TXZ_pup 4.5

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#166 Post by big_bass »

updated the first page with the latest java package
updated the devx

Joe

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#167 Post by rcrsn51 »

@gerry:

Stop CUPS with

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/cups stop
Delete the folder /var/spool/cups. There is something wrong with it that prevents CUPS from creating a print job.

Restart CUPS with

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/cups start
CUPS will automatically make a new version of the deleted folder. That should enable your print jobs.

Administration > Find New Printers does not appear to work because this setup requires an admin login. If you replace /etc/cups/cupsd.conf with one from another Puppy/Quirky (and do a CUPS restart), this feature will start working too.

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#168 Post by big_bass »

Hey rcrsn51
Administration > Find New Printers does not appear to work because this setup requires an admin login. If you replace /etc/cups/cupsd.conf with one from another Puppy/Quirky (and do a CUPS restart), this feature will start working too.
thats good news
could you attach to this thread or PM me the working /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

I will add it to the package

P.S I have a chat going with Patriot in the developers chat about cups
I will send you a PM with the link and password its the official developers chat site
Lobster set up for puppy linux
when there are meetings thats the place that will be used

*I hardly ever PM people but a password is needed
Joe

gerry
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:49
Location: England

#169 Post by gerry »

@rcrsn51- thanks. Deleted /var/spool/cups, and set up my networked printer using the nearest Gutenprint driver. It works. The options came up and I was able to set paper size and resolution, and print the test page. I got an error message saying "No ticket cache found for userid=0", but it printed anyway.

My problem (always!) with printing is that using a Gutenprint driver I get prints in which black comes out (darkish) grey rather than black. If I use the proper Canon driver I get black. So I tried that, but got a message saying "Unable to send command to printer driver. Unsupported format "application /vnd.cups.command"

Big_Bass- Please don't waste time on this!!! It's my problem, caused by the printer now being a bit old, and designed to work with Cups 1.1.

I'm working on that- I think I need to add a line to the ppd file.

It's all fun...gerry

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#170 Post by rcrsn51 »

"Unable to send command to printer driver. Unsupported format "application /vnd.cups.command"
I saw that once myself working with CUPS 1.4 in another Puppy. Reboot everything and try again. IIRC, that worked for me.

gerry
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:49
Location: England

#171 Post by gerry »

@rcrsn51- the log complains about "missing product" in the ppd file. Thinks: there must be a cups 1.1.x pet still around somewhere..........

gerry

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#172 Post by rcrsn51 »

What model Canon is it?

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#173 Post by big_bass »

heres a simple start/stop script I wrote for cups in gtkdialog to be more user friendly it gets
installed using my cups package but its a stand alone script for any version of puppy

*I fixed the cups package to include the permissions file that rcrsn51discovered to work
in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf for TXZ pup (the gtk is different in TXZ pup Patriot told me the cups backend is gtk sensitive ) so I have to have a special package

I am using gtk+-2.12.9


Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

# description of script:
# gtkdialog box
# control cups service on and off
# opens port 631 and closes it also
# script name cups_control

# last update 12-8-2009 Joe Arose   "big_bass"


# this is an administrative script
# written to show what is happening with the service
# without obscuring the processes involved
# keeping everything transparent 

# to allow gtkdialog to work on linux systems
# an odd renmaning of gtkdialog3 disables the offical gtkdialog scripts
# making a symlink allows official gtkdialog scripts to
# work also for puppy linux   
# now you can run all the "demos" or import other scripts
# to test and use  :D

# big_bass fix comment out the symlink if not using puppy linux
# a symlink gets auto built for you 
( cd /usr/sbin ; ln -sf gtkdialog3 gtkdialog )

# Quotation marks and backslash fix
# also note that Quotation marks and backslashes are allowed without
# having to use special coding to make it work
# and makes it easy to read the code 


export DIALOG='
  <vbox>
    <text>
      <label>This is an other dialog window.</label>
    </text>
    <button>
      <label>Close</label>
      <action type="closewindow">DIALOG</action>
    </button>
  </vbox>
'



export MAIN_DIALOG='
<window title="Cups Service Control">
 <vbox>
 <frame Start / stop cups>
    <pixmap icon_size="6">
      <input file stock="gtk-print"></input>
    </pixmap>
  </frame>
  <frame PID       Uid         VSZ  Stat    Command               >
       <entry>
      <input>ps|grep cupsd</input>
      <variable>ENTRY</variable>
    </entry>
  </frame>
  <frame "enable" opens port 631 "disable" closes port 631  >   
      <hbox>
      <button>
        <label>enable</label>
   <action type="enable">ENTRY</action>
   <action type="enable">CHECKBOX</action>
    <action>/etc/init.d/cups start</action> 
    <action type="refresh">ENTRY</action>
      </button>
      <button>
        <label>disable</label>
   <action type="enable">ENTRY</action>
   <action type="enable">CHECKBOX</action>
      <action>/etc/init.d/cups stop</action>
       <action type="refresh">ENTRY</action>
      </button>
    </hbox>
      </frame>
  <hbox>
   <button ok></button>
   <button cancel></button>
  </hbox>
 </vbox>
 </window>
'

gtkdialog --center --program=MAIN_DIALOG

gerry
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:49
Location: England

#174 Post by gerry »

@rcrsn51- depending where you are in the world, it's a Canon i965, 965i, Pixus i965.... I got he driver from Mr Takushi, at Kyoto University, with help from Muggins. It's seen service in just about every Puppy since 2.17 (and Debian, Sidux, ....).

Linux Printing, Gutenprint, etc all seem to recommend one similar to the ones that nearly work, ie Gutenprint BJC8500, BJC8200, S600.

gerry

gerry
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:49
Location: England

#175 Post by gerry »

@rcrsn- found the problem with the ppd- not all the ppd's in the package got picked up by the cups list, and I clicked on the wrong one. Now the priblem is the old "Can't find ticket cache for userid ..." This usually gets sorted by running Pnethood and mounting the printer, but doesn't seem to work this time.

gerry

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

#176 Post by rcrsn51 »

Have a look at this replacement for smb. Maybe it will solve your problem.

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#177 Post by big_bass »

recompiled the cups 1.4.4
once again updated the first page
this time added these thanks to Patriot
and used the permissions that rcrsn51 recommended

along with the configure I used before theses new options were used in addition
--enable-raw-printing \
--disable-acl \
--disable-dbus \
--disable-libusb \

so that cuts the dependencies down even more

you have to go to add printer first and do the password first then
find printers will work

only if you have a gutenprint driver
more work needs to be done for HP stuff (I cant test that) sorry


password
root
woofwoof

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#178 Post by big_bass »

sneekylinux uploaded video demo of TXZ pup to youtube


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JmU1ok5j0w

8)

Joe

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#179 Post by big_bass »

I have a few ways to remove and install packages built in to TXZ_pup

I thought to add more more tool
what it does is just place the recently installed packages (slackware type)
in the GUI list of remove packages

*wheras my other tools work on official slackware also
this will only work on puppy because of the /initrd/pup_rw is only used on puppy

this way its easier to find and remove packages
since the list will be much smaller

its a stand alone script so it would also work on slaxer_pup

its called remove-recent-installed-packages
just make it executable and click on it

you can get some good stuff out of Xdialog and its fast

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

#8-7-2010
# built for TXZ_pup  big_bass 
# remove recently installed packages 
# make a smaller list so its easy to 
# find recently installed packages  


# make folders clean up files
mkdir -p /tmp/remover

rm -f /tmp/remover/new_list.*  
rm -f /tmp/remover/return2



#these are the packages recently installed  to TXZ pup  
cd /initrd/pup_rw/var/log/packages
ls $pwd -1 >/tmp/remover/new_list.tmp



# generated list for Xdialog GUI added to the body later
  for i in  `cat /tmp/remover/new_list.tmp` ; do
        echo \"$i\" \" \" OFF "\\">> /tmp/remover/new_list.tmp3   
  done  


#================================================
#                  GUI
#================================================
#head  of the viewer (static part)
cat << 'EOF' > /tmp/remover/files_files_viewer
#!/bin/sh
Xdialog --title " files files(s) you want to remove" \
--backtitle "Remove files files  "     \
--checklist "Select  files to remove       \
                                             \n"  0 0 0  \
EOF


#body viewer    (dynamic part)                                           
#build the list of packages  to remove                                           
echo "`cat /tmp/remover/new_list.tmp3`">>  /tmp/remover/files_files_viewer




# take care of close box ,ok and cancel (static part)
cat << 'EOF' >>/tmp/remover/files_files_viewer
2> /tmp/remover/return2 


case $? in
  0)
    echo "Yes chosen.";;
  1)
    echo "No chosen."
    
	exit
	;;
  255)
    echo "Box closed."
    exit
	;;

esac 
EOF

#================================================


  #set permissions for the GUI script 
  chmod a+x  /tmp/remover/files_files_viewer
    

  #run the viewer sourced    
  .  /tmp/remover/files_files_viewer



    # add multiple removes  
    # its done after the  selection of the packages 

    # raw original convert slash to space
    cat /tmp/remover/return2| sed 's/\// /g'> /tmp/remover/return2


    # convert space to new line 
    cat /tmp/remover/return2 | tr ' ' '\n' > /tmp/remover/return2


  
      # quick check to see if no packages were found in this directory 
      # if no packages found xdialog would crash 
	  if ! [ -s /tmp/remover/return2 ];then
     	 Xdialog --title "NO tgz or txz packages  found or selected " \
        	     --infobox "\nYou must have or select tgz or txz packages in this directory!.\n" 0 0 7000
      exit 
      fi




# make a list of all the packages that were removed 
LIST=$(</tmp/remover/return2)





# remove files selected in the GUI
 

 for i in $LIST ;do 
  removepkg $i
   done


#display the package removed 
Xdialog --title "Complete" \
        	--infobox "\nRemoved $LIST finished.\n" 0 0 6000

# clean up the JWM menu and update it 
/usr/sbin/fixmenus #hack for JWM and ICEWM 
jwm -restart       #hack for JWM and ICEWM  Joe Arose aka big_bass
	
	
   

gronos04
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun 31 Dec 2006, 00:54
Location: Radfordia QLD

TXZ Full Installation Problem

#180 Post by gronos04 »

I am experiencing a strange problem.
Running TXZ as frugal the ps2 mouse works fine.
When I do a full install the ps2 mouse disappears.
This has happened on 2 different Asus KV8 rigs and also on 2 more Asus bases machines.
I tried with different ACPI settings but no luck.
After doing the full install the mouse input wizard runs and I select the ps2 but when I get to the business end of things it is gone.
Slaxer_pup Cooking works fine as full install on all these machines.

Hope you can help

Warren

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#181 Post by big_bass »

gronos04
Running TXZ as frugal the ps2 mouse works fine.
When I do a full install the ps2 mouse disappears.

thanks for the report
this type problem is strange most likely a file doesnt get generated
in the full install so lets see if forcing it helps (there are module tests and file checks )

this will force the ps2 mouse settings

http://www.puppy2.org/slaxer/mouse-ps2- ... 7_SLXR.txz

let me know how it went

======================================
*there is also an additional emergency GUI package installer from the command line


menu>exit to prompt
the type pkgtool # it takes a minute to do the searching for the packages
you move around without the mouse using the tab and arrow keys
if a package is in root this it will find it and ask if you want to install it

wget works also out of X to get packages

xwin
to return

Joe

gronos04
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun 31 Dec 2006, 00:54
Location: Radfordia QLD

#182 Post by gronos04 »

Hi Joe, just did a full install on a Asus M2a-vm-hdmi to test.
Mouse worked fine after full install.
No sound on the ALC883 but this has always been a problem on this machine.
Am now trying to install the ATI radeon 'catalyst' software which I hope will fix the sound problem.
Will be back at those other machines tomorrow and will test the script for the disappearing mouse.
I will also take the hard drive from the Asus M2a-vm-hdmi to test if the mouse is still there on the different mobo.

thanks
Warren

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#183 Post by big_bass »

I updated the package page http://www.puppy2.org/slaxer/

I still have to add all the extras there are many more
but since you can install and uninstall anything
I uploaded all the packages used to build TXZ
so if you remove a pre installed package you could re install it or upgrade it :D

man ,I wish I could of done that three years ago
that just makes everything so easy
to modify 8) 8)
the key pivot point to making my life easy
was using pkgtool ( slackware package management )

its an investment to learn how to use it

*someone asked if I can only make packages for TXZ
all the tools to make packages are already built in to TXZ_pup
I have some scripts I use to speed things up for myself but all the official stuff is pre installed nothing missing fully functional


Joe

User avatar
upnorth
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 19:32
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)
Contact:

#184 Post by upnorth »

Hi Big_Bass:

Just installed xchat-2.8.4 from puppy4 repo via ppm. It gave some promps about missing deps ssl and gtk+ but they arn't really needed. I ignored it and xchat is running great through port 7000 and ssl. Everything else is good-n-snappy. Also downloaded 412-devx-i486-4_SLXR and src2pkg so I'll try those later 8)

User avatar
linuxsansdisquedur
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue 13 Jan 2009, 21:17
Location: South of France

#185 Post by linuxsansdisquedur »

Can't boot THZ : freeze in boot prompt (like puppy3 does with my pc) :x
slax allergy? :?
Sorry can't test it but seems good new way for puppy :wink:
le max avec le min

Post Reply