Page 2 of 3

Re: SWAT - did anyone succeed to implement this

Posted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 18:18
by rcrsn51
ags wrote:I've allready been using samba (previous version) and would like to make my home network a little better and secure.
Check out Samba-TNG. Its default security mode is "user" instead of "share". So you have more network security options out of the box.

Problem with

Posted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 18:33
by gcmartin
This occurs (seems we are re-visiting same problems that occurred in 3.5.5)

Code: Select all

# smbclient -L localhost
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-16LE to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from UTF-16LE to ASCII
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-8 to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from ASCII to ASCII
              o
              o
("init_iconv: Conversion and init_iconv: Attempting" repeated many times,until)
              o
              o
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF8 to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from ASCII to ASCII
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-16BE to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from UTF-16BE to ASCII
Password: 
Any ideas on how to avoid these, now, and on future upgrades? (Is this a WARY problem, a urxvt problem or a SAMBA definition problem?)

Hope this helps

Posted: Sat 19 Feb 2011, 19:15
by rcrsn51
Install YASSM. It contains the missing code page that eliminates these messages.

Re: Problem with

Posted: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 00:54
by shinobar

Code: Select all

# smbclient -L localhost
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-16LE to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from UTF-16LE to ASCII
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-8 to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from ASCII to ASCII
              o
              o
("init_iconv: Conversion and init_iconv: Attempting" repeated many times,until)
              o
              o
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF8 to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from ASCII to ASCII
init_iconv: Conversion from UTF-16BE to CP850 not supported
init_iconv: Attempting to replace with conversion from UTF-16BE to ASCII
Password: 
It maybe harmless but occurs under lacking the file '/usr/lib/gconv/IBM850.so'.
The multilingual Wary-500m09 has the IBM850.so. Think Lucid Puppy 5.2 also has. EDIT: Lucid Puppy 5.2 doesn't have.
Or, rcrsn51 provides a PET: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... &start=280

Re: Understanding your Newbie user concerns on RAM

Posted: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 01:08
by shinobar
gcmartin wrote:I need your PET for SAMBA to setup and run a LiveCD environment that survives over reboot.
I do not understand what does it mean, 'a LiveCD environment that survives over reboot'.
I guess you are saying the multi-session, but we also have another solutions...
You can make a pupsave on HDD, then the SFS loaded by any measure survives after reboot.
If you don't like to touch the HDD, you can remaster the Live CD after loading the SFS by any measure.
If you like more easy way, burn the cd with the SFS and the sfs_load-*.pet included. (multilingual Wary-500m09 already has the sfs_load built in.)

If you insist on the PET, you can convert the SFS to a PET by any tools.

Re: Understanding your Newbie user concerns on RAM

Posted: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 02:40
by gcmartin
Remove by GCMartin.
sent to Shino'sPM

Re: Understanding your Newbie user concerns on RAM

Posted: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 18:33
by gcmartin
Sent to your PM

Re: samba PET

Posted: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 23:09
by shinobar
Be caution: This size of PET easily fills up your RAM.
Using the PET on 512MB RAM PC without swap may corrupts.

I tested the samba-3.5.6-1-lucid.pet on 512MB RAM virtual machine with the Lucid Puppy 5.2.
Firstly i installed firefox, then the free space is only 147MB left, already not enough to install the samba PET. Downloaded the samba PET, then it becomes 105MB.
I tried using the PPM. The PPM finishes with 'success' message, but apparently some files are lacking,
(The PPM does not show any error messages but the error is left at /tmp/xerrs.log.)

Re: samba PET

Posted: Thu 03 Mar 2011, 18:48
by gcmartin
shinobar wrote:Be caution: This size of PET easily fills up your RAM.
Using the PET on 512MB RAM PC without swap may corrupts.

I tested the samba-3.5.6-1-lucid.pet on 512MB RAM virtual machine with the Lucid Puppy 5.2.
Firstly i installed firefox, then the free space is only 147MB left, already not enough to install the samba PET. Downloaded the samba PET, then it becomes 105MB.
I tried using the PPM. The PPM finishes with 'success' message, but apparently some files are lacking,
(The PPM does not show any error messages but the error is left at /tmp/xerrs.log.)
Shinobar, can I test this PET you used. See your PM.

Posted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 00:12
by p310don
Hi Guys,

I must be doing something really wrong, or just missed something obvious. I have installed the 3.5.6 sfs in lucid 5.25 and edited the smb.conf to share my selected directory. If I open lamesmbexplorer I can see the directory shared, but I can't open it. It complains about the wrong password. Is there a password? Do I have to set it up? Info on that seems to be missing in this thread.

Thanks in advance for some help.

Paul

SAMBA authorization

Posted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 00:55
by gcmartin
p310don wrote:Hi Guys,

I must be doing something really wrong, or just missed something obvious. I have installed the 3.5.6 sfs in lucid 5.25 and edited the smb.conf to share my selected directory. If I open lamesmbexplorer I can see the directory shared, but I can't open it. It complains about the wrong password. Is there a password? Do I have to set it up? Info on that seems to be missing in this thread.

Thanks in advance for some help.

Paul
You're not doing anything wrong.

BUT, SAMBA, like Windows, requires authorization.

Before going further,there is this document. and also this thread.2 Yes/No Questions
  • Did you use the smb.conf it offers as a start or guideline?
  • And, if so, did you do the other items suggested?
The above 2 questions is my attempt to understand where you are.

Finally, if you did the items in that document, type this and let us know what you see:

Code: Select all

smbclient -L localhost
Hope this helps

Posted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 13:07
by p310don
gcmartin, in your tutorial, you say the default puppy username is root, and password is woofwoof. Tried those, doesn't work.

When typing smbclient -L localhost, I get asked for a password, I try woofwoof i get NT_STATUS_LOGON_FAILURE

lost

Posted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 13:11
by p310don
and now, two minutes later, I got it. There is no user set up, nor password apparently. At the bottom of your tutorial, gcmartin, it mentions this

# smbpasswd -L -a root

That does the trick :)

samba-4.0.9

Posted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 05:51
by shinobar
For precise Puppies:
samba-4.0.9-precise.sfs
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/precise/opt/

For the Lucid Puppy:
samba-4.0.9-lucid.sfs
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/lupu/opt/

Very confused by these samba sfs

Posted: Wed 09 Nov 2016, 09:44
by paulh177
I'm no beginner with Puppy, but I'm really thrown by these samba sfs files of shinobar's.

My expectation with a sfs is that I download it, tell puppy to load it on startup and that the contents are merged seamlessly with the existing Puppy filesystem, giving me unproblematic access to whatever I've loaded - whether its an application like OpenOffice or the devx development environment.

I've tried both the 3.5.8 and 4.0.9 sfs (separately of course), and puppy sees them and mounts them, but all I seem to end up with is a mess of directories mounted at /initrd/pup_ro6

None of the binaries are in my paths, and it seems I have to do a lot of manual work in copying and rejigging paths to try and make it work.

Surely sfs files should just work "out of the box"?

Running on a frugal puppy 561, only 3 sfs files being loaded at startup (devx, kernel headers and whatever samba i'm trying)

I must be missing something here - can someone set me straight please?

Posted: Wed 09 Nov 2016, 10:15
by Semme
Paul, you'd probably fare better with rcrsn51's pkg.

Re: Very confused by these samba sfs

Posted: Wed 09 Nov 2016, 11:05
by shinobar
paulh177 wrote:Surely sfs files should just work "out of the box"?
No.
First of all, Shinobar's samba sfs is not compatible with micko's samba. Shinobar's does not work on some recent Puppy's shipped with micko's samba,
Second: After installing shinobar's samba sfs, look up the directory /etc/samba. Copy smb.conf.sample to smb.conf and edit it as you need.
Third: Run samba.sh(Samba Simple Management).

Posted: Wed 09 Nov 2016, 11:22
by paulh177
That's even more confusing. What's micko's samba got to do with my problem?

SFS instllations should "just work". that's part of their raison d'etre

I gave up trying and just installed SambaTNG, and it just worked immediately with no problems

no further help required