Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Dec 2017, 03:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Wlan0 not recognised on 64-bit Slacko
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
LutonMossy

Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2016, 15:25    Post subject:  Wlan0 not recognised on 64-bit Slacko
Subject description: Wlan0 appears on 32 bit Slacko puppy 6.3, but not on 64 bit
 

I have a Dell Latitude e6410 64 bit laptop. Strangely when firing up the 32 bit version of Slacko 6.3, it recognises wlan0 with driver iwlwifi, but when firing up the 64 bit version, there is no sign of wlan0. Shame, because I would like to use the extra functionality of the 64 bit version. It's a mystery to me. Does anyone have any ideas?

Further to above, the dmesg.txt file contains the lines:

ntel(R) Wireless WiFi driver for Linux
Copyright(c) 2003- 2015 Intel Corporation
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-6000-6.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-6000-5.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-6000-4.ucode failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-6000-4.ucode' failed.
iwlwifi 0000:02:00.0: no suitable firmware found!

(found how to do this from another post)

How do I put this right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4226
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2016, 20:08    Post subject:  

Specs:

http://www.notebookreview.com/notebookreview/dell-latitude-e6410-review/

Intel Wireless Wi-Fi 6200AGN

Interesting post...

https://communities.intel.com/thread/14740?start=0&tstart=0

"""

I would suggest to maybe change your router's wireless setting.

Somebody may suggest copying the wireless files from 32 bit slacko
to use in 64 bit.

I'm sure someone will chip in to advise you.

Welcome to Puppy....Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LutonMossy

Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2016, 06:51    Post subject:  

Many thanks Chris. Is there anybody out there that could advise me on which files to copy over from the 32-bit stick to the 64-bit stick?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9665
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2016, 11:02    Post subject:  

From the Slaxko64 6.3.0 topic:
Quote:
It is rather large because it has lots of firmware, however it is not all loaded by default. On the iso you'll notice a new file called fdrv_slacko_6.0.8.1.sfs. This is the extra firmware which is cross checked from the kernel modules so that no firmware that is not needed gets included.

The idea is that if all your hardware works then just don't load the fdrv or if you do and install to usb, hdd, whatever discard it. But if some piece of hardware, be it your graphics card or wireless card, doesn't work then you can load the fdrv from the kernel commandline :
Code:
puppy pfix=fw_drv

or tack fw_drv onto your grub or syslinux commandline.


So, type that code in a console.
Hit enter.
What happens now?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2016, 12:43    Post subject:  

Hello @LutonMossy. Welcome to the Puppy Linux Discussion Forum.

What @Big PUP is helping with is the recommendation that one should use at boot time, when experiencing the kind of missing hardware functionality as you have. This is a Slacko64 ONLY feature at this point in time.

One way of testing, assuming you are booting a DVD or Frugal is that you interrupt the boot when the splash-screen (F2) and I would type
Code:
puppy pfix=ram,fw_drv
to boot the PC. Upon desktop and after filliing the FirstRun screen, try your w/l efforts, again looking for a match in what you have seen in Slacko32.

Please report progress as you go.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LutonMossy

Joined: 01 Apr 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 02 Apr 2016, 15:05    Post subject:  

@Big PUP and @gcmartin Thanks for your posts.

Firstly, I should have said that I'm booting from a USB stick, installed using unetbootin from Lubuntu on an old netbook.

I hit F2 at the appropriate time and firstly typed: "puppy pfix=fw_drv"

Puppy loaded as normal. However, yet again no wlan0 to be found.

I then tried the "puppy pfix=ram,fw_drv" However, this time the puppy-slacko64_6.3.0.sfs was not even found.

I then looked at the iso as mentioned by @Big Pup. I have to report that the file "fdrv_slacko_6.0.8.1.sfs" is not there. I used the menu option "SFS-Load-on-the-fly" as well in case, but no luck; it's not there.

I then found the "SFS Manager" and downloaded and installed an SFS file called "frdv_4.1.11_slacko_2.sfs I thought that this might do the trick, but even though it mounted ok, again no wlan0.

I used my initiative in looking for the for the frdv file mentioned, but came up with nothing.

Given that the frdv file is not on the iso as mentioned in the docs, where can I get it from? I'm a PUP newbie as you've gathered; thanks for your tolerance and help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mgraham

Joined: 15 Jul 2012
Posts: 17
Location: San Jose, California

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2016, 01:16    Post subject: Got it working!
Subject description: how to get iwlwifi working in sl
 

1. setup puppy with a save file or directory.
2. make sure it is using the zdrv file: zdrv_slacko64_6.3.0.sfs.
it did not copy it to my hard drive for some reason so i copied it from the cdrom to the same place the other .sfs file is, and then clicked on it and chose install.
3. copy the firmware files needed to /lib/firmware
for me they were iwlwifi-6000g2a-5.ucode and iwlwifi-6000g2a-6.ucode.
I am not sure if they are both needed, I just saw messages for them when i ran dmesg from a command prompt.
3a. match file permissions with other files in firmware directory.
4. reboot
5. click on the network status icon and to the network setup, and it showed wlan0

refs:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/608983/verisons-of-iwlwifi-and-firmware-for-my-wireless-card?rq=1

http://linuxwireless.org/attachments/en/users/Drivers/iwlwifi/iwlwifi-6000g2a-ucode-17.168.5.1.tgz

and

http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/firmware/linux-firmware.git/tree/iwlwifi-6000g2a-6.ucode?id=bbede96f3d68ac056ae5d9f6ac56819b6462f4f5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3213
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 24 Aug 2016, 16:48    Post subject:  

Hi, LutonMossy.

I run Slacko64 myself (amongst many others), and use a NetGear WNA3100M mini wifi dongle with it. This uses the RTL8192 driver.

I also, don't see 'wlan0'. What mine is running under is 'wlan2' (??) First Pup I've ever seen that in, but that's what it runs as!

Just FYI.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Limbomusic


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 232
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Sun 17 Sep 2017, 18:40    Post subject: huh
Subject description: hey
 

I found this thread by searching for solutions to get wifi working in tahr64.

Machine: Old dell from 2005.
Running tahrpup6.0.6 with kernel 4.9.13 - wifi OK
Running tahr64 - no wifi...

So. After reading here: "what to copy from /lib/firmware from the 32 bit to the 64 bit pup" . hmmmm !?
I found 2 folders in the 32 bits pup - (in lib/firmware): "b43" and "b43legacy"
and copied them over to same place in the 64 bits pup - and after reboot - wlan0 was back and working fine Smile Thanx !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0468s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]