Page 11 of 18

Posted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 13:36
by CatDude
Hello pistoi0

I think puppyluvr was asking you to check the contents of each of the subdirectories on the disc (CD/DVD)

If you still have a copy of your custom ISO image on the hard drive,
simply click on it, then in the window that opens up,
open a console/terminal and enter the following command:

Code: Select all

ls -1R
that's a lowercase ell followed by an s, then -1R (that is a number one)

Or you could mount the disc and do the same (open console/terminal and run the command)

You should get something similar to this:

Code: Select all

# ls -1R
.:
boot
boot.catalog
index
logo.16
lupu-528.004
slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI
squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz

./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_slacko_5.3.2.1.sfs
README.HTM
vmlinuz

./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.6.sfs
README.HTM
vmlinuz
# 

CatDude
.

Posted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 17:26
by pistoi0
CatDude, thanks for sticking with me on this. Here is my output.

# ls -1R
.:
boot
boot.catalog
index
logo.16
lupu-528.004
slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI
squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz

./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
adrv_luki_012.sfs
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_luki_012.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_luki_012.sfs

./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.5.sfs
README.HTM
[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
the first word, TAB lists possible command
completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]

grub>

grub> ./boot/grub:

Error 27: Unrecognized command

grub> menu.lst

Post subject:

Posted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 19:40
by Lookinglass360
Hi pistoi0
Was that taken from the MultiPup . iso file you created or the burned
disk?
I have looked through all my coasters and can not find any thing useful.
I started using rw disks so all pre ver. 3.3 got blanked and recycled and I
have just not had any problems that produced that grub screen or error
in this version.
Kinda hard to learn to fix something that generally Just works!

At any rate you have real help now! I will keep lookin!

I have once again learned something I did not know, if this can be solved
all the better!

Thanks puppyluvr + CatDude

Posted: Mon 05 Mar 2012, 20:07
by CatDude
Hello pistoi0

Please don't take this as an accusation or anything,
but looking at the output from the ls command that you posted,
i have to ask one question.

Did you manually edit things when building your multipup ISO :?:
(come on, don't be shy :wink: :wink: )

The reason i ask is this:
pistoi0 wrote:./slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI:
adrv_luki_012.sfs
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_luki_012.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_luki_012.sfs
The MultiPup CD/DVD Creator could not possibly have produced such a bizarre combination,
ie: a slacko-5.3.2.1-SCSI subdirectory containing the contents of what appears to be Saluki. :?


There is also a discrepancy here:
pistoi0 wrote:./squeeze-5.X.13.6-SCSI:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
menu.lst
puppy_squeeze_5.X.13.5.sfs
README.HTM
Plus there is no mention of a vmlinuz either.

pistoi0 wrote:[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For
the first word, TAB lists possible command
completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible
completions of a device/filename. ]
At what point during booting the CD are you getting this :?:


CatDude
.

Posted: Mon 05 Mar 2012, 20:40
by pistoi0
CatDude, you flatter me! Except for assigning absolute linking, I did nothing more than click the gui buttons. As for the appearance of the grub prompt and message, that comes up immediately when attempting to load the disc. In other words, that is all that I get, nothing else.

Here is an attempt to make a one-pup .iso using Lupu with no .pets or .sfs and all I get on the screen is the grub prompt and message:

lupu-528.004

./boot:
grub

./boot/grub:
menu.lst
Multipup
stage2_eltorito

./lupu-528.004:
boot.cat
boot.msg
help2.msg
help.msg
initrd.gz
isolinux.bin
isolinux.cfg
logo.16
lupu_528.sfs
menu.lst
vmlinuz
sh-4.1#

Posted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 17:01
by pistoi0
Catdude

Thank you for the PM. I will gladly try the experiment you suggest.

Posted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 03:17
by puppyluvr
:D Hello,,
pistoi0,
I am looking at your error, and although I cannot reproduce it, will try to solve it.. However...
Catdude, in looking at your error has uncovered another, more tangible problem concerning "Slacko"..
I believe the problem is related to "filemnt" mounting the ISO`s 'read only'...
This could be an issue related to unionfs, IDK...
pistoi0, i may have missed it, but what Puppy are you building the MultiPup ISO on???...
Maybe all related... Slacko may be the clue....
Tomorrow, with a clearer head.... :wink:

Posted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 04:25
by pistoi0
Puppyluvr

Don't know if I mentioned it. Started out with a Lucid 528, then tried Exprimo 5x13. I have tried it straight from a live DVD as well as from frugals. The frugals and everything else are on a 32 gig SDHC in a sata adapter. The drive has two partitions. SDA1 is a FAT 32 and SDA2 is an ext 3 used by MuliPup. Also, CatDude has given me something to try as he mentioned above, and I will get to that assignment tomorrow, I hope.

Posted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 09:55
by smokey01
MultiPup works quite well here in Lucid but I have to tweak it in Saluki. It does not like Thunar.

Posted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 14:10
by pistoi0
Puppyluvr and Smokey01 et al

I have been using Lucid 528-004, and I am in the midst of running yet another experiment under CatDude's tutelage. I hope to complete that phase, soon. So far, I am suspecting a hardware challenge. Hope to have more information for all by the end of the weekend.

Posted: Thu 15 Mar 2012, 22:36
by puppyluvr
:D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...

Posted: Fri 16 Mar 2012, 12:20
by smokey01
It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.
puppyluvr wrote::D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...

Posted: Mon 09 Apr 2012, 22:05
by gcmartin
smokey01 wrote:It doesn't open the Thunar window to symlink the files.

If the window is open separately the symlinks can be created.

Later when the files are copied all the windows open but they do not close.

It does create the the ISO however, just a bit untidy.
puppyluvr wrote::D Hello,
@smokey01,
Yea, I tried to include code for Thunar, and it does function on my Xfce4 desktop.. Lately I have not been able to D/L so have not tried Saluki since like the first version.. :oops:
Is it Xfce? How does it fail in Thunar for you? Mount point errors?..
I use it in Compiz and Xfce4 (4.6.2)...
Does this problem with Salukii have anything to do with the A-drive+Z-Drive+SFSfs that it is architected to use?

Also, I did have a problem with LightHouse64. I think its because of the compression method used in its initrd file.

Thanks in advance.
P.S. Was this updated beyond 3.3 recently?

Posted: Tue 29 May 2012, 16:05
by gcmartin
Multi-PUP upgrade? or same.

Reasons:
  • FATDOG 600 testing version (current development)
  • LightHouse64 5.14 version (December 2011)
  • Saluki 20+
Here to help

Posted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 17:51
by benny7440
I don't know if it's better to open a new thread or post the following in here, so I'm posting here but tell me if I should edit/move it away.

Many months ago I d/l Multipup 3.3PET & created a prototype of what I wanted but never burnt it because the notebook has screen problems & I suspected that it was going to be like working underwater at night, been blind.

Also, I was concerned with including there an alien (DSL, in my case) because in this notebook it's not booting from a Flash usb drive, but it boots on others.

Now I'm considering booting up an HP Compaq nx9010 via lan using PXE & this notebook as the webserver. Although I've tried it many times already, with different tweaks it never pass the point of loading the initrd.gz file.

So, I've d/l & installed PL528.005 (which I'm running now) frugally in the VAIO notebook. Was about to burn the iso for PL431 to a cd-rw to test the nx9010's ability to boot from cd (which in the past has been OK with PL431 & Ubuntu 8.04) but not recently & suddenly remembered that the Multipup thing never was finished. I'm decided to throw a stone trying to hit 2 birds with it: create (burn a cd with some puppies in it, including, if possible DSL as an alien) the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing!

Edit: I was browsing my hdd & found out that I've the iso files for some puppies but I'm missing 2: Puppy Studio & DSL. What is your recommendation for me, to redownload them or there is a way of taking the files within each respective folder to make the iso from what I have?

Posted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 21:02
by gcmartin
benny7440 wrote: ... the Mutlipup cd & then use it to try again the PXE booting thing.

What do I have to do with the pet file I already have (in fact, have 2 files in the temporary folder: the pet & a gui file)? I d/l & installed it when working in PL528, so here in PL528.005 I don't have a Menu entry for it. I suspect that I've to run the PET file again for this, am I right? Is there, somewhere, a newer version of Multipup? I've browsed the thread again but didn't find any link to a new version of it.

Thanks for any help & hope this work with the PXE thing ...
@Benny7440, there is a thread and a document that address just what you ask. Look at this document for Booting PUPs as well as booting Multi-PUPs ISOs.

Should solve your problem. The Document you can download as a PDF for your local use.

Hope this helps

Posted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 23:05
by benny7440
Thanks for responding, gcmartin!

I've read & followed all those recomendations a couple of times already but, even though there's mentioned 'puppies' & I'm using PL528.005 in the VAIO notebook (Net-server) - see signature, the Compaq-HP nx9010 laptop (Client) never finishes loading the initrd.gz file.

As a consequence of that I'm considering trying the Multipup approach, if it doesn't netboot the HP but can boot from the cdrom I've at least killed one bird. As of right now I'm going to work in creating that iso file for MultiPup even though I've some doubts around how to proceed with respect to DSL (alien),

PS. I think last week I PM you, gcmartin, in relation to the PXE approach.

Posted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 23:08
by benny7440
Edit: Sorry, I don't know how the previous post got posted twice in a row. It was located right here & I deleted it after re-reading it & making sure it was a carbon-copy of the original.

Posted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 02:44
by puppyluvr
:D Hello,
As far as DSL is concerned, MultiPup is fine with Knoppix variants as long as it is just 1 @ a time.. Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name..
The PXE thing is all gcmartin`s...
I am amazed and impressed, but know nada about it..

Sorry for the lack of timely responses, but life etc.....

I do intend to update MultiPup, and will be removing the "Alien" section, as it seems pointless...

Mb to Mb, Puppy is in a league of its own, the other "minimal" Distros dont warrant inclusion in a "MultiPup Disk".. It is, after all, MultiPUP........

Posted: Tue 05 Jun 2012, 12:39
by benny7440
Thanks for responding puppyluvr!

In your 1st paragraph you mention 2 things that creates for me 2 questions:
1) Do you mean that just 1 alien OS for MultiPup cd?
2) What's behind that assertion of "Like series 1 Pups, their .gz must be top layer. However, they all share the same name.."?

Is the last issue mean the location of the .gz file within the folder?

In any case, I'm proceeding now to try to make a MultiPup cd for testing it later. I hope I can see the splash screen when the time comes in my external monitor because the onboard one isn't working..., if I have problems with this I'll test on another(s) machine.

VERY GOOD WORK this MultiPup CD Creator, congratulations!