Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 19 Dec 2018, 07:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
BROWSER sound issue
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 15:43    Post subject:  BROWSER sound issue  

Going nuts here...

I DO have sound in my laptop, i.e., i can play music thru deadbeef, whatever. However browsers stopped playing sound some time ago. YouTube videos will have video by no audio. When I open an mp3 or ogg file in my browser, the indicator moves (i.e., i can see the music is playing) but no sound. I've gotten rid of extra sound packages i added plus anything else lately added that i don't need, ripped out ~/.asoundrc, and restarted with addons- disabled, no go. This condition holds true of both PaleMoon and Chromium-browser. However, when i boot up running in RAM (pfix-ram option), all is copacetic. I'm not sure what other info to provide...

...thoughts???

_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1241
Location: Green Island baby!

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 21:10    Post subject:  

copacetic is a big word for me
Like a lot of duplicated words in english completely unnecessary

and God is non existent and is Dog reversed. Funny that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11398
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 21:37    Post subject:  

I will assume this is in Tahrpup 6.0.5.

In the browsers. Any add-ons that handle video or sound?
Flash Player maybe?

I run Palemoon with no add-ons at all and it works with no problems.
Videos play as html5

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 22:04    Post subject:  

Yeah, i tried running PaleMoon with add-ons disabled, no flash installed, but that doesn't change anything. Hmm....
_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1164

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 22:09    Post subject:  

I don't know if Palemoon is based on a late enough Firefox/mozilla to have the pulse audio problem.

It might be that you upgraded Palemoon to a version that needs pulse audio, that would explain why it works with pfix=ram but doesn't work with your save file.

You might try to install Fred's firefox with apulse audio (a pulse audio work around) built in. If that works, then it is probably the pulse audio problem.
Latest firefox with apulse
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=978010&search_id=963376836#978010

Has link to apulse pet
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=948558&search_id=963376836#948558
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1756
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 22:34    Post subject:  

Could be 1 or 2 things...

In alsa sound wizard click on the Adjust Levels and check that "Auto-Mut" is DISABLED.

Other thing to try is a Palemoon/Firefox Addon that plays YouTube. YouTube ALL HTML5 is what I use in Firefox 27, it might help in yours.

Just covering basics here

Regaards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11398
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 22:42    Post subject:  

Quote:
ripped out ~/.asoundrc


This person needed .asoundrc to fix his.
https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?p=66016#p66016

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 23:04    Post subject:  

Nyet....the altered firefox didn't work -- kept crashing for some reason, and the apulse pet didn't help PaleMoon. Besides, Chromium is exhibiting the same problem, so it's something else.
What is is supposed to "glue" the browser to the sound system? Isn't there some gstreamer plugin that is supposed to bring it all together? I have the VLC plugin for PaleMoon, and it's set to "ask to activate" -- maybe that is problematic?
I've also ditching my config files for sound and PaleMoon, as i recall....still no joy. It's got to be some sound issue, the sound program is not getting a signal from the any of the browsers. Ugh.

_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 23:18    Post subject:  

8Geee: tried the automute both ways. No dice. Also, the extension won't work in PaleMoon BUT my problem is not Flash vs. HTML5 -- i know that because i can't play an mp3/ogg file in the browser. I can "see" it playing, but no sound. Again, the problem also exists in Chromium -- though only recently. Wish i could remember what i might have changed or installed. (I've ripped a lot out lately trying to find the culprit.)

BigPup -- I had an .asoundrc file...but doesn't opening up alsamixer and choosing my SoundBlaster card do the same thing? Interestingly, music plays thru Deadbeef through either the SoundBlaster card OR the HD-Audio generic...DO let me know if i'm wrong about the .asoundrc file...thanks...

_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 23:27    Post subject:  

Actually -- the only way that audio files will even try "play" is through the VLC plugin. Disabling that plugin, the audio file (local mp3 or ogg file) can only be downloaded. (Yes, downloading a local file -- odd.) So -- this is not the default behavior, as PaleMoon "out of the box" on a clean install of Puppy will play the file. Have i lost/disabled some system-wide built-in sound program for the browsers?
_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 23:54    Post subject:  

Hmm -- still looking at this. Is my problem that VLC is not running at all???!?!
Code:
sh-4.3# vlc
VLC media player 2.1.6 Rincewind (revision 2.1.6-0-gea01d28)
ALSA lib conf.c:635:(get_char_skip_comments) Cannot access file ?xml version="1.0"?
ALSA lib conf.c:1686:(snd_config_load1) _toplevel_:1:21:No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:3406:(config_file_open) /root/.asoundrc may be old or corrupted: consider to remove or fix it
ALSA lib conf.c:3328:(snd_config_hooks_call) function snd_config_hook_load returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:3777:(snd_config_update_r) hooks failed, removing configuration
[0x9e4e150] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
[0x9edfe48] skins2 interface error: no suitable dialogs provider found (hint: compile the qt4 plugin, and make sure it is loaded properly)
[0x9edfe48] skins2 interface error: cannot instantiate qt4 dialogs provider
[0x9edfe48] [cli] lua interface: Listening on host "*console".
VLC media player 2.1.6 Rincewind
Command Line Interface initialized. Type `help' for help.

If this is the issue -- how to fix?

_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11398
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 04:21    Post subject:  

Quote:
BigPup -- I had an .asoundrc file...but doesn't opening up alsamixer and choosing my SoundBlaster card do the same thing? Interestingly, music plays thru Deadbeef through either the SoundBlaster card OR the HD-Audio generic...DO let me know if i'm wrong about the .asoundrc file...thanks...


Again, This person needed .asoundrc to fix his.
https://forum.palemoon.org/viewtopic.php?p=66016#p66016

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 639
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 12:39    Post subject:  

Thanks, Bigpup. I made a new .asoundrc file with his code and rebooted, figuring i might have to change the 1s in the file to 2s and try a second time, as my SB card is #2...however, now PM is totally unstable, as well as VLC. Rolling Eyes

I've already put several hours into this, more than a custom reinstall requires. At this point i'll mothball my current pupsave folder, copy my most recent backup folder in its place, and get any files i need from the now-unstable pupsave. Most everything of importance is on another partition for safety anyway and any dressings i want will be in my old .config file.

Sigh -- i always like to know what went wrong and how to fix it but there's a point....thanks for your time and thoughts, everybody.

_________________
"God is love" - I John 4:12
Tahrpup 6.0.5 & XenialPup 7.5
(A/V Linux for live digital synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0628s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0149s) ][ GZIP on ]