Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Oct 2018, 13:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.7, October 14, 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 59 of 71 [1056 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, ..., 69, 70, 71 Next
Author Message
mmzcaxe

Joined: 12 May 2017
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jun 2018, 00:44    Post subject: Re: Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN  

foxpup wrote:
@mmzcaxe
Code:
dmesg
in console and look for something with 'wifi' in the output.
or do
Code:
dmesg | grep wifi
to get less output.
You should find something about iwlwifi-6000 for your gc. Look what versions your init/kernel is looking for and go google it on the internet. You must find it in the repo's of debian or ubuntu for sure.
Just drop it then in /lib/firmware/ and restart.


thx very much! i copy iwlwifi-6000-4.ucode to /lib/firmware/
restart , the network wifi is ok!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Horst_h

Joined: 15 Jun 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 02:37    Post subject: Only 8 core support on Ryzen 5 1600  

Hello,

I'm using a Ryzen 5 1600 CPU and only 8 core are reported and the
Quote:
Processors
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1375,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1374,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1375,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1374,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1372,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1374,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1356,00MHz
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor 1361,00MHz

The system is often laggy.
mozilla uses now 25%, what for, only this site is opened?
1 Mb/s is transmitted both TX/RX ???

I stop this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1197

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 05:50    Post subject:  

Hi,
firefox should really be the default browser, because it's the fastest with google chrome.
See this :
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=113644
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Cu Chulinux


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 61
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 09:46    Post subject:  

@linuxcbon

Speed is not the only criterion when choosing your browser. I NEVER use firefox anymore on Windows for example. Why, you ask? I have done memory use tests and Firefox is the biggest memory hog of the 10-12 browsers I tested. I didn't test chrome because I philosophically refuse to use a browser that Google tried to cram down my throat some years ago. I did however test a number of blink-based windows browsers (and in fact use one regularly). All used less memory than Firefox - even Vivaldi.

Because I only use Windows on my work computer where I have no choice, and because I have to use an even bigger memory hog for my job called Solid Works, memory is very much a major factor in my browser decision. I need all the memory I can get for Solid Works. Firefox is just not acceptable.

The best for memory on Windows that I found? K-Meleon (gecko), SeaMonkey (gecko), and Slimjet (blink). Slimjet is available for linux. K-Meleon is not.

Ironically, one of the best for memory on Windows is one of the worst for security - IE. (Note this was on Win 7 and I am aware that IE uses shared dll's with the OS).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1197

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 10:25    Post subject:  

Cu Chulinux wrote:
I have done memory use tests and Firefox is the biggest memory hog of the 10-12 browsers I tested. I didn't test chrome because I philosophically refuse to use a browser that Google tried to cram down my throat some years ago. I did however test a number of blink-based windows browsers (and in fact use one regularly). All used less memory than Firefox - even Vivaldi.



Tell me how you test memory usage of different browsers in puppy linux.

Can you do the tests please and show them here with all the numbers and how to reproduce the tests , so we can test it too ?

Thanks in advance Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 10:58    Post subject:  

I am lagging behind with reading the posts in this forum thread. Will catchup soon.

I have got Flatpaks to work in Easy, see these posts:

http://bkhome.org/news/201806/testing-flatpak-in-easyos.html

http://bkhome.org/news/201806/auto-generated-gnupg-signed-key-pair.html

I was thinking, along the top of the screen there is "petget" and "sfsget" icons. Maybe "petget" (which launches the PPM), could be replaced with "appget", which will be a GUI for installing (and updating) Flatpaks.

The PPM would still be available in the menu.

It would be convenient, as all the major apps are available as Flatpaks, and can easily be updated.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cu Chulinux


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 61
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:48    Post subject:  

Re: browser memory usage.

The memory tests were done in windows, not linux.

I started windows (V7). I started the resource manager, which displays used RAM at the bottom of its window. I let the computer settle until RAM was not changing. I recorded that value and started a browser (each browser was initially set to open only to default start page with no add-ons). I again let the RAM value settle to where it was not changing. I then quit the browser and recorder the free ram after closing and settling.

I repeated this for each browser, then repeated again and loaded a representative set of windows that I would typically have open at work.

Then I compared the values of RAM. Interestingly enough none went back to the same value before starting and after closing. They probably started some windows service or library it required which was then left in RAM. Or they were just really bad at releasing memory.

Sample data (renderer in brackets): value is used memory increase

Firefox (Quantum v59)
initial start +388Mb, after quit +60Mb, with pages +1000Mb
Firefox (Gecko v58)
initial start +275Mb, after quit +11Mb, with pages +634Mb
SeaMonkey (Gecko)
initial start +104Mb, after quit +3Mb, with pages +275Mb
Slimjet (Blink)
initial start +79Mb, after quit +1Mb, with pages +364Mb

As you can see both Slimjet and SeaMonkey used less RAM with six pages loaded than Firefox Quantum did with only initial startup page.

Of course this all could be completely different on linux, or even on another Win 7 computer. These are specific to my computer and its setup. Comparing SeaMonkey and Firefox on Easy using top the ram usages were pretty comparable. That doesn't tell me how much free ram drops using one or the other though.

Not the most scientific of tests but something I could probably repeat in linux. Not in Easy though as number of browsers is limited. I could install others from source but I just don't have the time for that kind of investment. There are a couple that run as an appimage but they have a whole other set of overhead involved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Cu Chulinux


Joined: 28 Jan 2018
Posts: 61
Location: About 180 degrees from Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:54    Post subject:  

Re: Flatpaks

That sounds really interesting Barry. I'll have to look at what Flatpaks are all about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 08:40    Post subject:  

Now have flatpaks working out-of-the-box, but commandline only so far:

http://bkhome.org/news/201806/easyos-built-with-flatpak-support-take-1.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 08:59    Post subject:  

Cu Chulinux wrote:
Re: Flatpaks

That sounds really interesting Barry. I'll have to look at what Flatpaks are all about.


An overview is here:

http://docs.flatpak.org/en/latest/introduction.html

The main repo, with hundreds of apps:

https://flathub.org/home

This is a quick way of getting a complete app repo for Easy. Mostly it will make the PPM redundant, but not entirely.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1362
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jun 2018, 04:15    Post subject:  

Barry,
Can we have hplip updated to at least 3.18.4 if not 3.18.6 (the latest) please, there's quite a few additions and 64bit fixes between 3.12.6 (in easy pyro) and the 3.18 stream (not all of them are listed in the general release notes either).

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Jun 2018, 07:13    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Barry,
Can we have hplip updated to at least 3.18.4 if not 3.18.6 (the latest) please, there's quite a few additions and 64bit fixes between 3.12.6 (in easy pyro) and the 3.18 stream (not all of them are listed in the general release notes either).

thanks


I am planning to update lots of packages in my fork of OpenEmbedded, especially video, and do a complete recompile. Will update hplip as well.

Hopefully within the next couple of weeks.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tigs

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue 19 Jun 2018, 10:49    Post subject:  

ever since version 0.9.1, I have been unable to get it to work nvidia quadro K2200 graphic card any more. Is there any way I can fix it myself?

So far, I am still stuck with 0.9 modesetting version. The other two versions of 0.9 do not work either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2018, 04:41    Post subject:  

Ho hum, nothing much happening. Lots of things on the to-do list, however, yesterday I bought a 4TB hard drive, and started copying from my main work drive. 30 hours later, still waiting...

My midi-tower had a 1TB internal drive, and I have been using an external USB 4TB as the main work drive. Convenient, as I can plug it into different computers.

However, it is a bit slow running through the USB, hence the purchase.

I am surprised that it has taken this long. There is about 2.6TB of files on the drive.

After the copy, I will use rsync to keep them synced.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8702
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jun 2018, 09:13    Post subject:  

Progress report:

Have updated many packages in my fork of OpenEmbedded, did a complete compile overnight, and imported the binary packages, 724 of them (full packages, not split) into woofQ.

See blog post:

http://bkhome.org/news/201806/packages-recompiled-in-oe-qky-src.html

The intention now is to get back to developing EasyPak, my idea for universal packages.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 59 of 71 [1056 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, ..., 69, 70, 71 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1899s ][ Queries: 15 (0.1005s) ][ GZIP on ]