Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Jan 2018, 03:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Boot up search for Tahr puppy files takes too long
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 03:21    Post subject:  

This Dell Precision 390 Core Two machine has a plain BIOS, so unless there is a very compelling reason, I wish you would drop references to EFI or UEFI. To my knowledge I have never owned a EFI or UEFI computer, so I don't have a clue what you're talking about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 336
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 04:52    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
This Dell Precision 390 Core Two machine has a plain BIOS, so unless there is a very compelling reason, I wish you would drop references to EFI or UEFI. To my knowledge I have never owned a EFI or UEFI computer, so I don't have a clue what you're talking about.
Well, that is how I know grub2, on efi. At least we know now you have a plain legacy bios.
Because of the size of your hard disc, I think - not sure if there is any other possibility - that you will need grub2 to be able to boot from your hard disc without CD required and with more control.
Grub2 on plain legacy bios, with mbr is out of my experience, sorry. I used grub4dos, which worked simple and good for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 06:12    Post subject:  

Boot from GPT hard disk in Legacy BIOS mode
https://www.aioboot.com/en/gpt-legacy/

Legacy BIOS Issues with GPT
http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/bios.html

EDIT: I extracted AIO Boot on an ext3 GPT partition, but this action produced empty directories. The downloaded executable (AIO_Boot_Extractor.exe) is 42.3 MB in size; the extracted output directory is 488 kB in size. I'm extracting an extractor, how confusing. I really don't know what this executable is doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 336
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 10:12    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
Boot from GPT hard disk in Legacy BIOS mode
https://www.aioboot.com/en/gpt-legacy/

Legacy BIOS Issues with GPT
http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/bios.html

EDIT: I extracted AIO Boot on an ext3 GPT partition, but this action produced empty directories. The downloaded executable (AIO_Boot_Extractor.exe) is 42.3 MB in size; the extracted output directory is 488 kB in size. I'm extracting an extractor, how confusing. I really don't know what this executable is doing.
As I understand it, you should run AIO_Boot_extractor.exe in windows. It is an installer package in windows.
Do you have windows on your machine? From the above, I understand you do not.

I am on thin ice here, but maybe this is something to read/try?
https://superuser.com/questions/903112/grub2-install-this-gpt-partition-label-contains-no-bios-boot-partition/1170352
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 23:12    Post subject:  

Since the Vietnamese developer says AIO Boot works with Linux, perhaps I should extract in Windows, then move extracted files to Linux partition (or some specially created fat32 partition on the target hard drive). But if the executable is inserting code into the OS, that course of action is not feasible. If you check the step procedure, there's no indication that anything has actually been installed by running the AIO Boot Extractor executable, since user still has to create a small boot partition and run AIOCreator.exe after the initial extraction. Of course, I also have the advantage of seeing the extracted directories in making this assessment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 336
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 08 Dec 2017, 13:34    Post subject:  

Can you report how it goes with AIO Boot, nubc? This is interesting.
I hope you are right about the assumption AIOCreator not actually installing anything.
Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0589s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]