Slacko64 - 64 bit Puppy - 6 Feb 2014

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: welcome1stboot-140206

#141 Post by L18L »

01micko wrote:
L18L wrote:Do you plan to
- install all available translations of welcome1stboot so that they can be used immediately from the beginning
Yes
I have extended welcome1stboot to run in all available languages now
Should work without installing locale and without restarting X..
Name of language is from locales if existent (see example for French)

if LANGUAGE is set then there is no choice

For other translations we should wait until Barry has published his 3 versions variant I think.

EDIT
here is the source for this extension that has to be inserted.

Code: Select all

END SUB


REM ============================ <language> ======================140209

FUNCTION available_languages$()
 LOCAL langs$
 REM langs$=CONCAT$("en ", CHOP$(EXEC$("echo `find /usr/share/locale/*/LC_MESSAGES/welcome1stboot.mo | cut -d '/' -f 5`")))
 langs$="en"
 OPEN "/usr/share/locale/" FOR DIRECTORY AS textdomaindir
 REPEAT
  GETFILE oneLANG$ FROM textdomaindir
  IF FILEEXISTS(CONCAT$("/usr/share/locale/", oneLANG$, "/LC_MESSAGES/", ARGUMENT$, ".mo")) THEN langs$=CONCAT$(langs$, " ", oneLANG$)
 UNTIL ISFALSE(LEN(oneLANG$))
 CLOSE DIRECTORY textdomaindir
 RETURN langs$
END FUNCTION

'
' Print Unicode value to screen using UTF8 - See also http://www.unicode.org/charts/
'
' Install correct TTF font to make sure the UCS2 characters are printed correctly.
'
' For example the Junicode font: http://junicode.sourceforge.net/
'
' March 2011, PvE - GPL
'
'-----------------------------------------------------------------------
FUNCTION UCS2UTF8$(STRING number$)

        LOCAL nr, byte1, byte2, byte3, utf1, utf2, utf3, utf4
        LOCAL result$

        nr = DEC(number$)

        IF nr <= DEC("7f") THEN
                byte1 = nr & 255
                result$ = CHR$(byte1)
        ELIF nr > DEC("7f") AND nr <= DEC("07ff") THEN
                byte1 = nr & 255
                byte2 = (nr & 65280) >> 8
                utf1 = ((byte1 & 63) + 128)
                utf2 = ((byte1 & 192) >> 6) + ((byte2 & 7) << 2) + 192
                result$ = CONCAT$(CHR$(utf2), CHR$(utf1))
        ELIF nr > DEC("07ff") AND nr <= DEC("ffff") THEN
                byte1 = nr & 255
                byte2 = (nr & 65280) >> 8
                utf1 = ((nr & 63) + 128)
                utf2 = ((byte1 & 192) >> 6) + ((byte2 & 15) << 2) + 128
                utf3 = ((byte2 & 240) >> 4) + 224
                result$ = CONCAT$(CHR$(utf3), CHR$(utf2), CHR$(utf1))
        ELIF nr > DEC("ffff") AND nr <= DEC("10ffff") THEN
                byte1 = nr & 255
                byte2 = (nr & 65280) >> 8
                byte3 = (nr & 16711680) >> 16
                utf1 = ((nr & 63) + 128)
                utf2 = ((byte1 & 192) >> 6) + ((byte2 & 15) << 2) + 128
                utf3 = ((byte2 & 240) >> 4)  + ((byte3 & 3) << 4) + 128
                utf4 = ((byte3 & 28) >> 2) + 240
                result$ = CONCAT$(CHR$(utf4), CHR$(utf3), CHR$(utf2), CHR$(utf1))
        ELSE
                PRINT "Value out of range."
                END
        END IF

        RETURN result$

END FUNCTION


SUB get_app_language
 OPTION BASE 1
 GLOBAL num_languages
 LOCAL num_cols = 4
 GLOBAL language_checked[100]
 REM GLOBAL language_select[100]

 langs$=available_languages$ ()
 SPLIT langs$ BY " " TO language$ SIZE num_languages 
 
 IF num_languages > 1 THEN
  language_win = WINDOW(INTL$("Choose a language"), 285, 110 + 20 * num_languages / num_cols)
  ATTACH(language_win, MARK(INTL$("Select one of the available languages\nyou like to use\nor are just curious about"),280,60), 2, 10)
 
  REM checkboxes are used though only one choicen is making sense
  REM but no need to press any additional key ie. no OK button required.

  SHOW(language_win)
  n = 1
  row = 1
  col = 1
  WHILE n < num_languages + 1
  ' language_select[n] = RADIO(language$[n], 40, 15, 0)
  ' SET(language_select[n], 0)
  ' ATTACH(language_win, language_select[n], -20 + n * 50, 60)
  
  ' language_select[n] = BUTTON(language$[n], 40, 20) 
  ' ATTACH(language_win, language_select[n], -20 + n * 50, 60)
  
   language_checked[n] = CHECK(language$[n], 65, 15) 
   ATTACH(language_win, language_checked[n], 5 + (col -1) * 65 , 70 + row * 20 )
   
   'get language name in language of language
   IF n = 1  THEN LANG_NAME$="English"
   ELSE
    LANG_NAME$=""
    lang_name$=EXEC$(CONCAT$("grep ^lang_name /usr/share/i18n/locales/", GRAB$(language_checked[n]), "* | head -n 1 | cut -d '"' -f2 ") )
    lang_name$=REPLACE$(lang_name$,">","")
    lang_name$=REPLACE$(lang_name$,"<U"," ")
    FOR UCS$ IN lang_name$
     LANG_NAME$=CONCAT$(LANG_NAME$, UCS2UTF8$(UCS$))
    NEXT
    IF LANG_NAME$="" THEN LANG_NAME$="This is the Language Code"
   END IF
   gtk_widget_set_tooltip_text(language_checked[n],LANG_NAME$)

   CALLBACK(language_checked[n], check_language)
   INCR n
   INCR col
   IF col > num_cols THEN 
    INCR row
    col = 1  
   ENDIF 
  WEND
  DISPLAY
 ENDIF 
END SUB

SUB check_language
 lang$ = ""
 REM checked can be more than one (in theory)
 FOR n = 1 TO num_languages
  IF GET(language_checked[n]) THEN lang$ = CONCAT$(lang$, GRAB$(language_checked[n]), " ")
 NEXT
 ' restart this programm using a LANGUAGE
 SYSTEM CONCAT$("LANGUAGE=", lang$, " ", ARGUMENT$) 
 SYSTEM CONCAT$("kill `pidof ", ARGUMENT$, "`")
END SUB

IF GETENVIRON$("LANGUAGE") = "" THEN get_app_language

REM ============================ </language> ======================140209


REM to disable decorations, need to hide window first...
EDIT
Forget about above code.
Use recent version at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... &start=558
Attachments
choose_one_of_the_available_languages.png
(2.61 KiB) Downloaded 732 times
Last edited by L18L on Tue 11 Feb 2014, 14:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ray MK
Posts: 774
Joined: Tue 05 Feb 2008, 09:10
Location: UK

#142 Post by Ray MK »

Thanks 01micko for the fix.

A thought for readers contemplating multi-boot with slacko64 on a f2fs usb.

A fat 1st partition is reqd. and a 32mb size is suggested. Fine for a single install.

However, if you intend to do multiple multi-boot installations, then a larger fat 1st partition is needed.

1 or 2gb should be plenty. (or roughly 1 tenth of the usb size)

I understand f2fs partitions cannot yet be resized, so it means the fat 1st partition size needs to be prepared prior to making the f2fs partition.

The above presumes that a suitably sized usb is available,

Best regards - Ray
Last edited by Ray MK on Mon 10 Feb 2014, 09:44, edited 1 time in total.
[b]Asus[/b] 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. [b]IBM A21m[/b] laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. [b]X60[/b] T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. [b]T41[/b] Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.

gcmartin

#143 Post by gcmartin »

Hi @L18L.

Great update of language selector you show here

Question
  • Should this be a selection on the FirstRUN app where any user, at desktop startup, simply clicks a language section's pull-down for language preference?
  • Could you propose a change to the FirstRUN for development?
This GUI you show could also be in Menu's setup as an option, though.

Hope this helps

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#144 Post by James C »

Manual frugal install........ looking pretty good.


# report-video
Report Video 1.3 - Sun 9 Feb 2014 on Slacko64 Puppy 5.8.8 - Linux 3.13.1 x86_64

Chip description:
00:12.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C68 [GeForce 7050 PV / nForce 630a] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP67 - mcp68-01 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
1516 frames in 5.0 seconds = 303.053 FPS
1684 frames in 5.0 seconds = 336.628 FPS
1817 frames in 5.0 seconds = 363.398 FPS
1839 frames in 5.0 seconds = 367.710 FPS
1827 frames in 5.0 seconds = 365.260 FPS
1802 frames in 5.0 seconds = 360.253 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Memory : 3796MB (278MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Slacko64 Puppy - 5.8.8
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 09 Feb 2014 11:50:09 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x300)
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Attachments
Slacko64-5.8.8.jpg
(32.05 KiB) Downloaded 691 times

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#145 Post by Jades »

01micko wrote:@Jades

My bad :( . I knew carl9170-1.fw needed moving to /lib/firmware.

You could try this:

Code: Select all

mv /lib/modules/all-firmware/carl9170/lib/firmware/carl9170/carl9170-1.fw /lib/firmware
rm -r /lib/modules/all-firmware/carl9170/lib/firmware/carl9170/
Then reboot.
OK, done that on the Live CD install and WiFi is working again. Successfully set up a working connection with Frisbee, usual setup with Static IPs. Networking works every boot without needing to be set up again. Tried to test Network Wizard but got an error about invalid addresses - they weren't.

I installed HPLIP from PPM to use with my new LaserJet M451dn but nothing happens when I run HP Device Manager. Managed to get it working via CUPS, using the generic HP Color LaserJet Series PCL 6 driver and connecting via JetDirect.

Oddly, I think something's gone wrong with my CD as while it'll boot into the existing LiveCD install happily enough, it's now bombing out with a kernel panic at the switch root stage if I try pfix=ram. A full install set up from the current install also bombs out at the same stage. Unfortunately I have run out of spare CDRWs so will have to get more. It's probably the disc itself is wearing out.
Attachments
Screenshot_2014-02-09_120558.png
Error about invalid addresses when using Network Wizard.
(12.47 KiB) Downloaded 616 times
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#146 Post by Jades »

smokey01 wrote:Jades it doesn't seem to be able to find the firmware for the Netgear WN111v2 USB wireless dongle.
What was strange was that the modules were loaded, yet the tools still couldn't see the dongle.
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

gcmartin

#147 Post by gcmartin »

Jades wrote:... Unfortunately I have run out of spare CDRWs so will have to get more. It's probably the disc itself is wearing out....
If its a CDRW, you may want to, simply, do a full blank of the disc. This can be accomplished via PBurn. Then multi-session the ISO back onto the disc and boot.

I am assuming that you are saving your save-sessions onto the CDRW. Is that correct?

One other idea is that after you have gotten your system booted with the customization and any PETs/apps added, you may want to remaster the running system into a new complete ISO containing all your changes. Then that would be the ISO you would use for that PC.

Hope this is helpful

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

welcome1stboot

#148 Post by L18L »

gcmartin wrote:Question
Should this be a selection on the FirstRUN app where any user, at desktop startup, simply clicks a language section's pull-down for language preference?
Subject was/is welcome1stboot

Code: Select all

# FirstRUN
bash: FirstRUN: command not found
#
gcmartin wrote:Could you propose a change to the FirstRUN for development?
No.

The selection can be used anywhere.

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: welcome1stboot-140206

#149 Post by L18L »

L18L wrote:
01micko wrote:
L18L wrote:Do you plan to
- install all available translations of welcome1stboot so that they can be used immediately from the beginning
Yes
...
For other translations we should wait until Barry has published his 3 versions variant I think.
...done

Translations can be posted here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=757799

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#150 Post by Jades »

gcmartin wrote:
Jades wrote:... Unfortunately I have run out of spare CDRWs so will have to get more. It's probably the disc itself is wearing out....
If its a CDRW, you may want to, simply, do a full blank of the disc. This can be accomplished via PBurn. Then multi-session the ISO back onto the disc and boot.
I did that, and it managed to get to the desktop in a pfix=ram boot, however when I tried to boot the Full Install I created from that session it still bombed out with a kernel panic. I'll upload the crappy phonecam shot of that error tomorrow.

The main thing with the CD is I've been using it for several years and have erased and written to it many times so it is possible that it is just the disc, but I don't have a fresh and unused one to rule that out.
gcmartin wrote:I am assuming that you are saving your save-sessions onto the CDRW. Is that correct?
No, boot is from the disc but the pupsave and the Slacko SFS are on an NTFS-formatted hard drive. I generally create several new saves during the course of testing Puppy, as well as testing upgrading copies of my running save from the last release version of what I'm working with.

Thanks for the tips.
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

EdD
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue 10 Dec 2013, 00:10
Location: Southside Virginia

#151 Post by EdD »

Just installed 5.8.8 as a full install with PUI to a 16G sandisk usb, saving to the partition. Booting up on a Lenovo Thinkcentre, Core2 Duo, 2.66ghz, 4gigs RAM, onboard Intel graphics it runs really fast, and everything works well. Video driver selected properly on the first boot, and internet connection was immediate. Firefox is very fast and stable, and I installed Thunderbird from the slackware repos. No problems with it, either. All the menu items I used behaved well. Trying the usb on my Dell later.

I installed the Xine pet and it works very well, or it does now that I know how to run it. A left click on the disc icon mounts the dvd and launches xine. Trying to play a dvd by opening the controls and clicking on 'DVD' gave the error message of no plugin available. The app runs very well once it's launched by mounting the dvd drive.

I guess there's something different about the Xine app for 64bit, since the Xine works without mounting the drive in Slacko 5.6, which is what I have installed to HDD on both my 64 bit machines and my P4's.

This is really quite a distro, Micko. You've done some masterful work here.

Thanks for all the hard work, and kindest regards.

Ed
Dell optiplex 780, Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz, 4g RAM, w/ATI RV620 LE Radeon HD 3450. Currently running a full install of Slacko 6.3.0 ( 32 bit version).

User avatar
ally
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:29
Location: lincoln, uk
Contact:

#152 Post by ally »

got around to installing 64 5.8.8 to lenovo t500

this build was able to connect with wpa using 'network wizard' without the issue seen in 5.6.5.6

installed google-chrome from the fatdog repo (needed

Code: Select all

exec -a "$0" "$HERE/chrome" --user-data-dir --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
from oscartalks

looking good

thanks

:)

chiron²
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue 21 Jan 2014, 18:36

#153 Post by chiron² »

Just tried MTP mount. This is way cool! i used to fiddle along the CLI (succesful), but this is a great step towards user-friendliness.

spandey
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu 20 Sep 2012, 14:30
Location: India

#154 Post by spandey »

Wine is not available in PPM. On the web 64bit wine .txz for Slacko is available. Is there a way we can use it or we can use FATDOG wine for time being?

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#155 Post by bigpup »

Any ideas how to get this working.

Slacko64 5.8.8
Live CD first boot.
New Netgear WNA3100 USB wireless adapter
Broadcom BCM43231

Network Wizard

Wireless not recognized.

Tried to setup using ndiswrapper using Windows driver.
Normally works in other Puppies.

After identifying the Windows .inf file to use.
Ndiswrapper setup does nothing.

Edit:
If I try Simple network Setup.
Trying to use Windows driver, I get this message.

error windows driver does not seem to work. It has been uninstalled.

I tried a windows driver from Windows 7 64 version and a Windows XP driver.
Same results with all.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

gcmartin

#156 Post by gcmartin »

Hi @L18L
I'm not sure if semantics helps your cause or not, but first use of Puppy is this facility on the screen below. It first use in Puppyland was done by @Shinobar. I refer to it by its initial name from him. And, I have consistently used that reference to this subsystem since its inception. (Maybe a recommendation for its new name from you would be in order.)

In Slackos, the reference to FirstRUN is still used as you can see below.

What is proposed is to have an additional entry on this screen to allow any user in the world when his distro boots to this desktop, to select the language of preference. In my country that could be English/French/Spanish/German/etc. This is every user's very first acquaintance with their PUP.

Hope this helps
Attachments
FirstRUN.png
Every user see this at initial boot of a modern PUP distro. Should a language preference selection be here?
(133.58 KiB) Downloaded 741 times

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

#157 Post by L18L »

gcmartin wrote:Hi @L18L
I'm not sure if semantics helps your cause or not, but first use of Puppy is this facility on the screen below. It first use in Puppyland was done by @Shinobar. I refer to it by its initial name from him. And, I have consistently used that reference to this subsystem since its inception. (Maybe a recommendation for its new name from you would be in order.)

In Slackos, the reference to FirstRUN is still used as you can see below.

What is proposed is to have an additional entry on this screen to allow any user in the world when his distro boots to this desktop, to select the language of preference. In my country that could be English/French/Spanish/German/etc. This is every user's very first acquaintance with their PUP.

Hope this helps
Yes this helped.

My topic is to let the user choose a language in which at first boot they are welcomed to .... where they are maybe outside of puppyland.

And you are talking about quicksetup coming up in English language.
..and ask: Should a language preference selection be here?

My answer is: No. It should have been done before.

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#158 Post by Jades »

bigpup wrote:Any ideas how to get this working.

Slacko64 5.8.8
Live CD first boot.
New Netgear WNA3100 USB wireless adapter
It's possible that it is the same problem that I encountered with my Netgear WN111v2 USB dongle - firmware is in the wrong place so the tools can't see it. Is your problem that the modules seem to be loaded if you run lsmod or PupSysInfo (IIRC) but none of the network tools can actually see wlan0?
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

gcmartin

#159 Post by gcmartin »

Thanks @L18L
L18L wrote:
gcmartin wrote: ... What is proposed is to have an additional entry ... when his distro boots to this desktop, to select the language of preference
... let the user choose a language in which at first boot they are welcomed to .... where they are maybe outside of puppyland....
It should have been done before.
Questions
  • Are you suggesting that there should be another screen presented before BarryK's FirstRUN that users currently see?
  • Or, are you suggesting something else which can be universally applied regardless of any distro?
  • Or, are you suggesting that the FirstRUN screen should come up in the user's native language versus English? (This presents the most obvious problem even if it is presented to the user in a prior screen..."IN what language should that prior request be presented?")
Just trying to get my head around what you see.

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#160 Post by mavrothal »

IN what language should that prior request be presented?
Maybe the language selection window could have flags in addition to names and/or the name of the language in the corresponding native writing.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

Post Reply