Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Jun 2018, 21:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 184 of 188 [2806 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188 Next
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2018, 14:47    Post subject:  

Thanks for replying. Thinking it may have been just one bad iso file, or disk, I downloaded another copy of the iso and burnt it off but with the same result; it got stuck at "Waiting for /dev to be fully populated" ...

I give in (for now at least). Oh well, at least Gentoo still works on my machine (I'm posting from Exton's respin of it) and I've always got on well with AntiX itself.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Slackware64 14.2, Salix 14.2, Ubuntu 16.04.3 Budgie, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3461
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 02:48    Post subject: Other Distros  

@Colonel Panic

I installed the 64bit version of MX-17.1-RC1

System: Host: mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1-RC1_x64 Horizon March 6, 2018
Machine: Device: desktop System: ACER product: Aspire M5620 v: R01-A4 serial: N/A
Mobo: ACER model: G33T-AM v: 1.0 serial: N/A
BIOS: American Megatrends v: R01-A4 date: 12/19/2007
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1602/2403 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 ) driver: nvidia
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.111
Network: Card: Intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (1.5% used)
Weather: Conditions: 32 F (0 C) - light showers snow Time: March 8, 1:38 AM EST
Info: Processes: 200 Uptime: 27 min Memory: 894.9/7980.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.54

The installer is a lot faster than the Ubuntu OS's, about 15 minutes.
I spent more time adding applications that I wanted and configuring
things.

Working nice so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.16 KB
 Viewed   799 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1520

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 06:51    Post subject:  

Hi colonelpanic,

I run latest MX-17 frugal, totally in ram on several machines, and it boots perfectly. Have tried it across my Intel Core I3 and Amd Athlon II machines (old & new), and have not faced a problem. Same goes for AntiX. Both MX & AntiX seem boot indestructible, haha, no matter how much I change & add & especially modify boot parameters (using their excellent wiki(s) as a base). Am posting from this MX-17 OS, Intel Core I3 laptop, booted frugal and now running-totally-in-ram (usb was removed, just running in pure ram, 8GB worth)...and it's been going for months. Once a week, plug the USB back in, do a remaster (since updates come in from both Debian and the MX-team soon as they're released in the wild---and all updates apply with ease while still in ram, just waiting for me to remaster that once-a-week). The MX included remaster GUI is clear & concise, I simply punch "Personal" to save all my Personal settings during remaster (this is something Puppy sorely needs to learn from!!), the remaster program just goes, effortlessly showing you visually what it is doing the whole time. Then, I simply reboot & and unplug the USB once again to remain/run totally in ram. It is awesome for a machine that I leave on 24-7. This has been running for over two months now with MX-17 & this setup. This setup is especially excellent if I come across something on the web I do not like, or I am worried about. I simply shut the machine down, no harm no foul since it all has been in ram. Plug the USB back in, and I am instantly back up & running again. When you add the ease of use of Firejail & Firetools they've setup, plus the great MX package offering(s) program, this distro (at the moment, imho) absolutely cannot be beat, and I use them all, from SUSE through Fedora to Ubuntu/Debian (and their many children) to Mint to Slackos to Puppies & DDogs & etc, etc Wink Hope it works out for you.
MX-17-running-totally-in-ram-24-7-for-two-plus-months-now.png
 Description   
 Filesize   175.92 KB
 Viewed   779 Time(s)

MX-17-running-totally-in-ram-24-7-for-two-plus-months-now.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1822
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 13:00    Post subject:  

@belham

could you give an example of your mx grub(4dos) boot entry, I cannot get mine started

edit [also, I used to have sda1 (windows), sda2 (puppy frugal), sda3 (data) and a swap file

I have had to delete the swap to create sda4 where mx17 resides, gparted says I need to create an extended partition but do not understand how to proceeed] - solved, thanks semme

cheers

Smile

more edit - some success. got it to boot

I had to burn a dvd, the usb install didn't generate the boot menu to configure, create a partition with antiX-Frugal as the label name

run dvd with persist f5 (I used frugal-home)

edit grub4dos with

Code:
#Frugal
 title MX-17 frugal-sda5
 root (hd0,4)
 kernel /antiX-Frugal-4.13.0-1-amd64/vmlinuz quiet noxorg bdev=sda5 bdir=antiX-Frugal-4.13.0-1-amd64  nomodeset persist
 initrd /antiX-Frugal-4.13.0-1-amd64/initrd.gz


adjust the details according to your system

root (hd0,x) as my partition is (sda)5 then partition number =4
sdax as required
"antiX-Frugal-4.13.0-1-amd64" or whichever is generated at the install

only problem now is incorrect language and timezone not saved from initial boot - solved, add lang=en_UK tz=Europe/London to end of kernel line

Last edited by ally on Thu 08 Mar 2018, 15:22; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1506
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 13:34    Post subject:  

deleted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1822
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 16:39    Post subject:  

well that was short lived, I was unable to move a file from spot download to my data partition

I'm not mucking about with permissions

long live puppy...

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1520

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 17:22    Post subject:  

Hi ally/backi,

I'm not quite sure what you both are doing (especially you, Ally, Wink there is no messing with permissions, period). It is actually as simple as a puppy if you realize what MX-17 is trying to do when it first wants to set itself up.

Do whatever you have to do to setup MX-17 using dd on a USB. Don't use a DVD or anything else. for some reason, I never had luck with a DVD (and I did try). Do it on a USB, dd the ISO to it and run MX-17 where it comes up. If you are not getting MX-17 to boot from a simple dd (using a puppy and/or any Linux distro to dd the MX-17 ISO), then something is wrong and I am not sure how to help you. I've done dd with various MX-17 ISOs across several USBs, in different machines, and never faced a problem to getting it to run where they want you to either test it out, install it, or frugally install it. Anyway, after getting it to first bootup to those choices, then you can set it up frugally either using their bootloader, or do it like I did, and transfer what I needed to another USB that already had many pups/ddogs on it where it is governed by grub4dos.

Hopefuly these pics should below should help---pay attention to the directories---. But it seems to me you both would already have tried this stuff, as I am confident you both know as much about pups and Linux overall as my goofy self does Very Happy Hint: think that you are thief, and rob MX-17, put what you need on another USB (that already has puppies/ddogs/ete on it) and run it with grub4dos from there on out...and you'll see how their frugal method works, and the wonders of running fully in ram while having full debian & MX repositories updating while in total ram (the boot spec is called "toram"). And their remastering, when you want to lock in any updates and/or anything else you do (for me, I run Handbrake and use Virtualbox a lot), then the MX Remastering sequence leaves puppies and anything else I've ever experienced, in the dust. You can actually save every personal "Home" change in the remaster without jumping through hoops, and it all happens with a "single click". Also, you have full control over sizing the Root and Home Directories, all with a single click. Puppy devs could learn a lot here if they chose to.

Hope this helps.
Screenshot-MX-17-frugal-fully-in-ram.png
 Description   
 Filesize   62.79 KB
 Viewed   663 Time(s)

Screenshot-MX-17-frugal-fully-in-ram.png

Screenshot2-MX-17-fully-in-ram.png
 Description   
 Filesize   80.51 KB
 Viewed   667 Time(s)

Screenshot2-MX-17-fully-in-ram.png

Screenshot3-MX-17-frugal-fully-in-ram.png
 Description   
 Filesize   76.3 KB
 Viewed   665 Time(s)

Screenshot3-MX-17-frugal-fully-in-ram.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1822
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 08 Mar 2018, 19:26    Post subject:  

the dd to usb went ok but I did not have the boot options menu (f2,f3,f4 etc.) on start, I had to create a dvd for that

I have installed to sda5 as above, my laptop hard drive

I like MX but was unable to download a file (chrome to /demo/downloads) and then move it to my data partition for archiving

how to copy a file from /downloads to another partition?

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3461
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2018, 05:04    Post subject: Other Distros  

I installed MX-17.1-RC1_x64 to a 64gb usb-3.0 flash drive:

System: Host: mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1-RC1_x64 Horizon March 6, 2018
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial: N/A
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 serial: N/A BIOS: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1945/3700 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 ) driver: nvidia Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz, 1600x900@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.111
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-3: D-Link System AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless Adapter(rev.C1) [Ralink RT2571W] driver: rt73usb
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2064.9GB (0.4% used)
Weather: Conditions: 28 F (-2 C) - light showers snow Time: March 9, 3:50 AM EST
Info: Processes: 200 Uptime: 19 min Memory: 1298.4/11969.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.54

I had it install grub to the MBR of the flash drive, if I shutdown and
unplug the flash drive it boots Ubuntu from the hard drive.

It's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.11 KB
 Viewed   591 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2018, 11:54    Post subject:  

Hi Belham,

"For some reason, I never had luck with a DVD (and I did try."

It looks like MX-17.1 is set up to only boot from or install to a USB drive. Wish I'd known that in advance, but still ... Trouble is, there are so many distros to choose from now (including MX's excellent sIster distro, AntiX) that it's easier to switch to another one than to try and get one that's failing to boot to do so, or to persevere with one that has any other serious problems.

For me, DVD still works as a distro medium; I can take one off the spindle, put it in my computer's optical drive and boot it up (as I've just done with an old version of Sparky, which I'm posting from now). I can't do that with USB sticks (not at £5 plus a shot).

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Slackware64 14.2, Salix 14.2, Ubuntu 16.04.3 Budgie, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3461
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 06:50    Post subject: Other Distros  

I ran the live DVD installer to a usb-3.0 hard drive:

System: Host: mx1 Kernel: 4.15.0-1-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: MX-17.1-RC1_x64 Horizon March 6, 2018
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP product: 260-p029 serial: N/A
Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 01 serial: N/A UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.04 date: 05/10/2016
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6100T (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 1551/3200 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel HD Graphics 530
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.2 ) drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2) version: 4.5 Mesa 13.0.6
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2063.5GB (0.6% used)
Weather: Conditions: 27 F (-3 C) - Overcast Time: March 11, 6:40 AM EDT
Info: Processes: 214 Uptime: 28 min Memory: 867.4/3810.6MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.54

Using a 32" tv + a 23" lcd monitor.

It's working well.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.97 KB
 Viewed   450 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2368

PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar 2018, 12:42    Post subject: OpenBSD 6.2 server  

Dug out a old Celeron box today, installed OpenBSD 6.2 along with MTier's openup (for binary based patches (running openup is similar to running apt_get update;apt-get upgrade under Debian) and I've rearranged our network ....

Virgin Hub2 cable modem with one LAN port going to that Celeron, the other going to a netgear router with all of other PC's connected to the LAN ports of that netgear (isolated so that if the Celeron box gets hacked the rest of the PC's are behind another router/firewall). With the Celeron isolated from the rest of the network and I opened up the Celeron by port forwarding http, ftp and ssh ports in the Virgin Hub configuration to that Celeron box (along with setting the Celeron's IP address as being fixed/reserved).

Nothing else installed (so pure OpenBSD core only). The Celeron box has a 150GB HDD in it so I now have that space available for web, ftp or ssh space that I can access from anywhere. I've made it headless, no keyboard, mouse, monitor now, and I'll just ssh into it to do any changes. Its quite close to the TV however so I can use that as a monitor if needed.

OpenBSD's secure by default is nice, made setting that up very quick and easy.

This is the code I'm using to ftp upload the servers IP address to a index.html file that a domain name is redirected towards (so any http://somename.com type requests end up at my servers IP).

Code:
#!/bin/ksh
# /etc/rc.local (so run at each boot)
# HTML5 based redirect - which works in all browsers, and passes w3c validation
HOST=ftp.xxxx.xxx
USER=xxxxxxxxxx
PASSWD=xxxxxxx
# write ip address to index.html
IP=`dig +short myip.opendns.com @resolver1.opendns.com`
echo "<!DOCTYPE HTML>" >index.html
echo "<meta charset=\"UTF-8\">" >>index.html
echo "<meta http-equiv=\"refresh\" content=\"0;url=http://$IP/index.html\">" >>index.html
echo "<script>" >>index.html
echo "window.location.href = \"http://$IP/index.html\"" >>index.html
echo "</script>" >>index.html
echo "<title>Redirection</title>" >>index.html
# ftp file to the ftp server
ftp -n $HOST <<SCRIPT
user $USER $PASSWD
binary
cd xxxxxxxxxx
put index.html
quit
SCRIPT


EDIT : I've subsequently dropped that script and installed ddclient along with signing up with a free dynamic DNS provider (ddclient updates the DNS to IP addressing i.e. in effect uploads the IP associated to the domain name every x second).

Last edited by rufwoof on Tue 13 Mar 2018, 20:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2018, 06:20    Post subject:  

How do you post images to this board please? I've just done a distro upgrade for Bunsen Labs Deuterium and would like to include a screenshot here but the usual method (copy & paste) doesn't work.
_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Slackware64 14.2, Salix 14.2, Ubuntu 16.04.3 Budgie, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2368

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2018, 12:24    Post subject:  

When you reply to the thread, you should see something like that attached, where you can browse for a file and attach it to the post. Provided its not too big (try and resize the image to no more than 600 wide or something like that) it will display the image when the post is viewed, otherwise it will be an attachment.

If you want to include a image within the text you'll have up upload the image to somewhere and link to that within the post using the [ img ]xxxx[ /img ] bbcode
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.19 KB
 Viewed   267 Time(s)

s.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1991

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 04:00    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll give it a try. Here we go;
2018-03-14--1521040207_1680x1050_scrot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  2018-03-14--1521040207_1680x1050_scrot.jpg 
Filesize  152.27 KB 
Downloaded  78 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 184 of 188 [2806 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 182, 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1034s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0435s) ][ GZIP on ]