Error while running make for Octave on Fatdog7.02

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Post Reply
Message
Author
PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

Error while running make for Octave on Fatdog7.02

#1 Post by PappyPuppy »

Fortran files such as genbet.f, genmul.f - generally, it seems that it's files that have real constants defined as eg. 87.1 rather than 87.0. I am perhaps guessing (based on some reading of posts in other threads on other forums), that perhaps it's the GMP library (multi arithmetic library). My version is circa 2013 - 5.1.3. I am thinking of upgrading this to about 6.1.0 or 6.1.2 or thereabouts. I am wondering if anyone has their GMP libs - a bunch of library files libgmpxxxx.a/la/so or whatever already upgraded, and had no problems with gcc builds that involve calls to gfortran (to build .f files or .for files).

I guess I've already downloaded the tar files for these later gmp's so I'll try it when I have time in a few days, just thought I'd throw this out there.

Not a big deal - I have Octave working on Windows right now. At least I can use it.

I'm using GNU gcc 4.8.3

User avatar
Moose On The Loose
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 14:54

Re: Error while running make for Octave on Fatdog7.02

#2 Post by Moose On The Loose »

PappyPuppy wrote:Fortran files such as genbet.f, genmul.f - generally, it seems that it's files that have real constants defined as eg. 87.1 rather than 87.0. I am perhaps guessing (based on some reading of posts in other threads on other forums), that perhaps it's the GMP library (multi arithmetic library). My version is circa 2013 - 5.1.3. I am thinking of upgrading this to about 6.1.0 or 6.1.2 or thereabouts. I am wondering if anyone has their GMP libs - a bunch of library files libgmpxxxx.a/la/so or whatever already upgraded, and had no problems with gcc builds that involve calls to gfortran (to build .f files or .for files).

I guess I've already downloaded the tar files for these later gmp's so I'll try it when I have time in a few days, just thought I'd throw this out there.

Not a big deal - I have Octave working on Windows right now. At least I can use it.

I'm using GNU gcc 4.8.3
I use Octave on 528 and it appears to be working correctly.
For those who don't know:
Octave is a really great scripting language for dealing with arrays of numbers as matrixes and vectors. It also works well for doing things with arrays as just arrays.

Code: Select all

 octave:1> 
octave:1> AA=1:5;     # Make 1...5
octave:2> AA
AA =

   1   2   3   4   5

octave:3> # see nice numbers
octave:3> AA .* 3     #   .*  means element by element
ans =

    3    6    9   12   15

octave:4> 
It is very like matlab but in a fair few ways better. Perhaps the most important is that because it is free (an in liberty) it works perfectly well without a connection to a license server.

to make your basic graph of X,Y you do
plot(X,Y)
It doesn't take long to pick it up and use it for stuff.

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

I believe it's the GMP library

#3 Post by PappyPuppy »

I am using an older GMP, perhaps the newer one will have the fix I need.

Yes, I do long simulations with Octave's tools and it works great! The plots are great - you can run many plots in one Figure using the subplot command:

For 3, use subplot(3, 1, 1), subplot (3, 1, 2), etc..

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

Re: Error while running make for Octave on Fatdog7.02

#4 Post by PappyPuppy »

So you are using GNU C++ 5.28? I wonder what GMP libraries you have. GMP goes from about 5.1 up to 6.0 and beyond. I didn't know that GNU C++ had a 5.28? I thought it went from 5.20 to 5.30. I guess it has versions in-between.
Moose On The Loose wrote:
PappyPuppy wrote:Fortran files such as genbet.f, genmul.f - generally, it seems that it's files that have real constants defined as eg. 87.1 rather than 87.0. I am perhaps guessing (based on some reading of posts in other threads on other forums), that perhaps it's the GMP library (multi arithmetic library). My version is circa 2013 - 5.1.3. I am thinking of upgrading this to about 6.1.0 or 6.1.2 or thereabouts. I am wondering if anyone has their GMP libs - a bunch of library files libgmpxxxx.a/la/so or whatever already upgraded, and had no problems with gcc builds that involve calls to gfortran (to build .f files or .for files).

I guess I've already downloaded the tar files for these later gmp's so I'll try it when I have time in a few days, just thought I'd throw this out there.

Not a big deal - I have Octave working on Windows right now. At least I can use it.

I'm using GNU gcc 4.8.3
I use Octave on 528 and it appears to be working correctly.
For those who don't know:
Octave is a really great scripting language for dealing with arrays of numbers as matrixes and vectors. It also works well for doing things with arrays as just arrays.

Code: Select all

 octave:1> 
octave:1> AA=1:5;     # Make 1...5
octave:2> AA
AA =

   1   2   3   4   5

octave:3> # see nice numbers
octave:3> AA .* 3     #   .*  means element by element
ans =

    3    6    9   12   15

octave:4> 
It is very like matlab but in a fair few ways better. Perhaps the most important is that because it is free (an in liberty) it works perfectly well without a connection to a license server.

to make your basic graph of X,Y you do
plot(X,Y)
It doesn't take long to pick it up and use it for stuff.

User avatar
Moose On The Loose
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu 24 Feb 2011, 14:54

Re: Error while running make for Octave on Fatdog7.02

#5 Post by Moose On The Loose »

PappyPuppy wrote:So you are using GNU C++ 5.28? I wonder what GMP libraries you have. GMP goes from about 5.1 up to 6.0 and beyond. I didn't know that GNU C++ had a 5.28? I thought it went from 5.20 to 5.30. I guess it has versions in-between.
Perhaps I should have been clearer.
Puppy version = 528

I've made 4 pets to make it work.
Which one should I investigate further to find what you are asking for?

gfortran-4.2.2.pet
glpk-4.40-i486.pet
gnuplot-4.2.5.pet
octave-3.2.3-i486.pet

[/code]

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

Sorry, I didn't notice your post

#6 Post by PappyPuppy »

And on RHEL Linux 7.2. But I still want to answer your post, ie. try what you said, I'll get back to it soon. In the meantime, I just need to use Octave to do some work.

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

I've installed configured, made, and installed gmp 6-1.0

#7 Post by PappyPuppy »

I want to go through the ./configure process for Fatdog and install some more stuff, before running make again. The config.log should help.

Post Reply