TazPuppy 5.0 rc2

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

Afternoon Stalker partII required libs

#481 Post by darry19662018 »

Afternoon Stalker requires flatzebra.
Attachments
flatzebra-0.1.5-i486.tazpkg.gz
(37.53 KiB) Downloaded 108 times

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#482 Post by s243a »

s243a wrote:I think adding an if statment something like the following:

Code: Select all

install_package() {
	
debug "\ninstall_package('$1')"
local dir
if [ -f "$1" ]; then
  PACKAGE_FILE="$1"
else
  PACKAGE_FILE="$CUR_DIR/$1"
fi
in /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install (around line 189) might help. I'm going to give it a try.

edit:

I think I need to do something simmilar around line 418 because that is where I got the error. Replacing $1 with "$PACKAGE_FILE"

So now it looks something like:

Code: Select all

TMP_DIR=$(mktemp -d)
cd "$TMP_DIR"
if [ -f "$1" ]; then
  PACKAGE_FILE="$1"
else
  PACKAGE_FILE="$CUR_DIR/$1"
fi 
cpio --quiet -i receipt < "$PACKAGE_FILE"
. $TMP_DIR/receipt
echo $PACKAGE
PACKAGE="$PACKAGE"
rm -rf "$TMP_DIR"
Edit 2

on the last line of /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install

replacing

Code: Select all

install_package "$(realpath "$1")"
with

Code: Select all

install_package "$(realpath "$PACKAGE_FILE")"
will test again and see if I get somewhere.
My fix seemed to work and the get-LibereOffice script installed LibreOffice. However, the shortcut

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/libreoffice6.0
points to

Code: Select all

/opt/libreoffice6.0/program/soffice
which doesn't exit. I looked at the package list and it should instead point to

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/libreoffice6.0/program/soffice
I don't believe that this had anything to do with my fix. I think it is a bug in the get-LibreOffice script that I downloaded from the Slitaz package manager. Anyway,

Anyway, I attached my modified /usr/libexec/tazpkg/install script. The .gz extension is fake. just rename it as install.
Attachments
install.gz
(11.8 KiB) Downloaded 104 times

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

Double Commander for TazPup

#483 Post by darry19662018 »

A nice dual-pane Double Commander
https://sourceforge.net/projects/tazpup ... z/download

simply extract and run from folder.

Original post: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107016

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#484 Post by s243a »

I noticed that the following packages are blocked on my system:

Code: Select all

sh-4.4# tazpkg get-install linux-sound
Package "linux-sound" blocked.
sh-4.4# tazpkg get-install linux64-sound
Package "linux64-sound" blocked.
Do they cause problems? Should I unblock them? No to remember how to unblock them...

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

Mikeb's Searchmonkey Revisted

#485 Post by darry19662018 »

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90257

Ok thought I would start a thread rather than being at the end of one for a change.

Always used search monkey cos its fast but the user interface seemed a bit quirky. I fiddled with it and reduced it to 2 tabs.
I recently had a further play and its now some sort of power search thingy and I also finished off some functions and removed some redundant stuff and solved a couple of bugs such as the date parameter control was broken.

Most changes are in the user interface so it should just work as it always did but any problems let me know so I can run away.

This is also my second pet I have ever built so I do bend to convention at times
Attachments
searchmonkey-0.8.1-notabs.tazpkg.gz
(81.11 KiB) Downloaded 101 times

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#486 Post by s243a »

Espeak is aborting part way through reading on me. It might be something I messed up (not sure):

Code: Select all

sh-4.4# espeak -f JohnResume.txt
ALSA lib pcm.c:2501:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
ALSA lib pcm.c:2501:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
ALSA lib pcm.c:2501:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1035:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
ALSA lib pcm_dsnoop.c:575:(snd_pcm_dsnoop_open) The dsnoop plugin supports only capture stream
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1035:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream
connect(2) call to /dev/shm/jack-0/default/jack_0 failed (err=No such file or directory)
attempt to connect to server failed
espeak: src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c:3570: PaAlsaStreamComponent_BeginPolling: Assertion `ret == self->nfds' failed.
Aborted

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#487 Post by mistfire »

@s243a linux-sound was just a kernel module for slitaz. It is not compatible with tazpup. Thats why it is blocked. Try to upgrade alsa to fix your problem in espeak.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#488 Post by mistfire »

@hamoudoudou sorry for the long delay. Check your usb ports first make sure that it was clean (a shot of contact cleaner will help). Check if the usb port holds usb devices firmly. Make sure that your mouse does not loose connection.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#489 Post by s243a »

darry19662018 wrote:I found a bug with alpha 13 when installing flash from command line getting the following:

so flash package is downloaded but
sh-4.4# get-flash-plugin
Connecting to fpdownload.adobe.com (104.95.148.162:443)
flash_player_npapi_l 100% |*******************************| 8325k 0:00:00 ETA

Packing package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113"
================================================================================
Creating the list of files... [ Done ]
Creating md5sum of files... [ Done ]
Compressing the FS... [ Done ]
Updating receipt sizes... [ Done ]
Creating full cpio archive... [ Done ]
Restoring original package tree... [ Done ]
================================================================================
Package "flash-plugin-30.0.0.113" compressed successfully.

but this happens:

/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: line 414: can't open flash-plugin-30.0.0.113.tazpkg: no such file
/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install: .: line 415: can't open '/tmp/tmp.ZeWTpH/receipt'
sh-4.4#
I tested my script replacement for

Code: Select all

/usr/libexec/tazpkg/install
on a fresh install of alpha 13 and it does indeed fix your problems with the get-flash-plugin script. However, after one replaces the file, then one needs to:
1. right click on the scipt (in packmanfm)
2. Select the premissions tab
3. Where it says "Execute:" make the drop down list to the right of it say Anyway.

Altenatively you can use chmod to change the execute premission. Google is helpful.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#490 Post by mistfire »

thanks @s243a I applied your idea in the install script and add some improvements. Now it works

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#491 Post by s243a »

I gave the "Remaster Puppy live-CD" a try under the "System Tools" menu.

The first time I tried I wanted to create an ISO instead of burn a CD. That didn't work. Fortunatly, I didn't need to create the puppylivecdvbuild folder again. It let me use the one I previously created to burn a DVD. However, the DVD didn't work.

So the next thing that I tried was to configure my extlinux.conf so that I could boot from the puppylivecdbuild folder.

Code: Select all

label TazPupBuild
kernel /puppylivecdbuild/vmlinuz psubdir=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/ zdrv=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs pupsfs=92df8ef8-8197-4997-beaa-a2dcbe50095c:/puppylivecdbuild/puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs
append initrd=/puppylivecdbuild/initrd.xz
That didn't work either. So the next thing I did was deleted vmlinuz, zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs and initrd.xz from the puppylivecdvbuild folder and then copied these files from the CD back into the folder.

I was able to successfully boot. However, I couldn't see any wi-fi networks. I noticed that in the boot log it said that the kernal modules wern't being loaded.

I looked in a working version of tazpup and I saw that the modules were under puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs/lib/modules/4.17.0

I think that the puppy remaster script expects these modules to be in the zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs rather than in puppy_tazpup_5.0.sfs.

Clearly I can fix this by modifying one of these sfs files to add the missing kernal modules. We should though take a look at how the remaster script is looking for these modules and whether or not it is looking in the right place.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#492 Post by s243a »

If I mount an sfs file to view it's contents, I don't see an option to unmounted. I tried both right clicking on the folder and I also looked for an option in TazPanl. I have the same issue with mounted ISOs.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#493 Post by mistfire »

s243a wrote:If I mount an sfs file to view it's contents, I don't see an option to unmounted. I tried both right clicking on the folder and I also looked for an option in TazPanl. I have the same issue with mounted ISOs.
Use mounted image manager (located at the applications menu) to umount those disk images or click the mounted image on the left pane of pcmanfm

hamoudoudou

bad physical contact..

#494 Post by hamoudoudou »

ah mistfire answered.. about mouse. It could have been bad physical contact.. I had it with x-slim and not posted about it because it's a personnel problem, i thougt, with my personal mouse.
But the same with Tazpup :?: and not with other puppies.. perhaps something to improve in plug software..
Don't deal with my info, unless more users talk about it
merci pour taking care of us..
We test deeper, not to discourage but to get your Puppy the best :)

Midori the browser feels well in Puppies build by Mistfire.. that is fact !

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#495 Post by darry19662018 »

Ucview webcam software from Jemimiah converted for TazPup.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/tazpup ... g/download

Original thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52373

slackfan
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 09:31

#496 Post by slackfan »

mistfire wrote:@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.
thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult :wink:

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is :roll: ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncomm ... stallation
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom
which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?

slackfan
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 09:31

#497 Post by slackfan »

are regular *.pet's usuable?

(a question "convert" or not appears? what is that?)

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#498 Post by s243a »

slackfan wrote:are regular *.pet's usuable?

(a question "convert" or not appears? what is that?)
You can right-click on a .pet and select "convert" and it will change it to a .tazpkg file. Alternatively you can type the following on the cimmand line

Code: Select all

tazpkg convert mypackage.pet

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#499 Post by s243a »

slackfan wrote:
mistfire wrote:@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.
thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult :wink:

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is :roll: ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncomm ... stallation
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom
which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?
I believe that you do have to have the ISO or CD mounted for the remaster script to find it.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#500 Post by mistfire »

slackfan wrote:
mistfire wrote:@slackfan you can use the remaster script on tazpup or build your own tazpup using build kit.
thank you mistfire. it was always a bit more difficult to remaster SliTaz!

and under Puppy, it stay difficult :wink:

(info: I never use some external memory, only the harddisk. and Puppy doesn't find some ISO in my (really) big partition, where the subdir for Tazpup is :roll: ! The SliTaz way would be to mount the ISO on /media/cdrom :

http://wiki.slitaz.org/en:guides:uncomm ... stallation
Now you can use any install method from an ISO image. Example:

# mount -o loop,ro slitaz.iso /media/cdrom
which system is active in those levels? Puppy or SliTaz?
Puppy remastering was way easier than slitaz. It was step by step. Mounted ISO image or mounted CD is required

Post Reply