Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Sep 2018, 23:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Unable to print to a shared printer on Xenial64
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1234
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 04:25    Post subject:  Unable to print to a shared printer on Xenial64  

I have a problem connecting to a printer on my home network.

The printer is a Samsung that was previously connected to Tahr32 and working fine. My other computers automatically saw that printer in CUPS and could use it.

Now I have Xenial64 on the PC attached to the printer and I cannot connect to that printer via CUPS.

The tahr version of cups was about 1.4ish I think? Now Xenial uses 2.1.3 which has some network issue I believe. Probably a security "feature". Not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1241
Location: Green Island baby!

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 05:29    Post subject:  

Is cups running normally?
Can you see the printer in cups.
Check the defaults . My browser was set to "auto " which did not work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1234
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 05:47    Post subject:  

Quote:

Is cups running normally?
Can you see the printer in cups.
Check the defaults . My browser was set to "auto " which did not work


Yes, CUPS is running normally.

I can see the printer on the server, not on any other PCs on the network.

What do you mean your browser was set to "auto"?

I have followed the instructions for setting up the P910nd print server. It works ok for Xen64 to Xen64, but my wife's older PC (that I'm not allowed to change, again) does not play.

When I click print test page in CUPS on that PC, it comes up with

Code:
Unsupported format 'application/vnd.cups-banner'!


Not sure what that means, or why it is there.

The PC with the error is running Carolina with upgraded CUPS to 1.4.8 .

Note, this PC printed perfectly to earlier CUPS on the print server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 842

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 09:57    Post subject:  

Thoughts:

Firewall is OFF?
PC's are set to use port 9100 RAW?
Is there a 64 v 32 bitness issue?
Is your village afflicted with voodoo or gremlins?

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
matchpoint

Joined: 26 Jan 2018
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 10:22    Post subject:  

Is the new build using the old Ghostscript?

These are a few other mentions that popped up....

Unsupported format 'application/vnd.cups-raw'!

Maybe clear your /var/cache/cups directory?

foomatic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1241
Location: Green Island baby!

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 16:00    Post subject:  

Code:
Unsupported format 'application/vnd.cups-banner'!


The ppd printer file is wrong reinstall cups or update the ppd file

The defaults are Menu->Setup->Puppy Apps Defaults

Last edited by april on Mon 19 Feb 2018, 16:48; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4148
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 20:28    Post subject:  

Just a thought, Don....and a query?

You haven't by any chance installed Chrome on there, have you.....as a .deb package? Because if you have, it'll muck up all kinds of things, and give you permissions problems throughout Pup.

Debian/Ubuntu are multi-user systems,of course, and they adjust everything for a '/home' directory.....which Pup doesn't have. Unfortunately, CUPS is often one of the victims of this.

You can find instructions for fixing this at the top of post #1 of my Chrome thread, here:-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107301


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1234
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Feb 2018, 22:30    Post subject:  

Chrome is on the server. I'll check it out when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1234
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 21 Feb 2018, 08:26    Post subject:  

Annoyingly I had a look at the chrome issue that you suggested Mike, but I can't even get to see the permissions of initrd/pup_rw

Right click, permissions, nothing happens.

You might be right, you might be wrong, but I can't tell.

Frustrating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0460s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]