Page 2 of 8

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 14:39
by Flash
Plinej, you're making changes so fast it's hard to test them all. :) Will installing a new version completely replace the old one, or do I have to do more?

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 14:57
by plinej
Installing the newest version will just overwrite the old.

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 18:55
by plinej
Updated to 0.7 and possibly final (unless someone finds a bug). I'm pretty happy with how it turned out and I can't think of any other options that would be useful.

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 20:46
by plinej
Updated to 1.0

Forgot to work on klhrevolutionist's request for a user default button so I quickly thought of a way to include that and put it in this version. Please post any bugs or requests and I'll continue to work on this as time permits. Click on the HELP button for details on the new options.

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 21:19
by plinej
I do see a problem, when I don't use the bluex gtk theme the words don't line up with the icons for the buttons. I'll have to work on that.

Posted: Thu 26 Oct 2006, 22:25
by plinej
updated to 1.1

fixed the button label issue

Posted: Fri 27 Oct 2006, 14:07
by Dougal
plinej: have you added the saved-user-settings?

I don't know how it works in Puppybasic, but with shell-scripts you can jusr source a file. So you can save the params the user chose in a file that looks like this:

Code: Select all

PARAM1="bla"
PARAM2="blaa"
...
Then you source it at the beginning of the script (or after you initialize the variables in it)

Posted: Fri 27 Oct 2006, 14:17
by plinej
The user default set button copies the executable script and all the necessary files it needs to read from /tmp and puts them in /root/.pbcdripper

Then when you click on the user button it will copy all the files from /root/.pbcdripper
and execute the script.

You just need to click the set button once all your options are set. The options get backed up. The next time you run PBcdripper click on user and it will execute the backed up options. The options won't be displayed in the gui though.

Posted: Fri 27 Oct 2006, 14:22
by MU
you can include files in a Puppybasic script:

main.pb

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/puppybasic
include "/usr/lib/wxbasicscript/basefunctions.inc"

include "stuff.inc"

print a

print "end"
stuff.inc

Code: Select all

print "printed from stuff.inc"

a="test"
Another solution:

Code: Select all

configstuff = readfiletolist("myconfig.conf")
conf1 = configstuff[0]
conf2 = configstuff[1]
Here the config has no variables or code, only the values itself.

myconfig.conf

Code: Select all

aaa
bbb
To save values:

Code: Select all

conf1 = "aaa"
conf2 = "bbb"
writestringtofile("myconfig.conf" , conf1)
appendstringtofile("myconfig.conf" , conf2)
Or with a list:

Code: Select all

conf = {}
conf[0] = "aaa"
conf[1] = "bbb"
writelisttofile("myconfig.conf" , conf)
Mark

Posted: Fri 27 Oct 2006, 14:27
by plinej
Thanks Mark, I'll give it a try.

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 04:24
by klhrevolutionist
plinej: To answer your question about the size of the frame, no.

But I fixed it for my machine. You need to resize your "scan disc results frame"
to 'w 120' 'h 120'

Other than that I am satisfied & hope you mention this app to BK so as to replace ripperX. That is unless you do not wish to not update..

My first request was for a quick cd rip to a chosen directory. I suggest a couple other quick buttons to do other jobs. If your up to it.

Personally I have been working on some small scripts to do simple task like converting this to that...

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 04:50
by plinej
Thanks klhrevolutionist, I'll update the results box size. As for the quick rip function you can use the set button after setting all of your defaults and click on the user button to execute them. Everytime afterwards you can just click on the user button to execute your pre-designated defaults. The /root/.pbcdripper folder will need to be backed up for this to work. I, or maybe Mark, will work on implementing a better user default setup but for now it'll work the way I specified. You can read more in the help section of the app.

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 12:49
by Flash
Plinej, where does PBcdripper put the mp3 files? If I tell it to put them all in the same folder, will it overwrite old files with new files of the same name? (Sorry, I downloaded your program but haven't got to the library yet to check out a CD book to try it on.)

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 13:10
by plinej
Select the directory you want to rip to by clicking the folder button, and yes files will be overwritten if you rip to the same directory. I would just rip disc 1 with "disc01-" in the preceding name for tracks field and "disc02-" for disc 2 and so on. That way the newer files won't overwrite the old and you can rip to the same folder.

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 13:14
by Flash
Thanks. I'll try it this weekend. :D

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 15:26
by plinej
updated to 1.2, just a couple of small fixes.

Posted: Sat 28 Oct 2006, 23:33
by plinej
Flash's post in the PBrename thread:
I also thought of a modification to plinej's PBcdripper which I think will make it do what I want. :lol: I'd add an "Audio Book" button that does two things. The first I think may be easy: make the track number three digits long, 001, 002, etc., instead of just two digits, 01, 02, etc.. The second may be more of a challenge: when the same folder is chosen as the target folder for mp3s from several CDs, look in the target folder for the mp3 file with the highest number, then add one to that for the next mp3 file. (I'm assuming that if you choose the same folder now, PBcdripper will overwrite the existing files, 01, 02, etc., with the new ones of the same name.)
My reply:

cdparanoia's default output is track01.cdda.wav, track02.cdda.wav, etc...
I used sed to remove track & .cdda from that leaving only 01, 02, 03, etc...
I'm not sure what the default would be for 100+ track cd but it may possibly already automatically default to 001, 002, 003, etc... You'll have to let me know if does. I've got an audio book on cd somewhere around the house if I find it I'll check for myself. As for the other suggestion I'd really have to think about how to implement that but like I said before I'd just use the "Enter preceding name for tracks" box and put in "disc01-" for disc 1 and so on. That way your mp3s will still be in chronological order when you burn to cd. Otherwise you could use the "output to single track" checkbox which would output the entire cd to one track.

Posted: Sun 29 Oct 2006, 18:37
by Flash
Thanks, plinej.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I think I got everything set up right, but nothing happens when I click "rip." The CD plays in Gxine, so I know that the computer can read it ok. Here's everything I could think to put in a screenshot.

Posted: Sun 29 Oct 2006, 19:53
by plinej
Flash, I'm not sure what you're doing wrong either. Do you have the file /etc/cdromdevice ?
Your terminal says no such file. Barry's puppy cd wizard should enter your selected cdrom reader device to that file. Also when you click on the folder to select your directory you need to select something otherwise your files will rip to /root/

Posted: Sun 29 Oct 2006, 19:58
by plinej
I just set the exact same settings as you and am currently ripping a disc with those options.