Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 12 Dec 2018, 05:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Uninstalling CUPS wrapper
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
Scott99

Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 10:59    Post subject:  Uninstalling CUPS wrapper
Subject description: I need to uninstall and reinstall my CUPS wrapper
 

Hello, I am running Slacko Puppy 6.3.0. I have been trying unsuccessfully to connect my system to my Brother DCP-J140w printer. I believe that I may have installed CUPS incorrectly and in the wrong place. I need to know how to uninstall it so I can reinstall it correctly. Thanks in advance, Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1691
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 11:32    Post subject:  

Installing cupswrapper with debbi does not affect PPM and /root/.packages/user-installed-packages. So nothing to do: install CUPS and install again the cupswrapper with debbi. Never tried to install CUPS in puppy. When CUPS is broken then I started with a new frugal install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scott99

Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 13:41    Post subject:  

When I try to reinstall cups I get a message that it's already installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1691
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 14:41    Post subject:  

Have you tried Menu-Setup-Remove builtin packages? My suggestion remains to start with a new frugal install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scott99

Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 15:18    Post subject:  

Now I'm getting a message that the printer in unavailable. I am able to use it from other computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11373
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 15:28    Post subject:  

You do not say you ever had it working or did you?

Did you follow the directions shown here for your brand of printer?
How to Install Your Printer/Scanner in Puppy
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59015
Each brand of printer is a little different, so make sure to follow the directions for your specific brand.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11373
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 15:32    Post subject:  

Scott99 wrote:
Now I'm getting a message that the printer in unavailable. I am able to use it from other computers.

Understand that this tells us nothing useful.
You do what?
You see what?
Specific details.
We are not looking over your shoulder seeing what you see. We only know what you tell us.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scott99

Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 17:03    Post subject:  

This is what I'm getting. Scott
screenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  screenshot.jpg 
Filesize  91.73 KB 
Downloaded  67 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2018, 17:41    Post subject:  

Is 192.168.1.8 the correct IP address for this printer?

Run PeasyPort and scan for port 9100.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2018, 08:56    Post subject:  

No reply? You were just online.

Problems only get solved if people are willing to communicate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scott99

Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2018, 09:13    Post subject:  

I was finally able to start from scratch, follow the instructions step by step, and successfully print a test page. Much more of a challenge for me than working with windows, but more rewarding. Thank you all for your assistance. Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Printers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0646s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]