Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 16 Dec 2017, 20:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Stretch CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [113 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11285
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 22:03    Post subject:  

@radky:

If you'd kindly look at why your ListDD utility takes over with some hybrid executables
in this DPupStretch.

Thanks.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 761

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 10:32    Post subject:  

@musher0,

By default, most of the debian binaries in /usr/bin are configured as file-type DYN (shared object files) rather than file-type EXEC (Executable files). For example (after loading devx), readelf -h /usr/bin/evince will show file-type=DYN, but readelf -h /usr/bin/abiword will show file-type=EXEC.

When the ListDD utility is installed, the ROX-Filer application_x-sharedlib MIME-type is set to ListDD. So, left-clicking a shared object file (DYN) in /usr/bin or /usr/lib will open that file in ListDD.

Before the next Dpup release, it may be a good idea to convert common DYN binaries in /usr/bin to the EXEC format. In this scenario, the selected binaries will launch in the conventional sense when left-clicked. However, one could still right-click the files to selectively load them in the ListDD utility.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3151
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 11:07    Post subject:  

hi radky,

nice puppy!! and i struggled to find any issues with it Smile

i noticed you have both gnome mplayer and mpv installed. there is a gui for mpv called "gnome-mpv" if you go with mpv.

a few things i missed were the right click option to make a .pet & samba.

here's samba to test
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1oW2w4FUolXaxqHEW8FwHOPLR4Cs15KbM

good work!

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1014
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 01:08    Post subject: Stretch - 18Nov; 32-bit, kernel 4.9.62
Subject description: Almost perfect for me, but an on-going Open File gripe
 

G'day radky,

I have made a frugal of the Stretch from 18November and after loading in my applications and normal bits and pieces, it all works, including printing (pinboard shot).

However....
.. when I want to open a file in an application, I'm presented with a poorly set-out dialog box. The left-hand 'Places' panel is cluttered with 'places' that are unwanted (e.g. lots of unmounted partitions) so the few places I'd want to regularly access (my data partitions) get pushed off the panel - well, down to the bottom of the list so off-screen.

How do I edit/remove all these 'Places' from the list/panel so there are only the places I want to use?

In comparison, this is not a problem in recent Xenial Pups - I've tried to show the difference in the attached screenshots when opening a file in Gimp in both Pups.

Thanks for any help in fixing this small problem I have with your excellent Pup.

David S.
stretch-desktop.jpg
 Description   StretchPup for 18Nov - after adding my usual packages which all run as normal from pinboard icons
 Filesize   148.18 KB
 Viewed   790 Time(s)

stretch-desktop.jpg

OpenFile-bad-stretch.jpg
 Description   The Stretch 'Open File' 'Places' panel default has too many Places, hardly any of any use
 Filesize   137.49 KB
 Viewed   788 Time(s)

OpenFile-bad-stretch.jpg

Openfile-desired-xenial.jpg
 Description   Xenialpup 'Open File' has only my wanted places - that I dragged onto the empty Places panel
 Filesize   98.98 KB
 Viewed   788 Time(s)

Openfile-desired-xenial.jpg


Last edited by davids45 on Sun 26 Nov 2017, 17:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4812
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 12:22    Post subject:  

Never saw that problem before Rolling Eyes
As an experiment I would use the filemanager to go to /mnt
and delete all the folders there that weren't being used.
Then reboot with a save file.
_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1014
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 19:49    Post subject: Over-full 'Open File' 'Places' in Stretch
Subject description: Experiment result
 

G'day don570,

Thanks for your suggestion which (hoping I understood your idea) I have tried.

The /mnt directory I see in Rox (screenshot) does not match the excessive list of Places in the Open File process in StretchPup.
Again in StretchPup this morning, I tried two different programs (screenshots) where I am offered 'Open File' and both came up with the annoying Places panel.
I don't know what the "+-" does at the foot of the panel but it won't remove unwanted Places entries.

If I only had a couple of partitions on the computer, I think this 'Places' wouldn't be this problem, but I've two hard-drives maximised with partitions, so too many 'Places' for 'Open File' to handle sensibly.

Thanks again for your input,

David S.
Rox-list-mnt-directory.jpg
 Description   Rox listing of the /mnt directory - does not show every partition on the computer unlike the 'Places' panel
 Filesize   53.37 KB
 Viewed   670 Time(s)

Rox-list-mnt-directory.jpg

avidemux-open-file.jpg
 Description   trying 'Open file' in avidemux
 Filesize   122.63 KB
 Viewed   674 Time(s)

avidemux-open-file.jpg

gimp-open-file.jpg
 Description   trying 'Open file' in Gimp
 Filesize   130.01 KB
 Viewed   673 Time(s)

gimp-open-file.jpg


Last edited by davids45 on Sun 26 Nov 2017, 17:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2179

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 20:27    Post subject:  

In pcmanfm depending upon the options (EDIT, PREFERENCES, LAYOUT) set, you can have loads in the side panel (trash, places, network etc. type things). Or they might be bookmarks that somehow got loaded and a right click of each and 'Delete Bookmark' (or something like that, will eliminate them from the panel. Other similar file managers typically have a similar setting/option to control what is displayed in the side panel.

Please could you edit the description in the first image of this post http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975232#975232 (and maybe also another earlier image description) to be shorter, because as-is it widens the whole page of posts out due to the long length of that comment/description ... making it a little uncomfortable to read the posts for those of us not using a wide physical screen. Thx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1014
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 17:51    Post subject: Stretch 'Open file' Places Problem  

G'day rufwoof,

Thanks for the suggestion on how to fix my problem with 'Open file' in Stretch Pups. I'll see if I can now get a better 'Open file' set-up.

And I've shortened my image comments to fit better into the browser/monitor windows.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1014
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 19:45    Post subject: pcmanfm in Stretch my problem?
Subject description: delete or replace it with Rox?
 

G'day rufwoof,

I tried your suggestions in pcmanfm and could remove everything in the Places panel......... except all the partitions on the computer - which are the cause of the problem I have. There didn't seem to be anywhere to de-select these (screenshots)??

So with nothing highlighted in the Places display, I still get all those unwanted partitions!

The Bookmarks suggestion did not do anything as far as I could test it.

I checked in XenialPup - which doesn't have this problem when opening a file - and Xenial doesn't have pcmanfm so is using Rox??

I have Rox set as my default file-manager in Stretch but this hasn't stopped Stretch's 'Open file' problem which does now seem to be something in pcmanfm.

Deleting pcmanfm looks to be my next step? I hope then Rox will be OK if it is how XenialPups, etc. work without this problem

Thanks for your advice.

David S.
pcmanfm-terminal-warning.jpg
 Description   trying pcmanfm in a terminal in StretchPup
 Filesize   30.06 KB
 Viewed   532 Time(s)

pcmanfm-terminal-warning.jpg

pcmanfm-prefs.jpg
 Description   Layout preferences set to nothing in Places?
 Filesize   36.04 KB
 Viewed   532 Time(s)

pcmanfm-prefs.jpg

result-still-all-partitions-in-panel.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.09 KB
 Viewed   530 Time(s)

result-still-all-partitions-in-panel.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2179

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 02:36    Post subject:  

Also have a look under pcmanfm's Volume Management configuration option. I would suspect that if its managing volumes then by default it would show the partitions in order that they might be mounted or unmounted.

My OpenBSD pcmanfm side panel is empty other than the bookmarks I set (or if I have it set to tree mode) ... but I don't have volume management running (I run as a user and not root where user doesn't have authority to mount partitions and I don't run X as root (even though under OpenBSD X is set to run at a limited user level) ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5483
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 15:24    Post subject:  

davids45. If you dont want drives to be shown, why dont you disable pup-volume-monitor which is the "listening" or "displaying" process behind the whole thing. At least I think so.

https://github.com/01micko/pup-volume-monitor

"It is this kind of software responsible for displaying drives in file managers
and file open/save dialogs in many linux distributions."
Code:
cat /root/.packages/builtin_files/pup-volume-monitor


So simply just disable the /etc/init.d/start-pup-volume-monitor file and the pup-volume-monitor should not be launched at bootup.
Code:
chmod 644 /etc/init.d/start-pup-volume-monitor


Or remove the whole package if you want. Or just stop the process on the fly:
Code:
killall pup-volume-monitor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1014
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 19:06    Post subject: 'Open file' Places clutter problem [SOLVED]
Subject description: Well, just about SOLVED
 

G'day rufwoof and pemasu,

Thanks for your suggestions to fix my problem with 'Open files' in Stretch Pups.

I first stopped the Volume Management options in pcmanfs but still got all the unwanted partitions listed in the 'Open file' dialog (first two screenshots).

I then disaabled the starting/auto-run of pup-volume-monitor in /etc/init.d (changed its permission to non-executable) and after a re-boot, no clutter of partitions in Places! Very Happy

So it's pup-volume-monitor causing the clutter problem not pcmanfm.

I shouldn't complain now having this problem in Stretch fixed Embarassed but, being of a tidy mind Wink , I would like to also remove the strange 'Places' still listed that I don't see as likely for me ever wanting to open a file in - 'sys', 'proc' 'pts' and 'floppy'.
'floppy'! Shocked - it's been years since I've had a computer with a floppy drive.

Anyway, thanks for help in tidying up my Stretch Pups.

David S.
pcmanfs-volume-off1.jpg
 Description   stopped Volume Management option inpcmanfs
 Filesize   49.95 KB
 Viewed   367 Time(s)

pcmanfs-volume-off1.jpg

stretch-vol-off-result1.jpg
 Description   result with pcmanfs Vol options off - still clutter in Places
 Filesize   89.56 KB
 Viewed   369 Time(s)

stretch-vol-off-result1.jpg

disable-pup-vol-monitor1.jpg
 Description   changed init.d permission for pup-volume-monitor
 Filesize   48.39 KB
 Viewed   369 Time(s)

disable-pup-vol-monitor1.jpg

stretch-pupvolmon-off1.jpg
 Description   Places now usable - but what about floppy, sys, pts, proc?
 Filesize   57.58 KB
 Viewed   370 Time(s)

stretch-pupvolmon-off1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 346

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 00:15    Post subject:  

a few backgrounds.
dpup2.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   26.99 KB
 Viewed   245 Time(s)

dpup2.jpg

dpup1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   24.09 KB
 Viewed   244 Time(s)

dpup1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5483
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 16:05    Post subject:  

davids45. Gtkfilechooser shows content of /etc/fstab file. I dont know if it is a feature of glib version in stretch. Somebody with debian stretch should check what gtkfilechooser shows in real debian stretch. It might be that some option in fstab file could hide the content, but this is shooting in to the dark.

Also some udev rule might hide also. But again, no real wisdom about that.

Also some patch in glib source might also help. Dpup stretch is using unpatched original glib version due to pup-volume-monitor conflict with patched debian glib version. I even tried and swapped the glib with debian glib version ( first I manually removed the old content ) but it didnt make any difference. But dont try that with running distro. You wont get working graphic environment if you do that on the fly.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=951003#951003
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=951238#951238
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5483
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:14    Post subject:  

/root/.packages/DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS

yes|glib|libglib2.0-bin,libglib2.0-0,libglib2.0-data,libglib2.0-dev|exe>null,dev>null,doc>null,nls>null #theres glib 2.50.3 pet pkg
yes|zzz_glib||exe,dev,doc>null,nls>null #pet

I suppose it was not intentional to include both glib packages to the build. Fortunately the latter is processed later to the build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [113 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.3524s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0347s) ][ GZIP on ]