Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Nov 2018, 15:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.8, November 14, 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 60 of 72 [1069 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 70, 71, 72 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3607
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2018, 11:40    Post subject:  

I originally installed to a 32gb flash drive and used it on a pc with
intel graphics.
I have moved the flash drive to a pc that was using an Nvidia graphics
card which I removed, it is now using the built-in intel graphics:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 23 Jun 2018 on Easy Pyro64 0.9.4 Linux 4.14.44 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v2/3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
oem: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.19.1
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 17.0.7

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Core 0: @1978 1: @2063 2: @2117 3: @1812 MHz

All pets etc. that I installed work fine, the built-in hard drive isn't
accessable but a usb hard drive that I plugged in is.

# mount sda1
mount-FULL: can't find sda1 in /etc/fstab
#

fstab
none /proc proc defaults,noatime 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults,noatime 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts gid=2,mode=620,noatime 0 0
shmfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults,noatime 0 0

EDIT: Having hardware problems with this pc, using front usb-3.0 ports somehow screws things up.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.95 KB
 Viewed   1721 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 12:54    Post subject:  

I am running EasyOS 0.9.5 right now, will test it a bit more before uploading.

What to expect, well, it is exciting. See these blog posts:

http://bkhome.org/news/201807/improved-x-server-security-in-easy-containers.html

http://bkhome.org/news/201807/petget0-a-single-container-runs-all-of-easyos.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cu Chulinux


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 61
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 18:05    Post subject:  

Is it still possible to create containers? I'm thinking eg. of the case where you would want online banking to be in a completely separate container from everything else you do online. Refresh that container every time you use it and no worries about other online sessions having access to your banking info.

Also, I have mixed success with sound in containers. Is that still an issue?
Edit: nevermind the sound. Looking back through the posts I now remember it's an issue with my computer, not with Easy. I have to manually point it to correct sound output. With you it's looking back a couple years, with me it's a couple weeks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 21:14    Post subject:  

Cu Chulinux wrote:
Is it still possible to create containers? I'm thinking eg. of the case where you would want online banking to be in a completely separate container from everything else you do online. Refresh that container every time you use it and no worries about other online sessions having access to your banking info.

Also, I have mixed success with sound in containers. Is that still an issue?
Edit: nevermind the sound. Looking back through the posts I now remember it's an issue with my computer, not with Easy. I have to manually point it to correct sound output. With you it's looking back a couple years, with me it's a couple weeks.


Yes, I am intending to keep the ability to create individual containers for an app.

Having everything in one container is a convenience, very simple, but I appreciate you might want to separate out one app into its own container.

Sound is working in containers for me on my midi-tower PC.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cu Chulinux


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 61
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2018, 16:45    Post subject:  

Yes sound works in containers here. It requires manual intervention to set up and needs to be done separately for each container. The containers are not carrying over the sound setup from the main os.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2645

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 19:58    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I am running EasyOS 0.9.5 right now, will test it a bit more before uploading.

What to expect, well, it is exciting. See these blog posts:

http://bkhome.org/news/201807/improved-x-server-security-in-easy-containers.html

http://bkhome.org/news/201807/petget0-a-single-container-runs-all-of-easyos.html

Interesting. Something on the security front you might be interested in Barry, the next release of OpenBSD (6.4 - October/November) will include a new "unveil" function (https://man.openbsd.org/unveil). Not sure why unveil, would have though just veil would have been a more appropriate choice of name. Fundamentally it hides part/all of filesystems, compliments Pledge which hides/restricts processes (prevents programs from doing things outside of where/what they are expected to do).

Encouraging and welcome to see all efforts of raising the bar in response to dark hackers refining/extending their efforts.

I'm loving using cwm under OpenBSD. Elegant in its simplicity. Set cwm to leave a gap at the top (bottom/wherever) and drop a date/time + xload into that, and you can still activate desktop clicks when windows are maximised. Left mouse to show/select open windows, right click to show your menu. keybind for your exec key and type the first 2 or 3 letters of whatever you want to run is usually enough to filter down to the unique program name. Awkward at first to become familiar with the keybindings, but soon becomes second nature. And all configured using just a handful of lines in .xinitrc, .cwmrc and .Xdefaults. Somewhat similar keybindings to tmux (work well together). Perhaps a alternative choice to using pekwm and lxpanel in EasyOS.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Antipodal

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 248
Location: The other side of the world

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 23:54    Post subject: Failures in writing to flash drives
Subject description: Request for procedure supervision
 

Hello

Last April following this tutorial, I failed several times in trying to write easy-0.8.5-amd64.img.gz with the help of easydd to a couple of flash drives.
I currently can't remember the error messages I got at that time.

In these days I have tried to do it several times with easy-0.9.3-amd64.img.gz and with easy-0.9.4-amd64.img.gz without success.

The ERROR message of my last attempt is in the attachement. At that time I was using Tahrpup6.0.5

I would love to try EasyOS, but it is clear I will need your help to reach my goal.

Because of my poor IT knowledge I could spend years posting useless information about what I have done - trying to help you to help me - but, for the sake of simplicity I will only write the following question:

Would you please mind defining what other data do you need to be able to help me?
I will gladly post it.

Thank you for your time.
2017-08-19_23h38.png
 Description   
 Filesize   19.82 KB
 Viewed   899 Time(s)

2017-08-19_23h38.png


_________________
Posting from a P4 3Ghz_ASUS P5G41T-M LX3_2G RAM_DVD Write desktop with no internal HDD
Saving my stuff on flash sticks and in external USB HDD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 922
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2018, 15:08    Post subject:  

Simplest way to get round this is to remove the status=progress parameter from the script. No idea why the TahrPup version of dd is misbehaving.
Download the attached version. It just has line 371 edited.
Right click on it to rename and remove the .gz extension.
Then right click again and select Permissions. Just hit enter.
Then just click on it and go. Hopefully it will work for you. Probably easier than replacing dd, but let's see.
easydd-2.gz
Description  Just for testing.
gz

 Download 
Filename  easydd-2.gz 
Filesize  12.52 KB 
Downloaded  61 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jul 2018, 15:22    Post subject: pupradio seems to be broken in 0.9.4  

When left-clicked in Menu/Multimedia, pupradio doesn't run.

The only way to get it going, is typing pupradio into the padlocked console.

The open-desktop console reports that pupradio
doesn't exist!

Maybe some clever person could look into it and
sort something out.
Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Antipodal

Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 248
Location: The other side of the world

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2018, 04:21    Post subject: Can't write the EasyOS 0.9.3 to a flash drive
Subject description: Answering Keef
 

Dear Keef
I'm in the middle of a hectic fortnight and I prefer following your commands when the storm is over.
I haven't yet downloaded the attachment you sent but as a newbie in these things I feel that your instructions deserve being carried out very carefully and must be followed by a pinpoint report of the steps I took.
As soon as I have ended the report, "for sorrow or rejoice" I will post it here.
Thank you very much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jul 2018, 11:26    Post subject: Re: Failures in writing to flash drives
Subject description: Request for procedure supervision
 

Antipodal wrote:
Hello

Last April following this tutorial, I failed several times in trying to write easy-0.8.5-amd64.img.gz with the help of easydd to a couple of flash drives.
I currently can't remember the error messages I got at that time.

In these days I have tried to do it several times with easy-0.9.3-amd64.img.gz and with easy-0.9.4-amd64.img.gz without success.

The ERROR message of my last attempt is in the attachement. At that time I was using Tahrpup6.0.5

I would love to try EasyOS, but it is clear I will need your help to reach my goal.

Because of my poor IT knowledge I could spend years posting useless information about what I have done - trying to help you to help me - but, for the sake of simplicity I will only write the following question:

Would you please mind defining what other data do you need to be able to help me?
I will gladly post it.

Thank you for your time.


There are two possibilities. The 'dd' utility is in the 'coreutils' package and also in the 'busybox' package.

dd in busybox does not support that commandline option, dd in old versions of coreutils does not support that option.

Most likely, Tahrpup 6.0.5 has an old version of coreutils.

But, yes, it is possible to edit the script and not use that commandline option.

If you have Windows, you can install one of the USB-writer apps, such as Etch:

https://etcher.io/

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5423
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2018, 02:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
If you have Windows, you can install one of the USB-writer apps, such as Etch

But, if you stick with Linux and load up one of the 'majors' like Mint, they thoughtfully provided a graphical utility 'USB Image Writer' which always works. A companion USB Stick Formatter is also provided.
Experience suggests it may not be best policy only to rely on a single OS, just as it's not a good idea to rely on a single HD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2018, 12:39    Post subject:  

EasyOS version 0.9.5 is out!

Blog post:

http://bkhome.org/news/201807/easyos-version-095-released.html

As stated, it is a snapshot of latest ideas, constantly evolving.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2018, 18:34    Post subject: Easy 0.9.5  

BarryK wrote:
EasyOS version 0.9.5 is out!

Nice to see it's out as I have been following this containerised development. I have a couple of questions though.

Q1 How can you install packages to the container only? i.e. no visability from outside the container.

Q2 Can you have specific application groups that require applications to be run only in a container? i.e. No direct access to or from outside that container.

And,
Q3 Can we add a third desktop so it can be confirmed container to container isolation has ocurred after a package build or install has taken place from within a container please.

thanks for all the work

ps and is the devx contents available from within the xephyr container or not and can it be set as a yes/no from without a container.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2018, 21:28    Post subject: Re: Easy 0.9.5  

scsijon wrote:
BarryK wrote:
EasyOS version 0.9.5 is out!

Nice to see it's out as I have been following this containerised development. I have a couple of questions though.

Q1 How can you install packages to the container only? i.e. no visability from outside the container.

Q2 Can you have specific application groups that require applications to be run only in a container? i.e. No direct access to or from outside that container.

And,
Q3 Can we add a third desktop so it can be confirmed container to container isolation has ocurred after a package build or install has taken place from within a container please.

thanks for all the work

ps and is the devx contents available from within the xephyr container or not and can it be set as a yes/no from without a container.


The Xephyr container is a complete desktop, and it should be possible to run the PPM in it and install apps.

You should be able to add a devx sfs to the Xephyr container. It is /mnt/wkg/containers/desk0. If you place the devx sfs in /mnt/wkg/repository/easy-0.9.5/, then run menu Filesystem -> Easy BootManager, you can choose the devx to load in the desk0 container.

However, desk0 is fairly locked down, and I don't know if compiling will work. You might have to ease up on some of the security settings, in /mnt/wkg/containers/desk0/configuration

Regarding a third desktop, I will have to think about it.

EDIT:
This is all so new, hadn't even tried this before. In the Xephyr desktop, which as I have previously stated is a complete desktop in a container, clicked on the "petget" icon to run the PPM, chose "Firefox" from the "oe-pyro" repo, installed it.

After installation, it was in the "Internet" menu, chose it, Firefox works. Yay!

EDIT:
However, the "sfsget" icon in the Xephyr desktop is not going to work. Well, it can download a devx sfs file, but cannot select it to be loaded in the container.

It is necessary to flip out to the main desktop to download the devx sfs and choose for it to be loaded in a container.

This is another to-do area, will probably have to remove the "sfsget" icon from the xephyr desktop.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 60 of 72 [1069 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 70, 71, 72 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1311s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0601s) ][ GZIP on ]