Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Jan 2018, 00:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
XBMC or Kodi? Puppy Linux version 3.01
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
souleau


Joined: 23 Oct 2016
Posts: 115

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 06:55    Post subject:  

Forget about XBMC or Kodi running on a system with 256MB RAM, and playing youtube videos over the Internet will be an issue as well.

Your best bet, as far as I can asses, is to use youtube-dl to download the videos you want to see, and then watch them in mp4 format from the harddrive.

You may want to look at GTKplayYT:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=100401
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3316
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 11:25    Post subject:  

Hi, fatguy.

AFAIK, Ally's from the UK.....same as me. So; British English, I reckon.

32-bit P4? Yeah; that'll run Tahrpup 6.05, all right, but that's about all it will do. Your problem's gonna be that miniscule 256 MB RAM. You can get stuff done with it, but you'll do quite a bit of 'swapping'.....

You do have a swap file/partition set up, I trust? Tahr's recommended minimum is 512 MB, so.....

I've got a 15 yr old, 32-bit, Dell Inspiron 1100 lappie. Still going strong. Originally came with a Celly, 128 MB RAM, and a minute 20 GB HDD. After serious upgrading, it now sports a 'proper' P4, 2 GB RAM, and a 64 GB SSD. Plus a pair of SanDisk 128 GB 'Ultra Fit' nano USB drives as permanent 'external storage'.

Nowt wrong with the P4. That'll run forever. A bit more RAM would help, though; if you could make that up to a gig, you'd be laughing. There's not much call for DDR1 these days, so prices should be reasonable.....that's if you can find any.

And although Intel developed and marketed the P4 on the basis of being good at multimedia stuff, that was back in the days when even video encoding was very much simpler than it is now. The 32-bit P4s are pretty rubbish with modern video, TBH, unless you set 'em to a very low frame-rate, etc. The later 64-bit versions added not only SSE3s, but usually hyper-threading, too.....made a single core behave like a dual. And as for streaming? Nah, forget it. They just don't have the 'grunt' to be able to process the stuff fast enough. Souleau's suggestion about downloading then playing back from the hard drive makes an awful lot of sense with your specs.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fatguy


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 19:18    Post subject:  

Thanks for the input guys.

I have an ati pci video card I found cheap on ebay for the system along with the 2 gigs ram max there as well.


After bills are covered I want to get those and throw em in, which will kinda bring it up to speed alone.


In the meantime Ill probably just leave it on the back burner. I like keeping these 32 bit dinosaurs going. Any of you guys get into the channel LGR on Youtube or some of the other old tech guys?

People think were nuts, but were not all made of money for top tech, and if its not broken, we know.


I think Ill have to get away from the legacy os release though and just get to standard issue puppy though, because a lot of things seem to be left out. In pup forums they say that simply clicking a sfs file is enough to mount it, but in LOS it says that it doesn't know what to do with it. So, even though I really liked the LOS idea, it still leaves a lot out in terms of functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3316
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 08:21    Post subject:  

Yep, LegacyOS takes some getting used to. It's more along the lines of the older, traditional Linux distros. Everything needs to be done manually, and a lot of Pup's built-in functionality (which we all tend to take for granted, TBH), simply isn't there.

Personally, I love keeping 'old dinosaurs' going. To me, if they're still functional, and everything still works as it should, where on earth is the point in adding to the world's landfill problems?

My 'main' machine is a 2004/5 Compaq Presario desktop (from prior to HP's takeover, after which Compaq was relegated to just a name in HP's shoddy line-up.....a sad end for an originally cutting-edge company), running a dual-core Athlon 64 X2. Everything still works, so.....why not?

(It might not cope with modern Windoze very well.....but with Puppy, it absolutely flies!)

Quote:
I have an ati pci video card I found cheap on ebay for the system along with the 2 gigs ram max there as well.

After bills are covered I want to get those and throw em in, which will kinda bring it up to speed alone.


Sounds like a plan. P4s are slow & stately by modern standards, but.....they'll still get the job done. And the extra RAM will help.....a lot.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4793
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 05:16    Post subject:  

fatguy - i have some questions:

- how do you run puppy - from a CD boot? Or from a hard drive install?

- do you have a "swap" partition configured on a hard drive?

If you do not have a swap partition yet I would recommend you format a hard drive or a usb stick with a swap partition.

Then I would recommend you try booting Slacko 5.6 and see if it boots.

If it boots we can look at what browser gives you the best results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0429s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]