Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Oct 2018, 12:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Hard drive boot hangs [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2018, 13:23    Post subject:  Hard drive boot hangs [SOLVED]
Subject description: puppy boots from cd with all settings, but not from HD
 

I messed up! I tried to copy my running Tahrpup 6.0.6 (frugal) from one computer to another using Clonezilla. Instead of copying, it did something (?) to my source drive.

I can boot from the live cd, and it finds my tahrsave folder and all of my settings are intact. If I boot from the hard drive, it says it finds the tahrsave folder, but it reaches the point of root login, and asks for a password. I have entered what I know to be the correct password, and I am told it is an "incorrect login".

I tried booting from the CD and creating a new password, hoping it would save that setting when I rebooted. That didn't work.

I really don't want to have to boot from the CD all the time, so if anyone can point me in the right direction, it will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by WoodLark on Mon 09 Jul 2018, 10:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11143
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2018, 15:01    Post subject:  

What boot loader is used on the hard drive?
If it is Grub4dos.
Try using the boot option, in the advanced menu, to boot not using the save.
If it boots OK.
Something in the save, is not compatible with the hardware, on this different computer.
So it needs a save specific to this computer, made on this computer.

Boot with the CD, using the boot option puppy pfix=ram, to make sure the internal drive is not mounted.
Run Gparted.
Do a check of the partitions(S) on the hard drive.
This should come up with no errors.
If it finds errors.
Keep checking until it reports no errors.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2018, 16:06    Post subject:  

bigpup,

Thanks for the reply, but I think you may have misunderstood my problem. The copy to the second computer never happened.

The problem is with the original computer which worked fine before I started trying to use Clonezilla. Clonezilla started doing something (I don't know what) before I even told it to start copying. I broke out of the program and tried to reboot the computer. That is when I encountered the problem.

If I boot from the live CD, all of the modifications I made to puppy including added software, etc. works perfectly which tells me my Tahrsave folder is ok. But, when I try to boot from the hard drive, it gets to a prompt asking for the root password. I can' get pas that prompt even though I enter the correct password (X doesn't start). I know the password is correct because I can use it to FTP into the system after booting from the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WoodLark


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 107
Location: South Carolina, USA

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jul 2018, 10:42    Post subject:  

I am still not sure exactly what Clonezilla did to my system, but I was able to fix it.

I booted from the CD, selecting the "No save file option".
I then re-installed puppy (in the same location as before).
I also re-installed the Grub4Dos bootloader.
I then rebooted telling Puppy not to create a save file/folder.

When I rebooted from the hard drive everything worked great. The nice thing about Puppy Frugal is that a re-install of the OS does not (necessarily) wipe out all your settings.

BTW, instead of using Clonezilla to copy to another computer, I simply made a squashfs file of my tahrsave folder, installed puppy to the second computer, copied the squashfs file using gftp then unsquashed it. Voila! I then had two identical computers. Of course, I then changed the ip address and hostname on the second computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0383s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]