Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 18 Nov 2017, 21:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to increase HDD space in my laptop?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
dan the man

Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 20 Oct 2017, 18:29    Post subject:  How to increase HDD space in my laptop?
Subject description: EEEPC surf SSD too small. want to add memory
 

hello all. I have a EEEPC surf that im trying to revive. i do have slacko installed and it works fine. however the 2 gig SSD is too small to add much. i have already hacked an additional usb stick inside the unit as per some other forums i saw and it is shown as SDC1 how can i mount this so that at startup it automatically mounts this usb stick and effectively increases the 1.4 gig'ish hard drive space to also reflect, essentially increase the existing 1.4 gig seamlessly with whatever size the usb stick adder is??

i know enough about command line stuff to make me dangerous!!

Thanx all
dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1009
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Fri 20 Oct 2017, 19:48    Post subject:  

Its a bit out of my depth but usually if you want to load something at startup you add it into the /etc/fstab file.

You will have to read up on what to put in there

Mine is like this
Code:

none          /proc        proc     defaults               0 0
none          /sys         sysfs    defaults               0 0
none          /dev/pts     devpts   gid=2,mode=620         0 0
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy  auto     noauto,rw              0 0


I guess yours would be
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/sdc1 auto noauto.rw 0 0
or something like that .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1582
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Fri 20 Oct 2017, 20:03    Post subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=126028

from tgeer43

Code:
mkdir /mnt/sda1
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1


Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Fri 20 Oct 2017, 21:55    Post subject:  

If I understand dan correctly, he wants the space on this stick to appear to be an extension of the space on the SSD -- he wants the combined devices to act as a single partition -- that's my interpretation of what he means by "seamlessly."

I suppose it's theoretically possible to take 2 partitions and make them function like one, but surely this would require some serious kernel-level magic of the sort that RAID technologies employ. In short, impossible for all practical purposes, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1252
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 00:07    Post subject:  

wow a 2G-surf.

Since you got Slacko loaded into a USB-stick...
a 2nd external one can go upto 16Gb (32Gb if not exfat)
and the newer stubby ones are faster than most elder sticks.

Just a thought.
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2657
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 00:08    Post subject:  

What I've done in the past is pop in a 64GB sd card in the slot and put an os on it. My eepc booted from the sd card perfectly fine.
_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1252
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 00:12    Post subject:  

smokey...

I had troubles in both my EEE's with SDHC cards, especially the 700 series not accepting over 4Gb SDHC, the 900a will go 32Gb but must be a non-exfat model. Some of us never had windows installed.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2657
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 01:13    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
smokey...

I had troubles in both my EEE's with SDHC cards, especially the 700 series not accepting over 4Gb SDHC, the 900a will go 32Gb but must be a non-exfat model. Some of us never had windows installed.

Regards
8Geee


I could be mistaken as it was a long time ago. Maybe it was only 4GB. What about a largish usb drive, something small like a nano 64GB. I will try it when I get home.

Created a puppee os on a 64GB USB3 drive. It boots and works fine. A little slow to shut down with a 1GB savefile but it boots quite quickly. This is an Eee PC 4G and I'm posting from it now.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3134
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 07:54    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
8Geee wrote:
smokey...

I had troubles in both my EEE's with SDHC cards, especially the 700 series not accepting over 4Gb SDHC, the 900a will go 32Gb but must be a non-exfat model. Some of us never had windows installed.

Regards
8Geee


I could be mistaken as it was a long time ago. Maybe it was only 4GB. What about a largish usb drive, something small like a nano 64GB. I will try it when I get home.

Created a puppee os on a 64GB USB3 drive. It boots and works fine. A little slow to shut down with a 1GB savefile but it boots quite quickly.


I was thinking along the same lines. The 'nano' SanDisk 'Ultra' Fit USB3.0 drives go up to 128 GB; I use a pair in the back of my old Dell Inspiron as 'external storage'.

8Geee, is there a built-in limit as to why you can't go over 32 GB?


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11153
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 13:16    Post subject:  

Hello, dan the man.

Is it possible at all to replace your current internal SD card with one of these?
https://www.sandisk.com/home/memory-cards
(As examples only. There are other companies with similar products.)
Judging from the pics, some new SD cards have a capacity of up to 512 Gb.

IHTH.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2005
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 19:46    Post subject: Alternative for us lazy folks
Subject description: And those desirous of retaining sanity
 

Hi dan the man,

As I understand it, your EEEPC surf now can access a 2nd internal usb-stick which it recognizes as SDC1. It is apparently your choice as to the what size SDC1 will be.

As 6502coder wrote "I suppose it's theoretically possible to take 2 partitions and make them function like one, but surely this would require some serious kernel-level magic of the sort that RAID technologies employ. In short, impossible for all practical purposes, right?"

Rather than going nuts, why not (a) make use of a usb-stick which is a large as you want for your SDC1; and (b) utilize the 1.4 Gb original hard-drive space merely as the location for your boot-loader and (maybe) additional storage. In other words, the menu-listing of the bootloader on the original hard-drive will include the Puppy you've (frugally) installed to SDC1.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11153
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 20:40    Post subject:  

Hello all.

I believe the "disk-glueing" system amigo is referring to is called "Logical Volume
Management". https://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=lvm+disk+system+linux
But don't take my word for it, I'm a bit of a dummy in these matters! Laughing

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1252
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Oct 2017, 01:05    Post subject:  

As far as SD-cards most certainly, there are limits. The 700 series SD-card reader does not officially support SDHC. The newer 900a does. However EXFAT is a different specification entirely (SDXC). These eee card-readers need a firmware update. Thats what I remember from wayback at eee-users forum. Perhaps the kernel overrides this, I dunno. For the record, I do have two AData 4Gb SDHC cards that work well, but S-L-O-W-L-Y in both eee's.

As far as USB, I suppose reformatting the stick with GParted from EXFAT is certainly doable. The eee's are USB2.0 types, so there is a speed-limit at some point.

Wikipedia SDHC specs with SDXC immediatly below.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dan the man

Joined: 20 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 23 Oct 2017, 17:48    Post subject: How to increase HDD space in my laptop?
Subject description: How to increase HDD space in my laptop?
 

wow!! thanx all for your input!! there are a lot of responses so i will over the next few days go through whats listed. as always there are several ways to skin the cat. I guess the bottom line of what im trying to do do is to make a working laptop out of this 2 gig surf. if the easiest way is to just load and run from a larger, faster built in USB stick then so be it. i will liik at the USB stick that there is a link for. i may already have something similar. if my way isnt easy or practical then i will change focus to the other. just a 2 gig HDD is too small.

after i get this working you will see my next post which will be separate on how to run dropbox!!

Thanx
Dan

ps. might need the week to try some of these great suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0860s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]