Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 14 Dec 2017, 23:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Firefox 57 (32-bit) no sound playing YouTube video
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat 18 Nov 2017, 18:48    Post subject:  

Also works on my Tahr 6.05 PAE 32 bit, FF57
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9680
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Nov 2017, 05:07    Post subject:  

Quote:
There is no system directory named qbh6evhg.default

OK, yours may have a different name.

/root/.mozilla/firefox
Look for a directory that ends in .default

Put the user.js file in that directory.

The user.js will probably need to be this one.
Code:
// for using apulse with latest firefox
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 13:46    Post subject:  

Okay, I reinstalled Tahr 6.0.5, as well as Firefox 57. Everything is working fine except audio. I tried both codes for user.js, and the result is still negative. No audio.

Tahr 605 has default browser Pale Moon 25.8.1 (x86), which refuses to enable Adblock Plus because PM uses ads for revenue. Why would a Puppy dev use a browser with this policy? YouTube says this version of Pale Moon is obsolete. I can't upgrade Pale Moon because xvkbd won't work in PM 27. Great.

There's no recent Seamonkey in the updated repo.

Nothing like an mp3 player that keeps playing after the applet is closed.

What happened, has there been a falling out between Mozilla and Adblock Plus?

EDIT: I just customized Pale Moon to my liking, but there weren't a lot of choices.

I predict Mozilla Firefox will lose even more market share due to this unsupported switch to pulseaudio.

Last edited by nubc on Wed 22 Nov 2017, 18:00; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4299
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 14:48    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
YouTube says this version of Pale Moon is obsolete.

When I see this, I click the back arrow and click once again on the Youtube icon, and it always works the 2nd time. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 18:38    Post subject:  

I've customized Tahr 605 pretty much to my liking, and I could use it as my working OS, except that Firefox doesn't play YT audio. Apparently, the reason Firefox won't play YT audio is because the new audio format is pulse audio. The solution is to get FF to use apulse, which is what, an abbreviated alternative to pulse audio? Is pulse audio exclusively 64 bit, is that the problem? Because in a previous installation I installed pulseaudio from repo, and this had no effect on the lack of audio. The code in user.js redirects audio through apulse. I have the 4-line code entered, but still no audio. I didn't do something that others have done, what can that be? If I can get audio working in YouTube, I can start using Tahr 605.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 19:24    Post subject:  

Do you want to use Firefox 56 or the new 57?
I was experimenting with 57 in Wheezy a few days ago and I could get YouTube sound working using apulse. I put the apulse libs inside the firefox directory and made sure to give that directory priority. The audio problem with apulse happens because of the recently introduced high-level of sandboxing. This also causes a pango error. If the user.js whitelist settings posted above don't work, you can change security.sandbox.content.level to 0 in about:config (you will probably find that the default is set to 3).

With Tahr 6.0.5 you will obviously also need libgtk-3 from PPM which I presume you have already done. I could probably upload a package of Firefox 57 which will work in 32bit Tahr but actually if you follow the few steps correctly as I outlined it should work.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 19:29    Post subject:  

I'm running FF 57 from repo with PPM. Well, I hadn't installed libgtk-3, but when I tried to install it with PPM, it says libgtk-3 is already installed. Only thing remaining to do is change sandbox security setting.

EDIT: Success!!! Changing the sandbox security level to 0 did the trick. Now have YT audio. Thanks

Last edited by nubc on Wed 22 Nov 2017, 19:49; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 19:44    Post subject:  

Well I am not sure exactly what that is if it is FF57 from PPM
The apulse is pulseaudio emulation for alsa.
It "pretends to be" pulse but feeds the audio into our normal alsa.
Better to use this rather than pulseaudio itself, but you need to relax the sandboxing as I mentioned above. Try installing my apulse package or better still extract the apulse libs into the firefox directory so they will not interfere with any other programs.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Nov 2017, 19:58    Post subject:  

Success!!! Changing the sandbox security level to 0 did the trick. Now have YT audio. Thanks


EDIT: I guess this is not completely solved because there is a class of HTML5 video that won't play, even after I install an HTML5 player. This one, for instance
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6ABlTo-EHo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11738
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 06:40    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
security.sandbox.content.level to 0

Thanks for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 11:58    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:
EDIT: I guess this is not completely solved because there is a class of HTML5 video that won't play, even after I install an HTML5 player. This one, for instance
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6ABlTo-EHo

Firefox already has an HTML5 player included so installing another one should not be necessary and might in fact stop things from working.
Tested that youtube video in FF57 in Tahr 6.0.5 and it played OK for me.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 00:12    Post subject:  

OscarTalks, would you be good enough to list all your FF plugins. it would be helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 06:15    Post subject:  

Playing YouTube videos does not require any plugins
Furthermore, this latest FF57 introduces a new engine which breaks a lot of the Extensions / AddOns which people have been using. Best to remove them all and use only the ones that are offered as compatible with FF57.

All I did, in response to your post and in order to test things, was to boot a fresh TahrPup 6.0.5 frugal, install libgtk-3 from PPM, install FF57 (official build from mozilla) with the sound fix as already discussed (add apulse libs and relax the sandboxing).

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 10:11    Post subject:  

Oscar, earlier you offered a .pet package for FF 57. Maybe that would work better since I am seeing strange anomalies like black blank mouseovers/hovers in the Ff 57 I got from PPM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 10:58    Post subject:  

Isn't that the issue you posted about in a different thread?
If so I already posted a reply about that.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112163

I can post a package a little later if need be, but my concern is that if your problems are caused by other packages or extensions that you have installed then my package may not be different from the one you have. If you still have other problems besides the dark tooltips I suggest you try removing old or unneeded extensions first.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0508s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]