Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Jul 2018, 06:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
A Debian-Stretch-Live Starter Kit
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [110 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2018, 16:25    Post subject:  

proebler wrote:
Trying to apply the suggestion resulted in: Unable to locate package libgll-mesa-dri

I have however found a different solution.
Instead of installing xserver-xorg-video-mga, I have installed xserver-xorg-video-vesa.
That works.

I have now made a frugal install to the HDD of computer 4
It boots in approx. 35 sec from the moment Debian-Stretch-Live is selected on the Grub menu on this P4, not bad !

I note that the 'changes' directory size is 121MB after doing the apt-get update, apt-get install for vesa and setting some desktop preferences.
I assume that this is typical ?
I still only have Palemoon in the 'modules' directory, not using wifi.
Thanks again.
proebler


A big chunk of that 121MB is going to be the database to support synaptic/apt-get. I use bleachbit to keep it under control. Just running the defaults gets rid of about 70MB for me. Adding /var/apt/pkgcache.bin and /var/apt/scrpkgcache.bin under custom gets about another 50MB if I run it twice.

Unless I have added something major or there has been an update, my save folder runs around 15-20MB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 17:18    Post subject:  

Update available for "upgrade-kernel". see here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=985511#985511

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 07:54    Post subject:  

Hi Rcrsn51 (and Fred &all),

Finally set this up yesterday (64-bit version), has been running about 30 hrs on the laptop now, no problems. Really seemed weird not using Fred's script-build and instead having this base ISO. Gives others an option who are afraind and/or daunted by using the build-script. I like that all the Peasy stuff is in this ISO, because I use it all a lot. It's nice not to have to install them. Only thing I would say is maybe you ought to include as standard Fred's remaster scripts---I think we all (save for you Wink ) use them a lot too.

Only other suggestions I would make are these:

1) it might be nice to have a screenshot program natively included, since Debian is a pain in the butt about getting a functioning one along with correct menu gui setup & options. I stole Fred's scrot setup from my DDogs, and only thing I changed was that I wanted scrot options with one click on the menu button, and not in its own menu category [I just modded the lxpanel config (pic below)].

2) possibly include firewall-ng as standard (just like pups), and already have it setup for people (putting the symlink in /root/Startup) so all they have to do is fire it up when first running "Firewall Setup" from the "Internet" section of the menu.

3) will somebody please kill Evil or Very Mad the dam# middle scroll button flinging your desktop across the desktops "pager" windows? I know of no one who likes this. In other threads over the years, people constantly ask for this to be killed or given easy, granular control over (XFCE gives this, but why no other DE??). No one (puppy and/or ddog or any developer) provides this save for the XFCE gang. I want "pager" windows without touchy pyschotic behavior. Thus I shouldn't have to deal with the middle scroll wheel, if it's accidentally touched or brushed, flinging the desktop back and forth. It's annoying as heck, and a person shouldn't have to completely kill the "pager" windows (by setting it to one, or in my case, just "#" out of the lxpanel menu). Either give us fine control over it, or kill the darn thing. We shouldn't have to dig and root around (in .config files) making modifications just get rid of the middle scroll wheel acting pyschotic when it is barely touched and/or brushed Laughing

So, overall, all in all, rcrsn51, good stuff. Given another (ISO Starter Kit) option for the Dogs is great Very Happy


I have one little personal last thing, though: does anyone know how I can make the eth0 tray monitor (Network Status Monitor Panel Applet) be any other colour than black? I use ethernet a lot on the laptop (on a lot of macines, actually). PeasyWifi is great, but it is not an "active" monitor like the NSM panel applet is. Thus the NSM "active" icon, by blinking constantly when accessing the Net and/or connecting/disconnecting, lets me know, or reminds me, when I've disconnected the ethernet cable (which is a lot, as I never leave any machine in the house connected unless it is directly being used). All my machines in the house have desktop-situated ethernet (and wifi) connections accessible for unplugging and re-plugging quickly. So, how do I get the NSM panel applet where I can see the darn thing????? Black isn't cutting it Cool
Rscrn51-Starter-Kit.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   115.74 KB
 Viewed   804 Time(s)

Rscrn51-Starter-Kit.jpg

scrot-screenshot-one-click.png
 Description   
 Filesize   56.87 KB
 Viewed   815 Time(s)

scrot-screenshot-one-click.png

network-status-monitor-panel-applet-nearly-invisible.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.75 KB
 Viewed   815 Time(s)

network-status-monitor-panel-applet-nearly-invisible.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2390

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 09:31    Post subject:  

For jwm adding

<RootMenu onroot="4"/>
<RootMenu onroot="5"/>

to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal disables the scrollwheel desktop switching

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 12:48    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
For jwm adding

<RootMenu onroot="4"/>
<RootMenu onroot="5"/>

to /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal disables the scrollwheel desktop switching


?????

First, there is no JWM in Rcrsn51's release. So....?? Plus, we all (us regular users) know this trick from yrs ago via (iirc) mochimoppel's (or..???) great and often cited posts on doing exactly the /4 & /5 mod. But why is this even such as it is? No first user is going to put up with that. Thus, this leads to the logical next question....

......Second, everything I wrote iin my previous msg still applies:

Quote:
...will somebody please, with ease & malice, please permanently kill Evil or Evil or Very Mad the dam# middle scroll button flinging your desktop across the desktops "pager" windows? I know of no one who likes this. In other threads over the years, people constantly ask for this to be killed or given easy, granular control over (XFCE gives this, but why no other DE??). No one (puppy and/or ddog or any developer) provides this save for the XFCE gang. I want "pager" windows without touchy pyschotic behavior. Thus I shouldn't have to deal with the middle scroll wheel, if it's accidentally touched or brushed, flinging the desktop back and forth. It's annoying as heck, and a person shouldn't have to completely kill the "pager" windows (by setting it to one, or in my case, just "#" out of the lxpanel menu). Either give us fine control over it, or kill the darn thing. We shouldn't have to dig and root around (in .config files) making modifications just get rid of the middle scroll wheel acting pyschotic (with regards to pager windows flipping around) when it is barely touched and/or brushed Laughing


Why can the XFCE DE desktop (via rg66, battleshooter, et al) give us easy, clear "check one simple box to disable scrollwheel pager window changes" yet no other DE and/or pup/ddog OS give this to us?

It's one thing for us regulars to do the /4 & /5 trick, albeit if JWM is being used, but in all other cases, something needs to be done. I am not the only one who has brought this up before. Heck, people have even registered for only one time, one post, to come on murga and complain about this. But no one seems to hear it.

We need ya, radky ( Wink ) or maybe fred or wiak, to nail this sucker to wall & solve it for once & all. Couldn't it be coded somewhere in the DE so that this is a one-click easy option for all DEs, and not just JWM???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 13:24    Post subject:  

Another note:

---followed the 'repo2sfs' instructions explicitly, it built the sfs, but in the 64-bit ISO, it put the resulting chromum.sfs build in /root/Downloads.

Also, note from the pic, there is no "Network" as a choice in Menu. This will confuse a lot of people, as they won't know where to look for the chromium.sfs-build, and think that it actually didn't get built (only mod I did was adding scrot choices, otherwise the Menu is as it actually was upon first frugal boot):
repo2sfs-does-everything-root-Downloads.png
 Description   
 Filesize   81.79 KB
 Viewed   704 Time(s)

repo2sfs-does-everything-root-Downloads.png

no-chromium-built-sfs-here.png
 Description   
 Filesize   171.92 KB
 Viewed   704 Time(s)

no-chromium-built-sfs-here.png

no-Network-in-menu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   73.93 KB
 Viewed   711 Time(s)

no-Network-in-menu.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2390

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 13:59    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
But why is this even such as it is?

For a obvious reason.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 14:15    Post subject:  

Hi Belham, indeed no easy way for Openbox to disable Desktop switch by scrolling.
Don't know if you already solved it, but anyway, see here for the "hard" way to disable Wink
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu/Mouse#Disable_how_using_the_scrollwheel_on_the_switches_to_the_next_Desktop

For screenshot program there's "snappie" and "scrotdlg" from custom repo.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 14:30    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi Belham, indeed no easy way for Openbox to disable Desktop switch by scrolling.
Don't know if you already solved it, but anyway, see here for the "hard" way to disable Wink
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu/Mouse#Disable_how_using_the_scrollwheel_on_the_switches_to_the_next_Desktop

For screenshot program there's "snappie" and "scrotdlg" from custom repo.

Fred



Hi Fred,

Yeah, I solved it....I immediately nixed it (putting # in front of relevant lines) in the /root/.config/lxpanel/default/panels/panel file, after I had used the "Openbox Configuration Manager" to bring the number of pager screens down to one. I've seen no one defend this (except the obvious clueless), and many people post about what a pain it is. It drove my family (and relatives) nuts because every time they would be doing anything, and innocently touched the scrollwheel, the pager would activate & I would hear a scream as they thought they'd lost everything they'd worked on. Funny thing is, at both Ubuntu and Debian forums, it was voted as one of the top 3 all-time annoying things in the distros. Thankfully, if not using XFCE, many other distros equally have disabled it permanently. Really think it ought to be done here, as it is the furthest thing from "user friendly".

Thanks for the info about snappie. I had just grown accustomed to how you had it in Debian Dog 64, so I just re-set that up (albeit with a small twist). I was just surprised there was no screenshot program in the ISO, for us to give feedback to rsrcn51.

Hope you're doing well & in good health! And double hope this cold weather goes away this coming week. It's not supposed to be 0 C for us.....it's almost April!! Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 15:28    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
---followed the 'repo2sfs' instructions explicitly, it built the sfs, but in the 64-bit ISO, it put the resulting chromum.sfs build in /root/Downloads.

The module is built in the same location where the repo2sfs script is run.

Quote:
Also, note from the pic, there is no "Network" as a choice in Menu. This will confuse a lot of people, as they won't know where to look for the chromium.sfs-build, and think that it actually didn't get built (only mod I did was adding scrot choices, otherwise the Menu is as it actually was upon first frugal boot):

The module, like any other squash/sfs package, needs to be "loaded". Use Right-click-Activate.

Quote:
I was just surprised there was no screenshot program in the ISO

The whole point of a bare-bones ISO is to give you the flexibility to pick the apps you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sun 18 Mar 2018, 11:15    Post subject: HP printer drivers  

Hello

I have landed at this project after following links about the HP printer driver package from rcsn51.

I have found the file name in the repo linked in the first post but wandered if it will still work with the Ubuntu based Puppies such as Lupu, Precise or Tahr and if so, which of them?

I have been looking at some corporate surplus printers and it would be useful know which Pups I could use HPs with

Thanks for any help

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
535nxx

Joined: 30 Mar 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 30 Mar 2018, 05:38    Post subject: how to change my root space?  

I move puppy to a U-disk(16G) ,then i run it success on my laptop(6G RAM ) .The first time i have 4G space for my /root,but after i save changes(save as a dir) and restart ,i only have 100M space for my /root.
How to slove this problem?Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 30 Mar 2018, 09:46    Post subject: Re: how to change my root space?  

535nxx wrote:
The first time i have 4G space for my /root,but after i save changes(save as a dir) and restart ,i only have 100M space for my /root.

Where are you getting these numbers?

Quote:
I move puppy

This project is NOT Puppy. You need to explain better what you are doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2018, 06:47    Post subject:  

Updated repo2sfs script on page 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2018, 09:37    Post subject:  

YASSM Samba client updated here.

This needs testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [110 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1288s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]