Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Jan 2018, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
USB-Mouse not working in Slacko 6.3 after HD install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 7 [101 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 11:31    Post subject:  USB-Mouse not working in Slacko 6.3 after HD install  

I installed slacko-6.3.0 right now. When I booted Puppy from usb, the wireless and the wired usb mouses were working. But now, booting from hard disc, the wireless and the wired usb mouses are not working.

Code:

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Section "Input Device"
   Identifier   "Mouse0"
   Driver   "mouse"
   Option   "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option   "Protocol" "IMPS/2" #mouse0protocol
   #Option   "Emulate3Buttons"
   #Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
   Option   "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection


I can't run a terminal without any mouse, there is only Ctrl+Alt+F2 working, but Ctrl+Alt+F7 is not working, I do not come back to GUI. I didn't find a shortcut for running a terminal.

I searched a lot, that's all I got, I'm quite new to Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9885
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 11:52    Post subject:  

Could just be a bad install.

Delete the install of Slacko from the hard drive and try it again.

If this is a frugal install, on a hard drive partition formatted in Fat 32 or ntfs and Windows uses it.
Defrag the partition, using Windows defrag program, before installing Slacko.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 12:16    Post subject:  

There was a win xp on it, but I made it completely new:
/dev/sda3 fat 32 Puppy
/dev/sda1 unformated OS2
/dev/sda2
/dev/sda5 ext4 DATA
/dev/sda6 swap

I don't have any win program anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 12:50    Post subject:  

rimatheou wrote:
I can't run a terminal without any mouse, there is only Ctrl+Alt+F2 working, but Ctrl+Alt+F7 is not working, I do not come back to GUI.

Puppy usually has 3 TTY's, accessible through Ctrl+Alt+F1/F2/F3, respectively. Ctrl+Alt+F4 should bring you back to your X session.

No idea about the mouse; maybe bigpup is right and it's just a bad install. If you want to try fixing it rather than re-installing (don't ask me how, though), maybe you could use mouse keys as a temporary solution to get a working mouse pointer, if your keyboard has a number pad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 21:32    Post subject:  

I have a Lenovo W510 laptop. When I use the BIOS settings to disable the touchpad I also loose the mouse on some Puppies like Easy and Quirky. This also happens with those two Puppies if I choose to disable the touchpad with the initial setup after install. Could this be the situation with you as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9885
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 12:05    Post subject:  

The latest Slacko release is version 6.3.2.
You need to be using the latest version.

Also, just try plugging into a different USB port.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 16:41    Post subject:  

So far I can say that it was not a bad install, I reinstalled Puppy and the problem is still there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9885
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 18:21    Post subject:  

Give use some specific details on how you are doing the install.
Do what?
See what?
Frugal or full?
What boot loader?
Etc......

We only know what you tell use, so give details!!

If it worked OK running from a USB, the install to the hard drive should also. All you are doing is changing the storage device,
If you did do the install correctly. Question

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 22:46    Post subject:  

Does Slacko 6.3 have xorgwizard? If so, boot pfix=nox, run xorgwizard to sort out the mouse situation, then run xwin to run X.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 04:39    Post subject:  

I downloaded Slacko Puppy 6.3 from this site:
http://puppylinux.org/main/Download%20Latest%20Release.htm

I've installed Puppy that way:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54566

This is a frugal installation. The bootloader is Grub4DOS.

While booting I get this message:
Code:
The file /etc/mousebuttons has been created, with content "5".


Here http://slacko.eezy.xyz/download.php I can download the latest version, but it is an uefi file and I don't have UEFI. I have a JVC Mobile Mini Note PC, Pentium 3, 384 MB RAM.

Slacko 6.3.0 has xorgwizard. But please tell me, how do I boot pfix=nox.[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 693

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 06:58    Post subject:  

With Grub4Dos I think if you press the 'e' key while the boot menu item is highlighted it lets you edit the menu entry.

Usually there is a parameter on the "kernel" line that says "pfix=fsck". Change it to "pfix=nox" then boot it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9885
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 09:42    Post subject:  

Try using the latest version of Slacko 6.3.2
Get it from here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-slacko-6.3.2/

Uefi in the name of the Puppy version just indicates it also has the needed stuff for booting on a UEFI bios computer.
It will still work OK on a old style regular bios computer.
The UEFI stuff is just not used.

Quote:
While booting I get this message:
Code:
The file /etc/mousebuttons has been created, with content "5".

That is not something usually shown. In fact I have never seen that message on any Puppy boot up.

Are you using the save from the USB install for the hard drive install?
If yes.
Maybe some USB specific location settings are saved in this save and those locations change when booted from the hard drive.
Try booting using the option
Code:
pfix=ram

This keeps the save from being used.

Note:
If Slacko is the only Puppy on the hard drive.
Grub4dos usually makes a boot entry in the advanced menu for booting not using the save.


The link you posted on how you did the install indicates you did a manual frugal install to the hard drive. I am wondering if you got all the needed files in to the frugal hard drive install.
You are going to need everything that is in the Slacko iso.
One specific file is the zdrv sfs.

About settings in the xorg.conf
The ones you posted earlier are the same ones I have in my xorg.conf.
My USB mouse works OK.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rimatheou

Joined: 09 Dec 2017
Posts: 46
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 12:37    Post subject:  

When I switch fsck to nox, the desktop-environement is not starting. I have a root automatic login (root login on 'tty1') and then I have #. Sorry, I don't know how to start the desktop on command line.

Quote:
Are you using the save from the USB install for the hard drive install?


Don't know, when I boot from USB, I usualy exit Puppy without saving.

Now, I copied slacko-6.3.2-uefi.iso to USB (dd). The problem is that I can't boot from this USB, because Puppy slacko 6.3.0 is still in the boot menu and no slacko 6.3.2 entry. I think I have to edit the boot menu entry, but I don't know how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1699
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 13:26    Post subject:  

xorgwizard to go to setup

xwin to start desktop

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9885
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 18:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
ow, I copied slacko-6.3.2-uefi.iso to USB (dd). The problem is that I can't boot from this USB, because Puppy slacko 6.3.0 is still in the boot menu and no slacko 6.3.2 entry. I think I have to edit the boot menu entry, but I don't know how.

Slacko 6.3.2 and Slacko 6.3.0 are both on the USB drive?????

I install Grub4dos boot loader to USB drives with more than one Puppy on them.

If it will still boot to Slacko 6.3.0
Run Grub4dos bootloader config.
Select the usb drive to install to.
Check only search within this device.
No other settings.
At each of the other setup screens just use the default by hitting OK.

Now Grub4dos should be on the usb drive and have a boot menu with both Slacko's listed.
The USB drive should boot to this Grub4dos menu.

If Grub4dos is setup to boot Slacko 6.3.0 from the hard drive and that is the menu you are talking about.
The Slacko 6.3.2 on the USB should boot by selecting the USB as the boot device in the computer bios or by pressing F8 or F12 to get a boot device options menu and select USB.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 [101 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0764s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]