Page 2 of 2

Posted: Sat 30 Jun 2007, 02:47
by Jesse
Hi Barry,

I've been a bit frantic at work the last few weeks, yep, quite unusual for a telco. I havn't really had an oppertunity to sit down with puppyserialdetect and have a fully functional brain, but no other plans for saturday and sunday, so I should have the oppertunity to hae a go :)

Jesse

Posted: Sat 30 Jun 2007, 15:54
by zygo
I don't understand. How should this be tested?
Like this:

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# cd /root/puppyserialdetect-1.2/
sh-3.00# puppyserialdetect 
Type:PS2-mouse|Port:/dev/input/mice
sh-3.00# 
No modem!
Or like this:

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# /root/puppyserialdetect-1.2/puppyserialdetect
Type:modem|Port:/dev/ttyS0|Speed:230400
Type:PS2-mouse|Port:/dev/input/mice
sh-3.00# 
Now my modem is detected!
By the way:

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# /root/puppyserialdetect-1.2/puppyserialdetect-ORIG 
Type:modem|Port:/dev/ttyS0|Speed:230400
sh-3.00# 

Posted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 00:39
by Pence
sh-3.00# ./puppyserialdetect
Type:modem|Port:/dev/ttyS1|Speed:230400
Type:PS2-mouse|Port:/dev/input/mice
sh-3.00#
I'm not sure if I did this proper.I extracted the download then opened the folder and then I right clicked the wheel named Puppyserialdetect, then clicked Window -> Terminal Here, Typed ./puppyserialdetect then pressed enter.
The modem lights started flashing for a second or two and I got that result.

Posted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 03:25
by Jesse
Hello,

Pence, Zygo, thanks for the test report, looks like Barrys 1.2 is good.

Barry, I havn't looked so no cringing here :), but looks like it works.


I've updated my edition, hopefully patched the bugs etc, and have added some more debug lines in case its still not working.
Also added a -u command line option to list serial ports found that have nothing attached.
If anyone would like to test this one, let us know how it goes.

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# ./puppyserialdetect-static --help
Application to detect Mouse/Keyboard on PS2/USB/Serial
and some Serial modems. Uses /proc filesystem and /dev nodes
    command options:
        -d    debugging info
        -k    detect keyboards
        -e    extra info like model name
        -u    detect serial ports without device attached
        -t    read from 'testcases.txt' rather than 
              from /proc/bus/input/devices

Original code borrowed and modified from Mandrake & Red Hat
Now: puppyserialdetect, for Puppy, www.puppyos.com

Code: Select all

sh-3.00# ./puppyserialdetect -uke  
Type:USB-mouse|Port:/dev/input/mice|Direct:/dev/input/mouse0|Model:Microsoft Microsoft 3-Button Mouse with IntelliEye(TM)
Type:PS2-kbd|Port:/dev/input/keyboard|Direct:/dev/input/keyboard|Model:AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
Type:SERIAL-Port|Port:/dev/ttyS0
sh-3.00# 
Jesse

Posted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 09:21
by zygo
1.1g gives the same results as 1.2 including the change when the path is included on the command line. Jesse can you explain this?

Posted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 11:27
by Pence
I have two serial ports on the back of my computer.I connected two modems and turned them on and got this;
sh-3.00# ./puppyserialdetect
Type:PS2-mouse|Port:/dev/input/mice
Type:modem|Port:/dev/ttyS0|Speed:230400
Type:modem|Port:/dev/ttyS1|Speed:230400
sh-3.00#

Posted: Sun 01 Jul 2007, 12:03
by Jesse
Hi,

Pence, all looks good! thanks for trying it out.

Zygo, 1.2 and 1.1g, are both good versions it seems. 1.1g has certainly been bug fixed now that it is reporting your serial modem.
Theoretically, if there are no bugs in either 1.2 or 1.1g, then certainly the output from the programs will be the identical, this is good!

Jesse

Posted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 21:28
by zygo
Jesse,

I was unclear. Sorry.

Why does invoking a program without it's path (my first code box) produce different results from when its path is included (my second code box)?

Posted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 23:18
by Jesse
Hi Zygo,

The short answer is, because you are running a different program.

When you type in the name of an executable in a command window (without a path prefix), your command line program (bash) has some standard rules about how it goes about finding the named program. It looks in the directories listed in the PATH environment variable, in order, if it finds the named program, bash executes it.
The PATH environment variable does not include the current directory, and its considered a security violation, by most linux/unix people.

If you provide the pathname to the executable, then bash does not need to scan the PATH variable hunting for the program, it just executes it.

I hope that fills in the blanks for you?

Jesse

Posted: Tue 03 Jul 2007, 17:00
by zygo
Jesse,

Thanks for clearing that up. I am happy that I was executing 2 programs. This behaviour is familiar from my dos days. I knew linux had a path variable but as you have seen when tested I didn't put the two together.

Posted: Wed 04 Jul 2007, 00:18
by wingruntled
I didn't know where to post this so..........I'm happy to report that this is my first post here using Puppy with my Lucent/Agere pci dialup winmodem. 1.17 exp1 worked like a charm. There is one quirk thou. When I booted up from the live CD I was able to setup a dialup using pupdial but after doing a "normal" HD install to hda4 (in my case) Pupdial would no longer see the modem ttyLT0 and the second init string was missing from the window. I was able to use GKdial to set it thou with no problem or dropped carrier like before.
Great Job :)