Page 2 of 8

Posted: Fri 26 Dec 2008, 12:31
by jake_take
In Pschedule main window the tasks are shown in commands and time, so we must edit or delete by judging from commands and time. It may cause mistakes. If you want to see the task name in the main window, in stead of command-lines, you should enter the commands with "#" followed by task names. For example,

Code: Select all

gxine http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/ram/live_infent.ram #BBC news
("BBC news" is the task name in this case)
And edit func_cron_to_human file as follows.
(line 22, the difinition of $COMMAND)

Code: Select all

COMMAND=`echo "$CRONCOMMAND" | cut -d " " -f 6- | cut -d "#" -f 2`
You will see the task name ("BBC news") in main window.
I hope the future version of Pschedule has a task-names entry in addition to the conventional command entry.

Posted: Sat 27 Dec 2008, 09:01
by zigbert
jake_take
Thanks for your input!!!!!!

I have to deal with this later. There are just so many balls in the air right now.


Sigmund

Multiple crond

Posted: Sat 16 May 2009, 12:08
by jake_take
If you restart X in a session, you will find 2 "cronds" running. One is of before restarting X, and another is of after restarting. This bug is caused by the command line "crond" in /root/.xinitrc. To fix this, this part in /root/.xinitrc should be "killall -q crond; crond" and the line 24 in /usr/local/pschedule/pschedule should be modified as below.

echo "killall -q crond; crond" >> $HOME/.xinitrc

Posted: Sat 16 May 2009, 12:54
by zigbert
jake_take
I think we better make a cron-check-script in /root/Startup like the one in Pbackup.


Sigmund

Posted: Thu 21 May 2009, 17:17
by zigbert
Version 0.7
See main post

jake_take
has improved the general handling of tasks.
Many thanks for his effort.


Changelog
- Give each task a nr./name. (thanks to jake_take)
- Do not center windows on screen.
- The 'next run' entry in add-task-window is now visible.
- Bugfix: Delete only selected task if similar command. (thanks to jake_take)
- Bugfix: Avoid several instances of cron. (thanks to jake_take)
- Bugfix: Thursday failed in cron-builder-window.

Posted: Thu 31 Dec 2009, 10:11
by zigbert
Version 0.8
See main post

- start pschedule with predefined task from terminal. (thanks to mcewanw)

Pschedule -h for usage.

unable to pass embedded paths or filenames containing spaces

Posted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 13:37
by mcewanw
Thank you for updating Pschedule.

Unfortunately, whilst now modifying precord to utilise the new facility, I have come across a small but critical error which prevents the passing of commands or tasknames which contain embedded quotes, and/or paths or filenames which contain spaces or multiple spaces of various lengths.

For example, I need to be able to pass a command such as:

Code: Select all

precord "rec '$DIR1FILE'"
where DIR1FILE contains a path/filename which may contain spaces or multiple connected spaces. In the Pschedule "Command" window, the result should of course end up being:

precord rec 'what the path filename is including any spacesand the surrounding quotes'

To fix the problem the following two small changes are required in func_new:

line 59:

Code: Select all

Change:

<entry><variable>TASK</variable><input>echo $TASK</input></entry>

to:

<entry><variable>TASK</variable><input>echo \"$TASK\"</input></entry>
line 63:

Code: Select all

Change:

   <entry><variable>TASKNAME</variable><input>echo $TASKNAME</input></entry>

to:

<entry><variable>TASKNAME</variable><input>echo \"$TASKNAME\"</input></entry>

Posted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 14:10
by zigbert
mcewanw
Fixed in 0.8-1
Thank you


Sigmund

Posted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 22:10
by disciple
It would be nice if there was a button to enable/disable a task. I think this can be done just by commenting it with a # in the crontab, although making the gui handle the disabled tasks would be a bit more difficult :)

Posted: Tue 13 Jul 2010, 05:34
by smokey01
Zigbert is there any way to start a program like ffmpeg at a predetermined time then stop it at a later predetermined time.

I would like to use Pschedule with ffmpeg to record shows on TV.

I assume you would setup a second cron job but how do you reference the original terminal window and job?

Posted: Tue 13 Jul 2010, 06:12
by zigbert
smokey01
This should kill ongoing ffmpeg processes

Code: Select all

kill -9 `ps | grep ffmpeg | awk '{print $1}'`

Sigmund

Ver 8 won't load

Posted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 10:51
by Frank Cox
I loaded version .08 but it still says .07 even after a reboot.
I am running 431.
Also what would the command be if I wanted pschedule to play a song say in sda1/documents/my music/some-tune.mp3 ?

TIA

Posted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 11:34
by disciple
then stop it at a later predetermined time.
How about the -t option?

Code: Select all

~# ffmpeg -h|grep duration
...
-t duration         record or transcode "duration" seconds of audio/video

Re: Ver 8 won't load

Posted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 19:44
by zigbert
Frank Cox wrote:I loaded version .08 but it still says .07 even after a reboot.
I am running 431.
Also what would the command be if I wanted pschedule to play a song say in sda1/documents/my music/some-tune.mp3 ?

TIA
So , you installed the Pshcehule pet in the main post, and it still shows version 0.7 ?

Code: Select all

# pschedule -v
Pschedule 0.8
To play a song you can use the builtin player. I don't remember if it is Aqualung or Pmusic. Aqualung "sda1/documents/my music/some-tune.mp3" should do the job.


Sigmund

Posted: Sun 19 Sep 2010, 19:50
by zigbert
disciple wrote:
then stop it at a later predetermined time.
How about the -t option?

Code: Select all

~# ffmpeg -h|grep duration
...
-t duration         record or transcode "duration" seconds of audio/video
Pmusic has also the -t switch

Code: Select all

# pmusic --help
Usage: pmusic [OPTION(S)] [FILE(S) / DIR(S) / URL(S)]

Options
  -a          Add [FILE(S) / DIR(S) / URL(S)] to playlist instead of playing it
  -b          use Pmusic as backend - no GUI
  -c          Loads CD-audio disc into playlist and starts playing
  -h          Show this help message
  -p PRESET   Use This GUI-preset instead of the one defined in rc
              Available GUIs are stored in /usr/local/pmusic/presets/
  -r          Add/open directories recursively
  -s SIGNAL   Send signal to a running instance of Pmusic
                next    - Play next song in playlist
                mute    - Turn volume On/Off 
                pause   - Pause/Play audio
                prev    - Play previous song in playlist
                quit    - Quit all pmusic processes
                volup   - Increase volume level with 10%
                voldown - Decrease volume level with 10%
  -t xx:xx    Set the start time offset
              This does not work with the -a switch
  -v          Show Pmusic version
  
Supported formats (with working alsa and ffmpeg):
\.aiff|\.aac|\.ape|\.asf|\.au|\.flac|\.gsm|\.m4a|\.mp3|\.mp4|\.ogg|\.ra|\.raw|\.shn|\.voc|\.wav|\.wma

Re: Ver 8 won't load

Posted: Mon 20 Sep 2010, 05:19
by Frank Cox
TIA[/quote]So , you installed the Pshcehule pet in the main post, and it still shows version 0.7 ?

Code: Select all

# pschedule -v
Pschedule 0.8
To play a song you can use the builtin player. I don't remember if it is Aqualung or Pmusic. Aqualung "sda1/documents/my music/some-tune.mp3" should do the job.


Sigmund[/quote]

Yes , I installed the pet and when I open pschedule it still said .07 even after reboot. I will check it in terminal when I get back to that machine.
BTW Aqualung is the default but I want to run it with VLC. Do I need to make VLC the default?
Thanks

bug report-pschedule.8

Posted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 22:43
by don570
Bug report

There is a misspelt word. It should be Wednesday instead of Wedensday.

tip to record audio

Posted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 23:53
by don570
Here's a tip to record audio to a partition where you have lot of empty space.

I store potential commands in NoteCase program.

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 5200 -f cd -D hw  out90.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 3600 -f cd -D hw  out1.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 7200 -f cd -D hw  out2.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 10800 -f cd -D hw  out3.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 14400 -f cd -D hw  out4.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 20000 -f cd -D hw  out5.wav
cd /mnt/sda5 && arecord -d 21600 -f cd -D hw  out6.wav
The command sets the destination and then begins a recording
from 90 minutes to 6 hours.
I choose the line I need and paste it into pschedule.

I check that the schedule is correct with the terminal command

Code: Select all

crontab -l
to get a list of jobs to be performed.

Code: Select all

killall arecord
to kill the recording process (but wav file
that has been created will still remain).

After the recording is made , I change the name of the resulting file
so that I don't accidentally overwrite a previous recording in future
recordings.

________________________________________________________

Edit: The newest precord works with pschedule. See

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 89&t=49907

_______________________________________________

Pschedule

Posted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 02:55
by Frank Cox
I finally got Pschedule to work but prefer the command line.

Type crontab -e and then hit control a to open the menu.

Type in the minutes hour etc.
No path to the program is needed. For instance I prefer vlc to aqualung so I type vlc /root/reminders/sometune.ogg

Then save as in the menu and exit.

Re: bug report-pschedule.8

Posted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 17:57
by zigbert
don570 wrote:Bug report

There is a misspelt word. It should be Wednesday instead of Wedensday.
Got it