Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Oct 2018, 19:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Top view running process
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 08:14    Post subject:  Top view running process  

Older Puppys have Top to check running processes, etc. I notice that it has only one reading for CPU usage whereas HTop (the utility in newer Puppys) have readings for multi-core CPU's eg. my dual-core processor shows reading for two "cpu's" with Htop but only one reading with Top. Does Top combine the readings for multi-core cpu's or does it only show the reading for one processing unit? I'm experimenting with different Puppys on the same machine with regards to CPU usage which could have an effect on general power usage. So far there has been some surprising results.
1) Puppy 412 - Using old version of VLC running high quality video > average CPU load according to Top = 45%
2) Racy 5.5 - Same VLC version and same video as in 1 > Top = 20%
3) Tahr 6.0.5 - Newer version of VLC, same video > HTop = 40% (combined total for duo-processor units) so that makes it 20% on average. Same as Racy.

Last edited by nic007 on Thu 19 Jul 2018, 15:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2599

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 09:26    Post subject:  

All depends upon OS and version etc. My OpenBSD top command for instance shows all four of my cores.
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   198.95 KB
 Viewed   103 Time(s)

s.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 09:45    Post subject:  

Probably old or cutdown version Sad
capture12296.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.19 KB
 Viewed   99 Time(s)

capture12296.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2599

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 12:22    Post subject:  

Ahhhh! Scary picture nic007.
(Predictable PID's, So many things running as root esp. vlc)

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 987
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 12:28    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
Probably old or cutdown version Sad


Yea, top is a busybox utility, htop is its own program.
Probably top is in all the puppies, just not on the menu.

edit: htop available for version 4.xx puppies
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/

,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 274

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 14:17    Post subject:  

With busybox top, you can press "c" to switch between combined and per-core CPU usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 15:02    Post subject:  

mostly_lurking wrote:
With busybox top, you can press "c" to switch between combined and per-core CPU usage.

Thanks, that works. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 15:46    Post subject:  

It seems Top by default shows the average load between the multi processing core units of the CPU which percentage corresponds with the load showed for all the running processes in the detail section. Showing the core units seperately by default (like with HTop), can be confusing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2656
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 16:10    Post subject:  

Interesting to note that gmplayer (MPlayer) uses 50% more CPU power (load) than VLC to play the same video on the same machine running the same Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0434s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]