Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 24 Jun 2018, 16:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
grub file details to load puppy1.05 with EMC
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
plasticad

Joined: 31 Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Durban South Africa

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 06:56    Post subject:  grub file details to load puppy1.05 with EMC
Subject description: grub guru needed!
 

Hi all,

I have my hard disk partitioned for Ubuntu, Windoze XP, and a separate partition for puppy 1.05 with EMC cnc program on it. I have done the hard drive install for this, into partition sda8, but did not install grub, figuring I already had Ubuntu so I would merely edit the menu.lst file in ubuntu.
I sort of hacked a menu.lst entry from another machine that runs puppy to give me this:

title puppy-emc
root (hda0,8)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=dev/sda8 ro vga=normal

This gives me "error 22 - no such partition.
Set to root (sda0,8) i get: error 23 "error while parsing"
Can someone please tell me what the correct definition of sda8 should be for grub?
Many thanks,

Brian

_________________
WoooHoooo... Puppy!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6747
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 07:30    Post subject:  

If it's installed to sda8, because grub sees sda1 as (hda0,0), then it should be, for a full install:

title puppy-emc
root (hda0,7)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda8 ro vga=normal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12100
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 09:11    Post subject:    

It's not (hda0,7).

It should be (hd0,7)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6747
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Sat 25 Sep 2010, 09:26    Post subject:  

Thankyou rcrsn51.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plasticad

Joined: 31 Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Durban South Africa

PostPosted: Sun 26 Sep 2010, 06:29    Post subject: error message -can't find usr_cram.fs  

hi folks,

Thanks for the input. I have modified the menu.lst and it makes like it is going to boot, but then gives a kernel panic, telling me to append a correct "root=" boot option. Using no acpi takes me a bit further, but I still get that message. I then deleted the contents of the partition, and copied the cd files into it (trying a frugal type install). Now it boots, but just before x loads I get the message that it can't find usr_cram.fs , and to copy it to sda8. I have checked, and it is already there. My menu.lst looks like this:

root (hd0,7)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PHOME=sda8 acpi=off ro vga=normal
initrd /image.gz

Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

Many thanks, Brian

_________________
WoooHoooo... Puppy!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6747
Location: hobart

PostPosted: Sun 26 Sep 2010, 07:44    Post subject:  

You initially had vmlinuz in /boot directory. Are all the files now located in / directory? When you downloaded the iso, did you check the md5sum? Does the iso boot OK if you burn it to a CD-RW?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12100
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 26 Sep 2010, 12:29    Post subject:  

Is there a reason why you are using this ancient Puppy version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 140
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 26 Sep 2010, 15:22    Post subject:  

I think with the old ones you need something like

root (hd0,7)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 acpi=off ramdisk_size=13312 PFILE=ask
initrd /image.gz

Look in the isolinux.cfg in the iso for ramdisk size and PFILE name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plasticad

Joined: 31 Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Location: Durban South Africa

PostPosted: Mon 27 Sep 2010, 15:03    Post subject: Solved - Finally--- it boots!!  

Thanks Philh - all it needed was the PFILE=ask ! I did one of these years ago and I knew there was something that was missing, but a forum search was not helpful, and my memory is shot.

rcrsn51, thanks for your inputs. The reason I need this old bugger is that it is compiled withs EMC cnc controller software on, and it needs to run with rtai. As far as I know, no-one has a newer puppy with this, and I am not all that experienced to compile it all myself. I also have the latest Ubuntu with the latest EMC... but compared to the speed of puppy, 'buntu seems very sluggish. And I know my way around puppy.. well sort of.

Thanks all,

Brian

_________________
WoooHoooo... Puppy!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0668s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]