Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 16 Dec 2018, 20:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Which puppy has latest SM or FF for AMD Athlon XP 2000+ ?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 420

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 10:58    Post subject:  Which puppy has latest SM or FF for AMD Athlon XP 2000+ ?
Subject description: SM=SeaMonkey, FF=FireFox
 

Dear All,

Today I saw, gmail declared my SeaMonkey browser of Precise 571 obsolete. Sad
Which puppy offers latest SeaMonkey or FireFox for my AMD Athlon XP 2000+ machine?

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11394
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 13:26    Post subject:  

No Puppy version is going to have the very latest version of any browser.
Those things change too much.
Welcome to browser update hell!!!!!

Just update the browser.

May start running into needed dependency files that Precise does not have. Only way to know is just update and see what is needed.
GTK 3 may be something Precise will need.

There are some Seamonkey pet packages for Lucid Puppy here.
They should work in Precise.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1696
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 14:40    Post subject:  

The latest palemoon 27.8.0 (a fork of firefox 27.0 with all security bugfixes) works out of the box in precise. Download the x86 tar.bz2 package from:

https://linux.palemoon.org/download/mainline/

Untar it in /usr/lib and change the content of /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
exec /usr/lib/palemoon/palemoon "$@"


Then just click on the desktop's Browse button to start palemoon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 15:16    Post subject:  

double post
Last edited by Sailor Enceladus on Mon 05 Mar 2018, 15:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 15:16    Post subject:  

To add to what watchdog said, if you get "Illegal instruction" or "Segmentation Fault" when trying to run mainline Palemoon, try the SSE version here by Walter Dnes (The Athlon XP 2000+ might not have SSE2 instruction, I remember Athlon XP 1150 didn't):

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=984531#984531
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13174
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 19:04    Post subject:  

Hello snayak.

seamonkey-2.46, from the Mozilla repository, works out of the box on the
MyWolfe-0.21 Puppy.

The MyWolfe-0.21 Puppy is a few months older than the wary-5.5 Puppy,
which means that it is older than your PrecisePup-5.7.1. So Seamonkey-2.46
should work on your PrecisePup.

How-to:
-- Download
-- unpack outside your pupsave, in /mnt/home, but symlink the seamonkey
executable in /usr/bin.

I suggest this because:
-- the "ready-made" seamonkey packages offered on the seamonkey site are
portable apps;
-- unpacked, seamonkey-2.46 weighs 97 Mb, so it will occupy lots of space in
your pupsave;
-- IMO, it is not worth the trouble of integrating it inside the Puppy hierarchy,
since the performance will be the same.

~~~~~~~~~~~

For the record:
I tried the seamonkey-2.48 for LucidPup, as suggested by BigPup, but it
requires glic-2.12. MyWolfe-0.21 has glibc-2.10, so it doesn't work in this
context. BUT...

Open a console in your PrecisePup and type
Code:
ldd --version
If the number shown is 2.12 or higher, you should be good to go with Lucid's
seamonkey-2.48. That would upgrade your seamonkey to only two version
numbers behind the most recent seamonkey-2.49.2.

IHTH.BFN.

~~~~~~~~~~
PS -- Before anybody asks: Smile
XenialPup-7.0.6 is my main Pup. I have recently reinstalled the excellent
MyWolfe-0.21 (it was my main Pup for a number of years) on my box to compile
and test apps and libs on older Pups. The reasoning is that If an application or
library compiles and runs fine on MyWolfe-0.21, it should run on any Puppy
that came after it.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spiritwild


Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 19:49    Post subject:  

Never tried in your situation but you can spoof your browser id. I had to do it with iron to get yahoo to let me log in. I've only tried it with that browser though Here's some info I posted before:

search for "User-Agent Switcher for Chrome" extension.
Once installed it will let you spoof your browser.

I'm using one of the firefox listings provided on the extension.

Heres a list

http://www.useragentstring.com/pages/useragentstring.php?typ=Browser

you can edit the extention options to add whatever string you wish.


Edit: I found this as well https://www.howtogeek.com/113439/how-to-change-your-browsers-user-agent-without-installing-any-extensions/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 420

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2018, 06:53    Post subject:  

Thanks a lot guys.
I will check them.

Yes, my machine doesn't have SSE2.

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 420

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2018, 23:18    Post subject:  

Dear spiritwild,

Many thanks.

I changed value to true for general.useragent.enable_overrides. And I added value Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:51.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/51.0 SeaMonkey/2.48 for general.useragent.override.

Now gmail works!

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1086s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0150s) ][ GZIP on ]