to have two functions using an equal name within the same code.

So why there is function free_coord twice in /usr/local/pup_event/frontend_funcs ???

Which one is used ?

If both are used, how does this work ?

And which one is executed first ?

Any clues ?

Thanks.

RSH

Code 1:

Code: Select all

#v431 shinobar: fix for overlapping icons at some screen resolutions...
free_coord() {
 #find a free place on desktop. v410 avoid exact overlapping icons...
 #for left or right, i have flipped logic, so 'y' is horizontal...
 COORDSGRID="`grep -o ' x="[0-9]*" y="[0-9]*" ' /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin | sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
 case $ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION in #091208 see /etc/eventmanager
  bottom|right)
   COORD_Y=`expr $SCRN_Y - $ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP` #091208 default 64, see /etc/eventmanager
  ;;
  *) #top or left
   COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP
 esac
 # import from v4.20p1JP 5Jun09, 18aug09 by Masaki Shinomiya : snap on the grid
 PIN_GRID_STEP=`grep "pinboard_grid_step" $HOME/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options | sed -e "s/ *<[^>]*>//g"`
 if [ "$PIN_GRID_STEP" ] && [ $PIN_GRID_STEP -gt 0 ];then
  PIN_GRID_STEP2=`expr $PIN_GRID_STEP / 2`
  COORD_Y=`expr \( $COORD_Y + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP`
 fi
 COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP #091208 default 32, see /etc/eventmanager
 MAX_X=`expr $SCRN_X - 96`
 xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
 xyCNT=0 #precaution.
 while [ 1 ];do
  xgPATTERN="`echo -n "$xPATTERN" |  sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
  [ "`echo "$COORDSGRID" | grep "$xgPATTERN"`" = "" ] && break
  COORD_X=`expr $COORD_X + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING` #091208
  if [ $COORD_X -gt $MAX_X ];then #091208 start next line up.
   xyCNT=`expr $xyCNT + 1`
   [ $xyCNT -gt 1 ] && break
   case $ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION in #091208 see /etc/eventmanager
    bottom)
     COORD_Y=`expr $SCRN_Y - $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    ;;
    *)
     COORD_Y=`expr $SCRN_Y + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    ;;
   esac
   COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP
  fi
  xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
 done
}
Code 2:

Code: Select all

free_coord() {
 #find a free place on desktop. v410 avoid exact overlapping icons...
 #091208 finetune placement, also any side of screen...
 #read the coords grid, code from shinobar...
 COORDSGRID="`grep -o ' x="[0-9]*" y="[0-9]*" ' /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin | sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
 PIN_GRID_STEP=`grep "pinboard_grid_step" $HOME/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options | sed -e "s/ *<[^>]*>//g"`
 [ ! $PIN_GRID_STEP ] && PIN_GRID_STEP=16 #16=medium.
 [ $PIN_GRID_STEP -eq 0 ] && PIN_GRID_STEP=16 #precaution.
 PIN_GRID_STEP2=`expr $PIN_GRID_STEP \/ 2`
 MAX_X=`expr $SCRN_X - 96`
 MAX_Y=`expr $SCRN_Y - 96`
 case $ICON_PLACE_ORIENTATION in #see /etc/eventmanager
  bottom)
   COORD_Y=`expr $SCRN_Y - $ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP` #default 64, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_Y=`expr \( $COORD_Y + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP`
   COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP #default 32, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_X=`expr \( $COORD_X + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP` #130613
   xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   xyCNT=0 #precaution.
   while [ 1 ];do
    xgPATTERN="`echo -n "$xPATTERN" |  sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
    [ "`echo "$COORDSGRID" | grep "$xgPATTERN"`" = "" ] && break
    COORD_X=`expr $COORD_X + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    if [ $COORD_X -gt $MAX_X ];then #start next line up.
     xyCNT=`expr $xyCNT + 1`
     [ $xyCNT -gt 1 ] && break
     COORD_Y=`expr $COORD_Y - $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
     COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP
    fi
    xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   done
  ;;
  top)
   COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP
   COORD_Y=`expr \( $COORD_Y + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP`
   COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP #default 32, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_X=`expr \( $COORD_X + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP` #130613
   xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   xyCNT=0 #precaution.
   while [ 1 ];do
    xgPATTERN="`echo -n "$xPATTERN" |  sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
    [ "`echo "$COORDSGRID" | grep "$xgPATTERN"`" = "" ] && break
    COORD_X=`expr $COORD_X + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    if [ $COORD_X -gt $MAX_X ];then #start next line down.
     xyCNT=`expr $xyCNT + 1`
     [ $xyCNT -gt 1 ] && break
     COORD_Y=`expr $COORD_Y + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
     COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP
    fi
    xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   done
  ;;
  left)
   COORD_X=$ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP #default 64, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_X=`expr \( $COORD_X + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP` #130613
   COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP #default 32, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_Y=`expr \( $COORD_Y + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP`
   xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   xyCNT=0 #precaution.
   while [ 1 ];do
    xgPATTERN="`echo -n "$xPATTERN" |  sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
    [ "`echo "$COORDSGRID" | grep "$xgPATTERN"`" = "" ] && break
    COORD_Y=`expr $COORD_Y + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    if [ $COORD_Y -gt $MAX_Y ];then #start next row.
     xyCNT=`expr $xyCNT + 1`
     [ $xyCNT -gt 1 ] && break
     COORD_X=`expr $COORD_X + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
     COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP
    fi
    xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   done
  ;;
  right)
   COORD_X=`expr $SCRN_X - $ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP` #default 64, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_X=`expr \( $COORD_X + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP` #130613
   COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP #default 32, see /etc/eventmanager
   COORD_Y=`expr \( $COORD_Y + $PIN_GRID_STEP2 \) / $PIN_GRID_STEP '*'  $PIN_GRID_STEP`
   xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   xyCNT=0 #precaution.
   while [ 1 ];do
    xgPATTERN="`echo -n "$xPATTERN" |  sed 's/[0-9]"/"/g'`"
    [ "`echo "$COORDSGRID" | grep "$xgPATTERN"`" = "" ] && break
    COORD_Y=`expr $COORD_Y + $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
    if [ $COORD_Y -gt $MAX_Y ];then #start next row back.
     xyCNT=`expr $xyCNT + 1`
     [ $xyCNT -gt 1 ] && break
     COORD_X=`expr $COORD_X - $ICON_PLACE_SPACING`
     COORD_Y=$ICON_PLACE_START_GAP
    fi
    xPATTERN=" x=\"${COORD_X}\" y=\"${COORD_Y}\" "
   done
  ;;
 esac
}
? ? ?
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

Re: Precise Puppy 5.7.1

#341 Post by musher0 »

L18L wrote:New forum member MyPuppysaysWauWau has posted about issues with shutdownconfig: no back button.

Here is my fix to get a back button that enables everyone
- to repeat the entire process
- or cancel without shutdown.
(...)
Danke, L18L.

This simple solution was waiting for someone to think about it, and you did! :)
(Very free translation of the French: "Il suffisait d'y penser.")

How exportable is it? To other Puppy derivatives, I mean. Do you know?

BFN.

musher0
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#342 Post by musher0 »

RSH wrote:Hi.

What I did learn from programming functions, is: usually one can have only one function per name or one name per function.
I did not learn that it would be possible to have two functions using an equal name within the same code.
So why there is function free_coord twice in /usr/local/pup_event/frontend_funcs ???
Which one is used ?
If both are used, how does this work ?
And which one is executed first ?
Any clues ?

Thanks.

RSH

Code 1:
(...)

Code 2:
(...)
Hi, RSH.

Do functions not behave like variables? Meaning: the 2nd one by the same name
supersedes (updates) the first? Not to mention that it should never happen in a
well-written script.

BFN.

musher0

PS. There are "literal" repetitions of script code in the "init" as well... (the one in initrd.gz).
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#343 Post by 01micko »

RSH wrote:Hi.

What I did learn from programming functions, is: usually one can have only one function per name or one name per function.

I did not learn that it would be possible to have two functions using an equal name within the same code.

So why there is function free_coord twice in /usr/local/pup_event/frontend_funcs ???

Which one is used ?

If both are used, how does this work ?

And which one is executed first ?

Any clues ?

Thanks.

RSH
Nice catch RSH. This is now fixed in woof. Musher0 is right that the second function overrides the first so no bug was seen (regarding the duplification) however of course it is a bug!

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/w ... a82da03e11
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: Precise Puppy 5.7.1

#344 Post by L18L »

musher0 wrote:How exportable is it? To other Puppy derivatives, I mean. Do you know?
No, I don't know as I don't care about derivates....
"Il suffisait d'y penser."
Ah bon, la PensOcracy

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#345 Post by RSH »

Hi.

I tried to run Precise-5.7.1 in VirtualBox-4.3.4 (shinobar's edition), but VirtualBox complains about my computer doesn't have PAE. So it did not start.

Without VirtualBox I can run and use exactly this Precise-5.7.1 Version.

Is VirtualBox wrong or my Computer?

Is there a non PAE Precise-5.7.1?


Thanks,

RSH
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

User avatar
ASRI éducation
Posts: 3197
Joined: Sat 09 May 2009, 12:10
Location: France
Contact:

#346 Post by ASRI éducation »

RSH wrote:I tried to run Precise-5.7.1 in VirtualBox-4.3.4 (shinobar's edition), but VirtualBox complains about my computer doesn't have PAE. So it did not start.

Without VirtualBox I can run and use exactly this Precise-5.7.1 Version.

Is VirtualBox wrong or my Computer?

Is there a non PAE Precise-5.7.1?
Hello,
I think VirtualBox wrong.
For a non PAE Precise 5.71, you can use precise-5.7.1-retro.iso
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precise-5.7.1/
Cordialement,
Projet ASRI éducation => [url=http://asri-education.org/]Association[/url] | [url=http://forum.asri-education.org/]Forum[/url] | [url=http://dl01.asri-education.org/]Dépôt[/url] | [url=http://kids.asri-education.org/]Espace kids[/url]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

PAE support on VirtualBox

#347 Post by shinobar »

RSH wrote:I tried to run Precise-5.7.1 in VirtualBox-4.3.4 (shinobar's edition), but VirtualBox complains about my computer doesn't have PAE. So it did not start.
Ensure the virtual machine settings.
Attachments
virtualbox_pae.png
Of course the real CPU need to support PAE
(10.19 KiB) Downloaded 2647 times
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
RSH
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:21
Location: Germany

#348 Post by RSH »

Thanks.

I found this and tried this already. It began to boot, but it hangs when it comes to: making the filesystem usable...

A Precise 5.6 derivative and original Slacko 5.6.3 do make exactly the same problems. Lucid and THD boots fine.

Any clue, how to solve this (it destroys a vision of a cool app/function otherwise).
[b][url=http://lazy-puppy.weebly.com]LazY Puppy[/url][/b]
[b][url=http://rshs-dna.weebly.com]RSH's DNA[/url][/b]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91422][b]SARA B.[/b][/url]

puppyto
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat 10 Apr 2010, 18:15

#349 Post by puppyto »

Hello, anyone with Precise 5.7.1 on usb, has experienced like a freeze when execute "Menu---Shutdown---Power-off computer"? The black screen with "Precise-Puppy is now shutting down" remains indefinitely, so I have to remove the battery and unplug the power.

User avatar
MyPuppysaysWauWau
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 10:12
Location: Austria/Vienna

#350 Post by MyPuppysaysWauWau »

Obsolete

Regards,
Walter

chrabak
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 18 Mar 2014, 23:01

precise5.7.1

#351 Post by chrabak »

First time posting so be nice:)

Run this cmd on a Precise 5.7.1 full install (with devx) and you will find
about 830 duplicate directory tree entries. I think this is a result of the sfs_load routine. Same with Slacko5.6.

find / -type d | sed -n '/.*\(\/.*\)\(\1\)$/{p}'

Discovered puppy 2009 and have found the joy of programming once again. Thx to all you puppy-makers.

Chris

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#352 Post by Semme »

Hello Chrabak, Welcome. Care to supply a little breakdown on that line of yours?

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#353 Post by tlchost »

puppyto wrote:Hello, anyone with Precise 5.7.1 on usb, has experienced like a freeze when execute "Menu---Shutdown---Power-off computer"? The black screen with "Precise-Puppy is now shutting down" remains indefinitely, so I have to remove the battery and unplug the power.
Not here on usb or flash card.

april

Bit of selective censureship going on -Posts being blocked ?

#354 Post by april »

Barry
Precise 5.7.1
I notice the thread http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718deals with a lan wireless adapter I use as , no doubt , do countless other potential users.
They would be walking away in droves scratching their heads and going to other distros as there is only a limited fix by "pemasu" for the one distro only (5.4.2) and it has not been incorporated in subsequent releases so none of them are useable for people with that adapter . I last looked at 5.7.1.

I see also a bug noted in this threadhttp://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85477with glipper failing to load reliably each time , sometimes it loads most times it does not and restarting the x server fixes it . If you are deep in the middle of something and want to copy text then everything has to be shut down first.

What is the point of continually updating distributions with new features if old problems are not fixed? I can't use any precise distro except 5.4.2. I guess the others are like that too huh?[/b]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#355 Post by Makoto »

april: The forum software seems to have a bug where it'll "blank" posts that have something in tag sets it doesn't like. You'll noti ... the second that might be causing problems.
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

Re: Bit of selective censureship going on -Posts being blocked ?

#356 Post by James C »

april wrote:Barry
Precise 5.7.1
I notice the thread http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84718deals with a lan wireless adapter I use as , no doubt , do countless other potential users.
They would be walking away in droves scratching their heads and going to other distros as there is only a limited fix by "pemasu" for the one distro only (5.4.2) and it has not been incorporated in subsequent releases so none of them are useable for people with that adapter . I last looked at 5.7.1.

I see also a bug noted in this threadhttp://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85477with glipper failing to load reliably each time , sometimes it loads most times it does not and restarting the x server fixes it . If you are deep in the middle of something and want to copy text then everything has to be shut down first.

What is the point of continually updating distributions with new features if old problems are not fixed? I can't use any precise distro except 5.4.2. I guess the others are like that too huh?[/b]

Post Reply