Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 May 2018, 01:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
PackIt-1.15 - a flexible Archiving/Compressing GUI
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 17 Mar 2016, 21:41    Post subject: 7z problem
Subject description: Need a dll file?
 

G'day SFR,
I've just tried to do some archiving with Packit using 7z. I have many old archives using this compression form (via 7z in Windows or more recently with wine).

Trying in a couple of Pups, Packit failed, reporting a missing .dll file or similar.
In slacko-6.3.0, I took a couple of screenshots, before running the 7z option and after (the log file from the failure).

An early post in this thread mentioned doing something with a Win/7z program and making a .exe file (it's not clear to me what this meant Embarassed ).

Is this a fix for my 7z problem or am I needing to do something else?

Thanks,
David S.
packit_7z_before.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.91 KB
 Viewed   406 Time(s)

packit_7z_before.png

packit_7z_after.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.55 KB
 Viewed   421 Time(s)

packit_7z_after.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2016, 14:48    Post subject:  

Hey David
Quote:
p7zip Version 4.58

Did you install p7zip on your own? Where did you get it from?
This is very old version and looks like it's incomplete (missing 7z.so).

Slacko-6.3.0 has p7zip-9.20.1 preinstalled, but PackIt can't see it, because /usr/bin/7z file has wrong permissions. Slacko64-6.3.0 is ok in this regard, btw.
It can be easily corrected by:
Code:
chmod +x /usr/bin/7z

So, my advice is to uninstall the older package and apply the above fix.
I'm not sure, but it might be also necessary to re-install the original package before the fix (search for p7zip in PPM).

davids45 wrote:
An early post in this thread mentioned doing something with a Win/7z program and making a .exe file (it's not clear to me what this meant Embarassed ).

Not sure which post you're reffering to...
It depends on a person who compiled/packaged p7zip, but usually it comes with 7zCon.sfx module, which allows to create self-extracting 7zip archives (*.sfx) for Linux.
PackIt can make use of this feature.
Also, if you manually extract 7zip package for Windows, get 7z.sfx module and copy it to where p7zip files reside (usually /usr/lib/p7zip or /usr/local/lib/p7zip or, for Slacko-6.3.0, /usr/libexec/), PackIt can make use of it, too, so you can create self-extracting 7zip archives (*.exe) that will work on Windows.
If any of the above is available, it can be selected in the combobox right to the 'Archive name' field.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 18 Mar 2016, 20:02    Post subject: Why I cannot win a lottery or ...
Subject description: my poor choice of Pups to try Packit with 7z
 

G'tag SFR,

Thank you for explaining the situation with 7z in Packit.

The first Pup I tried was an oldish Wheezy so your first explanation would apply to that. I will fix that when next I boot that Pup.

The second Pup I had tried yesterday with Packit and the 7z archiving was a 32-bit Slacko-6.3.0 - so I had your second example of 7z problems. Likewise, I'll look to fix that when next booting that Pup.

2 out of 2 misses for me because of my "luck" in picking options Rolling Eyes .

Today I've booted a TahrPup (5.9.3) and Packit worked immediately and very well to create a 7z archive Very Happy .

Thanks again,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 21 Mar 2016, 20:48    Post subject: Save to user's choice of directory
Subject description: Permanent change from /root?
 

G'day SFR,

Thanks for your help (previous posts).

I now have Packit running in all my Pups. Updated Packit (from .2 to .14 in quite a few Pups here) and loaded the latest 7z files (via a .deb file, p7zip-full_15.09+dfsg-4_i386.deb). I also had just copied the relevant 7z files from good Pups to bad but simply clicking the .deb seemed to be easier.

Is it possible to permanently choose a directory for saving the archives to, other than /root? I'd like to keep them all on my data partition (sda5) which every Pup auto-mounts at boot.
I could not find a config file for Packit so I guess this detail is somewhere in the program (where it selects root as the default)?

And I like the same option in Uextract too, if there is a fix in Packit Very Happy .

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2016, 07:28    Post subject:  

Hey David
davids45 wrote:
Is it possible to permanently choose a directory for saving the archives to, other than /root?

The output dir defaults to $HOME only if you start PackIt via menu entry or desktop icon.
If you start it from ROX-Filer context menu (or drag'n'drop an item onto desktop icon), it inherits input items' path.
Same goes to UExtract.

Anyway, if you want to hardcode some specific location, find this line (89) in /usr/local/apps/PackIt/packit:
Code:
echo "$OUTPUT_DIR" > $TMP_OUTPUT_DIR

and replace $OUTPUT_DIR variable with whatever you want, e.g.:
Code:
echo "/mnt/home/archives" > $TMP_OUTPUT_DIR


For UExtract, it's /usr/local/apps/UExtract/AppRun, line 52:
Code:
CURRENTDIR="${IFILES[0]%/*}/"

to, e.g.:
Code:
CURRENTDIR="/mnt/home/extracted"

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1091
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2016, 19:06    Post subject: Selecting a default directory
Subject description: for Packit & Uextract
 

G'day SFR,

Thanks for the methods to pre-set directories for Packit and Uextract specifying where to put their outputs. Your examples were most helpful.

I've adapted both your packages now, and have combined them into a personal .pet (for install into my Full Pups) and also into a .sfs which I've copied to my Frugals partition for the Frugal Pups to load during booting.

I included the (above mentioned) updating .deb for 7z in each .pet/.sfs as well.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 103
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2016, 22:38    Post subject:
Subject description: pack multiple folders
 

Had used packit1.14 for a while now. Can multiple folders be packed into a single tar.xz file. thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2016, 07:52    Post subject:
Subject description: pack multiple folders
 

quirkian2new wrote:
Had used packit1.14 for a while now. Can multiple folders be packed into a single tar.xz file. thanks in advance

Yes. Select them all and then right-click -> OpenWith (or SendTo) -> PackIt.
Alternatively, if you have PackIt icon on desktop, drag and drop them onto it.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
quirkian2new

Joined: 06 Oct 2015
Posts: 103
Location: on the inter-planet train

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2016, 08:37    Post subject:  

Thank you very much, SFR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2016, 08:56    Post subject:  

Version 1.15:

- added button (within entrybox) to toggle visibility of password
- can handle multiple files dropped onto entrybox (when PackIt was launched via Menu entry, not via right-click option)

First post updated!

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2352
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2016, 21:42    Post subject:  

There is no rar compression option in my version (1.12)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1657

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2016, 04:13    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
There is no rar compression option in my version (1.12)?

Do you have 'rar' installed?
If so, is it executable and located somewhere in PATH (/usr/bin, /usr/local/bin, etc.)?
Otherwise this option won't show up.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2352
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2016, 05:28    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
nic007 wrote:
There is no rar compression option in my version (1.12)?

Do you have 'rar' installed?
If so, is it executable and located somewhere in PATH (/usr/bin, /usr/local/bin, etc.)?
Otherwise this option won't show up.

Greetings!

Oh, okay. Only had unrar installed. Thanks for the utility, saves a lot of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou


Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 873
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 23:07    Post subject:  SFS your pupsave  

With packit, it's easy to get an SFS of files included in your pupsave. Just click on pupsave, new directorie, and past and copy there all files ... or only useful one.
Then you will be able to load on the fly this new Sfs and start a new virgin pupsave.

810 mb compressed to SFS are 210 MB
Of course When decompressed again in RAM, the original size is retrieved, as an inflatable balloon.
Dir2sfs.jpg
 Description   Dir2SFS or Packit
 Filesize   43.52 KB
 Viewed   34 Time(s)

Dir2sfs.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0738s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0223s) ][ GZIP on ]