Page 13 of 28

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 18:14
by bigpup
8-bit wrote:bigpup,
The case where you do not use puppy with the parameter is in a temporary edit of the menu.lst entry of the kernel line.
I realize that puppy pfix=ram should be used when booting from CD.
I figured you knew what you were doing, but not knowing how you booted, I would mention the obvious. It is never the easy answer! :wink:

I have seen times when install programs seem to be seeing old deleted files and using them. Or, somehow the old deleted files cause corruption of a similar named file when installing. Deleting a file only deletes the name, but the data is still there, just not identified. The data should be able to be written over. Key word should.

I also remember a story I read, of an interview, with one of the people who are credited with inventing the modern computer.
They asked, "Why have a reset switch?"
The answer, "That was the easy fix when the thing looked up all the time".

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 18:37
by enhu
finally after 2 RC :D works great in my computer now.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 18:38
by Iguleder
Here's an improved screenshot taking GUI. :)

This one shows a progress bar and works with either rgbPaint, mtPaint or scrot.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

# the base arguments for Yad
YAD_BASE_ARGS="--title=Screenshot --window-icon=/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/x24.png --image=/usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/x24.png"

# the maximum time to wait before the screenshot is taken
MAX_PAUSE=120

# the default time to wait before the screenshot is taken
DEFAULT_PAUSE=10

# the minimum number of seconds to wait that requires a progress bar
MIN_BAR_SECONDS=5

# let the user choose the number of seconds to wait before the screenshot is taken
seconds="$(yad $YAD_BASE_ARGS --scale --value=$DEFAULT_PAUSE --max-value=$MAX_PAUSE --mark='10 seconds:10' --mark='30 seconds:30' --mark='1 minute:60' --mark='2 minutes:120' --text='Choose the number of seconds to wait before the screenshot is taken.')"
[ $? -ne 0 ] && exit 0

# pause for the chosen interval
if [ $MIN_BAR_SECONDS -le $seconds ]
then
	(for i in `seq $seconds`
	do
		echo "$i * 100 / $seconds" | bc
		sleep 1
	done) | yad $YAD_BASE_ARGS --text="Pausing for $seconds seconds ... " --progress --auto-close
else
	sleep $seconds
fi

# check whether mtPaint or rgbPaint is present
for i in mtpaint rgbpaint
do
	if [ -n "$(which $i)" ]
	then
		$i -s &
		exit 0
	fi
done

# otherwise, try scrot
if [ -n "$(which scrot)" ]
then
	file="$(mktemp -u).png"
	scrot -q 100 $file
	defaultimageeditor $file
	rm -f $file
	exit 0
else
	yad $YAD_BASE_ARGS --button=gtk-ok:0 --text="Error: could not capture the screen; install either mtPaint, rgbPaint or scrot."
fi

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 18:44
by enhu
what bothers me is that this pop up that usually happens to sites that has ssl :D

i guess its about the dates.how can i let it not pop out?

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 19:05
by bigpup
enhu wrote:what bothers me is that this pop up that usually happens to sites that has ssl :D

i guess its about the dates.how can i let it not pop out?
This is one solution.
Dave, just so you know, I've figured out my problem with the expired or not yet valid security certificates: the date on my computer was set wrong and it thought I was years in the past! Once I fixed the date and time, all of these problems vanished.
In your picture it does say current time is 06/01/2004 05:24 AM.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 20:29
by bigpup

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 22:11
by 01micko
bigpup wrote:01micko,
Possible new bug?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73550
Nah, just a 'feature' of lucid that's been reverted, gets back to that PDEV1 variable.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 22:13
by 01micko
zigbert wrote:
01micko wrote:Shooting for 5.3.1 on Sunday/Monday
I see you got Pmusic (hopefully 2.2.2), but please also include pfilesearch 1.28 which makes Pmusic work better.


Thank you
Sigmund
Yes, the deltas do have pmusic-2.2.2. (just caught it as I was building :lol: )

Thanks for the tip on new pfilesearch.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 22:32
by 01micko
gerry wrote:I don't know how to post the result.

But to answer your questions:

Present resolution is 1680x1050

Range is from 1680x1050 down to 640x480

I'm trying to change it using xorgwizard. How else to do it. Never occurred to me that xorgwizard wouldn't do it. I'll have a look at xorg.conf.

I'd like to try 1280x800
gerry.. have you tried the video settings from menu >> setup >> Personalize - Settings? There should be offered various resolutions in the pulldown list on the right. It works on my r51 Thinkpad with Radeon graphics.

Newer versions of Puppy use Barry's "quicksetup" (very similar) but if you have standard Slacko 5.3 the Personalize settings should work.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 23:14
by playdayz
Small insignificant bug. xine-lib from PPM reports missing libavcodec.52. It still runs and will play DVD's fine, but most video will not play. There is a new xine-lib-1.1.20 that I compiled and most video will then play, but still not as many video formats as mplayer.

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 23:22
by 01micko
playdayz wrote:Small insignificant bug. xine-lib from PPM reports missing libavcodec.52. It still runs and will play DVD's fine, but most video will not play. There is a new xine-lib-1.1.20 that I compiled and most video will then play, but still not as many video formats as mplayer.
Ok, there is a pet in my post about guvcview that contains libavcodec.52 without upsetting ffmpeg. I'll fix the database entry, also that typo which states it requires 'xinelib' (should be xine-lib).

A future version of Slacko may abandon mplayer in the default iso as Xine is much better, just need to sort the codecs which are dependent on ffmpeg, xine-lib in PPM was compiled against ffmpeg-0.6.1.

APPENDIX: Xine plays DVD's much better on my IBM thinkpad r51

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 23:28
by playdayz
01micko, I was hopeful this new xine-lib would be as good as current mplayer but fails on sound on rm video, fails on sorenson2cbr mov video, fails with bad sound on 3gp video, but that was with a straight vanilla compile (in Slacko 5.3). xine was the first Linux program that impressed me so I still like it. I have a test suite of videos if you want a tester.

Here it is complete if anyone wants to play.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/xine- ... mplete.pet

Regardless of the video playback xine is still good for DVD's as it is in PPM without worrying about libavcodec..

Here are 3 nice skins for xine http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/xine-skins-3pd.pet

Posted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 23:36
by 01micko
playdayz wrote: xine was the first Linux program that impressed me so I still like it.
Ditto :wink:

<OT>
Xine was one of the first compiles I ever did. Back in the old Mandrake Linux 9.0 days (circa 2002) DVD playing was not set up well. Everything was pretty much FOSS and as we know most DVDs use cvs(?) proprietary encryption to beat ( :lol: ) piracy.
IIRC I had to compile ogle backend, get the libs from Mandrake non-free, compile the nvidia driver, compile Xine! Man, the effort was worth it! It was way more satisfying than watching a DVD in windows with power-dvd, and WMP (at that time, may have improved?) was real garbage.
</OT>

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 00:38
by playdayz
Here are the video test files I use. mplayer plays them all.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Media_Test.tar.gz

Slacko Puppy 5.3

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 02:15
by Billtoo
I made a vlc-1.1.12 pet in slacko 5.3.0.2.

It needs to have the qt-everywhere-opensource-scr-4.7.3-i686 QT
configuration installed from the puppy-slacko repository in puppy
package manager or it won't work.

The download link for vlc is:


http://www.datafilehost.com/download-67cae29d.html

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 02:48
by playdayz
Not a bug, but Google Chrome 15 for Slacko. (Iron 15 runs a couple of weeks behind Chrome, so it will be ready soon.)

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet ... slacko.pet

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 04:25
by grump
... Google Chrome 15 for Slacko. ...
Well that was a bit annoying. Downloaded and ran the .pet and lost my bookmarks and 'new tab' links from Google Chrome 14.nn.nn. I uninstalled 15 with PPM hoping to get back to 14 but it had gone.

I expected it to work like it does in Windows - ie updates whatever version is already there, keeping the settings and add-ins etc. Anyway, I'll get over it. Lesson for me - backup bookmarks. But I'm happy to have 15 - thanks for that.

A couple of days later: - I've given up on 15. They changed the way the 'New Tab' page works so the tabs cannot be pinned to the page or re-ordered by dragging them around. Now gone back to 14 and happy again.

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 06:48
by Lobster
I expected it to work like it does in Windows
:) We have to learn the hard way.

Yep always export and save your bookmarks.
Looking forward to trying Chrome browser. :)
I know being a beginner again is humiliating.
I feel like that every day. Trying to program in some new language or run a phone that a 5 year old would have no problem with.

. . . a little humility . . . .
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... ?p=526#526

Thanks guys . . . looking forward to Slacko 5.3.1 this coming Funday/Monday . . .

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 08:25
by Iguleder
01micko - will you introduce any library/version changes in 5.3.1? I'm currently building a Trinity SFS (yes, that's right!) on 5.3 and I don't want to recompile this complex beast once more for 5.3.1.

It took about a week to get it to build, because all of the trouble I ran into. Now I also decided to move Qt3 to /opt/qt3 (since we all love modularity, don't we?) and keep Trinity itself in /opt/trinity. This caused lots of mess.

Posted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 08:44
by 01micko
Iguleder wrote:01micko - will you introduce any library/version changes in 5.3.1?
No