Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Nov 2017, 10:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS 2017 Released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 08 Sep 2017, 21:19    Post subject:  

Hello Belham2,
Here's my terminal using the command egrep --color 'Mem|Cache|Swap' /proc/meminfo with no apps open. Thanks John
Konsole.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.65 KB
 Viewed   563 Time(s)

Konsole.jpg


_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1299

PostPosted: Sat 09 Sep 2017, 08:36    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:
When Legacy runs from the CD it uses both the Ram and CD if the Ram isn't big enough.

I also notice you have no Swap partition set up.

Is it possible for you to reformat from ext3 to ext2 with at least 4Gb of Hard Drive, 500mb of Swap and see how that goes.



Hi John,

Thanks for answering. I thought I could run everything off a 1GB micro SDHC card (been spoiled all these years by puppies that max out around 500-600MB), but what you said makes clear I need some more oooomph. So I've grabbed me a 8GB SDHC card and am going to set it up today, along with putting the swap directly on it (instead of locating swap off the booted sdhc card, like I was doing-----it was unplugged for the pics I posted that's why it showed swap of "0").

Will let you know how it goes. It's kinda cool to hear the old P4 beast roaring back to life every day under the desk for more than just an hour........previously, it was only getting a sporadic bi-weekly 1 hr workouts with rerwin's latest Lucid and of course Barry's Precise 5.7 & Racy.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 02:00    Post subject:  

Hello Everyone who has installed Legacy OS 2017 to Hard Drive and have noticed each time you boot up that the Xorgwizard keeps asking you to set up your screen resolution. Install this tar.gz by opening the ROX File Manager and right mouse clicking over it selecting "Install Package". The bug fix will be installed. Next time you boot up, you will be asked to set screen resolution once. After that Legacy OS should boot straight to the Desktop.

Some much time is spent making sure bugs have been fixed and one sneaks through! ARRRH!
xorgwizard-bug-fix.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard-bug-fix.tar.gz 
Filesize  31.68 KB 
Downloaded  20 Time(s) 

_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2548
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 10:54    Post subject:  

john biles wrote:
Some much time is spent making sure bugs have been fixed and one sneaks through! ARRRH!

Lol, I know that feeling!
I like to remind myself most users who don't encounter bugs stay silent..

LegacyOS still looks like a fantastic piece of work, BTW..
Hopefully, it has a 'service pack' style auto-bugfix-installer thingy?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 20:31    Post subject:
Subject description: Wifi with DWL-g630
 

Hi John,
I've done a frugal ("coexist") install of Legacy2017 on a dedicated ext2 partition on a Dell Inspiron 1100 (2.6 GHx P4, 2GB ram). Somehow Legacy's grub2 install didn't play nice with the setup I had constructed, with WinXP in the first, ntfs partition and grub installed to MBR. However I simply overwrote it with grub4 and now I get the selection menu up and Legacy loading without drama.
Thanks again for your earlier suggestions regarding the D-link DWL-G630, it actually has the the rt61 chip. It seems to have been a bit of an issue historically for Puppy2 series, and tempestuous posted a series of updated wifi drivers for it and a range of other cards. *Which you actually provide* a package of -or an updated version- in the help-info folder you mentioned for installing the battery meter pup! That's forethought for you Smile

So installed the rt61-20090412-k2.6.18.1.pet, and was able to load the rt61 driver correctly for a persistent "ra0" interface in the network setup interface. Now another problem has cropped up, in that I need to connect to a managed WPA2 (WPA/TKIP encryption option) profile. Scans fine, able to construct profiles with passwords fine, tests fine ("Legacy OS was able to find an alive network") - just keeps dropping out at the "Auto DHCP" selection stage of the proceedings. I have been testing out different options in the "WPA Driver" (Atheros/Prism/other) and "AP Scan" options (Supplic/Driver/Hidden), but no dice yet.
Then there is the RutilT application for RT61 Wireless that I am trying, but after making a new profile there it only has an option to select WEP and not WPA encrypytion. The card leds are flashing, but to no result after about 5 minutes continuous. Similarly, the Wireless assistant sees all the networks available but fails to connect with the correct password provided. I'll try rebooting a few times to see if something sticks, and I'll dig out some command-line commands to help track down where the 'disconnect' might actually be. Never tried manually entering in a static IP before, might be my chance if it's required for a workaround,
Best Wishes Smile

_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1464
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 22:47    Post subject:  

Hello Puppyt,
When I follow my guide step by step my DWL-G650 connects me on any Laptop I slide the card in.
I brought 2 spares on Ebay last year for $14.95 AUD each.

Looks like you can still buy them on Ebay https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_nkw=d-link%20dwl-g650&ssPageName=GSTL

You'd think a DWL-630 would carry similar Hardware inside.

The secret to WPA2 was a missing package which I've added to the iso?

If you have success let me know how you did it so I can share with others.
Thanks
John

_________________
Legacy OS 2017 has been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 01:51    Post subject:
Subject description: sorting out DWL-G630 in Legacy2017
 

Hi John,
I was almost getting there... have attached the results of my ifconfig and dmesg results as follows below, with perhaps the nub of the issue as
Code:
ra0 (WE) : Driver using old /proc/net/wireless support, please fix driver !

Code:

sh-3.00# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:17:9A:0B:70:5F
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1120 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1673 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:236795 (231.2 KiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:11

sh-3.00# ifconfig ra0 up
sh-3.00# dmesg
r
NTFS driver 2.1.27 [Flags: R/W].
Initializing Cryptographic API
io scheduler noop registered
io scheduler cfq registered (default)
isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
Real Time Clock Driver v1.12ac
Serial: 8250/16550 driver $Revision: 1.90 $ 4 ports, IRQ sharing enabled
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKB] enabled at IRQ 7
PCI: setting IRQ 7 as level-triggered
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.6[B] -> Link [LNKB] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:00:1f.6 disabled
floppy0: no floppy controllers found
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 13824K size 1024 blocksize
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
ICH4: IDE controller at PCI slot 0000:00:1f.1
PCI: Enabling device 0000:00:1f.1 (0005 -> 0007)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.1[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
ICH4: chipset revision 2
ICH4: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xbfa0-0xbfa7, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:pio
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xbfa8-0xbfaf, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:pio
Probing IDE interface ide0...
hda: QSI CD-RW/DVD-ROM SBW242U, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
Probing IDE interface ide1...
hdc: WDC WD1000VE-00KWT0, ATA DISK drive
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hdc: max request size: 512KiB
hdc: 195371568 sectors (100030 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63, UDMA(100)
hdc: cache flushes supported
 hdc: hdc1 hdc2 hdc3
libata version 2.00 loaded.
PNP: PS/2 Controller [PNP0303:KBC,PNP0f13:PS2M] at 0x60,0x64 irq 1,12
i8042.c: Warning: Keylock active.
serio: i8042 AUX port at 0x60,0x64 irq 12
serio: i8042 KBD port at 0x60,0x64 irq 1
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
md: md driver 0.90.3 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MD_SB_DISKS=27
md: bitmap version 4.39
TCP bic registered
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Using IPI Shortcut mode
ACPI: (supports S0 S1 S3 S4 S5)
md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
md: autorun ...
md: ... autorun DONE.
RAMDISK: Compressed image found at block 0
Time: tsc clocksource has been installed.
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem) readonly.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 176k freed
input: AT Translated Set 2 keyboard as /class/input/input0
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
Synaptics Touchpad, model: 1, fw: 5.9, id: 0x254ab1, caps: 0x804713/0x0
input: SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad as /class/input/input1
USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver v3.0
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1d.0[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1d.0 to 64
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.0: UHCI Host Controller
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.0: irq 11, io base 0x0000bf80
usb usb1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKD] enabled at IRQ 11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1d.1[B] -> Link [LNKD] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1d.1 to 64
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.1: UHCI Host Controller
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.1: irq 11, io base 0x0000bf40
usb usb2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKC] enabled at IRQ 11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1d.2[C] -> Link [LNKC] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1d.2 to 64
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.2: UHCI Host Controller
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 3
uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.2: irq 11, io base 0x0000bf20
usb usb3: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 3-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 3-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKH] enabled at IRQ 11
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1d.7[D] -> Link [LNKH] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1d.7 to 64
ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: EHCI Host Controller
ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 4
ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: debug port 1
PCI: cache line size of 128 is not supported by device 0000:00:1d.7
ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: irq 11, io mem 0xf6f7fc00
ehci_hcd 0000:00:1d.7: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00, driver 10 Dec 2004
usb usb4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 4-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 4-0:1.0: 6 ports detected
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
hda: ATAPI 24X DVD-ROM CD-R/RW drive, 2048kB Cache, UDMA(33)
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
Registering unionfs 20060916-2203
unionfs: debugging is not enabled
fuse init (API version 7.7)
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended
Adding 3168248k swap on /dev/hdc3.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:3168248k
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended
Linux agpgart interface v0.101 (c) Dave Jones
agpgart: Detected an Intel 845G Chipset.
agpgart: Detected 8060K stolen memory.
agpgart: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xe0000000
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1f.5[B] -> Link [LNKB] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1f.5 to 64
intel8x0_measure_ac97_clock: measured 59296 usecs
intel8x0: clocking to 48000
linmodem(1226): linmodem v0.1 loaded
pctel_hw: module license 'GPL linked with proprietary libraries' taints kernel.
pctel_hw(151): PCTel hardware driver version 0.9.7-9-rht-6 for PCT789

pctel(670): pctel v0.1 loaded
pctel_pci(526): pciserial_init_one: invalid pctel_hw binary module
pctel_hw: probe of 0000:00:1f.6 failed with error -22
b44.c:v1.01 (Jun 16, 2006)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:01.0[A] -> Link [LNKB] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
eth0: Broadcom 4400 10/100BaseT Ethernet 00:0d:56:a8:28:a1
Yenta: CardBus bridge found at 0000:02:04.0 [1028:0149]
Yenta: Using CSCINT to route CSC interrupts to PCI
Yenta: Routing CardBus interrupts to PCI
Yenta TI: socket 0000:02:04.0, mfunc 0x00001002, devctl 0x64
Yenta: ISA IRQ mask 0x0478, PCI irq 11
Socket status: 30000020
Yenta: Raising subordinate bus# of parent bus (#02) from #02 to #06
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge I/O window: 0xd000 - 0xefff
cs: IO port probe 0xd000-0xefff: clean.
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge Memory window: 0xf8000000 - 0xfdffffff
pcmcia: parent PCI bridge Memory window: 0x88000000 - 0x89ffffff
pcmcia: Detected deprecated PCMCIA ioctl usage from process: cardmgr.
pcmcia: This interface will soon be removed from the kernel; please expect breakage unless you upgrade to new tools.
pcmcia: see http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kernel/pcmcia/pcmcia.html for details.
cs: IO port probe 0xc00-0xcff: clean.
cs: IO port probe 0x800-0x8ff: excluding 0x8e0-0x8e7
cs: IO port probe 0x100-0x4ff: clean.
cs: IO port probe 0xa00-0xaff: clean.
pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 0
lp: driver loaded but no devices found
PCI: Enabling device 0000:03:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:03:00.0[A] -> Link [LNKA] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
rt61 1.1.0 BETA1 2006/06/18 http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
RT61: Vendor = 0x1814, Product = 0x0302
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:03:00.0 to 64
ACPI: AC Adapter [AC] (on-line)
ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)
ra0 (WE) : Driver using old /proc/net/wireless support, please fix driver !
01:23:45:67:89:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:
RT61: RfIcType= 3
01:23:45:67:89:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:00:
RT61: RfIcType= 3
sh-3.00#   

Yeah I *almost* bought a G650 as you use back when I was agonizing over choices, but flipped for the G630. It has been working fine in other laptops (lenovo T60, Vaio VGN-TX37GP (R.I.P.)) and even in the Dell 1100 works fine with XP and other live distros (Bohdi, Solus, a range of TahrPups and XenialPup pupplets). I've attached a screenie typical of my efforts to connect via network setup, wlassist and RutilT - it's trying hard to keep connected, but perpetually drops out. On the hunt for a fresh ra0 driver now, I guess,
HTH

PS Dunno about the EXT2-fs warnings - I have puppy pfix=fsck in the boot commands, and I've run e2fsck /dev/sda2 on the partition, will look to repair from a USB live linux - but the drive *is* a 14yo ATA 5400 clunker, and I had to use ntfs-resize Gparted to plaster over some bad sector issues when repartitioning... all fun
snapshot3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   107.72 KB
 Viewed   312 Time(s)

snapshot3.png


_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2657
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 22:00    Post subject:  

@Puppyt, I see you have been successful installing Legacy OS 2017 frugally.
Quote:
I've done a frugal ("coexist") install of Legacy2017 on a dedicated ext2 partition on a Dell Inspiron 1100 (2.6 GHx P4, 2GB ram). Somehow Legacy's grub2 install didn't play nice with the setup I had constructed, with WinXP in the first, ntfs partition and grub installed to MBR. However I simply overwrote it with grub4 and now I get the selection menu up and Legacy loading without drama.

I am trying to do a frugal install however, with grub4dos. So far I have been unsuccessful. I had a peek inside the initrd and I noticed I won't be able to put it in it's own directory. I guess that was not implemented back in the 2.14 days.
I also have a sata3 hdd and I'm using ext3 and ext4 file systems. It also appears saving to a directory is out of the question.
Would you mind sharing your grub stanza please?

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 23:26    Post subject:  

Hi smokey01,
I hope this helps - yeah I noticed that Legacy didn't provide an option to save into a folder though I was prepared to modify the menu.lst manually to reflect changes later, if I wanted to add more distro's to the mix. In my case, Legacy2017 was first cab off the rank in this multi-boot project:
Code:
# menu.lst produced by grub4dosconfig-v1.9.2
color white/blue black/cyan white/black cyan/black
#splashimage=/splash.xpm
timeout 10
default 0

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Pup 214 (sda2)
  uuid 44e1e003-a165-4933-aee9-0842f668745f
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pfix=e2fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz

# Windows
# this entry searches Windows on the HDD and boot it up
title Windows XP \nBoot up Windows if installed
  errorcheck off
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /bootmgr
  chainloader /bootmgr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd  /ntldr
  chainloader /ntldr
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd   /io.sys
  chainloader /io.sys
  errorcheck on

# Advanced Menu
title Advanced menu
  configfile /menu-advanced.lst
  commandline

I have to ferry this over from the Dell + dwl-g630 combo on a usb, still unable to get wifi connected even though I've loaded the TNET1130.INF driver up (from a DWL-G630_REVB_DRIVER_2.00.ZIP file d-link), via ndiswrapper. The d-liteful d-link mystery continues...

EDIT - Oh yeah I added in the entirely bunkum "pfix=e2fsck" entry in an attempt to address some EXT2fs-error messages I am getting within Legacy2017 and also showing in a variety of GParted versions. No similar errors detected from suites of HDD analysis applications found in latest UBCD, Hiren's CD. But some areas of the drive are looking a bit swiss-cheesey according to MHDD...

_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1299

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 03:58    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:

I am trying to do a frugal install however, with grub4dos. So far I have been unsuccessful. I had a peek inside the initrd and I noticed I won't be able to put it in it's own directory. I guess that was not implemented back in the 2.14 days.
I also have a sata3 hdd and I'm using ext3 and ext4 file systems. It also appears saving to a directory is out of the question.
Would you mind sharing your grub stanza please?



Hi Smokey & PuppyT,

Yeah, I just ran into that refusing to "frugal" boot with Ttuuxxx's update (from last fall, 2016) of Classic Pup 2.14:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=967674#967674

I tried this..

Code:

title Pup 214 (sda2)
  uuid 44e1e003-a165-4933-aee9-0842f668745f
  kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pfix=e2fsck
  initrd /initrd.gz


....the exact same way as as PuppyT wrote it, and also endless variations of it (after renaming Tttuxxx's sfs file to remove the capital "X"), and still had no luck booting it off an external USB (with an IDE in it, holding about 25 other 'frugal' pups and ddogs). Classic 2.14 refused to boot throwing up the same error time & again of:

"ERROR, cannot find Puppy on 'atahd' (or 'usbflash') boot media. PupMode=1 PDEV1="

@Smokey: So, yeah, I tried for over an hour to get it to 'frugally' boot, but finally gave up. Like you I am all SATA2/3 here, ext 3 & 4---except for the one USB attached HDD mentioned above that is an old Seagate IDE which still runs like a Battleship (knock on wood, lol Laughing )

@PuppyT, interesting that you were able to do it with 2.14 & get it to boot .....on the Legacy OS 2017 I installed for my old P4 machine last week, I didn't even try a frugal. I just installed it fully to its own USB. Since you've had success, PuppyT, I am going to have another go with Tttuuxxx's Classic Pup and see if I can get it 'frgual' boot (smokey, if you succeed for your Legacy OS install, please also post what you did and especially your grub4dos entry too...thanks!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 04:50    Post subject:  

Hi belham2 -
happy to be reporting success with my P4 laptop setup - I didn't mention, but I actually also tried ttuuxx's 214X-top11 on this machine to see if it might have rt61 wifi driver issues worked out. In my case, I used a Yumi usb install and copped the same rejection as you - "cannot find Puppy on 'atahd'..." And that is the main clue I reckon - my guess is that the initrd.gz whatyoumacallit doesn't allow for non-cd / non-hdd bootups. I was going to experiment with a marker file in the directory like I've seen in other setups (dummy files named "IDEHD" - is there a USBHD? can't recall offhand). But, since the other puppy6 distros on the usb were booting without marker files I didn't follow through. I was trawling through the 367-odd pages on the 214-topX thread for any evidence of usb-boot installs, but maybe if you contact ttuuxx directly he might help out, or someone might know how to modify the initrd.gz appropriately.
Good luck - I'm watching to see how you go

_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2657
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 05:05    Post subject:  

@belham2, I tried the following but it didn't work.
Code:
title Legacy OS 2017 (sdb1 ext3)
uuid 70fd6f6a-7df1-4cdf-a0ef-d04c5e55adca
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pfix=e2fsck
initrd /initrd.gz


It keeps looking at hda1 for the main files. When I had the main files on sda1 it still couldn't find them. I tried sdb1 as it's an ext3 file system rather than a ext4.

I used my own uuid sourced from "blkid" in a terminal. I noticed you used the same one as Puppyt which would not be correct as uuid are unique.

I'm pretty sure when I looked in the initrd there was no pmedia=atahd.
Yep I was right. The following only seem to be supported:
Boot param PMEDIA= usbflash|usbhd|usbcd|ideflash|idehd|idecd|idezip|satahd|scsihd|scsicd
Ext3 seems Ok but there is no mention of Ext4.

I'm now going to try PMEDIA=idehd and satahd. I'm not confident.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2657
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 05:22    Post subject:  

Neither idehd or satahd worked.

It seemed to be looking at the correct drive which is hda2,0. My boot drive is sdc1 which according to grub4dos is hd0,0 therefore sda1 is hd1,0 and sdb1 is hd2,0.

It appears to be trying to boot in pupmode=1

I guess it can't read my drives, maybe they are too new.

I'm out of ideas.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 05:49    Post subject:
Subject description: DWL-G630 wifi rt61 rt61pci puppy2 Puppy 2.14
 

Ok so I've had *some* success with getting the d-link Air-PlusG DWL-G630 card with the rt61 chip up and running in Legacy2017. I've magpied pets and drivers from the 2007-2008 era of the Murga forums, and some commandline tips too. I'll post some example links below of where I journeyed, but it is a bit of hit and miss. For John - three things I've noticed in my travails 1)no devx available, for compiling ormaking pets etc that are otherwise unavailable - such as https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/RalinkRT61. Would ttuuxx's devx for 214X work in this regard? 2)The wifi network manager here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21177 (revised Network Wizard + dhcpcd Aug 24 2007) works really well in Legacy2017, has the WPA2 button, looks good without the additional selection options that are a bit confusing for me (i.e.,"WPA Driver" (Atheros/Prism/other) and "AP Scan" options (Supplic/Driver/Hidden), and 3) doesn't seem to have a "remove pet" option, like I guess I'm used to in Puppy over the last couple of years. Perhaps there's a commandline way to check that the pets that might be added to Legacy2017 are working appropriately without missing dependencies or some sort of conflicts?

I actually got connected to the wifi network out of Legacy2017 using the DWL-G630! Woo-hoo! Screeny attached...
snapshot8.png
 Description   
 Filesize   101.7 KB
 Viewed   167 Time(s)

snapshot8.png


_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 756
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 05:57    Post subject:  

hey smokey01 sorry for your setback. I have the older style IDE PATA in this machine, though I don't know if that makes a difference. What I did was to partition an ext2 section of my hdd and immediately install Legacy2017 frugally on it, without altering the default settings offered by its Grub2. I installed grub2 to MBR. When I rebooted, I observed 2 screen lightening/darkenings as grub tried to boot my Legacy selection, before it defaulted and booted WinXP. So I had a puppy431 on cd to hand, and used it live to test the hardware and over-write the grub2 install on the MBR, as provided above. It automated the uuid, and fingers crossed it rebooted and has been working great ever since. Apart from the wifi...
_________________
What I get up to when I'm not on the Puppy Linux Murga forum:
http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=EMQxfgYAAAAJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0920s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]