how to compile source and install new program

Booting, installing, newbie
amrishpurohit

how to compile source and install new program

#1 Post by amrishpurohit »

hi
i am new to puppy linux. i have experience with fedora and other destros. i like puppy very much. i want to compile wine and monit in puppy but i could not find any glibc or gcc
how can i compile a source and install it ?
please guide me or some link??

thanks
amrish

polymath

#2 Post by polymath »

you need to go to puppy's ibiblio.org distro site and download the correct devx file. If you have puppy 4.00, then the file you need is devx_400.sfs, located in the sfs-modules_4 folder (or sommat), but if you have puppy 3.01, then you need devx_301.sfs

Then, are you running off of live media (like cd) or did you do an install? What kind of install?

amrishpurohit

#3 Post by amrishpurohit »

polymath
i am talking about traditional installation that is ./configure make and make install.
what if i want to compile my custom c hello program . because i could not find any gcc or cc program.

thanks polymath for your response
amrish

muggins

#4 Post by muggins »

Amrish,

as Polymath mentioned, you need to download the development .sfs file for whichever puppy version you're using. If you're running puppy from a CD, or a frugal hard disk install, the file needs to be copied to /mnt/home, and should be mounted when you next reboot. If you enter gcc in a console & get the response no input files, then you have a working compiler.

If you have a full hard disk install, then refer to the bottom of this page

amrishpurohit

#5 Post by amrishpurohit »

thanks muggins,
i was not aware of that, can you please send me the link ans guide lines to install that file.
thanks again
amrish

Volsung

#6 Post by Volsung »

Latest devx file:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... vx_400.sfs

Right click it and "save target as". Put it in /mnt/home (same directory as your save file).

More on compiling from the Wiki: