Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Sep 2018, 06:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox Quantum (60.0.1) portable with apulse All-in
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2018, 17:53    Post subject: Re: crashing tabs  

dancytron wrote:
kuman11 wrote:
fred, I have the latest Firefox installed though my tabs keep crashing on some sites, Do u have some idea what could the reason be?


How much RAM do you have? How about swap or zram?

Some websites just suck down RAM and will cause firefox (or Chrome) to freeze. Is that what is happening?


It's 1.5 G, don't have swap now.
Yep, it slows down at first then I get the message, 'tab crashed'. More often it can't recover it. Mostly SM sites.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2018, 18:35    Post subject: Re: crashing tabs  

kuman11 wrote:
dancytron wrote:
kuman11 wrote:
fred, I have the latest Firefox installed though my tabs keep crashing on some sites, Do u have some idea what could the reason be?


How much RAM do you have? How about swap or zram?

Some websites just suck down RAM and will cause firefox (or Chrome) to freeze. Is that what is happening?


It's 1.5 G, don't have swap now.
Yep, it slows down at first then I get the message, 'tab crashed'. More often it can't recover it. Mostly SM sites.


SM, you mean like facebook and twitter?

I bet you are just running out of RAM. So you run an adblocker. If not, ublock origin will block at least some of the crap.

You are in Debian Dog?? Create a swap partition for sure. Might try some zram too.

Even with 3 Gig of RAM, swap and zram, sometimes a page will just start sucking down the RAM and crash. Bad webpages are just the way it is sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3357
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2018, 16:49    Post subject:  

Upgraded to version 59.02 now, updated download links at first post.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2536

PostPosted: Sun 29 Apr 2018, 17:32    Post subject:  

Working fine in a EasyOS Pyro 64 container running as rover (restricted userid) with a knackered root userid (useless if escaped to). Even if sandbox level 3 set sound (youtubes etc.) is still heard fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 15:55    Post subject: SM  

'No idea yet. I use this Firefox all the time and didn't experience something like that.'

fred, mainly Social media sites, Twitter, FB.
I guess Dancytron suggested the cause, I observe the same symptoms.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 16:00    Post subject:  

'You are in Debian Dog??'

dancytron,
now I use X-Slacko Slim 4.4, run in RAM.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3357
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 16:34    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
'No idea yet. I use this Firefox all the time and didn't experience something like that.'

fred, mainly Social media sites, Twitter, FB.
I guess Dancytron suggested the cause, I observe the same symptoms.


Quote:
It's 1.5 G, don't have swap now.


Yes, probably the cause is as dancytron says, these modern browsers use a lot of RAM, 1.5 G is not much, so you need a swap partiition or a swap file. (zram may help also, don't know much about it)
Then when loading much "heavy" tabs, it will probably run slow, but when using enough swap, crashing can be avoided, I guess.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2018, 19:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
It's 1.5 G, don't have swap now.


Yes, probably the cause is as dancytron says, these modern browsers use a lot of RAM, 1.5 G is not much, so you need a swap partiition or a swap file. (zram may help also, don't know much about it)
Then when loading much "heavy" tabs, it will probably run slow, but when using enough swap, crashing can be avoided, I guess.

Fred[/quote]

I created a pupswap file on the usb stick. Can I copy it in /root to use it while running in RAM?

I'm not so clear about it ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3357
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2018, 13:27    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
I created a pupswap file on the usb stick. Can I copy it in /root to use it while running in RAM?

I'm not so clear about it ...


I can't answer at the moment, sorry, maybe someone else can.
Or perhaps better create new thread to ask about it in Users section.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3357
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2018, 06:13    Post subject:  

Updated to version 60.0.1, download links at first post.

I didn't change the security.sandbox settings, because this still seems to work fine for me:
Content of the file "ff4lxpup.cfg" (32-bit, for 64-bit the value 54 must be 16)
Code:
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.level", 2);  // set new default value
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "54");
defaultPref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");


But any suggestions are welcome !

EDIT: Just noticed This Post, did some testing and it appears there's no special setting required anymore in "about:config" for sound to work.
So re-uploaded without any preconfiguration, new download links at first post.
Thanks OscarTalks !

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clerk_gabel

Joined: 29 Aug 2018
Posts: 16
Location: norway

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2018, 12:28    Post subject:  

Just to confirm a full working Firefox Quantum install on Slacko 6.2.3 after following the given directions.The nice shortcut pet also works.
With gtk+3 downloaded from a Slackware repository (gtk+3-3.4.4.i486-1.txz) and installed with pkgtool widgets are not that polished as in other installments of Firefox (tabs are square). On the other hand Firefox immediately after install / setup updated itself to Firefox Quantum 61.0.2

EDIT: the autoupdate to 61.0.2 broke my sound.After reverting to 60.0.1 and disabeling autoupdate initially again there was no sound, where installing apulse library from

https://altlinux.pkgs.org/sisyphus/classic-i586/apulse-0.1.12-alt1.i586.rpm.html

with the puppy package manager solved the sound problem on my system.I am satisfied and do not dare to enable autoupdate again.

EDIT-2: I took the chance and allowed autoupdate. With the apulse library installed sound works on Firefox Quantum 61.0.2
Flash downloaded as .txz from

http://www.slackware.com/~alien/slackbuilds/flashplayer-plugin/pkg/14.0/

and installed with pkgtool also seem to work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0614s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0208s) ][ GZIP on ]