Page 13 of 25

SAVE SESSION TO ENCRYPTED SAVE_FILE WORKS AGAIN

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 12:34
by Karl Godt
2. The save to aes heavy encrypted save-file worked .
[ would have taken me days or weeks to figure out a missing variable i guess .]

1. /usr/sbin/filemnt WORKS on both encrypted savefiles !! HURRAY !!
[ really missed that feature :D ]

ONE MINOR THINGY about /usr/sbin/filemnt
which is not only cosmetic :

due to the code checks if FILE is mounted due to a simple
if [ ! -d "$MntPt" ] ;then

::MANY TIMES (99%+) the rmdir $MntPt at the end of umount $MntPt does not succeed ,
i guess due to little time for the system to update everything .

AN ALWAYS WORKING " rmdir $MntPt " i could achieve with either both of these :

Code: Select all

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-11 12:05:50.000000000 +0800
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
@@ -181,5 +181,5 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   #xmessage -title " ERROR..." "  Failed mounting or unmounting.  "
   pupdialog --background red --title "ERROR" --msgbox "Failed mounting or unmounting" 0 0
  fi
-
+[ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 ###END###
AT THE END || OR AT THE BEGINNING

Code: Select all

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-10 12:03:10.000000000 +0800
+++ /usr/sbin/filemnt	2011-11-11 13:10:08.000000000 +0800
@@ -37,7 +37,7 @@ fi
   imgFile="`pwd``echo $imgFile |sed 's/^\.//'`"
  fi
  MntPt='/mnt/'`echo "$imgFile" |sed "s#^\.##g" |sed "s#/#+#g"`
- 
+ [ -d "$MntPt" -a "`busybox mount | grep "$MntPt"`" = "" ] && rmdir "$MntPt"
 
 if [ 1 -eq 2 ] ;then	##############################################	JUMP OVER this SECTION.
 
@@ -166,7 +166,7 @@ Note, there is an SFS-version-converter
   rox -D $MntPt #BK
   umount $MntPt
   Err=$?
-  rmdir $MntPt
+  #rmdir $MntPt ##KRG though umount finishes , many times rmdir thinks $MntPt still not empty
   if [ "basename $imgFile" = 'initrd' ] ;then gzip -9 $imgFile ;fi
 #  yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
 #  /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -timeout 3 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text "Unmounting $imgFileBASE" #BK
[ and another little play-around would be to make /usr/sbin/filemnt not X dependent :
would need several

[ "$DISPLAY" ] && yaf-splash || pupdialog
realpath $1 || readlink -e $1 ##if called with filemnt ./save-file.2fs
if [ "$DISPLAY" ] ; then
rxvt -geometry 25x3 -title "Enter password" -bg orange -e losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
else
echo "Enter password :"
losetup-FULL -E 1 $DEVLOOP $imgFile
fi

END of play-around ]

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 12:56
by DaveS
Same old Same old. Broadcom wifi of course. Racy just cant do it........ /lib/firmware/B43 missing
Added it.. fixed

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 13:19
by linuxcbon
RACY 5.2.1.90

- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)
- quick setup scrolling too slow
- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying

ldd /usr/lib/*.so | grep found
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libau.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libcap.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libc.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libexiv2.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libgcc_s.so'
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
/usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so: /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2: no version information available (required by /usr/lib/libgtkhtml-2.so)
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/libpthread.so'
ldd: warning: you do not have execution permission for `/usr/lib/preloadable_libintl.so'

Same things as for 5.1.110

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 13:34
by Karl Godt
linuxcbon wrote:- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying
You do not achieve much with personal judgements also
with

is it needed ?
directory is empty
inkscape not needed !

and such really not relevant remarks , except your are < a towards zero extremist > .

I like the french mentality , had worked some weeks in Poitiers , but everything in Europe changes i thing to no good .

Just remaster and you are good to go !

I like using the limited inkscapelite once a while next to mtpaint or gimp . inkscapelite actually is patched or reworked by Barry .

AND inkscapelite is based upon inkscape BUT i could only find 0.37 or later src @sourceforge .

Also abiword works OK for my purposes , never used OO or Libre Office on Puppy .

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 13:46
by Karl Godt
linuxcbon wrote:- dmesg full of
[ 21.290399] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=ROX-Filer)
[ 22.693811] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=backgrounds)
[ 23.544394] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=net)
[ 23.927982] unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=0, name=etc)
ON MY SIDE :
# dmesg | grep union | wc -l
12
# dmesg | wc -l
711
# grep UNION /etc/modules/*
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:CONFIG_UNION_FS=m
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_XATTR is not set
/etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.0.7:# CONFIG_UNION_FS_DEBUG is not set

SINCE DEBUG for UNION_FS is not set , 12 lines of 711 appear reasonable to me [ dc -> 1.68776 % ].

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 13:52
by Karl Godt
linuxcbon wrote:- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
I had only a max of something over 60 on my hardware , but today
it had been the new best mark(s) of
# glxgears
704 frames in 5.0 seconds = 140.725 FPS
746 frames in 5.0 seconds = 149.082 FPS
769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 153.612 FPS

:D

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 14:10
by DaveS
Karl Godt wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:- glxgears 480 FPS = too slow
I had only a max of something over 60 on my hardware , but today
it had been the new best mark(s) of
# glxgears
704 frames in 5.0 seconds = 140.725 FPS
746 frames in 5.0 seconds = 149.082 FPS
769 frames in 5.0 seconds = 153.612 FPS

:D
Ha Ha.. only 60 FPS on my old laptop, but that still feels snappy.

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 15:02
by Jim1911
Frugal installation on an ext4 partition. It's working great and the problems with the Bootmanager and Shutdown that I reported on page 7 have been corrected.

Cheers,
Jim

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 15:25
by Karl Godt
Noticed , that rox -v 2.10 apparently dos not freeze anymore opening /proc directory ( running with save-file-crypta.2fs ) . 8)

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:20
by rcrsn51
mavrothal wrote:You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
I can reproduce this problem by making a simple dtkdialog3 combo box with enough entries to require a vertical scroll bar.

Importing gtkdialog3 from an older Puppy does not fix it. And neither does running it as a gtkdialog4 app.

Is this a conflict with the new gtk in Puppy/Racy 5.2?

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 19:31
by DaveS
rcrsn51 wrote:
mavrothal wrote:You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
I can reproduce this problem by making a simple dtkdialog3 combo box with enough entries to require a vertical scroll bar.

Importing gtkdialog3 from an older Puppy does not fix it. And neither does running it as a gtkdialog4 app.

Is this a conflict with the new gtk in Puppy/Racy 5.2?
Dont know, but I hate it :(

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:01
by Karl Godt
# grep -m1 -E '<combobox>|<combobox ' /usr/local/*/*
/usr/local/bin/snap2: </text><combobox tooltip-text=\"Type a new settings directory name, or choose an existing one, THEN CLICK 'CHANGE'. Names must end in '.set'. Use multiple settings directories to do, for example, shapshot-type backups to more than one destination directory or host.\"><variable>newsettingsdir</variable>$cbitems<input>ls</input></combobox>
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesknew: <combobox width-request=\"60\">
/usr/local/pburn/func: <combobox>
/usr/local/pburn/func_burn_options: <combobox>
/usr/local/pburn/func_gui:#make items for <combobox> (devices)
/usr/local/pburn/func_gui_options: <combobox>
/usr/local/peasyscan/copier: <combobox>
/usr/local/pfind/pfind: <combobox>
/usr/local/pmusic/func_trackinfo: <combobox>
/usr/local/pupradio/pupradio: <combobox width-request=\"50\">

Just a short list of apps , using the combobox tag .

I have set up 10 virtual desktops and did not recognize anything the first time , BUT now i have tested it again with looking into top output , AND YES also gtkdialog3 <combobox> maxes out the CPU !

Congratulations and Happy Birthday for converting all the many tags ...
[me thinking: had there been a real official release of Puppy linux once except the first one :) but i started to respect Puppy as a raw diamond :D ]

@rcrsn51 : please look into your app , too :: should be <comoboxtext> i think

@zigbert : dito(if you're around)

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:21
by Flash
Downloaded the Racy iso and used Burniso2cd to burn it to a mini DVD-R. Booted the mini DVD which correctly autoconfigured the audio and video (except the volume was a bit low, but I was able to correct that by turning up everything I could find in Retrovol.) Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player. Of course, I couldn't say yes because there was no connection yet to the internet.

Later, after I had already opened SeaMonkey and then closed it, I used the Puppy Package Manager to install Flash and Flashblock, but SeaMonkey would not start from the desktop icon after I installed them. I eventually found two versions of SeaMonkey in /usr/lib. I clicked the latest version and SeaMonkey started, but with only Flash; Flashblock isn't in it.

Incidentally, if you like Johnny Cash, here's an excellent version of The Orange Blossom Special with which to test your audio. There's an incredible harmonica solo which begins at about 44 seconds and ascends to heaven at about a minute into the song. :)

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:26
by jim3630
Karl Godt wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:- pop up asking to download flashplayer is annoying
You do not achieve much with personal judgements also
with

is it needed ?
directory is empty
inkscape not needed !

and such really not relevant remarks , except your are < a towards zero extremist > .
1+

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:41
by gcmartin
@Barry I like the collection. and I like the applications functionality. Further, the systems are using RAM as you intend them to.

BUT ...
FirstRun is posing a hardship on Live media users who are trying to test RACY for your preparation to General Release. Each time we restart thru the FirstRun dialogue, it is a hardship. Each time we test on a different machine to look for issues for you, it is a hardship. Our time is valuable too with family and work and ...

This is an important hardship.

Could you consider retracting it, while you replace/resolve it to avoid others getting an unpleasant taste.?

Might be the best step for the community at this time.

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:44
by peebee
Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.

Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:45
by jim3630
frugal install of 5.2.1.90 (5.2.2 RC) to ext4
You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set. In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks :(
have same except not quite as slow.
Before I could run the connect wizard, a window popped up asking if I wanted to install the Flash player.
same here.

getting about 60fps here on newer dual core intel. it maintains that 60 even with full open screen it's smooth and looks good.

no sound problems noted as did in prior.

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 20:47
by DaveS
peebee wrote:Hi Barry

Pristine frugal install of racy 5.2.1.90

Quick report:

1. I see the very lethargic drop down menu selection in QuickSetup reported by others

2. B43 wifi is still not detected and loaded - if I copy the b43 firmware directory from /lib/modules/all-firmware to /lib/firmware AND put "modprobe b43" into rc.local then the wifi works - so all the components are there and working EXCEPT for the detection and automatic loading function.



Quick question - as the firmware directories are no longer compressed couldn't they be permanently in /lib/firmware or is there some other reason that they have to be copied?

Cheers
peebee
I only had to copy B43, no need for modprobe, then it worked.

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 21:11
by Karl Godt
OK , some sed gymnastics seems to be capable to batch rename combobox to comboboxtext

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#combobox#comoboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done

# for i in /usr/local/*/* ; do echo $i; sed -i 's#comboboxtexttext#comboboxtext#g' $i; sleep 1s; done
[edit some hours later .. always these typos (see underscored b :) ) ]
BUT WATCH OUT for Xdialog --combobox !!!
[me thinking a script to filter out Xdialog now is beyond my beer level ]

AND probably needs " sed 's#gtkdialog2#gtkdialog4#g' " AND " sed#gtkdialog3#gtkdialog4#g' , too

AND probably some <TAGS> would not work , as not recognized anymore by gtkdialog4 ....

BUT I think only an official release would show off which apps would not work anymore , cause this would need long term observation ...

[ not to mention /usr/bin && /usr/sbin [ && /usr/x11/bin ] ]
[ me thinking more beer :) ]

Posted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 22:14
by James C
For what it's worth, the gtkdialog bug doesn't appear to be affecting pemasu's latest release of Dpup Exprimo (released today).
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 472#564472