Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 13 Dec 2018, 04:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.10, December 5, 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 78 [1167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 76, 77, 78 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 19:49    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
I don't see in the xwin loop that anything is being checked other than a test for blacklisting. It always finds the vendor ID and loops 30 times, even if I change the sleep to "1", for 30 seconds (which is about how long my wireless module took to load in Easy).


In the case statement, this line picks up when the kernel module is loaded:

Code:
   *\"*) echo -n "${aVID/*\"/} "; continue ;;


Testing on my 2011 Acer laptop:

Code:
# busybox lspci -m -k | grep '"Class 0300"' | cut -f 4,12 -d '"'
8086"i915
10de"nouveau


...which the case statement picks up.

Or, just run this to see all output:

Code:
# busybox lspci -m -k | grep '"Class 0300"'
00:02.0 "Class 0300" "8086" "0046" "1025" "0488" "i915"
01:00.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "0df1" "1025" "0488" "nouveau"


...that last field only appears after the driver has loaded.

Note, it has to be the busybox lspci, the full version works differently.

I am not using the nvidia graphics in this laptop, so could have blacklisted the 'nouveau' module. If I had done that, then would get:

Code:
# busybox lspci -m -k | grep '"Class 0300"'
00:02.0 "Class 0300" "8086" "0046" "1025" "0488" "i915"
01:00.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "0df1" "1025" "0488"


...which is why I put in the blacklist testing, otherwise it would keep looping until times out.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 20:14    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
The attached log shows the hardware supported by the nouveau X video driver, but does not show my VGA card:
    00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] [10de:03d0] (rev a2)
After a search, I see an example log entry, "Chipset: C61 (NV4C)", which is listed: "GeForce 6 (NV4x)". So the card seems to be supported by nouveau.

Looking further, I found a page that implies some limitations of this card:
https://h-node.org/videocards/view/en/619/nVidia-Corporation-C61--GeForce-6150SE-nForce-430---rev-a2-


You could try turning off glx:

https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/408582/how-to-disable-hardware-acceleration-in-linux

The arch linux page has some useful suggestions:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/nouveau

Quote:
If you are still having problems loading the module or starting X server append nouveau.config=NvMSI=0 to your kernel parameters


Quote:
Specific Nvidia chips with Nouveau may give random system lockups and more commonly throw many kernel messages, seen with dmesg. Try adding the nouveau.noaccel=1 kernel parameter.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 21 Mar 2018, 20:22    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Quote:
Specific Nvidia chips with Nouveau may give random system lockups and more commonly throw many kernel messages, seen with dmesg. Try adding the nouveau.noaccel=1 kernel parameter.


Well, that can be done by editing /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf

Code:
options nouveau modeset=1 noaccel=1


I notice, running "modinfo nouveau", that there is also a "nofbaccel" parameter.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 613
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 06:25    Post subject: idea  

rerwin wrote:
FWIW, I see that it is apparently supported by the nvidia-304xx proprietary driver.

I have similar card as rerwin - GeForce 7 Series, don't know exactly, I am not near it, driver is 304 too - and same problem with booting straight to X, as reported before.
Could compiling the 304 nvidia driver help? May be a problem to compile it though because the kernel in Easy is recent, nvidia may not have kept up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1916
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 15:11    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Quote:
Try adding the nouveau.noaccel=1 kernel parameter.


Well, that can be done by editing /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf

Code:
options nouveau modeset=1 noaccel=1


Whenever I modify /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf, it gets changed to:
options nouveau modeset=0
by the time it is needed during reboot.

I recall that early on in my use of 0.8.1, I changed the modeset in nouveau.conf from 1 to zero. Could that change have been saved in a snapshot somewhere and is getting restored at bootup, overriding anything I might have changed further in nouveau.conf? Even if I delete nouveau.conf in .sessions, instead of the default "modeset=1" version the "modeset=0" version reappears as the current setting.

So, that is preventing me from trying the 'noaccel=1' addition.

BTW, the 'busybox lspci -m -k' command gives:
00:0d.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "03d0" "103c" "2a5b" "nouveau"
in quirky, but:
00:0d.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "03d0" "103c" "2a5b"
in easy, anytime during the session. So, the question is "why is it not showing up?" Lsmod shows it as loaded when I use either the nv or nouveau X driver:
Code:
nouveau              1572864  0
mxm_wmi                16384  1 nouveau
wmi                    20480  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
video                  36864  1 nouveau
hwmon                  20480  2 k8temp,nouveau
i2c_algo_bit           16384  1 nouveau
ttm                    86016  1 nouveau
drm_kms_helper        126976  1 nouveau
drm                   307200  3 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
agpgart                32768  3 nouveau,ttm,drm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 20:10    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
Whenever I modify /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf, it gets changed to:
options nouveau modeset=0
by the time it is needed during reboot.

I recall that early on in my use of 0.8.1, I changed the modeset in nouveau.conf from 1 to zero. Could that change have been saved in a snapshot somewhere and is getting restored at bootup, overriding anything I might have changed further in nouveau.conf? Even if I delete nouveau.conf in .sessions, instead of the default "modeset=1" version the "modeset=0" version reappears as the current setting.

So, that is preventing me from trying the 'noaccel=1' addition.

BTW, the 'busybox lspci -m -k' command gives:
00:0d.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "03d0" "103c" "2a5b" "nouveau"
in quirky, but:
00:0d.0 "Class 0300" "10de" "03d0" "103c" "2a5b"
in easy, anytime during the session. So, the question is "why is it not showing up?" Lsmod shows it as loaded when I use either the nv or nouveau X driver:
Code:
nouveau              1572864  0
mxm_wmi                16384  1 nouveau
wmi                    20480  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
video                  36864  1 nouveau
hwmon                  20480  2 k8temp,nouveau
i2c_algo_bit           16384  1 nouveau
ttm                    86016  1 nouveau
drm_kms_helper        126976  1 nouveau
drm                   307200  3 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
agpgart                32768  3 nouveau,ttm,drm


Oh wow Sad

I am running Easy 0.8.1, with that modified 'xwin'.

I edited /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf:

Code:
options nouveau modeset=1 noaccel=1


Rebooted, yep, my change is still there.

There is nothing that I know of that will remove your edited file. A previous snapshot will not affect anything.

If you edit /etc/modprobe.d/nouveau.conf, you can verify your changed file is in /mnt/sdb2/.session/etc/modprobe.d

You could even be extra careful and type "sync" in a terminal to make sure it is flushed.

Then reboot, the .session folder gets loaded as the rw layer by aufs. There is nothing that will erase or change that file.

You could create/change any other file, verify that it is still there after a reboot.

As to why lspci is not showing "nouveau", that is another mystery. It does for me.

What about trying the full 'lspci'. Currently using my midi-tower, which only has intel video:

Code:
# lspci -nk -d ::0300
00:02.0 0300: 8086:0102 (rev 09)
   Subsystem: 103c:2ab6
   Kernel driver in use: i915


EDIT:
I wonder if all required firmware for the nouveau driver got loaded? Try:

Code:
# dmesg | grep -i firmware


...see if any msgs about missing firmware.

Note, the firmware for the nouveau kernel driver is at /lib/firmware/nvidia

Nah, all nouveau firmware is there, I just checked. There is a utility for that:

Code:
# updategpumoduleslist.sh


then look at /tmp/gpudrmfirmwaremissing

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 20:35    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro64 0.8.1 (Mar. 14), Xerus64 0.6.8 (Jan. 4), 2018  

I installed dosbox-0.74debian3-x86_64-1.txz from Fatdog64 and it works well.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   108.16 KB
 Viewed   563 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 22 Mar 2018, 20:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
Even if I delete nouveau.conf in .sessions, instead of the default "modeset=1" version the "modeset=0" version reappears as the current setting.


You must never edit the .session folder directly, while Easy is running.

Unlike the puppies, aufs in the kernel used for easy/quirky is configured not to recognize changes from within a layer. This limitation makes aufs faster.

If you do modify .session, it will have unknown affects. You can edit it when Easy is not running.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 18:10    Post subject: sfsget 0.8.1 problem  

Came across a problem for you.

It looks like a download with sfsget to it's set folder (repository/easy-0.8.1) is not checking that folder to see if the .sfs requested is already there before trying to download it.

I already had devx-0.8.1-pyro64.sfs downloaded and loaded via the easy bootmanager and tried to download the newer kernel_src, but accidentally marked the devx again. Cafene shortage! It deleted the existing devx-0.8.1-pyro64.sfs from the directory and started downloading it again, rather than what I would of expected, which was to warn me it's already there and asking permission to proceed. I didn't expect it to be able to delete a loaded .sfs either.

Any chance to sort this please.

Got to say this one seems to have speeded things up from 0.6, the last i've had on a stick and testing with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1916
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 18:45    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Unlike the puppies, aufs in the kernel used for easy/quirky is configured not to recognize changes from within a layer. This limitation makes aufs faster.

If you do modify .session, it will have unknown affects. You can edit it when Easy is not running.

Got it. Thank you.

From outside Easy, I deleted the nouveau.conf from .session. In Easy, using the nv X driver, I updated nouveau.conf from modeset=1 to that plus noaccel=1. After changing to the nouveau drivers, rebooting to the command line showed nouveau.conf to be as I set it. But xwin failed as before, producing the same messages. After the failure, nouveau.conf contained modeset=0, leading me to conclude that the failure caused the acceleration to be disabled, possibly as an attempt to recover.

When I used the nouveau.conf with noaccel, etc., and chose 'nv' as the X driver, xwin also failed! NV claims that a kernel module claims the VGA device, when nouveau.conf has the added settings, but not with modeset=0, meaning that acceleration impacts nv. So be it.

So, I have to use nv with only the modeset as 0, to get to a desktop. With the nv x driver, kernel driver nouveau is loaded, as there is no nv kernel driver.

One thing I think I noticed (yesterday), when booting with X driver nouveau and the .conf values set to "1", was that the value from the 'lspci -m -k' command was '10de"nouveau nouveau', implying that the card was recognized right away. Even so, the X server crashed, as usual. (I modified xwin to to add that to the progressing count line before each number. All other times it shows only '10de'.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 19:06    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Unlike the puppies, aufs in the kernel used for easy/quirky is configured not to recognize changes from within a layer. This limitation makes aufs faster.

If you do modify .session, it will have unknown affects. You can edit it when Easy is not running.

Got it. Thank you.

From outside Easy, I deleted the nouveau.conf from .session. In Easy, using the nv X driver, I updated nouveau.conf from modeset=1 to that plus noaccel=1. After changing to the nouveau drivers, rebooting to the command line showed nouveau.conf to be as I set it. But xwin failed as before, producing the same messages. After the failure, nouveau.conf contained modeset=0, leading me to conclude that the failure caused the acceleration to be disabled, possibly as an attempt to recover.

When I used the nouveau.conf with noaccel, etc., and chose 'nv' as the X driver, xwin also failed! NV claims that a kernel module claims the VGA device, when nouveau.conf has the added settings, but not with modeset=0, meaning that acceleration impacts nv. So be it.

So, I have to use nv with only the modeset as 0, to get to a desktop. With the nv x driver, kernel driver nouveau is loaded, as there is no nv kernel driver.

One thing I think I noticed (yesterday), when booting with X driver nouveau and the .conf values set to "1", was that the value from the 'lspci -m -k' command was '10de"nouveau nouveau', implying that the card was recognized right away. Even so, the X server crashed, as usual. (I modified xwin to to add that to the progressing count line before each number. All other times it shows only '10de'.)


Yeah, if you look at /usr/sbin/xorgwizard-cli, line 1112, you will see that if 'nv' chosen, then "options nouveau modeset=0" is written to nouveau.conf, then there is a reboot.

Otherwise, there is a conflict between the two.

Another alternative would be to blacklist the nouveau kernel driver.

I understand that you meant "busybox lspci -mk", but note, regarding "lspci -mk", that doesn't work with the full lspci, strangely enough (doesn't show the drivers). But "lspci -nk" does.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8739
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 19:08    Post subject: Re: sfsget 0.8.1 problem  

scsijon wrote:
Came across a problem for you.

It looks like a download with sfsget to it's set folder (repository/easy-0.8.1) is not checking that folder to see if the .sfs requested is already there before trying to download it.

I already had devx-0.8.1-pyro64.sfs downloaded and loaded via the easy bootmanager and tried to download the newer kernel_src, but accidentally marked the devx again. Cafene shortage! It deleted the existing devx-0.8.1-pyro64.sfs from the directory and started downloading it again, rather than what I would of expected, which was to warn me it's already there and asking permission to proceed. I didn't expect it to be able to delete a loaded .sfs either.

Any chance to sort this please.

Got to say this one seems to have speeded things up from 0.6, the last i've had on a stick and testing with.


Ok, have written that into my to-do list.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 21:23    Post subject:  

Started on laptops due to go back Razz

Lenovo Ideapad 11".

And another 2 problems, sorry.

1-
Menu>
setup>
easy os installer>
Brings up a Welcome to easy Installer>
clicking on either button 'View in browser, brings up barryk.org/cgi....., which of course are suspended pages.

2- Leave with me for now - see edit2 below
The driver for the pcie ssd doesn't seem to be loading, the emmc on the same laptop (usb bus) is so that's something. Maybe a pci/pcie bus-driver is also needed as only usb is listed under /dev/bus. I do have the kernel_src-4.14.27-patched.sfs loaded and thought that was all that was needed to be added. Any sugestions while I keep looking?
EDIT1: looking at the DOTconfig-4.14.27 line 689 # CONFIG_HOTPLUG_PCI_PCIE is not set. There's quite some others following also. https://www.kernel.org/doc/ols/2005/ols2005v2-pages-9-18.pdf seems th be the relevant doc.
EDIT2: A Lenovo Thinkpad, does find the ssd in /dev/disk/by-id with a sata3 SSD so it looks like it's a pcie thing. I shall ask Lenovo about it and get back to the list.

Last edited by scsijon on Fri 23 Mar 2018, 22:28; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3634
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 23 Mar 2018, 21:30    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro64 0.8.1 (Mar. 14), Xerus64 0.6.8 (Jan. 4), 2018  

I installed 0.8.1 to my hp desktop on Mar 14th and use it often, palemoon
browser has updated, also learned of an extention for it so have installed that.
0.8.1 works well with the ATI graphics card in this pc.

Thanks.
mar14-0.8.1-update.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.04 KB
 Viewed   390 Time(s)

mar14-0.8.1-update.jpg

palemoon1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.85 KB
 Viewed   391 Time(s)

palemoon1.jpg

palemoon2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.74 KB
 Viewed   396 Time(s)

palemoon2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 24 Mar 2018, 02:48    Post subject:  

Not a problem really but...

Laptop 3 : Mine: Toshiba satellite L50D-C AMD-A6 with Radeon R4 Graphics - couple of years old, used for storyboarding nowadays as it's a 15".

I had problems on startup as it tried to automatically ONLY use the intel video driver.

Error was appearing as:
intel 800/900 Series VBIOS Hack : Version 0.5.3

VESA Bios extension not detected.
VESA Bios extension not detected.

Xorg Wizard Automatic has just run.
If you are reading this, then you are at the console without X running.
etc
etc

seems to have both radeon and intel video interfaces active,
can start it with the radeon driver as standard 1024x768 screen, just not a widescreen
both standard xorgwizard options fail giving

VESA Bios extension not detected.

as reason for fail if I try to set any standard or 16:9 Vesa options.

Took some time to get it up via modesetting PLUS the radeon driver but <ctl><alt><F1> still shows the "VESA Bios extension not detected" appearing on a new line every so often.

seems to run ok otherwise

EDIT1:
SSD: If the drive on a laptop is a sata SSD drive or a sata SSD M.2 2280 Card it's symbol is appearing as a normal Hard drive, if it's a emmc module on the motherboard or via a M.2 slot it's symbol is appearing as if it's a SD card. If it's a PCIe NVME it can vary between the SD card symbol or a black square so there must be some other possible connection for PCIe, maybe there is an alternate controller. I have asked for more information from the supplier.

EDIT2:
Most of the intel video laptops I have been playing with have now been tested and are ok with either 0.6 or 0.8.1. Now to have fun Confused with the alternate video controllers and the amd stuff. And there are a couple of dual touchscreen models included. And yes I did say screens, no pad or keyboard just two touch screens (each 15" or 17"). Designed for graphics, animation, Film industry, and the like, won't be cheap when they are released as 32/64 Gram and 500G/1TB SSD and hi-end processors are all promised. Not really for this uni stuff, but I asked and got a yes Surprised .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 78 [1167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 76, 77, 78 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]