Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 May 2018, 05:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Abiword bug
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 867

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 04:25    Post subject:  Abiword bug
Subject description: 'Save as rtf /doc' corruption
 

Year upon year, Abiword still has this bug. Currently V 3.1

Sometimes when you save an rtf or doc,(in textmaker) then load it up in Abiword you get this result.
If you drag the mouse across you can actually read the text, but if you try to save the file again it is just as corrupted.
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   34.69 KB
 Viewed   436 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Last edited by Smithy on Thu 01 Mar 2018, 00:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2323

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 07:30    Post subject:  

STILL !!!

I tried abiword some years back but it corrupted or simply crashed too often.

I switched over to installing/using LibreOffice; Or a gnumeric and Scribus pair for my needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1518
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 12:57    Post subject:  

I find ABI Word to be most useful as a batch converter from command line. I had way too many issues to regularly use it as a word processor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jan 2018, 12:28    Post subject:  

One way that works is to use the Windows version of an older edition of Abiword under Wine. I've just installed Abiword 2.8.6 with Winetricks, but it also works to download an exe file of something like Abiword 2.4.5 and simply click on it with the Wine file manager to install it. You can then launch it by clicking on the Abiword.exe file, which will be in this subdirectory;

c:/Program Files/AbiSuite2/AbiWord/bin/

One drawback of doing it this way is that Abiword won't download additional dictionaries for some reason, so if you're a Brit you're stuck with American English and the spellings are often different (-ise / -ize etc.). I find this liveable with though.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Slackware64 14.2, VLocity 7.2 Final, Salix 14.2, Vector 7.2 Light (32-bit), OpenSUSE 42 Li-f-e, Stella 6.8 and Precise 5.7.1 Large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 867

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 17:19    Post subject:  

Thanks for tips guys.
Good idea to use the rendering engine Slavvo!
I did try wine versions and same problem with RTF.

Then I tried the same RTF in Scrivener, and blow me same result.
It shows up with the text blacked out until highlighted.

I've been using textmaker for yonks because it's snappy and good and everything is saved with that.
And it is so perfect with puppies over those big lumbering grey java giants, imo.

So what I am thinking is that when textmaker saves an RTF, sometimes Abiword (and Scrivener) can't quite understand it.

So possibly I am being a bit harsh on Abiword and possibly if RTF files had been written and saved in Abiword then the problem might not be there.

But with all the bug reports over time, I always used to remove it straight away!
So that begs the question. Is textmaker faithful to RTF?
I haven't had a bum steer from opening up a textmaker RTF in windows..ever.
Sometimes the formatting is a bit off though, and needs a tweak, and vice versa sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12192
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 26 Feb 2018, 23:21    Post subject:  

Hi, Smithy.

Maybe you noticed this as well: abiword offers two types of rtf format for saving a text,
old and new. Which one does it import? Just a thought.

In my experience, TED is the editor to use on Linux if you are serious about RTF.
https://www.nllgg.nl/Ted. It comes with a couple of converters in
/usr/share/Ted/examples; or you can save your writing directly in txt, epub, html, etc.,
as well as RTF.

I just tested it, and Abiword has no problem taking in an RTF document created by
Ted. This doc has a table and a picture.

IHTH. BFN.
old-and-new-rtf-in-abiword.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   161.46 KB
 Viewed   259 Time(s)

old-and-new-rtf-in-abiword.jpg


_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Tue 27 Feb 2018, 06:54    Post subject:  

Thanks for this musher, I'm going to give Ted a try soon.
_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 Beta, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Slackware64 14.2, VLocity 7.2 Final, Salix 14.2, Vector 7.2 Light (32-bit), OpenSUSE 42 Li-f-e, Stella 6.8 and Precise 5.7.1 Large.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 867

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 00:34    Post subject:  

Hi Musher, I did use ted a long time ago, but green dome/v2013's excellent wines will do that job very well, if needed.

I do have a solution, I just remove Abiword, but just in case anyone else gets flumoxed by the niggle..

I've included one of the faulty ones, if anyone wants to open it up in a new (or old) puppy with abiword installed (rename the .gz to .rtf). I ran it through http://www.cryptam.com and it said clean.

I used to think it was my graphics card lol.

It's just a head's up on an occasional niggly problem. It happens with .doc as well and like it or not, the world deals with these types of files.


Possibly Libre Office and the other big ones might have a better implementation than textmaker, not really tried them much.

It's a pity, because Abiword printing is now spot on (used to be like a daisy wheel output back in the day, draft ultracrap) and it looks half decent, is a nice size for puppy.
And when I try a new puppy, boom, that b*st*rd bug is ever present Smile
abiword bug test.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  abiword bug test.gz 
Filesize  94.66 KB 
Downloaded  36 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12192
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 01:40    Post subject:  

Hi Smithy.

> I do have a solution, I just remove Abiword,
Wow. Drastic! And if the man starts limping, you'll chop his limping leg, too !!!! Laughing

Back on subject: according to Abiword policy, odd versions of Abiword are beta, and
even-numbered ones are official. (This I know from member "Médor" on the French
side of the forum.) What version are you using?

But quality was always iffy with Abiword: it's only good for short letters, and it
comes with a decent format converter. That's about it, IMO.

About docx complex format rendering, my experience is that OpenOffice does a
better job of it than LibreOffice.

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10426
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 12:51    Post subject:  

There is an Abiword V3.0.2
Suppose to have a lot of bug fixes.
https://www.abisource.com/downloads/abiword/3.0.2/source/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1759
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 15:37    Post subject:  

I tried compiling Abiword 3.0.2 some months ago but found that there was a problem with it.
Even the cursor did not look right and the performance was bad with sluggish key entries.
So they may have fixed some bugs but introduced some others.
I suspect this issue may be related to building for GTK2.
I believe other Puppy compilers had similar experiences with it.
If anyone did get this fixed and working it would be nice to hear about it.

Abiword is GTK3 by default but you can configure the build for GTK2. Perhaps something got overlooked and the developers didn't verify that everything was still OK for GTK2.

It may be possible to build for GTK3 and include the libs or something, but this is not ideal for Puppy.

In the end I just stuck with Abiword 3.0.1 as it builds for GTK2 using the same config as the one I was using for 3.0.2 and the finished build looks and runs OK for the tasks I have needed to do with it. Builds are included in my remasters of Stretch, Wheezy and Slacko 5.7

EDIT:-
As a test and out of curiosity I installed Abiword 3.0.2 in Stretch via PPM.
This is the Debian package which drags in a lot of dependencies including GTK3, in fact 28 packages at a total size of 53MB.

Smithy's test .rtf file still does NOT display correctly in it.
Looks OK in OpenOffice Writer though.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4998
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 14:18    Post subject:  

If you create an rtf file in Abiword, and also an identical file (just with different name) in Textmaker, then examine them in a text editor they seem to use very different formats.

I think musher hit the nail on the head in mentioning that the rtf format changed over time. I consider both Abiword and Textmaker to have incorrect implementations of the RTF spec.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1518
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 00:35    Post subject:  

Hi Guys:

ABI Word has had many flaws over the years, including hard shutdown without notice. That was the final nail in the coffin for me. You will notice, BarryK recently moved to LibreOffice, which I also find the most compatible with MS Word and pretty stable. Open Office may also be a good choice.

I won't argue with those looking at the code, but I believe .rtf has been a generic standard across platforms for years. Perhaps one or both got their coding wrong?

Anyway, my 2 cents is to not use ABI word for any significant documents. As some of you already know, I am sometimes working with documents over 50 pages long; and just don't trust ABI after multiple mishaps in the past....

Kind regards,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4998
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 05:28    Post subject:  

Does anybody have any experience with Focuswriter as an rtf editor?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 867

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 13:19    Post subject:  

Nice find greengeek, I am giving it a try now.
It installed ok from puppy package manager.

Needed a few adjustments in preferences to get the standard toolbars on the top, bold, justify, alignment, etc, looks really good,

BUT I can't find a way to have the fonts available. What if one wants to change font sizes and font as you write?
And a ruler, can't find a ruler. Also print preview seems to be missing. It says version 1.6.6.
Needless to say, loading up the bug test rtf causes focuswriter to close.

It's certainly got a nice look to it though. Not tried printing, but definitely needs the print preview.

Musher, Abiword was 3.01 I was trying, the one in Stretch and Artful,
I would actually give the limping man a piggyback, but if a grizzly was chasing us, he might have to hang around shouting loudly or singing some opera to do the animal's head in, whilst I got a massive tree branch or some honey and berries or something.

But as OscarTalks seems to indicate, there are problems even in the latest..Slavvo, that sounds lousy that it just shut down.. especially if you were in the middle of writing something!

EDIT: I finally got a Scrivener package to function ok. It's in Documents subforum if anyone wants to give it a try.
Focuswriter.png
 Description   
 Filesize   183.92 KB
 Viewed   75 Time(s)

Focuswriter.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0708s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]