Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 13 Dec 2018, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
VLC 3.0.2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 25 Feb 2018, 12:13    Post subject:  VLC 3.0.2
Subject description: Compiled from source in Dpup Stretch
 

The Videolan people have released VLC 3.0.2
This new major version upgrade requires ffmpeg 3.x and Qt5
Dpup Stretch has ffmpeg 3.x
I added some Qt5 packages via PPM plus the missing libxcb libraries and compiled the source.
It seems to start and run OK in my brief tests.
It probably won't work in Puppies other than Stretch though.
If anyone wants to test it, TAKE PRECAUTIONS as you deem appropriate.
Packages contain the runtime libraries so it should be standalone install-and-go.
Uploaded here:-
https://yadi.sk/d/nxx9TP2i3HcXB5?force_show=1

EDIT:- Version now 3.0.2
I added matroska libraries hopefully for improved .mkv handling?
Many other "optional" libraries added.
Chromecast support may be working - please test.
vlc302-stretch.jpg
 Description   VLC 3.0.2 compiled from source and running as root in Dpup Stretch. Looks OK in terminal.
 Filesize   38.99 KB
 Viewed   712 Time(s)

vlc302-stretch.jpg

vlc302-stretch2.jpg
 Description   VLC 3.0.2 showing the Main GUI, About window and pinboard icon
 Filesize   55.89 KB
 Viewed   705 Time(s)

vlc302-stretch2.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England


Last edited by OscarTalks on Mon 21 May 2018, 17:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 491
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sun 25 Feb 2018, 16:53    Post subject:  

Thanks OscarTalks, on limited usage stretch vlc-3.0.0-i686-stretch.sfs is working fine on my laptop running radky's stretch 7.5. Only have some mp4's from my phone, but they play no issues. Also plays mp3 fine too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 07:22    Post subject: Compile VLC 3.x  

Hi Oscar
Congratulations for your succesful compiling of VLC 3.0. I tried my best with Xenial64 but failed. I solved most of the severe problems (significantly more with respect to version 2.2.8; even qt5). My last unbreachable step is a compiler stop due to undefined references in some avcodec modules which prevent the build of the libavcodec plugin.

/vlc-3.0.1/modules/codec/avcodec/encoder.c:1127: undefined reference to `avcodec_receive_packet'
recipe for target 'libavcodec_plugin.la' failed

Disable libavcodec might help but is not my intention.
How did you get it build ?
Many thanks in advance for a short hint.

Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 08:22    Post subject:  

Hello Christian,

I am only a student/experimenter so I could be wrong about any of these things.
I believe that building with libavcodec disabled may get the build to complete, but you will have lots of common codecs missing so you are right to dismiss this idea.

I believe that the issue is that VLC 3.x will only build against ffmpeg 3.x and VLC 2.x will only build against ffmpeg 2.x

Xenial has ffmpeg 2.x but Stretch has ffmpeg 3.x

One thing you could do in Xenial is create a build environment with upgraded ffmpeg and then include the newer libraries in a private location inside the VLC package with a wrapper script. This is what I had to do in Stretch. I compiled a downgraded ffmpeg in order to be able to compile VLC 2.2.8 but I did not have to do this for VLC 3.0.0 in Stretch.

Someone may know of a better method (such as a patch) and if so it would be good to hear about it.

There is one desktop computer I have in which my VLC 3.0.0 does not run, but this is fed into my large-screen TV as a monitor and I think this causes some sort of hardware incompatibility. The VLC 2.2.8 does run fine in the same hardware. In all my other test machines the VLC 3.0.0 is working OK.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2018, 16:21    Post subject: VLC 3.0.1 and Xenal64  

Thank you Oscar for your estimates. This is exactly what I did.
Remove ffmpeg and qt4 from Xenial64. Then I compiled the 3.4.2 ffmpeg which itself needed lots of updated libs as a kind of a domino effect ... to achieve your said build environment.

I used this vlc build experiment to investigate the usability of x264 (10bit) and x265 (10bit, 12bit). I do not think this is responsible for my failures but maybe I should build first with less experimental content.

Best regards

Christian

By the way, vlc3.0.0 assumed the wrong path of some of the qt5 QtGui-headers which are now located in QtWidgets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mayou

Joined: 17 Apr 2014
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar 2018, 09:39    Post subject: Bionic PPM shows VLC 3.0.1 available for download.  

Bionic PPM shows VLC 3.0.1 available for download. Not tried because Gnome-mplayer 1.0.9 included in Peebee's Puppy enough for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 17 Mar 2018, 13:56    Post subject:  

I have now compiled VLC 3.0.1 in DpupStretch (32bit)
I added matroska libraries to this build (libebml and libmatroska)
This creates an additional plugin for handling .mkv which is quite common these days.
I believe ffmpeg may do this as a fallback otherwise.
It still does not work on my large screen TV - something about "Negative sizes are not possible" so not sure what that means. OK on all other test machines though.
See first post.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sat 07 Apr 2018, 22:25    Post subject: chromecast
Subject description: not working
 

Hi Oscar
Thanks for the work on VLC 3.01, it's my favorite do anything media player. I just used the sfs in radky's Stretch 7.5 and is working well except for the Chromecast ability. When I open playback>renderer my Chromecast device does not show and it just has a greyed out "scanning" entry. I have the Windows version of VLC 3.01 on the same computer and Chromecast works there. Did I miss something in the LInux version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 08:41    Post subject:  

Hello WiZard,

When the configure script runs there are a number of messages and Chromecast was one that I did recall seeing.

It seems that compiling VLC with Chromecast support requires some build-time dependencies (protobuf) which are not present in Dpup Stretch so the build is automatically configured without it (it is optional).

I can add these dependencies in the build environment and then VLC builds with some extra plugins for Chromecast which do appear in the plugins list, but since I don't use Chromecast and don't have any devices I don't think I can test it. These plugins depend on the libprotobuf-lite runtime library so this has to be included in the package (which I have done).

I have re-uploaded with these changes if you wish to test and report back.
https://yadi.sk/d/nxx9TP2i3HcXB5?force_show=1

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 12:11    Post subject: Chromecast  

@Oscar
Loaded the new sfs and got the same result. I tried it from the menu and also from the terminal, no error messages. Not sure how we can troubleshoot it. Thanks for the quick response and giving it a try.

Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 16:24    Post subject:  

Another thought has struck me. I wonder if upnp is needed since it is a plug-in device?
The configure script again reports this as not present so disables automatically.
I can try adding dev libs and headers to the build environment and runtime libs to the package and see if it makes any difference.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 16:44    Post subject: chromecast  

Could be, I know that upnp is required if you want to connect to a dlna server. I'm willing to test anything you want to try.

Thanks
Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 17:48    Post subject:  

Hello Gary,

OK, I have re-uploaded.
Three more runtime libraries are now added and the plugin is built. It is found in the "services_discovery" section of the plugins.
UPnP should now be enabled. Don't know if it will help but worth a try.
https://yadi.sk/d/nxx9TP2i3HcXB5?force_show=1

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 100
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 18:45    Post subject: chromecast  

Still not showing any Chromecast device wish I could be of more help.

thanks
Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1826
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 09 Apr 2018, 17:13    Post subject:  

Since the Chromecast device is a piece of plug-in hardware I am wondering if it is actually recognised on the system.

It may be that you need to load a kernel module or something.

Does the device show up in Pup-SysInfo or HardInfo, for example?
Does it work with anything else in Puppy at all?
As a test, you might want to try SMplayer and see if Chromecast is recognised or if it works in that.
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
vlc-chromecast.jpg
 Description   Chromecast shows up in the Advanced Preferences
 Filesize   40.09 KB
 Viewed   1019 Time(s)

vlc-chromecast.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]