Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 11 Dec 2018, 05:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 44 of 51 [763 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 49, 50, 51 Next
Author Message
GeraSats


Joined: 24 Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Location: Ukraine, Donbass

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2018, 13:27    Post subject:  

shelezyaka wrote:
GeraSats wrote:

Update the package database. Install gxneur

Не .... ну мог бы и позвонить просто ...
Thanks, I'll try.
Да вот как-то закрутился Embarassed Sorry....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11367
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Feb 2018, 14:13    Post subject:  

Xenialpup64 7.5
Frugal with save folder.

Cpu-frequency scaling tool
set to use the intel_pstate scaling driver.

This driver only has powersave or performance governors.
That is by design, so normal.

It defaults to performance.
If changed to powersave.
The change is shown as being made.
However it does not actually change.

The change is suppose to be recorded in /etc/init.d/wcpufreq

wcpufreq file has only this in it
Code:
#!/bin/busybox ash

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ledster

Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2018, 12:39    Post subject:
Subject description: xenialpup64 7.5 screen too dim
 

HP 15bs162sa laptop, Intel i5-8250U quad core with Intel UHD graphics 620 chip built in, 4 Gb ddr4 memory, 1Tb hard disk, UEFI, Intel radio chip 3168NGW (AC3168).

Still sorting out my new laptop (running xenialpup64 7.5, frugal with save folder, usbstick).
Wireless and printing sorted, now it's the graphics turn.
The screen is rather dim and the keyboard keys for controlling brightness do not work. Windows 10 has complete control using the "Intel UHD Graphics Control Panel". Intel say the chip is supported on linux but they do not themselves supply a driver and I lost my way trying to follow there links for someone that does.
I did find files called "brightness" , "max_brightness" and "actual_brightness" in /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/. The brightness" file has the number 300 in it (and nothing else) and the file called "max_brightness" has 1500 in it. So tried changing the 300 to 500. Instant success! BUT it is not persistent and reverts to 300 on next restart.
So now I know it's possible to change the brightness, can anyone tell me how I should be doing it. I'm guessing there must be a program somewhere that can, but where?

Another minor problem I have is that the cpu temperature icon always says 27 degrees and only shows cpu frequencies when clicked. Haven't got anywhere with that yet.

All help/advice gratefully received!

Ledster
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5329
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 02:27    Post subject:  

If you try the following syntax does it brighten the screen?

echo 500 > /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/brightness

If so, you could put that command into a /root/Startup script and it should set the brightness each time you boot or restart the X server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11367
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 03:15    Post subject:  

Go to menu->setup->Screen/Graphics wizard->monitor gamma calibration
In each color entry adjust equally
Negative number - to lower brightness
Positive number - to increase brightness.
Apply
exit
After closing program:
Select Yes to save current configuration.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ledster

Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Devon, England

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 08:19    Post subject:  

@Greengeek: It works.
I have made several files that write different numbers to "brightness" (300,500, 600, 700, 800). Just click on the files to vary the brightness - and putting the best one in startup works. Many thanks!

@bigpup: Also works - but colours look a little washed out. Sticking to Greengeek's idea.

Thanks for the help folks - best forum I've come across.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1860
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 11:31    Post subject:  

it took me a lot of trawling to resolve the brightness control on my lenovo x230, I also found how to get cpu frequency control

see the last 2 arguments on the end of my grub

Code:
  kernel /xenial64_7.5/vmlinuz   psubdir=xenial64_7.5 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck intel_pstate=disable acpi_osi="!Windows 2012"


Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yuan

Joined: 07 Jan 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 11:41    Post subject: Wine64 installation problems  

The installation of wine64-3.1_v4.1.pet, the following problems。
Code:
sh-4.3# winecfg
Wine cannot find the ncurses library (libncurses.so.5).
Wine cannot find the FreeType font library.  To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
0009:err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winex11.drv": libXext.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
0009:err:user:load_desktop_driver failed to load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winex11.drv"
0009:err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"l3codeca.acm": libmpg123.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
sh-4.3#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
headfound


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 373
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 15:42    Post subject:  

Greengeek and Ledster
I had the same problem with adjusting the brightness on my laptop and using your advice I now have three files to adjust my brightness at a click. Thanks!

_________________
Download a better Computer Smile
Puppy Linux Song
www.letterbyletter.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5329
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 16:12    Post subject:  

headfound wrote:
I had the same problem with adjusting the brightness on my laptop and using your advice I now have three files to adjust my brightness at a click. Thanks!
Great, glad to hear that worked.

Some other users will find that their machines do not use "intel" backlight and will need a different script - the following one might work for some users:
Code:
echo 5 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness


However - the actual number which represents max brightness will be different for different hardware. On many machines it is possible to discover what value your machine sees as the max brightness level by running the following code:
Code:
 cat /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/max_brightness


On my machine I also used a different method - I used "xbacklight" and put a couple of icons in the system tray to increase or decrease backlight intensity as required (see pic below). The good thing about xbacklight is that it allows you to increment and decrement the brightness rather than setting an absolute value. This means you can bind an "increment" script and a "decrement" script to the keyboard keys that should normally have these functions.

Hopefully xbacklight will be available in the xenial repos.
xbacklight_controls.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.76 KB
 Viewed   902 Time(s)

xbacklight_controls.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
witekjeden

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 22:05    Post subject:  

After installation XFCE cant replace Jwm. Wmswitcher not working.
Code:
root# wmswitcher
woops, unsupported
root#

How to switch on Xfce or other window manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11367
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2018, 02:19    Post subject:  

Where did you get a 64bit version of XFCE?

Well, I got it to work for me by doing this:
In Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
Searched for xfce.
Downloaded and installed xfce4_4.12.2 meta-package
It also downloaded and installed a bunch of xfce support and added files/packages.
So, it seems to have gotten the xfce needed files/packages.

Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit.

Installed this pet of wmswitcher and ran it from the menu>Desktop> WMswitcher

Note:
May have to restart graphical server to get wmswitcher to work.
Also, PPM still lists other added programs, specific to xfce, you can download.
wmswitcher-0.18.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  wmswitcher-0.18.pet 
Filesize  18.5 KB 
Downloaded  137 Time(s) 

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2834
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2018, 09:09    Post subject:  

Hi bigpup,

Thanks for finding the pet. I've unsuccessfully looked for one several times. And thanks for the information regarding how to obtain the xfce window manager.

bigpup: "Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit. "

I'm not sure that's necessary. Other than some icons and a /usr/share/applications/ desktop file, the pet consists of a bash script: /usr/sbin/wmswitcher. I didn't see any call to a binary or a library, 32-bit or 64-bit. anywhere in the script.

The section relating to changing to xfce reads:

#xfce4 changer #ditto icewm comment
XFCE(){
if [ -f $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0 ];then mv -f $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0 $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0.bak
fi
restartwm startxfce4
[ "$CURRENTWM" = "openbox" ]&& killall fbpanel
[[ "$CURRENTWM" = "startxfce4" || "$CURRENTWM" = "startfluxbox" || "$CURRENTWM" = "startkde" ]]&& killall X
}

As I always run wine, among the first things I do is install the 32-bit libraries. So I have no current way of checking. I'll try to remember to do so the next time I set up a 64-bit Puppy.

mikesLr

p.s. If you add the Whisker Menu plugin, you may find this information of value to "Puppifying" its structure. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=961426#961426
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
witekjeden

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2018, 19:17    Post subject:  

Thanks for reply. Yes, it was Xfce from PPM. The Xenialpup64 including wmswitcher 19 version. But now i guess a problem was my pendrive crashes because on the next one the wmswitcher starts works ok. Some of my poor pendrives crashes after format 2 partitions: fat32 for system and ext2 (or f2fs) for pupsave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11367
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2018, 19:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
bigpup: "Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit. "

I'm not sure that's necessary. Other than some icons and a /usr/share/applications/ desktop file, the pet consists of a bash script: /usr/sbin/wmswitcher. I didn't see any call to a binary or a library, 32-bit or 64-bit. anywhere in the script.

OK!
Quote:
first things I do is install the 32-bit libraries

I do also. Just seems to eliminate problems with installing some of the pets I like to install.

I am still unclear on what makes a program 32bit or 64 bit with Puppy.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 44 of 51 [763 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, ..., 49, 50, 51 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1153s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0560s) ][ GZIP on ]