Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 12 Nov 2018, 18:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 8
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 48 [713 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 15:34    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.


thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult Wink

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is Rolling Eyes ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncommoninst?s[]=installation

Quote:
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom


which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 15:39    Post subject:  

are regular *.pet's usuable?

(a question "convert" or not appears? what is that?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 17:04    Post subject:  

slackfan wrote:
are regular *.pet's usuable?

(a question "convert" or not appears? what is that?)


You can right-click on a .pet and select "convert" and it will change it to a .tazpkg file. Alternatively you can type the following on the cimmand line
Code:

tazpkg convert mypackage.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 17:07    Post subject:  

slackfan wrote:
mistfire wrote:
@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.


thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult Wink

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is Rolling Eyes ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncommoninst?s[]=installation

Quote:
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom


which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?


I believe that you do have to have the ISO or CD mounted for the remaster script to find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 989
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 20:52    Post subject:  

slackfan wrote:
mistfire wrote:
@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.


thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult Wink

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is Rolling Eyes ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncommoninst?s[]=installation

Quote:
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom


which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?


Puppy remastering was way easier than slitaz. It was step by step. Mounted ISO image or mounted CD is required
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 989
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 21:35    Post subject:  

TazPup alpha 14 released

* ext2/3 kernel module is now builtin (thanks smokey01)
* fixes on tazpkg (thanks s243a)

Download:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1i6IXwOvs0Cv7Rmwpoq9wZp8bS8hMe-W5/view?usp=sharing

build kit
https://drive.google.com/file/d/16TOLLlG4C3dT6vd-MPv1X3TKFG7ExIaZ/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 22:35    Post subject:  

s243a wrote:
I gave the "Remaster Puppy live-CD" a try under the "System Tools" menu.

The first time I tried I wanted to create an ISO instead of burn a CD. That didn't work. Fortunatly, I didn't need to create the puppylivecdvbuild folder again. It let me use the one I previously created to burn a DVD. However, the DVD didn't work.

So the next thing that I tried was to configure my extlinux.conf so that I could boot from the puppylivecdbuild folder.
Code:

label TazPupBuild
kernel /puppylivecdbuild/vmlinuz psubdir=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/ zdrv=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs pupsfs=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs
append initrd=/puppylivecdbuild/initrd.xz


That didn't work either. So the next thing I did was deleted vmlinuz, zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs and initrd.xz from the puppylivecdvbuild folder and then copied these files from the CD back into the folder.

I was able to successfully boot. However, I couldn't see any wi-fi networks. I noticed that in the boot log it said that the kernal modules wern't being loaded.

I looked in a working version of tazpup and I saw that the modules were under puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs/lib/modules/4.17.0

I think that the puppy remaster script expects these modules to be in the zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs rather than in puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs.

Clearly I can fix this by modifying one of these sfs files to add the missing kernal modules. We should though take a look at how the remaster script is looking for these modules and whether or not it is looking in the right place.


Adding /lib/modules/4.17.0 to the puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs generated by "Remaster Puppy live-CD" fixed the issues I had with my remasted TazPup not seing my wireless networks. There is anohter issue though. I'm only able to log in as root on this Remastered pup, logging in as Tux doesn't work. I think that something in the /etc folder or the tux home folder wasn't copied into the basesfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 989
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 07:53    Post subject:  

On my latest experiment I make some changes on the puppy remaster script and puppy universal installer. Puppy App Default chooser is now included.
Last edited by mistfire on Tue 12 Jun 2018, 09:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 08:18    Post subject: Masters of remastetization  

remaster Tazpup ??? mistfire does it.. Then we should remaster the remastered mistfire'version to fit our personal settings ?
Masters of remastetization , better is the enemy of well.
but everybody will do as he likes.. i will stay with Puppy a long time, however to taste elsewhere in not unpleasant.. Slitaz with Puppy is not divorced, it as something like prohibited love
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 989
Location: PH

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 09:55    Post subject:  

@hamoudoudou building tazpup was an experiment from ground up. Now the construction was now automated by using tazpup builder. Remastering is one of the Puppy's unique features it also gives an easiest option to create their own tazpup distro or flavors they want. I just make the remasterpup2 script work very well on tazpup. But still the official tazpup was created from tazpup builder. Also I was wondering if it is possible to build TazPup entirely from slitaz package without slitaz live cd modifications. a.k.a TazWoof.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 15:44    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:

Puppy remastering was way easier than slitaz. It was step by step. Mounted ISO image or mounted CD is required


as Slitaz does (I did name the method in my message) or as Puppy does?

mistfire wrote:
@hamoudoudou building tazpup was an experiment from ground up. Now the construction was now automated by using tazpup builder. Remastering is one of the Puppy's unique features it also gives an easiest option to create their own tazpup distro or flavors they want. I just make the remasterpup2 script work very well on tazpup. But still the official tazpup was created from tazpup builder. Also I was wondering if it is possible to build TazPup entirely from slitaz package without slitaz live cd modifications. a.k.a TazWoof.


it is really so. I did use intensively remastering on SliTaz at the time of Puppy 4.0 (f. e. Puppy Xtrem, it is very old now) and it was dramatic to remaster SliTaz!

what is remasterpup2 (link!) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slackfan

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 201

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 15:54    Post subject:  

puppy has more to win from SliTaz as SliTaz from Puppy:

puppy is completely chaotic

slitaz is completely ordered with well organized repositories for each also old versions all and ISO from all old packages collections. it is as day and night!

and slitaz is full Linux with exclusive advantages, Puppy is not really some Linux any more Idea

my installed version of SliTaz is the indermediate LXQT on SliTaz 5 rolling. it works well as far packages available. I did not try until yet the more newer version LXQT on version "next".

before LXQT on SliTaz 5 rolling I did use more SliTaz 5 rolling 64 bit, a 64 bit very small system for 32 bit collection of application (the promise of Barry Kauler for one next Quirky/Puppy if I did right understand all in kernel. all in kernel is a thing, what SliTaz actually does really not have...)

(-remaster "all in Kernel" would be "THE" thing!-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jun 2018, 02:40    Post subject: what i can tell is that tazpup is easy to use.  

slackfan, what i can tell is that tazpup is easy to use.. Perhaps because i am used to Puppy.. Pupsave works, when many of us fail to save with Slitaz process..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 1265

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jun 2018, 00:52    Post subject:  

I noticed that some post install scripts use ldconfig. This can be found in in the package glibc-dev. One probably doesn't need the entire package though so maybe we can look into seeing what the dependencies are for ldconfig are.

Some packages that require ldconfig for post install are: freetype-infinality and gcc+gcj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 989
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 00:06    Post subject:  

@s243a where do you find those post install scripts in slitaz package?

Fotunately I managed to obtain a more powerful laptop to run tazpup in virtualbox. I noticed that puppy universal installer in tazpup is broken especially in full install mode also it triggers fatal error on full install boot. Right now the puppy universal installer on tazpup is fixed.

Also in puppy remaster generated tazpup triggers fatal error in startup and premade user accounts included in remastering not working well or broken. This is now fixed.

Im currently developing a slitaz builder which creates tazpup from slitaz packages. Package dependencies sniffing works pretty well which is very crucial for downloading packages and processing it. The only problem was creating cache files of gnome schemas, gtk-immodules, mime, and gdk-pixbuf.

The missing piece was compiling kernel and install it to working rootfs before making it as sfs file.

What I urgently needed now was statically compiled dialog command (without any dependencies) and advcopy (without any dependencies) for initrd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 48 [713 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1107s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0379s) ][ GZIP on ]