Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Sep 2017, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25
Author Message
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed 16 Aug 2017, 07:38    Post subject: How to configure graphic tablet in Xenialpup?  

I am in the process of migrating from Fatdog to Xenialpup, because of the much wider selection in programs from the repos. Only problem I came across is, I cannot get my Hanvon graphics tablet to work. I compiled it's own special Driver, the tablet is recognized by lsusb, the mouse pointer moves, the extra buttons work surprisingly. Problem now is, I can only move the cursor in one portion of the screen. And pressure sensitivity is not there. When I use xinput --list in terminal, it doesn't show the tablet, so I can't configure it via xinput. xinput also does not show my thinkpad's trackpoint nor the thinkpad extra buttons as input devices, merely:

Code:
root# xinput --list
⎡ Virtual core pointer                       id=2   [master pointer  (3)]
⎜   ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer        id=4   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎜   ↳ Mouse0                                     id=6   [slave  pointer  (2)]
⎣ Virtual core keyboard                      id=3   [master keyboard (2)]
    ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard     id=5   [slave  keyboard (3)]
    ↳ Keyboard0                                  id=7   [slave  keyboard (3)]


EDIT
HardInfo gives me the following list of input devices
Code:
-Input Devices-
 Lid Switch
 Sleep Button
 Power Button
 AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
 TPPS/2 IBM TrackPoint
 HiFimeDIY Audio SA9023 USB Audio
 ThinkPad Extra Buttons
 Video Bus
 HDA Digital PCBeep
 HDA Intel Mic
 HDA Intel Dock Mic
 HDA Intel Dock Headphone
 HDA Intel Headphone
 PC Speaker
 Hanvon tablet


Where's the point xinput is missing out?

So I got the Trackpoint working the way I want with some settings in xorg.conf. But the xorg.conf way doesn't help me with the graphic tablet. Settings I write in the xorg.conf are simply ignored. GIMP also does not show the tablet as input device. Tablet works as expected in Fatdog and Ubuntu.
Anybody any ideas how to procede?

Additionally, I found that Xenialpup does not preserve mountpoints created in /mnt over a reboot. If I manually create them in the savefolder, the boot process stops at 'switching root to layered filesystem'. Likewise when I created the mountpoints in the Xenialpup SFS itself. Found a workaround in creating the mountpoints via rc.local every boot. Probably a feature to prevent the /mnt dir from cluttering?

Any ideas appreciated.

Norman

EDIT it's Xenialpup 7.0.8.5 64bit, Thinpad R500, Hanvon Artmaster0806
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6706
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 17 Aug 2017, 02:32    Post subject:  

Still rolling along pretty well problem free....


Code:
root# inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: puppypc2236 Kernel: 4.9.15 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 dm: N/A Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.5
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A97 LE R2.0 v: Rev 1.xx serial: 150545593600028
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 2601 date: 03/24/2015
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 42140
           clock speeds: min/max: 1400/3500 MHz 1: 1400 MHz 2: 2500 MHz
           3: 2000 MHz 4: 1400 MHz 5: 1400 MHz 6: 1400 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0a65
           Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           tty size: 80x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0be3
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.15
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000
           bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 1c:87:2c:5a:bb:e2
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (5.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SV300S3 size: 120.0GB serial: N/A
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB serial: N/A
Partition: ID-1: swap-1 size: 8.60GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb5
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 190 Uptime: 20 min Memory: 387.5/15950.8MB
           Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421 running in urxvt) inxi: 2.2.35



Code:
root# free
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:      16333572    1882404   14451168     377476      85608    1405760
-/+ buffers/cache:     391036   15942536
Swap:      8396796          0    8396796
root#
Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   82.78 KB
 Viewed   761 Time(s)

Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2092

PostPosted: Sun 27 Aug 2017, 16:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
Still rolling along pretty well problem free....

+1
Code:
root# inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: puppypc5334 Kernel: 4.9.15 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 dm: N/A Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.5
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Acer product: Aspire M1200/3200/5200
           Mobo: Acer model: RS780HVF
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: R01-B2 date: 08/15/2008
           Chassis: type: 3 v: 1.0 serial: 00000000
CPU:       Quad core AMD Phenom 9150e (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 14394
           clock speeds: min/max: 900/1800 MHz 1: 900 MHz 2: 1800 MHz
           3: 900 MHz 4: 900 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G84 [GeForce 8600 GT]
           bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0402
           Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           tty size: 81x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.15
Network:   Card: Marvell 88E8071 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: sky2 v: 1.30 port: e800 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 11ab:436b
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 00:11:22:33:44:55
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (33.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD3200AAJS size: 320.1GB serial: N/A
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 182 Uptime: 34 min Memory: 337.2/2000.5MB
           Init: SysVinit v: N/A runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.421 running in urxvt) inxi: 2.3.8


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3198
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 03 Sep 2017, 14:04    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4  

I installed a woof-CE build of xenialpup64 to a 32gb SDHC card and have
it running on my hp desktop pc:

root# inxi -bw
System: Host: puppypc6705 Kernel: 4.9.47 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial: MXX0370KF3
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 139x35 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1032.2GB (1.1% used)
Weather: Conditions: 63 F (17 C) - Mostly Cloudy Time: September 3, 1:50 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 208 Uptime: 41 min Memory: 593.2/7984.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
root#

I installed applications with PPM, smplayer,smtube,vlc,and more.
Kodi won't run,mpv won't run, but most others do.
It's working well overall.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.48 KB
 Viewed   467 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12493
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 03 Sep 2017, 14:35    Post subject: the problem with these new Puppies is where you can use it
Subject description: the ostriches are American
 

the problem with these new Puppies is where you can use it, and for who.
It's an evidence that old geeks linked to the wall socket can run VLC. But a computer is nowadays much more than a mediaplayer for Grand-papa in the cellar.
Puppy Linux 4.1.2 with Gxine was doing as well. What are all the MBs for ?
I am sorry, but the puppies 64 bits are slower than 32 bits, some windows take 30 seconds to appear.
And Xenialpup freezes soon or later. There is something wrong.. Puppy is australian, but les autruches sont americaines.(the ostriches are American)
XenialDog does it well.. It's not a Puppy ? it could be a Puppy.. Sure it will run on much more computers.. Not only devs ones.
Fatdog64 tried again, sure it's more fluent than Puppies.
Solution is easy, use Puppy Precise, or Slacko 6.3.2 with the kernels 3.14.56 or older. Lot o pets and Applications , and feed back of numerous users on the forum, not only very fast tests

About VLC no more audio if you played some music in the browser. Shut your browser, auddio will work again

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3198
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 08 Sep 2017, 17:47    Post subject: Xenialpup64 7.0.8.4
Subject description: 7.0.8.5
 

I downloaded Phil's xenialpup64-7.0.8.5-uefi.iso and burned it to a DVD
for use on my Imac desktop pc:

root# inxi -b
System: Host: puppypc3405 Kernel: 4.9.15 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 Distro: xenialpup64 7.0.8.5
Machine: Device: desktop System: Apple product: iMac8 1 v: 1.0 serial: W8811GXLZE2
Mobo: Apple model: Mac-F226BEC8 v: PVT serial: 1
UEFI: Apple v: IM81.88Z.00C1.B00.0802091538 date: 02/09/08
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E8135 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2400 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV610/M74 [Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 134x28 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Broadcom BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n driver: b43-pci-bridge
Card-2: Marvell 88E8058 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: sky2
Drives: HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (3.6% used)
Info: Processes: 178 Uptime: 30 min Memory: 636.8/3949.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8
root#

Mpv,smplayer/smtube,kodi,and vlc work well.
When Palemoon Version: 27.4.2 (64-bit) launches it gives an error about dbus but
that doesn't seem to cause problems as far as I see.

It's very fast, works great on this 9 year out Imac desktop.

Thanks Phil (wherever you are) Smile
xenialpup64 7.0.8.5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.62 KB
 Viewed   356 Time(s)

xenialpup64 7.0.8.5.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 07:14    Post subject:  

Hi all,

Quick question: anyone having this happen on their Xenialpup64? I had it happen in phil's original release of this, then again when I rebuilt it from woof-CE a few months ago, and it is "still" happening in a fresh woof-CE build I just did of xenialpup64. No matter what I do, I have to reset screensaver (inside 'Desktop--pupX set properties of X') every single session in order to have a functioning screensaver. Check marking the box and it still won't save. I know it cannot be a corrupt savefile because it does it immediately on new builds after first setting up a fresh savefile. Next login, the settings for screensaver box inside pupX is unchecked---even after having checked it before and/or after any savefile creation and/or use. Here's the pic. Anyone seeing this or having it happen also? Thanks.
screensaver-has-to-set-every-session.png
 Description   
 Filesize   75.58 KB
 Viewed   287 Time(s)

screensaver-has-to-set-every-session.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9264
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 09:53    Post subject:  

Try not using that to set screen saver.
I never used that setup very much, but I think it does only apply to that time of Puppy running.
When you reboot, it resets back to default settings.

Use the menu>Desktop>JWMDesk Manager>Screen Save to set it up.
See how that works for you.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 10:36    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Try not using that to set screen saver.
I never used that setup very much, but I think it does only apply to that time of Puppy running.
When you reboot, it resets back to default settings.

Use the menu>Desktop>JWMDesk Manager>Screen Save to set it up.
See how that works for you.


Hi Bigpup,

Didn't work (see pics below). I must have a gremlin, gobblin or something going on with this. 3 new woof-CE builds, and this is still occurring. Guess I can assume yours (and everyone else's) is working correctly. I'll try to track this down...sure would help if Phil could point me in the right direction and/or where I might look to correct this, whenever or if he shows up again Sad
with-savefile-set-it-to-on.png
 Description   
 Filesize   168.13 KB
 Viewed   253 Time(s)

with-savefile-set-it-to-on.png

reboot-and-XenialPup64-reset-it-back-to-off.png
 Description   
 Filesize   148.36 KB
 Viewed   258 Time(s)

reboot-and-XenialPup64-reset-it-back-to-off.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3198
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 11:21    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Hi all,

Quick question: anyone having this happen on their Xenialpup64? I had it happen in phil's original release of this, then again when I rebuilt it from woof-CE a few months ago, and it is "still" happening in a fresh woof-CE build I just did of xenialpup64. No matter what I do, I have to reset screensaver (inside 'Desktop--pupX set properties of X') every single session in order to have a functioning screensaver. Check marking the box and it still won't save. I know it cannot be a corrupt savefile because it does it immediately on new builds after first setting up a fresh savefile. Next login, the settings for screensaver box inside pupX is unchecked---even after having checked it before and/or after any savefile creation and/or use. Here's the pic. Anyone seeing this or having it happen also? Thanks.


Hi belham2,
I'm using 2 xenialpup64 installs, I have 7.0.8.5 installed to my Imac,
the sreensaver doesn't work on that one.
I also have a 7.0.8.4 install and if I use the method suggested by
bigpup it does work.
It survives a reboot,restart graphical server also.

Turning off the screensave is one of the first changes that I do with a
new pup install so although it wasn't on by default on the 7.0.8.5
install (I think the bottom two checks were on) off is what I wanted.

Bill

Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 10 Sep 2017, 12:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1904
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 12:53    Post subject: Maybe you can get xscreensaver working?  

Hi belham2,

With the builtin screensaver not working in your Xenialpup64 7.0.8.5 for unknown reasons, maybe you could turn your attention to xscreensaver. I was able to build it as an SFS. It loaded, ran, and I was able to select and preview several of the many screensavers http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=964306#964306. But, as I said here, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=964313#964313 "I haven't figured out how to employ the app: that is set it up so that after a certain period of idleness it will turn on. I suspect some searching/reading is in order."

I rarely use screensavers. And the one builtin on my Xenialpup64 does function. So I haven't done that searching/reading.


mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2092

PostPosted: Tue 19 Sep 2017, 20:16    Post subject:  

7.0.8.5 frugal version ... for my 1400x900 scaled down to 1280x800 (I prefer larger text) resolution ... if you install xpaint then I found launching it with

xpaint -menufont "-misc-dejavu sans-bold-r-normal--22-0-0-0-p-0-iso8859-16"

works well for me (nice size menu font)

If you install xterm then including

XTerm*SimpleMenu*font: -misc-dejavu sans-bold-r-normal--18-0-0-0-p-0-iso8859-16

in ~/.Xresources has a nice Ctrl-leftmouseclick in xterm menu font size

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 25 [372 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0833s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0174s) ][ GZIP on ]