Program says installed but where is it?

Booting, installing, newbie
Message
Author
tcshhead
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 23 Apr 2018, 23:27

Program says installed but where is it?

#1 Post by tcshhead »

When I go in the my_applications folder in puppy tcsh is not installed. However the package manager says it is able to uninstall tcsh so I know tcsh is installed. Even though it's installed, the $tcsh command doesn't switch bash to tcsh, and I can't find the folder tcsh was installed in. Where does puppy install programs by default? What folder is puppy installing programs in? I've looked in every damn folder in the system.

User avatar
a_salty_dogg
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 19:08

#2 Post by a_salty_dogg »

I've no idea what that is but until somebody knowledgeable comes along, "usr/lib" or "opt" are good places to start looking for programs, or see if a link to it has been created in "usr/share/aplications", which you can hover over to see where the executable file is located or click on it to execute.
Good luck.

Edit - or "usr/local/lib" is another possibilty

You've tried via Menu > filesystem > Pfind?

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#3 Post by bigpup »

What version of Puppy?

Use Pfind and do a search for tcsh.

In Pfind make sure in Where to search.
Select system files or all files.

The tcsh exec file is in /usr/bin

The way Puppy menus work.
Programs not specifically compiled for Puppy, may or may not make the necessary files for a menu entry. Some are made to just run from console.
the my_applications folder in puppy is a place you have to manually put something into.
Nothing ever installs into it.
Read the readme file in my_applications folder.

Xenialpup64 7.5 tcsh installed using the Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
Runs in a console, but I have no idea how to use it.
Attachments
capture14400.png
(193.34 KiB) Downloaded 276 times
Last edited by bigpup on Tue 24 Apr 2018, 23:09, edited 2 times in total.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#4 Post by s243a »

look under
/root/.packages

for the list of files in the package.

jafadmin
Posts: 1249
Joined: Thu 19 Mar 2009, 15:10

#5 Post by jafadmin »

from a console type: which tcsh

That will tell you where it is

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#6 Post by musher0 »

Type

Code: Select all

whereis yourprogram
or

Code: Select all

which yourprogram
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

tcshhead
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 23 Apr 2018, 23:27

#7 Post by tcshhead »

Thank you all for your help, I am not well versed in Unix like operating systems but I am learning Linux and Mac OS X at the moment because Windows started making me physically ill

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#8 Post by s243a »

More suggestions:

Try:

Code: Select all

find / -name '*tcsh*'
Regarding my above suggetion of looking in
~/.packages
be sure to click on the eye in your file manager (i.e. rox) so that you can see the hidden files. Filenames that start with '.' are hidden.

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#9 Post by musher0 »

Hi, tcshhead.

If you know for a fact that the file is an Linux executable (and tcsh is),
then this one-liner, based on the execs $PATH and the tree utility, should
find it (in addition to the which utility, etc.):

Code: Select all

A=tcsh;echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
Summary:
  • You define your search term in A=something.
    Then "echo" feeds,
    via tr,
    all the directories for executables in $PATH
    to tree,
    and grep filters the results on your search term.
Advantages:
  • it's fast;
    it covers a lot of ground;
    but the list of results remains easily readable.
Example with "play", a component of the SoundExchange ("SoX") suite:

Code: Select all

A=play;echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
/usr/bin/aplay
/usr/bin/aplaymidi
/usr/bin/arecord -> aplay
/usr/bin/cdda-player
/usr/bin/ffplay
/usr/bin/flash-player-properties
/usr/bin/madplay
/usr/bin/mkplaylist
/usr/bin/pitchplay
/usr/bin/play -> sox
/usr/bin/play_cell
/usr/bin/sndfile-play
/usr/bin/sudoreplay
/usr/local/bin/bdplayback_aacs
/usr/local/bin/defaultaudioplayer
/usr/local/bin/defaultcdplayer
/usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer
/usr/local/bin/wavplay
/usr/local/bin/wavrec -> wavplay
/opt/local/bin/playsound
/opt/local/bin/playsound_simple
/root/my-applications/bin/playsound
/root/my-applications/bin/playsound_simple
If your Puppy does not have the tree utility by default, you can get a copy here.

IHTH

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
P.S. (for completeness) -- You can use a similar line to search for
libraries, using $LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Example with cairo.so:

Code: Select all

A=cairo.so;echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
/usr/lib/libcairo.so -> libcairo.so.2.11400.6
/usr/lib/libcairo.so.2 -> libcairo.so.2.11400.6
/usr/lib/libcairo.so.2.11400.6
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Note -- Those lines will not catch any exec or library installed in /opt
(e.g. /opt/palemoon/palemoon) or underneath /usr/lib itself (e.g.
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox).
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#10 Post by s243a »

musher0 wrote:Hi, tcshhead.

...

Code: Select all

A=play;echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
That's a cool solution but if it is in the executable search path, as far as I now "which" should find it. Maybe it is somewhere else like under /opt.

User avatar
MochiMoppel
Posts: 2084
Joined: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 09:06
Location: Japan

Re: Program says installed but where is it?

#11 Post by MochiMoppel »

tcshhead wrote:Where does puppy install programs by default?
There is no default. And there is no "puppy" either. Every creator of a package is free to select (almost) any directory he pleases to install an app though conventions and practical considerations will limit the choice to only a few locations.

Still there is no guarantee that the executable is installed in a $PATH location, in which case the commands type or which would not find it. There is even no guarantee that the package contains an executable with the same name as the package which will leave you completely in the dark what to look for.

Every package you install will create a file in directory /root/.packages with name /root/.packages/<packagename>.files.
This is a text file and contains the names and paths of all files installed by this particular package. If you examine this file with a text editor you will find what you are looking for.

If you are comfortable with the command line you could use a command like

Code: Select all

grep tcsh$  /root/.packages/*.files
I've looked in every damn folder in the system.
Well, in this case you should have found it...
musher0 wrote:Example with "play", a component of the SoundExchange ("SoX") suite:

Code: Select all

A=play;echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
Another way. Faster, simpler and saves a tree :wink: :

Code: Select all

find ${PATH//:/ } -name *play*
Last edited by MochiMoppel on Tue 24 Apr 2018, 06:30, edited 1 time in total.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

Re: Program says installed but where is it?

#12 Post by s243a »

MochiMoppel wrote:
musher0 wrote:Example with "play", a component of the SoundExchange ("SoX") suite:

Code: Select all

A=play;echo $PATH | tr ":" "\n" | while read line;do tree -fi $line -L 3 | grep $A;done
Another way. Faster, simpler and saves a tree :wink: :

Code: Select all

find ${PATH//:/ } -name *play*
An earth day pun :D

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#13 Post by musher0 »

Ah, but my one-liner awakened the competitor instinct in MochiMoppei.
I should be getting thanks. (Absent tongue-in-cheek icon goes here.) :lol:

Using bash's sub-string substitution is so passé, BTW. :lol:
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
Keef
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 22:12
Location: Staffordshire

#14 Post by Keef »

The simplest method is probably just to try uninstalling it, then installing it again. It's not working for whatever reason, so nothing to lose.

tcshhead
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 23 Apr 2018, 23:27

found tcsh

#15 Post by tcshhead »

So I see tcsh is installed in the sbin folder. So I understand how to navigate to that directory in bash but I don't understand how to run tcsh. What is the command to run tcsh? I am running 64 bit Slackware Puppy btw.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#16 Post by bigpup »

Did no one read this?

If it is in /sbin.

Simply type tcsh in a console to run it.
bigpup wrote:What version of Puppy?

Use Pfind and do a search for tcsh.

In Pfind make sure in Where to search.
Select system files or all files.

The tcsh exec file is in /usr/bin

The way Puppy menus work.
Programs not specifically compiled for Puppy, may or may not make the necessary files for a menu entry. Some are made to just run from console.
the my_applications folder in puppy is a place you have to manually put something into.
Nothing ever installs into it.
Read the readme file in my_applications folder.

Xenialpup64 7.5 tcsh installed using the Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
Runs in a console, but I have no idea how to use it.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#17 Post by bigpup »

I am running 64 bit Slackware Puppy btw.
That is not specific enough info.
There are several Slackware based Puppies that are 64 bit.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

Re: found tcsh

#18 Post by s243a »

tcshhead wrote:So I see tcsh is installed in the sbin folder. So I understand how to navigate to that directory in bash but I don't understand how to run tcsh. What is the command to run tcsh? I am running 64 bit Slackware Puppy btw.
can you just type tcsh in the command line? This should work since sbin should be in your PATH variable. Otherwise you can navigate to the directory, open a terminal by pressing the "~" button on your keyboard to open a terminal and then typing in tcsh Or ./tcsh or exec tcsh.

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#19 Post by musher0 »

Yeah, he can do that.

This begs the question: does our man want to replace bash with tcsh?
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
Keef
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 22:12
Location: Staffordshire

#20 Post by Keef »

To run tcsh just open a terminal and type tcsh and hit enter.
Are there any error messages?

If you run it directly from /sbin then also try ldd tcsh (which will list dependencies, present or not), and see what it tells you.

Post Reply