Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Sep 2017, 07:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 42 [616 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1906
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 13:10    Post subject:  

Hi Toni & rcrsn51,

I just wanted to thank both of you for the work you've been putting in.

rcsn54, I really appreciate you're interest. Creating applications for, or retro-fitting Puppy applications to function under, DebianDogs not only distinguishes them from similar OSes, but also brings to them a maturity not otherwise available. As primarily 'a passenger' I only wish there were more fans with expertise interested in undertaking such underappreciated projects.

Toni, it's a pleasure to read your posts that explain how the system actually functions; how all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Payoon

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 30
Location: Duisburg, Germany on the banks of the Rhine

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:16    Post subject: [solved] Feedback: Can't change brightness
Subject description: backlight setting doesn't work
 

OK it's done, but it took me nearly 1 hour to find out, that in fact two things were blocking the setting for backlight at the same time. One was the missing firmware. The other was that rc.local doesn't work during boot ( at least not by default). That took me a long time to find.

So step by step for those, who have the same problem with backlight.

- Downloaded and converted firmware-amd-graphics_20161130-3_all to a squash file and put it into the modules folder
- Reboot
- Found the (before) missing radeon_bl0 interface in /sys/class/backlight/ (very happy).

- the command
Code:
echo 115  > /sys/class/backlight/radeon_bl0/brightness
in rc.local didn't work at boot but it worked in the console. ( I read since the use of systemd, rc.local must be activated somehow first)
- in init.d I made a file "set_backlight" with the following content
Code:
echo 115  > /sys/class/backlight/radeon_bl0/brightness

- made the file executable
- activated the file with
Code:
update-rc.d set_backlight defaults

- reboot

It works. Brightness is reduced by about half.

Thanks again for your input and enjoy DebianDog !

Payoon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 17:25    Post subject:  

Hi Fred

I didn't test any audio or video recording in previous test, because didn't realise Ddog full had that ability installed. However, I now note it has ffmpeg, and both Precord (for audio recording) and wex (for audio-video X11 screencast and optional webcam) recording. I needed to adjust my audio mixer to get it to work (put the Capture control up and in capture settings put on some internal mike boost for my system).

Also, worth noting that I don't have a webcam on this machine so wex seemed not to work at first but all I needed to do was uncheck the box for webcam. Would probably be best if wex had no webcam checked by default so it works with out issue on machines that don't have a webcam.

Thereafter wex produced excellent X11 screencast recording and audio. Precord also produced good audio recording. wex can also be used just for recording audio by unclicking checkboxes for video and webcam.

wex looks a bit like pAVrecord, but is a hundred times better in use I feel. The config screen may look a bit frightening to a first time user, but in practice the defaults work fine for high quality recordings anyway.

EDIT: On a different matter:

One tiny irritation was that when I clicked on menu.lst file it didn't open automatically (same as .html files in that respect). Again, I was able to open it using right-click Open With, but much nicer if just opened in editor simply be clicking on it.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2457
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 16:08    Post subject:  

@wiak

Thanks for thoroughly testing !!

@rcrsn51

Quote:
Gnome-MPlayer 1.0.7 is a decent media player, but it is getting old. However, OscarTalks has built an updated version of MPlayer for Stretch here that supports newer codecs. Read here for more info.

To import this PET into Stretch-Live, I have made the following script. Unpack the tarball and run it from the command line with:
Code:
sh get-oscar-mplayer

It also installs libdvdcss and peasy-dvd-player for your DVD-viewing needs.

If you already have Gnome-MPlayer installed, remove it first.


Thanks, I made a deb from it, named "gmplayer", libdvdcss and peasy-dvd-player as dependencies along with the others required.
It will uninstall gnome-mplayer automatically
On 32bit only for now: EDIT: For 32 and 64 bit now
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install gmplayer


Now I'll see if I can compile same for 64bit

EDIT: Latest SVN mplayer compiled for 64 bit also, package "gmplayer"
Added to amd64 repo, but not tested much, will do in the next days.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2457
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 17:40    Post subject:  

*** Update mklive-stretch ***

Added 2 more choices,
- Full 'Dog' Openbox with pcmanfm, lxpanel - option to switch to Jwm, with Firefox V45
- Full 'Dog' Openbox with pcmanfm, lxpanel - option to switch to Jwm, with Google-Chrome (64 bit only)

New mklive-stretch:
mklive-stretch script

@dancytron
If you have time, can you test the Chromedog ? To see if there's anything that can be improved or added.
In /root/.local/share/applications there's google-chrome .desktop file (it has priority, so shows in menu, that way when updating chrome, the menu entry will not be overwritten (with the Exec=chrome-puppy.sh)
EDIT: I guess it's the consequence of running chrome as puppy, but it's a little strange that if you download a file, it can be saved only to /home/puppy

GUI:


Fred
chromedog.jpg
 Description   ChromeDog
 Filesize   70.7 KB
 Viewed   515 Time(s)

chromedog.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 884

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 19:14    Post subject:  

I'll try it.

The .desktop file in /root/.local/. . .applications is the same thing as I've been doing.

Yes, you can only download in /home/puppy. Fatdog running as spot is the same.

Dan

edit: running now. You can delete flashplayerchoice, since flash is built into Chrome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 12 Sep 2017, 22:13    Post subject:  

Hi Fred:

I got an error when installing the new 32bit gmplayer package - "writing more data than expected".

[Edit] I downloaded it via the web and installed it locally. It worked fine.

[Edit-Edit] I tried the 32bit install again and it now works correctly through apt-get.

[Edit] The 64bit version installed, but immediately crashed with an "illegal instruction" error. The problem occurs with video - audio plays OK.

---------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2457
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 06:29    Post subject:  

@dancytron

Quote:
The .desktop file in /root/.local/. . .applications is the same thing as I've been doing.


Ah, ok

Quote:
Yes, you can only download in /home/puppy. Fatdog running as spot is the same.


I made it two entries in the menu now, one "as puppy" and one "as root"
If you want to try, no need to do the whole build again, just replace zz_openbox_lx-jwm_chrome_64.squashfs with new:
https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/modules/chromedog/zz_openbox_lx-jwm_chrome_64.squashfs

Ok, removed flashplayerchoice from config now, thanks.

@rcrsn51
Quote:
I got an error when installing the new 32bit gmplayer package - "writing more data than expected"

Yes, fixed now.

Quote:
[Edit] The 64bit version installed, but immediately crashed with an "illegal instruction" error. The problem occurs with video - audio plays OK.


Can you try again by reinstalling ?
I recompiled with option --enable-runtime-cpudetection, from what I read searching the web that should make it run ok on different machines

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 07:12    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Can you try again by reinstalling ?
I recompiled with option --enable-runtime-cpudetection, from what I read searching the web that should make it run ok on different machines

Yes, that one works fine on my Atom machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 252
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 09:04    Post subject: pulseaudio  

fred,thanks...

vlc works perfectly...
but pulseaudio can not be activated in anyway

can you create also
pulseaudio squashfs activated?

best regards!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Doglover

Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 262
Location: Humboldt

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 10:47    Post subject:  

Woefully audio doesn't work in youtube. Audacious works fine. My laptop likes pulseaudio, so I installed all I could find, but pulse still doesn't work. Won't connect to server. Arrrggggg!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 884

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 12:25    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
@dancytron

Quote:
The .desktop file in /root/.local/. . .applications is the same thing as I've been doing.


Ah, ok

Quote:
Yes, you can only download in /home/puppy. Fatdog running as spot is the same.


I made it two entries in the menu now, one "as puppy" and one "as root"
If you want to try, no need to do the whole build again, just replace zz_openbox_lx-jwm_chrome_64.squashfs with new:
https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/modules/chromedog/zz_openbox_lx-jwm_chrome_64.squashfs

Ok, removed flashplayerchoice from config now, thanks.



I added the new zz*.squashfs file.

Everything seems to work great.

You solved the two issues that I had with my attempts.

The first one was to get Chrome as Puppy to work on local files from Pcmanfm. The only way I ever got that working was to put the whole script into the "open with" dialog in pcmanfm. I couldn't figure out how to get the new script to work at all.

The second is that you defeated the issue of how keep the regular out of the box Chrome icon from showing up in the root menu. I was moving it to /home/puppy/.local. . . and just deleting the new ones that appeared in /usr/shared/applications after every upgrade.

Great job. I am now going to delete all my attempts and just use yours.

Dan

edit: Something interesting that I noticed, that I would definitely not classify as a bug, but just how it works.

When you remaster and don't include the zz*.squashfs in the remaster, the zz*.squashfs is layered on top of the 01-filesystem.squashfs. This means that some of the preferences, like things deleted off the desktop and pcmanfm preferences get reset to the default.

I assume it would be the opposite if you included the zz* file in the remaster.

Like I said, not a bug at all, just interesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 884

PostPosted: Wed 13 Sep 2017, 17:15    Post subject:
Subject description: not loud enough
 

I found, at least for my hardware, a solution to DD not being loud enough.

See https://alien.slackbook.org/blog/adding-an-alsa-software-pre-amp-to-fix-low-sound-levels/.

Basically, you need to create a file called /etc/asound.conf. Then paste the code at the link into it. There are a couple of options, the second one is the one that worked for me.

What it does is create another setting called "pre-amp" that you can crank up all the way and make the sound louder. In the Audio Setup in the menu (which is alsamixer), just arrow over to the very end of all the choices and you'll see it. In the GUI Alsa Mixer, it is also at the very end and for some reason only says "Pre-".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2457
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 06:34    Post subject:  

Hi Dan

Quote:
I added the new zz*.squashfs file.

Everything seems to work great.

You solved the two issues that I had with my attempts.

The first one was to get Chrome as Puppy to work on local files from Pcmanfm. The only way I ever got that working was to put the whole script into the "open with" dialog in pcmanfm. I couldn't figure out how to get the new script to work at all.


OK, nice !!
I think you mean the file associations, e.g. .html, these are set to "chrome (as root)", to change to chrome as puppy, right-click file > properties and change to "chrome (as puppy)" (from internet category)
(but you maybe figured that out already)

Quote:
The second is that you defeated the issue of how keep the regular out of the box Chrome icon from showing up in the root menu. I was moving it to /home/puppy/.local. . . and just deleting the new ones that appeared in /usr/shared/applications after every upgrade.


I think that's because the menu mechanism from lxpanel looks first in ~/.local/share/applications
The menu from earlier DD64 openbox probably works different (priority /usr/share/applications).

Quote:
When you remaster and don't include the zz*.squashfs in the remaster, the zz*.squashfs is layered on top of the 01-filesystem.squashfs. This means that some of the preferences, like things deleted off the desktop and pcmanfm preferences get reset to the default.


Yes, the extra .squashfs makes remastering a little different, what I would do is include the zz*.squashfs in the remaster and then delete the zz*.squashfs from live folder

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 2457
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep 2017, 06:52    Post subject:  

Hi All,

First time I tested booting Stretch with porteus-boot from FAT32.

It did not work, tried with grub4dos and syslinux, no go.("could not find data" error)
(Jessie boots fine using porteus-boot from FAT32 for me)

Same for me with other Stretch variants, e.g. Trinitydog-Stretch

Did anyone have the same problem ?

I tried to figure out what can be wrong, but I guess that's above my knowledge.
(has to do with the kernel maybe ?)

Btw, using live-boot works OK from FAT32
Also, booting Stretch-porteus-boot from NTFS works fine.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 42 [616 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1139s ][ Queries: 15 (0.0195s) ][ GZIP on ]