Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 17 Dec 2018, 03:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Scheduled tasks stops after suspending the machine (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 19:22    Post subject:  Scheduled tasks stops after suspending the machine (Solved)  

I have a problem. I have a few tasks scheduled via Pschedule which run every session (on the 15th and 45 minute of every hour) continuously. I notice that these tasks are interrupted (stop) when awakening my laptop after suspending to RAM. Why is this happening and how can I get scheduled tasks to resume?
Last edited by nic007 on Wed 28 Feb 2018, 21:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11396
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 19:31    Post subject:  

What Puppy version??????
What version of Pschedule?????

Info on what exactly is scheduled to run may help?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5211
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 20:56    Post subject:  

If you type in terminal
Code:
 crontag -l


The letter l for list

https://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/12/crontab-command/

You will see what jobs are scheduled

pschedule can change them.

_______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 13175
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 23:07    Post subject:  

Hi nic007.

To me that is perfectly logical. It corresponds to the definition:
http://www.dictionary.com/browse/suspend
All computer processes should stop for the duration.

Maybe some programs confuse suspend with stop? (Older programs maybe, written
when the suspend capacity did not exist on computers?)

Whatever the case, is it possible to write a "resume" script, that the Puppy will run
when coming out of suspension?

Just a thought. BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2018, 00:27    Post subject:  

Shouldn't the suspend resume script start all services again?
Why is it not starting crond?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11396
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2018, 16:00    Post subject:  

Need some info:
What Puppy version??????
What version of Pschedule?????

Info on what exactly is scheduled to run may help?

Good luck guessing at what is happening!!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1103
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2018, 18:19    Post subject:  

Most pups use /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh to control the suspend-to-ram operation. If you look around line 44 in that file you should see
Code:
# process at recovery from suspend
Anything after that is processed on waking from suspend. I don't run it much any more but when I had a crond based gvfs and cache cleaner running I had the following lines in there:
Code:
if [ -x /etc/init.d/crond ] ; then
   /etc/init.d/crond restart
fi
to kickstart crond. While you are in there, you could put in the missing " at the end of the last line (after "$LOCKFILE) and unless you are running a truly ancient pup/kernel the following lines could be commented out as ehci_hcd is internal to most recent kernels:
Code:
rmmod ehci_hcd
modprobe ehci_hcd

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64, LxPupBionic, upupbb and upupcc for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2698
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Wed 28 Feb 2018, 21:22    Post subject:  

Hi Marv. That solved the problem (I just had to change the file location of crond). Thanks to all who responded.
PS. I think this should be added to the suspend script in future puppys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0651s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]