Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Nov 2017, 18:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How do i resize the TMPFS?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
lolo69

Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 08:30    Post subject:  How do i resize the TMPFS?  

I was trying to install netbeans, but in terminal it says disk full, so i need to resize the tmpfs to install it, i think.


Can anyone help me? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Oct 2017, 02:24    Post subject:  

How much RAM in computer?

What version of Puppy?
Installed on what?
Installed how?
Quote:
trying to install netbeans

Details on how you are doing this???

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2914
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 04 Oct 2017, 07:35    Post subject:  

Also a disk map, just in case it actually means it.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 09:24    Post subject:  

Looks like they've gone awol, but a very relevant thread.

How DOES one change the boot up memory available from the usual 50% to 100%?

I typically have 1.9G tmpfs ramdisk free space=1.9G on the freememapplet

I would like to see:
3.8G tmpfs ramdisk free space=3.8G on the freememapplet

Bootup condition =puppy pfix=ram (4G memory on motherboard).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 11170
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 11:15    Post subject:  

Smithy wrote:
Looks like they've gone awol, but a very relevant thread.

How DOES one change the boot up memory available from the usual 50% to 100%?

I typically have 1.9G tmpfs ramdisk free space=1.9G on the freememapplet

I would like to see:
3.8G tmpfs ramdisk free space=3.8G on the freememapplet

Bootup condition =puppy pfix=ram (4G memory on motherboard).

Hi Smithy.

You can't if your Puppy does not have a PAE-enabled kernel. This PAE
thing has to be enabled AT THE TIME the kernel is compiled. Otherwise,
tough, the user is limited to 2.9 Gb's for the RAM, even if the box has
64 Gb's of physical RAM installed.

AFAIK, no boot-up condition can change the PAE / non-PAE limitation. But
if you find info to prove me wrong, please do prove me wrong, I'll be
happy to know, because I'm in the same situation as you!

BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"Logical entities must not be multiplied beyond necessity." | |
« Il ne faut pas multiplier les entités logiques sans nécessité. » (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 16:18    Post subject:  

Ok I still use pae puppies as well as no pae, some pre-empt some with irq threading enabled.

The question remains the same Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 18:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
How DOES one change the boot up memory available from the usual 50% to 100%?

I typically have 1.9G tmpfs ramdisk free space=1.9G on the freememapplet


Running with no pupsave that is on a data storage device.
That would be using a tmpfs ramdisk.

So if the tmpfs ramdisk is going to allocate all the memory to use as storage.

What memory is a running or newly started program going to use?

Not using a Puppy save makes Puppy have to use some portion of the memory as a storage device.
It sets that amount to use and it is set aside as data storage.
The rest of the memory is for programs to use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 02:19    Post subject:  

What memory is a running or newly started program going to use?

Good point Big Pup.

So if the whole puppy main sfs (could be 1gb plus or whatever) and presumably the zdrv are expanded into ram on boot then would that work?

I would understand that the programs would be just there in ram ready for use?

And for simplicity sake we could imagine a puppy with just one app in it, maybe audacity, or the gimp.

Not using a Puppy save makes Puppy have to use some portion of the memory as a storage device.
It sets that amount to use and it is set aside as data storage.

And that's the bit that I would like to see and set.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1290

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 12:54    Post subject:  

I think on first boot it uses half of RAM for tmpfs by default or it fluctuates and I think this is decided in the init. gyro and jlst understand how it works more though

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=922583#922583
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Thu 19 Oct 2017, 04:49    Post subject:  

Thanks for the link Sailor.
I think if I get the chance I will try Musher's ramdisk on the PAE puppies.

On a different note, I wonder if anyone is rolling a 3xx kernel with irq threading enabled.
I THINK it is making a definite difference on audio threading latency in things like jack and possibly video performance as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0414s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]