Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 11:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Neomagic problem with 2.13 solved
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 14:43    Post subject:  Neomagic problem with 2.13 solved  

Hi all

got a problem with 2.13 on a toshiba 7010ct laptop. with 2.12 and previous puppy's when the xorgwizard failed on this lappy i could use xorgconfig to set up X manually. i dont seem to be able to do this with 2.13. it stops after probing video hardware with the following
Calling INT 0x15 (F000:F859)
EAX is 5F49
Calling INT 0x15 (F000:F859)
EAX is 5F49
then just a blinking cursor. I can CRTL-C and get to a console and run xorgconfig and set it up but when i have done that and type xwin, it restarts the wizard.

any help appreciated

toshiba portege 7010ct
160MB ram
20g hd
Neomagic graphics chip

cherriepuppy

Last edited by cherriepuppy on Wed 03 Jan 2007, 20:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 19:53    Post subject:  

Ah, this is a problem with the new video hardware profiling.

If you open /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin with Geany and scroll down to line 260, you will see this code:
Code:
#Puppy Xorg Video Wizard...
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg ];then
 if [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  if [ "`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`" = "Xorg" ];then
   #v2.13 video hardware profile (must be same as in xorgwizard)...
   DDCPROBE="`ddcprobe`"
   PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
   PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
   HARDWAREPROFILE="${PROFILECHIP}${PROFILEMONITOR}"
   #find out if current xorg.conf matches this profile...
   CURRENTPROFILE="`cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep '^#PuppyHardwareProfile' | cut -f 2 -d '=' | cut -f 1 -d ' '`"
   if [ ! "$CURRENTPROFILE" = "$HARDWAREPROFILE" ];then
    #video hardware has changed. either changed monitor or booting different PC.
    #same current xorg.conf as a profiled filename...
    mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${CURRENTPROFILE}
    #if a previous profiled filename for new hardware, use that...
    [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} ] && cp -af /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} /etc/X11/xorg.conf
   fi
  fi
 fi
 if [ ! -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  rm -f /etc/.XLOADED 2> /dev/null #not necessary, precaution.
  #1st dialog offers to use Xvesa...
  /usr/sbin/xorgwizard
  HAVEX="`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`"
 fi
fi


For now, just comment-out all the hardware-profile testing. This will prevent your xorg.conf file from getting renamed:

Code:
#Puppy Xorg Video Wizard...
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/Xorg ];then
# if [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
#  if [ "`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`" = "Xorg" ];then
#   #v2.13 video hardware profile (must be same as in xorgwizard)...
#   DDCPROBE="`ddcprobe`"
#   PROFILECHIP="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep '^oem: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2-4 -d ' ' | tr ' ' '_' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   PROFILEMONITOR="`echo "$DDCPROBE" | grep --extended-regexp '^monitorrange: |^monitorid: |^eisa: ' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d ':' | sed -e 's/ //g' | sed -e 's/[^0-9a-zA-Z]/_/g'`"
#   HARDWAREPROFILE="${PROFILECHIP}${PROFILEMONITOR}"
#   #find out if current xorg.conf matches this profile...
#   CURRENTPROFILE="`cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep '^#PuppyHardwareProfile' | cut -f 2 -d '=' | cut -f 1 -d ' '`"
#   if [ ! "$CURRENTPROFILE" = "$HARDWAREPROFILE" ];then
#    #video hardware has changed. either changed monitor or booting different PC.
#    #same current xorg.conf as a profiled filename...
#    mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${CURRENTPROFILE}
#    #if a previous profiled filename for new hardware, use that...
#    [ -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} ] && cp -af /etc/X11/xorg.conf.${HARDWAREPROFILE} /etc/X11/xorg.conf
#   fi
#  fi
# fi
 if [ ! -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf ];then
  rm -f /etc/.XLOADED 2> /dev/null #not necessary, precaution.
  #1st dialog offers to use Xvesa...
  /usr/sbin/xorgwizard
  HAVEX="`readlink /usr/X11R7/bin/X`"
 fi
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 20:19    Post subject: Neomagic problem with 2.13 "solved"  

thanks barry, worked a treat, now just got to set up wireless and my laptop is up and running again

cherriepuppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat 10 Feb 2007, 21:05    Post subject:  

Sorry For the fact that I'm such a newbie, but I am having a very similar problem with my Toshiba Satellite PIII 500. I've tried using both Xorg and Xvesa but the system stops every time and just gives the little blinking cursor. If I hit cntrl-alt-del after the system stop when I use xorg it just restarts but if I'm using Xvesa it tells me, among other things, that "an attempt has just been made to run X at 640x480x16 but it has not worked."

Unfortunately, being a newb, I do not know how to configure X manually and I also do not know how to open /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin with Geany so I'm kinda stuck. Any help would be awesome! Thanks allot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 10 Feb 2007, 21:07    Post subject:  

you can use the textmode editor by typing:
mp /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun 11 Feb 2007, 03:19    Post subject:  

Thanks for the quick reply, I will type that in but I don't think I will know what to do from there... I am totally new to Linux. Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon 12 Feb 2007, 17:43    Post subject:  

I don't suppose anyone else might be able to point me in the right direction?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 18:35    Post subject:  

Well, I tried typing in the "mp /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin" at the initial prompt before everything starts loading and it told me that the mp couldn't be found, and it continued to load. I let it try xvesa and then hit cntrl-alt-del to get to the "prompt" (I don't think it really takes be to a prompt but just a blinking cursor) and tried typing it there but nothing happened so I reloaded and hit escape and typed "puppy pfix=rdsh" to exit to the initial ramdisk commandline and I typed it there but it tells me "/bin/sh: mp: not found"

I'm not really sure what I will do with the xorg file once I'm in there anyway so I don't think I would have been in any better shape even if it had worked. If anyone could just give me a little bit of info about how to solve this issue I would really appreciate it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 19:05    Post subject:  

hi

just before the boot process starts the xorgwizard you will have to break the sequence by typing "ctrl c" this will get you to the prompt, (might take a few tries) then you can type mp /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin, this will open up xwin inan editor(mp),then scroll down to line 260 and comment out the lines with a #. when done do a ctrl s to save the changes then ctrl q to exit mp.

hope this is of use

cherriepuppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 19:42    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply, I hit cntrl-c right as it was loading the keyboard chooser and it brought me to the promt but when I type everything in it tells me "-sh: mp/usr/X11R7/bin/xwin: no such file or directory"

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 19:48    Post subject:  

hi

mp /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin

space between mp and /usr/

cherriepuppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 20:09    Post subject:  

Oops, worked that time... lets see what happens now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 20:10    Post subject:  

All I get is a big black box, I can't see any of the text...
[edit] I tried using e3 and that worked. now to comment everything out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
conradcliff

Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Thu 15 Feb 2007, 21:59    Post subject:  

Well, I commented everything out but when I try and run xorg or xvesa it still just does the same stuff. I'm really not very sure if after commenting out the hardware profile I was still just supposed to run "xwin" but that's what I did and I'm not getting any results. Any other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cherriepuppy

Joined: 11 Dec 2005
Posts: 74
Location: uk

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2007, 03:25    Post subject:  

hi
after commenting those parts out you can run xorgconfig and set the monitor/screen and graphics chip by answering some questions it ask, save it then run xwin.

cherriepuppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0693s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]